CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
43,980 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 31 of 43)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #253

Jun 172011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle pulls to right side all the time brought to dealer did recall for pulling front struts wheel alignment replaced L/front strut again and wheel alignment car still pulls to right.

- Port Monmouth, NJ, USA

problem #252

May 212012

Sonata

  • 12,000 miles
The passage seat shakes when the car reaches 70mph. Since bringing it to the dealer in may it has been there 2 more times, the second time they actually saw what they call a vibration. Now the passenger seat, drivers seat, steering wheel, and console all shake, not vibrate at 40mph. Hyundai has had my car for 3 days and every time I call for a status check they have some excuse. This is why I did not list the VIN number because the car is not in my possession. Just an fyi: There is no problem mechanically with the wheels, tire rod, etc. Everything has been checked but the car still shakes.

- Sparta, NJ, USA

problem #251

Jun 142011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
From the initial test drive I noticed a pull in the steering. It was mentioned and I was told that it was a simple alignment issue. After purchased I asked about the steering. Unfortunately, (I was told) the dealership did not have the road force balance machine for them to properly test the alignment. I waited till November before this was available. The 2011 Sonata wandered the road and pulled constantly to one side or the other (with no rhyme or reason). At one point it would pull so hard the vehicle would "V-line" off road once letting go of steering wheel. After several repair attempts (replaced struts, camber bolt kits, front tires and several alignments) the pull was still there. There was nothing more Hyundai can do and I was told "that's just how the car is". I have gone through two arbitration hearings with the BBB and Hyundai still continues to say "there's nothing more we can do, the car is performing as it is intended to". negative Hyundai!!! the car still pulls and wanders as it pleases and I have had sway bar links break during normal driving conditions. Hyundai is saying I have hit an "animal" and the impact has bent both of the sway bar links and broke one on the right front. All though there is no body damage from this animal and no scrapes on the undercarriage. I never hit anything in the car and feel this breakage is due to added pressure on suspension/steering parts from adjustment made by Hyundai to "try" and get car to drive straight. My warranty has been denied and Hyundai refuses to make the repairs. So don't let the 10 year/100,000 mile warranty let you make the decision when buying, when they can deny your warranty anytime they want with any made up excuse. I have been fighting for well over 8 months for a refund on this car and I'm still fighting!!

- Port Republic, VA, USA

problem #250

Jan 242011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 40 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car has pulled to the left since it was first bought. It has been in for numerous alignments, eps reprogramming, and single strut replacement. The repairs have made the problem less severe, but the car must be driven vigilantly or it will pull out of the lane. Driving the car on the highway is fatiguing due to constant course correction. While primarily a left pull issue, the car's steering is imprecise and wanders, sometimes even to the right. Hyundai really got this wrong and has a corporate wall of silence around the issue, refusing to acknowledge it. My latest communication from them after an "engineer" drove the car reads, "the distract parts service manager [dpsm] is highly trained and experienced with Hyundai vehicles. The dpsm's decision is final and we are unable to give this matter further consideration." Very disappointing that there has been no recall activity around this safety issue.

- Terryville, CT, USA

problem #249

Apr 202011

Sonata

  • 7,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, she took one hand off the steering wheel and the steering wheel begin to pull to the right. The contact allowed another driver to operate the vehicle and the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they stated that the vehicle needed a alignment and that the tires were defective. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 7,000.

- Lynwood, CA, USA

problem #248

Apr 162012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
The car has been pulling to the right from day 1 and still is pulling to the right. I had a wheel alignment done at 8,000 miles and another at approx 21,000 miles. Dealer keeps telling me that the car is tracking straight, however when I drive at any speed the car pulls to right. I have to keep the steering wheel pulled to the left to compensate. The tech at the dealer told me that Hyundai recommends a wheel alignment every 12,000 miles. I have looked through the owners manual no recommendation found. I have called Hyundai with no satisfaction other then to try another dealer. Getting very frustrated. The company knows there is a problem but will not acknowledge keeps giving the run around.

- Schwenksville, PA, USA

problem #247

Jan 012011

Sonata

  • 5 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated the steering wheel pulled to the left while driving 45 mph or more. The steering wheel had to be held with force in order to keep the vehicle under control. The dealer test drove the vehicle, but was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 5 and the current mileage was 19,000.

- West Salem , OH, USA

problem #246

Jan 252012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 4,262 miles
Service campaign 927 confirmed left pull completed straight trak installed struts. Alignment. Update eps. Still pulls left on crowned roads. Steering light and wanders at highway speeds. Called dealer and was told "it is in spec and to contact Hyundai Consumer Affairs". they will not fix. It is now worse than before they tried to fix. I have contacted Hyundai Consumer Affairs two times with no response.

- Whitehall, OH, USA

problem #245

Jun 132011

Sonata

  • 35 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle continuously pulled into the left direction. The failure occurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer seven different times for the same problem. The manufacturer was notified and a filed service engineer inspected the vehicle; however they could not determine the cause of failure. The manufacturer replaced all four tires as a goodwill. The failure persisted after the replacement of the tires. The vehicle has not been repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 35.

- Sparta, NJ, USA

problem #244

Oct 152011

Sonata

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving between the speeds of 5 mph and 60 mph, he would have to forcibly keep the steering wheel from turning in the opposite direction. The vehicle would not drive straight and would constantly pull toward the right or left. The dealer was notified and stated that there was nothing they could do to remedy the failure. The failure and current mileages were 21,000. The VIN was not available.

