Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,829 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Hyundai Sonata engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #42

Jul 052015

Sonata

  • 60,688 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While on an out-of-state road trip, the engine suddenly stopped when I attempted to accelerate to pass on a freeway. I was able to successfully coast to a stop on the shoulder, where the engine would not turn over at all. After a long and expensive tow home, the local dealer determined that the engine was seized. Hyundai replaced the engine and turbocharger for free under warranty with a rebuilt block and new pistons, head, and turbo. They didn't even question the maintenance or ask for records, and pointed out that it looks very clean under the valve cover and in the oil pan. I change the oil with synthetic every 5000 miles, which probably helped. I was previously planning to keep this car long-term, but now I think I might trade it in during the coming months due to longevity concerns. This seems very similar to problems reported for 2011 and 2012 Sonatas, which use the same theta II engine.

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #41

Feb 172016

Sonata

  • 124,900 miles
I was driving the vehicle on interstate 95 traveling at approx 70 mph when I felt a couple small jerks followed by a tapping sound from the engine which got louder and a sudden loss of power. I maneuvered to the shoulder where the vehicle lost all power. I lifted the hood and oil was everywhere. Vehicle was disabled, towed to pohanka Hyundai. The diagnose from their service dept was "a blown engine" I was informed that something"probable piston rod" went thru the block and oil pan and that a new engine was required. Unfortunately, the vehicle is out of warranty however, is/was regularly maintained, oil changed just 700 miles prior. There was no previous warning of any issues, no tapping or sudden loss of power, no indication. I do have a customer copy of the dealers findings and recommendation.

- Westminster, MD, USA

problem #40

Feb 172016

Sonata

  • 75,000 miles
My car began making a knocking noise. At first I thought I had something caught under my car or under but after further inspection it was coming from the engine. I checked oil and all was fine, got an oil change just to be safe but still knocking. Checked recalls and see that they have recalls for the engine knocking and seizing up for 2011- Dec 2012 but my VIN not included, I see others with 2013 as well with same problems and engines have seized up. Bringing car to dealer in the morning and will follow up with what happens. Hopefully I make it to dealership.

- Tucker, GA, USA

problem #39

Feb 152016

Sonata

  • 100,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2013 Hyundai Sonata 2.0T started knocking on the way home from work. As I was driving the knocking noise got worse. So I pulled over and called the dealership and they told me to bring it in. I got it towed, none F the dash lights came on. Engine siezed. I see that there are recalls for the 2011 and 2012 Sonata's and my 2013 did the same thing as the 2011 and 2012 Sonata are doing. I really believe my 2.0T had a engine defect. They took off the oil pan ans saw it was siezed and its the same reason they recall the 2011 and 2012 Sonata. They need to check to see 2013 engine have that problem as well. My vehical was manufactured in Alabama in 2012, the same plant that had the recall.

- Scottdale, PA, USA

problem #38

Oct 202015

Sonata

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The independent mechanic inspected and diagnosed that the alternator might be failing and that the battery needed to be replaced. The batter was replaced and when the contact attempted to start the vehicle, there was a knocking noise. The vehicle was unable to be driven due to the failure and was towed to the dealer, who diagnosed that the rotating assembly failed and that the engine needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Bourg, LA, USA

problem #37

Jan 062016

Sonata

  • 65,000 miles
My 2013 Hyundai Sonata 2.0T started knocking on the way home from work. As I was driving the knocking noise got worser. So I pulled over and called the dealership and they told me to bring it in. I got it towed, none F the dash lights came on. Engine siezed. I see that there are recalls for the 2011 and 2012 Sonata's and my 2013 did the same thing as the 2011 and 2012 Sonata are doing. I really believe my 2.0T had a engine defect. They took off the oil pan ans saw it was siezed and its the same reason they recall the 2011 and 2012 Sonata. They need to check to see 2013 engine have that problem as well.

