Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
43,469 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 36 of 42)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #123

Feb 182011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 35 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Steering component- on 2/17/2011 I purchased a 2011 Hyundai Sonata 2.0T limited turbo. Shortly after my purchase, when driving on highways, I noticed the vehicle consistently pulls to the left, even when driving on completely level and flat road surfaces. I spoke with the manager of the service department at the dealership where I purchased the vehicle who advised me that Hyundai does not have a definite fix for this issue, but are currently working on one. He said that in the interim there are several items they can perform in an effort to remedy the problem, but there would be no guarantee that they would fix the issue either completely or even nominally. The way I left it with him was that he would have to contact their regional Hyundai service representative to see what steps they would have to take, as he had done with numerous other customers already and get back to me to set up an appointment to begin a regimen of repairs that would hopefully at the very least improve it somewhat, but "again" pointed out that there was not a definite fix for this issue to date, leaving me totally afraid to even drive it on the highway, in the event I (even for a second) don't totally concentrate on holding the steering where in a method that would keep the car from veering to the left into another lane potentially causing what could easily become a serious and even fatal accident.

- Belleville, NJ, USA

problem #122

Mar 012011

Sonata

  • 1 miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata (new in November 2010), from day one excessive drifting to the left that is more noticeable at 60 mph or higher, but occurs at all speeds. Dealership has aligned it 3 times and rotated wheels to no benefit. They claim it is normal. I have filed this safety concern and defect with Hyundai customer relations on 03-16-11. They claim to have no other complaints like this, which has to be a total lie because of the many forums on the internet squawking about the same or similar issue. There videos now posted of the problem. I was told I would be contacted by 03-22-11. This extremely dangerous, as you need only remove your hand from the wheel for a split second and the lane drifting starts. I have been able to take left handed highway exits without having my hands on the wheel an please note-these are not gradual sweepers but 30 to 40mph ramps!. my recently licensed 17yr old drifted slightly and started to cross into an oncoming vehicle traveling the opposite direction that was riding close to the center line. Thank god my wife was with her to provide corrective directions. Hopefully no one as been injured or killed due to this defect! help!

- Ballston Spa, NY, USA

problem #121

Mar 012011

Sonata

  • miles
I bought a Sonata limited turbo in December, 2010. Right from the start it pulled hard to the left. I took it to the dealer, they checked the alignment and said they wanted it back to replace a camber bolt. Also they said that Hyundai was aware of the issue. Before the bolt came in, they told me that Hyundai was not recommending the camber bolt any more, but the latest version of the left front strut. They replaced the strut but that did not fix the problem. I finally came to the opinion the problem is not in the suspension at all. It is clear more power is being sent to the left wheel. This is clear under several conditions: On acceleration it will be pulling hard but if the accelerator is released the car straightens out. When braking and thus little or no power is being applied to the wheels, there is no noticeable pull. With the cruise control on and going downhill ┐ coasting, basically ┐ the pull is light, but as the road changes and starts to go back uphill, it pulls harder and harder, varying in relation to how hard the car is working to get up the hill. The worst is when passing another vehicle on the highway. It pulls so hard that if the steering wheel is released, it literally 'snaps┐ five to ten degrees to the left and the car is on the shoulder in two seconds. The steering wheel in this car is very ┐dry┐ and it is easy to lose grip. One has to grip so tightly that it is quite fatiguing to drive this car. If a person lost grip of the wheel they could easily be in an accident before they recovered, or even due to the recovery, as it would be very easy to over-recover and go too far right. The tires are wearing abnormally with only a few thousand miles on them. One day, a tire is going to burst and there is going to be a major accident. This car is unsafe as is, and Hyundai needs to take corrective action. If that means they need to be forced into it by NHTSA, then NHTSA, please get to work on this before someone gets killed.

- Waukee, IA, USA

problem #120

Nov 012010

Sonata

  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the vehicle would drift to the right and the steering wheel was hard to control the vehicle was taken to the dealer who test drove the vehicle and performed a front end alignment on four occasions; yet, the remedy did not work. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 3000 and the current mileage was 7,150.

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

problem #119

Mar 172011

Sonata

  • 0 miles
2011 Hyundai - dragging to both sides, mainly to the right, steering is rocking from side to side, car feels like its going be blown of the road, steering is twisted even when wheel is perfectly straight, extremely difficult to keep in to the left.

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #118

Feb 052011

Sonata

  • 236 miles
Off the lot our new 2011 Hyundai Sonata limited turbo constantly pulls to the left. Worse at higher speeds. The dealer originally reported a "bulletin" on the front struts and replaced the left one. After that did not fix the problem a "front-end alignment". no better. The dealer suggested driving for 1K miles to see if it resolved itself----that didn't work either. This is a serious problem---could cause a serious accident. Meanwhile I have a brand new car that won't handle properly. I have notified Hyundai customer service twice without a serious response. Will do it again!!