- Lamarkque, TX, USA

problem #243

Aug 012011

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 3,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The Sonata pulls to the left. I took it in and told dealer I thought it was car, not the road -- but told me it was fine. Took it in again because it pulls hard to left going straigt to ditch if you let go of steering wheel, they said they adjusted it 2 points and it was not pulling anymore. Left dealership and it still pulls hard to left.

- Chelsea, OK, USA

problem #242

May 092011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 100 miles
The vehicle tracks to the left. Despite numerous attempts at fixing the issue the dealers (more than one) can't seem to fix this. Hyundai have issued a recall on it (Sonata-TR01) yet this 'fix' doesn't rectify the problem.

- Schertz, TX, USA

problem #241

Jul 012011

Sonata

  • 1,100 miles
Vehichle pulls badly to the left if steering wheel is released. A constant pressure to the right must be mainained to keep the vehicje in it's lane

- Bellmawr, NJ, USA

problem #240

May 272010

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
I bought a 2011 Sonata in May 2010. This car has pulled to the left from the first day I bought it. Nothing seems to work. It has been aligned on several occasions with no success.

- Union City, TN, USA

problem #239

May 252011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
I purchased a brand new Hyundai Sonata (2011) in March of 2011 and the day I test drove it I felt the car pulling to the right and hand to apply pressure on the steering wheel to keep it going straight. I was told that this was not a big issue and would be repaired. Nine months later and three times being serviced for the pull and the steering wheel issue it is still functioning with the same problem. Each time I was told the problem was fixed drove out of the service area to find it was still with the same problems. Was told to open up a case with the regional office which I did, and was told that the service manager at puente hills Hyundai [xxx] said that the problem was fixed and there was nothing wrong with the car. There is something wrong with this car. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Walnut, CA, USA

problem #238

Jul 082011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 35 miles
On 7/7/11, I purchased a 2011 Sonata gls. The next day I notice the car pulled to the right at various speeds. I set up an appointment for 7/18/11. I picked up my vehicle and immediately noticed that the vehicle was still pulling to the right. I had to continue to correct the vehicle so I would not go into the next lane or off the road. I brought the car in on 7/25/11 and went on a test drive with the technician. Technician stated he could see the vehicle pulling right. The vehicle was released to me and immediately I noticed the vehicle was now pulling to the left especially at higher speeds. The service department rotated the tires and performed a four wheel alignment. Now I noticed that the vehicle had returned to pulling to the right at all speeds. Brought the vehicle in 8/2/11 and the service manager test drove the vehicle with me and verified a pull to the right. I returned on 8/4/11 to pick up my vehicle. Service manager stated that the tires were road forced balanced and an alignment was performed. Again, immediately as I left the dealership I noticed that the vehicle was still pulling to the right. I returned to the dealership and stated that it had not been corrected. The service manager test drove the vehicle with me again and reconfirmed that the vehicle was pulling to the right. After the car was looked at again it was test driven by district parts and service manager who released the vehicle. I was frustrated as the vehicle was still pulling to the right and I had to continue to correct the steering. However, I was moving out of state in 3 days and would need to deal with issue after the move. Car broke down in pa during move and was there for 2 weeks for a ground wire. Received a urgent recall notice in the mail and brought car back to original dealer. Car was released to me and is still pulling severely to the right after being in the shop 6 times.

- Hamden, CT, USA

problem #237

Oct 012011

Sonata

  • 7,000 miles
I received a notice from Hyundai that my vehicle was covered by a recall or campaign to address the pulling issue noticed by so many other fellow 2011 & 2012 Sonata owners. Brought the vehicle to the dealer and the vehicle was worse than when I brought it in. Vehicle now pulls to right. Returned to dealer. Service manager felt that vehicle was driving fine and that there were no problems. Upon return visit I had a technician ride with me and he confirmed that the pull to the right is excessive. Have been dealing with Hyundai customer service to no avail. Will be returning to dealer for 3rd and final time to address issue. If not fixed after 3rd visit, will be seeking legal counsel.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #236

Sep 212011

Sonata

  • miles
Vehicle pulls to the right. Returned it to the dealer and they did an alignment and they said the alignment was correct, however the car continues to pull right.

- Havre De Grace, MD, USA

problem #235

Nov 022011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Pulls violently to left..dangerous car to drive.

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #234

Oct 212011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 3,993 miles
I bought the Sonata 2011 turbo in 7/15/2011 the first day I test drove the car I asked the sales man if they aligned the car and he said it was done already. Several months later I called them and said the car is out of control the steering keeps to the right and I am tired of pulling it to the left. Also the speed is uncontrollable I have to take my foot of the accelerator in order for the car to slow down other wise I would be going 80mph on the fwy. It is very hard to keep consistency of the speed. I took the car back on October 21 the first time and they told me its normal. I was upset and told them that my 17 year old almost got into an accident due to not being able to control the car at a turn. They ignored me and still insist that the car was normal. I went back yesterday for the second time and test drove the car with their mechanic and he said that the car was fine and its all normal. I was never told that there was a recall on the car. I only found out about this today when I went back to speak to the manager for the third time is when they told me that all the Sonata 2011 have a pulling problems and it has no return memory after its done pulling so I have to get used to this cause that's what they all do. I am now very upset that I found this out on my own and that they didn't tell me about the recall and that me and my daughter are at risk of an accident at any given time. I had over 25 cars in the past and I know that this car is very unsafe to drive and if nothing is done about this someone will get hurt. I opened up a claim with Sonata customer service and I hope this will be taken care off right a way.

- Corona , CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?