Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
43,469 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 31 of 42)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #223

Jan 062011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 15 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle has pulled to the left since new. At approx. 7000 miles the left hand pull changed to pulling to the right and left and would require a steering correction every 4 sec when traveling at 70mph on a straight highway. That's 900 corrections per hour for a longer trip. Talk about work! talked to the service tech at the dealership where I purchased car several times and he said that Hyundai really didn't have a fix for the Sonata at this time--8 months later. Now have 10,000 miles on car and rotated tires and now it's back to the left pull. Talk about an unsafe car.

- Oakdale, MN, USA

problem #222

Aug 062011

Sonata

  • 4,300 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 65 mph the contact heard a cracking sound while turning the steering wheel. The steering wheel would pull to the left making it difficult to maneuver the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician was unable to duplicate or diagnose the failure. The technician performed a tire rotation, a front and rear end alignment, applied a lubricant to the steering and suspension, and tightened the frame bolts but the failure continued. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 4,300.

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #221

May 252011

Sonata

  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata SE. The contact was driving 35 mph when the vehicle drifted towards the left despite the contact maintaining control of the steering wheel. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer, but the manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 200 and the current mileage was 2,600.

- Deerpark, NY, USA

problem #220

May 102011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 1,506 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased car on May 10, 2011 at local dealership. Didn't have new car window sticker in car or at dealership. I was told I wasn't looking hard enough for it. Dealership got me one in July. I have pictures of test drive with no window sticker. Found hail damage on car after the paperwork while still at dealership--finally fixed in July. Found out while doing paperwork the car had 1500 miles on it--didn't know that until then--should have stopped then---in my book not new!!!! car pulled to left real hard on way home from dealership--realigned front end--still pulling left. Dealership service dept. Admits to recall and doesn't have equipment/tools to repair. The car had deep scratches on front passenger side bumper at delivery--finally fixed somewhat--you can still feel and see the scratches if looking for them. Drivers seat fraying apart at material at 2900 miles. Trim damaged by hail repair person--still waiting on that repair. Just left dealer complaining to manager about everything and found paint flaking off of rear drivers wheel. Strong smell of burnt charcoal coming from trunk area---manager in service dept. Said that's a normal smell. I have purchased 5 new from same dealership and none of the others have had that smell. I purchased a 2011 tucsan the same day--no problems. Owner of dealership said that they are allowed to sell new cars without "new car window stickers", I looked it up--it's illegal. Also told there was communication problems about the sale of my car---not telling me everything--like the scratches, hail damage, replacement of parts. The manager today said he did not know anything about the Sonata's pulling to the left---I told him to google it. I have never had so many problems on a new car or even a used one. Current mileage is 3100 miles. Just did a carfax and found no repairs from dealer? I guess they are beyond the law of reporting it.

- Fayetteville, AR, USA

problem #219

Aug 052008

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 10 miles
Although my 2011 Sonata limited, is in effect an excellent vehicle, it is causing me a great deal discomfort. It is being let down with the worst steering tracking I have ever experienced. The car constantly needs to be eased back and forth to make it stay straight. Over a long ride this is very fatiguing, the slightest lapse in steering control to made an in car adjustment of the radio for example, or to adjust the rear view mirror, can send you towards the guardrail. I am constantly having to make minor steering corrections when driving straight, I have never felt so insecure in charge of a vehicle in my life. For all the great safety measures built into this car, for a fundamental such as the steering, well. You kind of expect it to work. As long as there is tension on the steering wheel, like in a curve or a turn, the steering responds fast and accurate. The second you are on the straight road, the steering wanders. I really feel unsafe, the pleasure I should be having with this car has been replaced with trying to stay straight in my lane. My work involves me flying all over the country so I drive countless rental cars, none have anywhere near the bad steering tracking I'm experiencing. I would like to take it back, but the dealership doesn't think there is a problem, their static tests show the alignment spot on, and I was recommended to drive it for a few thousand miles and I'll get used to it. And the dealer's technician informed me that the Sonata always follows the crest of the road. This is not acceptable. I was so concerned I went to safercar.gov to see if anyone else was having this problem, and found literally dozens of people with this same complaint.