- Aztec, NM, USA

problem #117

Jan 222011

Sonata

  • 15 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata SE/limited. The contact stated that while driving, the vehicle would pull violently to the left. The manufacturer was contacted and referred him to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times; however, they were unable to diagnose the failure but opted to replace the front left struts and perform a wheel alignment as a remedy which failed to correct the problem. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 15 and the current mileage was 2900.

- Lockport, IL, USA

problem #116

Feb 262011

Sonata

  • miles
The car pulls to the left. Did so straight off the lot. I brought the car in and alignment was performed as well as switching the left for the right tires. Car still pulls left, most notibly on the highway.

- Lynbrook, NY, USA

problem #115

Feb 202011

Sonata

  • 1,000 miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata 2.0 turbo, steering pulls to left extremely hard. Has taken car back to dealer three times with no resolution.

- Depew, OK, USA

problem #114

Oct 172010

Sonata

  • 30 miles
This car has pulled to the left from the very time we drove off the lot.

- New Richmond, WI, USA

problem #113

Mar 102011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 975 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Sonata 2.0T limited pulls hard to the left. Dangerous to drive.

- Franksville, WI, USA

problem #112

Mar 062011

Sonata

  • 100 miles
One day after purchasing a new Hyundai Sonata 2011 noticed that car consistently pulls to the left irrespective of road crown etc. Returned to dealer who did front end alignment. Promptly returned car after driving several miles from service facility as the left pull was still prominent. Driving a Sonata 2011 loaner and also noticing a similar problem with this car.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #111

Mar 082011

Sonata

  • 450 miles
Brand new vehicle pulls to the left at almost all times and at all speeds. It is more apparent the faster the car is moving. E.g. if the car is moving at 70mph under cruise control and is pointed slightly right, letting go of the steering wheel will cause an accident within 5 seconds. This occurs on all roads in all lanes and does not appear to be affected by the crown of the road. At these speeds if you do not have the steering wheel visibly pointed to the right of center or if you let go of the steering wheel, an accident will quickly occur.

- Gilberts, IL, USA

problem #110

Mar 042011

Sonata

  • 25 miles
2011 Sonata 2.0T limited (200miles on odo) - my car has a left pull at all times and is incredibly pronounced at higher speeds. If you loosen your grip on the wheel at highway speeds, it takes no more than 2-3 seconds to completely leave the roadway. Dealer has attempted to fix the issue once already and they said it was "fixed". they rotated front tires, checked alignment, flashed new ECM software and adjusted some software parameters. The issue is just as bad as before the "fix". huge safety risk.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #109

Feb 162011

Sonata

  • 1,430 miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata 2.0T limited purchased 01/17/2011 drifts/pulls to the left. At times the driver is required to maintain constant pressure on the right side of the steering wheel to keep the car straight. The behavior is especially noticeable if you turn the steering wheel slight right. When the steering corrects itself it drifts to the left quickly. This problem occurs on both crowned and flat roads. The vehicle has been taken into the dealer twice, but the problem has not been corrected.

- Odenton, MD, USA

problem #108

Mar 072011

Sonata

  • 0 miles
No crashes or injuries but there is potential for them if this issue isn't solved. In all cases my (and a lot of others) 2011 Hyundai Sonata will pull left pretty badly. The failure has been on the car ever since I picked it up with around 200 miles on it. The pull never goes away and it doesn't matter the road surface you're on. I'm not sure how to repair it but I'd assume it's something to do with the suspension or steering. Either way, this is a dangerous issue because even taking your hand off the wheel for a split second will result in the wheel turning left and the car to start tracking into oncoming.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #107

Nov 152010

Sonata

  • 1 miles
I own a new Hyundai Sonata 2011 limited. My car pulls left at normal highway speeds. Initially I thought it was just the banking but on longer trips my wrist starts to hurt from constant pressure to the right.

- North Chelmsford, MA, USA

problem #106

Feb 112011

Sonata

  • 50 miles
I leased 2011 Hyundai Sonata Feb 11 and since the first day the car pulls to the left. They did alignment and changed the strut assembly but after 3 times at the service the car still pulls to the left. Last week the dealer told me they are going to call in couple days. Today I called them they said they still didn't get the call from Hyundai. In mean time I'm still driving dangerous car. Please don't wait for someone to be killed before they start the recall. Thank you.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #105

Mar 012011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 20 miles
Car pulls to left 90% of the time while driving, service department is unable to fix it as everything is aligned correctly. It is unsafe due to the fact that if you take you hand of the wheel within 3 seconds you will be in the next lane to your left or off the road.

- Canton, GA, USA

problem #104

Feb 272011

Sonata

  • 400 miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata gls pulling to the left.

- Stacy, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?