- Cottleville, MO, USA

problem #218

Jun 202011

Sonata

  • 135 miles
Purchased 2011 Sonata gls on 6/20/11. Driving home I had to make my left hand hold tighter on the steering wheel to keep the car from drifting to the right. As I released my grip from the steering wheel I noticed the car pulling/drifting all the way to the right as far as space would allow. Notified dealership immediately, had car serviced 4 times in two months. Hyundai adjusted tire pressure, did alignment, road force balance test and rotated tires, did another alignment. This has lessened the pulling/drifting to the right (some pulling/drifting still remains) and what will happen when, during normal maintenance, I rotate the tires back to their original position" will this terrible pulling/drifting to the right begin all over again? the problem remains that when you move the steering wheel to the right to either stay in your lane, change lanes to the right, or make a right hand turn, after you come back to center, the car drifts back to the right. At first Hyundai would not acknowledge that there was any problem. They now say that this is normal. How is it normal when it does not do it to the left? Hyundai service managers say this problem occurs on all 2011 Sonata's from minor to major pulling to the left or right on each vehicle. Hyundai has refused to continue to try to fix this problem. I have filed a complaint with Hyundai motor America and have a case number and have contacted my state's attorney general's office. I will be contacting Hyundai again by certified letter requesting that they tell me what they intend to do to fix my brand new car. Why is there no recall for people in my situation? why is Hyundai not held accountable for what they have done and be made to fix my brand new car" as consumers we pay a lot of money for these cars. They ask us to be honest with them on their tv commercial, but when I did they did not like it.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #217

Jul 252011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 39 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car pulls to the left most of the time, sometimes forcefully. Occassionally pulls to the left. Vibrates at multiple speeds. Spent four visits to two different dealers for service that did not correct the issue.

- Edinburg, TX, USA

problem #216

Oct 312010

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 50 miles
Our 2011 Hyundai Sonata has a pull to the left. We noticed it immediately on the day we took delivery and have had the car in the dealership on at least three occasions, but it still pulls. We have had three alignments and replaced one tire....no help.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #215

Aug 252011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 19 miles
Purchased a 2011 Sonata hybrid (premium package). Since driving off the lot the car pulls to the left and vibrates between 65-75mph. Brought it to a local dealer for service and they performed a computer wheel alignment and straight trak. Problems still exists all the time. From looking at the listing, there are over 100 complaints on this that are registered for 2011 Hyundai Sonatas. NHTSA, please help the consumers with this problem. Even when calling the Hyundai toll free number, they act like it is the first time they heard of this problem.

- Nanuet, NY, USA

problem #214

Aug 302011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 13,200 miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata, has been returned to dealer six times since purchased in June 2010. Difficult to steer the vehicle and keep on your side of the road. This is my second complaint, ODI # 10380197. Hyundai states the "car drives as designed". Hyundai refuses to admit their is a problem. Software update ordered by NHTSA did not fix the problem. Factory rep has refused to authorize any repairs. 13200 miles on car now. Original incident date 8/23/2010. Cannot drive on any long road trips with this car.

- Missouri, MO, USA

problem #213

May 272011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 60 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a Hyundai Sonata limited 2.0 turbo and took delivery on May 27, 2011. During the following weekend, I noticed it has a discernible pulling-left steering defect at all times, which becomes dramatically more noticeable, and dangerous, at speeds above 50 mph. I returned the car to the dealer to correct this defect on June 6, 2011 without success. A second attempt by the dealer to correct this defect during the week of June 17-24, 2011 was also unsuccessful. I brought the car to the dealer a third time on Friday, July 8, 2011 at the request of the service manager. He drove the car and pronounced that the dealer had made all the factory adjustments it can make, the car now meets all factory specs, this model has "sensitive" steering and our car will not drive differently. I contacted Hyundai Consumer Affairs at 800-633-5151 on Monday, July 18, 2011. I spoke with an employee who assigned me case # 4472765 and advised I would be contacted by a special representative. The representative called, confirmed all facts of the defect and said the dealer will contact you for further action. I received no contact from the dealer or the special representative. The special representative refused to return our calls on 8/8/2011 and 8/15/2011, so I contacted Hyundai Consumer Affairs (again) at 800-633-5151 on wed, Aug 17, 2011. I spoke with an employee about case # 4472765. He advised that as of August 15, 2011, Hyundai had issued a Sonata service campaign (recall) # 927, and I should contact the dealer for an appointment to repair the steering problem. I called the dealer and was connected to a service adviser, who looked for service campaign #927. It was not in her system yet for our vehicle VIN#, but she found information in her system that described 927. She said she would check her system daily for updates and call me when it was available. 8/29/2011: I've received no recall letter from Hyundai and the dealer refuses to act until Hyundai authorizes action.

- St Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #212

Oct 122010

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 18 miles
Bought a 2011 Sonata SE 2010 and has pulled to the left from day one. Pull is more noticeable at highway speeds. Have taken it back to dealer 8 different times (alignments, tire rotation etc.). last time Hyundai tech drove it and said it was fine. It's not fine! I am turning in as a lemon.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #211

Apr 012011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
I have a 2011 Sonata limited. Earlier this year I began having a starting issue where the car would say "apply brake pedal to start" even though my foot was firmly planted on the brake. Took the car in and they couldn't duplicate so I just kept on working around it. In June, it got worse so I took it back, spoke to the service manager at the dealership and they ordered a brake switch and new push button ignition on June 20th or thereabouts. The parts finally arrived on August 17th..yes..it took that long apparently. I dropped the car off that morning and went back that afternoon around 5. I was informed that they had replaced the brake switch and push button but when they went to test drive, they lost steering control and the eps and traction control system had failed. They took a part off a new Sonata in their lot and put it on my car but that did not correct the problem. After 2 days of troubleshooting they managed to correct that issue but as soon as they did, the ABS light came on and it stated the ABS system had failed too. I am now waiting on a part for the ABS as of 8/22. None of these systems had issues prior to the drop off date. This concerns me that there may be a serious problem with the electrical system. We will see when they replace the ABS module if something else goes wrong.

- Victoria, TX, USA

problem #210

Feb 252011

Sonata

  • 2 miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata 2.0T pulls to left at normal speeds during normal driving. This is not a "torque-steer" issue (the tendency of front-wheel drive cars to veer under acceleration due to uneven torque to the front wheels). Even on cruise control, if you don't apply constant "right" correction, the car will veer left. The crown of the road does not stop this, nor is it a wind issue. If you let the wheel go, the car will change lanes to the left (or veer into oncoming traffic!) within 10 seconds. This is an extremely dangerous condition. I have had the car in the shop 3 times and while they are very aware of the issue, have no solution. This is unacceptable and a significant public safety hazard. Please initiate a formal inquiry. Same issues as other complaints, engineers (2 of them) said car is in spec and fine, pulling getting worse with miles, 4400., they act like I am making this up every time, dealer that I got vehicle from gave up, and will not address this dangerous issue anymore.

- Warren, OH, USA

problem #209

May 202011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 12 miles
New 2011 Hyundai Sonata purchased 5-20-2011. Safety issue is erratic undependable steering. Current mileage as of 8-18-2011 is 3020, 800 miles of which have been for 4 visits to dealer(s) to try to fix with no satisfactory result. Originally the car pulled hard right. On 4th visit Hyundai factory field engineer moved tires around which reduced the right pull. Now car pulls erratically sometimes left, sometimes right but requires constant force on steering wheel to hold car straight. This is more serious at highway speeds and only a short drive causes fatigue.

- Onancock, VA, USA

problem #208

Jun 282011

Sonata

  • 40 miles
Hyundai Sonata 2011 new steering problem, alignment problem the car pull to the right leaving the lane on high way with strong resist from the steering power assist to return to the lane wrong alignment not adjustable by the dealer who did it 4 times the last one the Hyundai representative ask for non standard parts to fix the problem with bigger sizes in braking on high speed 100 km the car turn to the right and was stopped away from the next lane cars by 5 cm this pulling is all the time and in corners turn the car moves in zigzag the power steering assist stopped assisting over 40 km speed and the force from the moving wheels is very high you have to use both hands strongly all the way of the trip to keep the car in track by shifting the wheel 3 degree to the lift if you are lucky and no strong breaks need it may you will be safe.

- Mississauga, 00, USA

problem #207

May 152011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
My wife and I have a 2011 Hyundai Sonata turbo with 4500 miles that pulls to the left at all speeds and is much worse at highway speeds requiring constant pressure to keep the car going in a straight line. A recent trip of 2500 miles mostly on interstate 95 became very tiring after hours of constant steering wheel correction. The car has been into the selling dealer three times {alignment twice and subframe adjustment} to correct the issue but car still pulls to the left. I strongly feel that this condition is a safety concern and am not comfortable with my wife driving the car on the highway. I am bringing the car into the dealer next week again and am told there are many cars with this same defect and Hyundai has issued a campaign code 927 to fix the problem.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #206

Jan 302011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 600 miles
Bought a 2011 Sonata limited with 17 inch wheels in January and has pulled to the left from day one. Pull is more noticeable at highway speeds. Have taken it back to dealer 9 different times (alignments, tire rotation etc.). last time Hyundai engineer drove it and said it was fine. He drove it 6 miles of which 2 of those are to and from getting on highway. Made it sound like it was my fault and that I did not know how new cars drive. I am turning in as a lemon.

- Select An Airport, VA, USA

problem #205

May 012011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 6 miles
Since I purchased this car, it has an annoying and potentially dangerous pull to the left. Sometimes it pulls more than others but it's always present to some extent.

- Mi, MI, USA

problem #204

Jun 012011

Sonata

  • 200 miles
Vehicle tracks--poorly pulls to left at highway speeds. Brought back to dealer for fix, alignment performed several times. Requires much more effort to hold steering, and creates fatigue after hours of driving. I consider this a hazzard condition

- Darien, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?