- Upper Marlboro, MD, USA

problem #36

Feb 062016

Sonata

  • 73,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2013 Sonata started making knocking noise from engine. The next day, tried driving it to go to the Hyundai dealership. While driving on freeway, knocking noise gets worse, car stalls on freeway. No warning lights came on. Had to coast over to right shoulder on freeway. Engine siezed. There are recalls on 2011 and 2012 Sonata engines for engine defect made in manufacturing plant. Although my car was a 2013 it did exactly what others complained about with there Sonata's. I believe my 2013 Sonata had an engine defect. I have a picture of metal fragments in the oil pan, which caused the engine to sieze and is the reason for the recall on 2011 and 2012 Sonatas.

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #35

Feb 082016

Sonata

  • 6,500 miles
Philadelphia, pa. While running a few errans my car's check engine light came on. I decided to shut the car off and start it back up. The check engine light went off and everything seemed fine. After about 30 minutes the car died out completely while driv8ng. Luckily I was able to let the car coast in a semi safe place. After the car stalled and began to smoke the car tried to start multiple times on its own and the smell was unlike anything I've smelled. In addition, I've been battlinng Hyundai to set up my blue link which they did not! lastly, I was actually able to capture this ordeal on my dash cam!

- Chester, PA, USA

problem #34

Jan 242016

Sonata

  • 111,608 miles
Engine suddenly without any prior indicators stopped working while driving 60 mph on hwy. Lost all power including power braking and steering.

- Vassalboro, ME, USA

problem #33

Dec 292015

Sonata

  • 15,600 miles
Takata recall - on Nov. 16, 2013, I purchased a new 2013 Hyundai, Sonata SE from a Hyundai dealer in turnersville, NJ. At time of possession of the vehicle, the salesman made a point to lift the hood & informed of a slight tapping noise coming from the engine. He said the noise was coming from the fuel delivery system. The noise has gotten louder. Each time I took the vehicle in for service, I told them about it & I was told nothing was wrong with it. The vehicle currently has almost 15,700 miles on it & taps quite loud. I took the vehicle for serving on 12-29-2015 & again I mentioned the engine tap. When the service was complete, the technician at the dealership told me the vehicle had an engine knock and that I needed a new engine. He said something is wrong with it & said it is covered under warranty. He said the dealership would call when the parts came in. He said nothing about a recall. I went on-line & typed in "what causes a 2013 Hyundai Sonata engine to knock. I found that the 2011 & 2012 Sonatas have been recalled by takata. Because over 470,000 engines in just the 2011 - 2012 Sonata, how long will I have to wait to get a new engine" most reported their Sonatas engines stopped working without notice, how long before my engine just stops working without warning since we already know the engine is knocking" I drive rts. I-76; I-42; I-95 & the walt whitman bridge every day for work. All traffic on these highways and the bridge are moving at a speed between 60 to 90 mph. If my engine stops without warning while I am driving to or from work, I will be killed. I have not heard anything back from the dealership. I have called and left a message for the technician, who told me the engine needs to be replaced and he never got back to me either. I am not aware of a recall on the 2013 Sonata 2.4L engine. They have only recalled the 2011 & 2012's.

- Westville, NJ, USA

problem #32

Nov 272015

Sonata

  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine started knocking and car died, towed to O'brien Hyundai in fort myers, fl and was told complete engine failure. Car was just in 1 week prior to a steering wheel recall and a 27 point inspection was done with no issues. 10 year 100,000 mile warranty won't cover it as they stated they found sludge from the oil (they didn't see this 7days earlier), can't guarantee this is what caused the engine to seize, but would cost more money to take engine completely apart. Ran through Hyundai corporate and claim denied. Quoted $6000-7500 for engine. There was no warning whatsoever, just knocking in the engine. We did not do oil changes at the dealership, so they state poor maintenance on our part. The 2011 and 2012 engines have been recalled for this same reason, and are backordered, so my engine for the 2013 has not been recalled but I am 4-6 weeks out waiting on an engine, no car and they won't help pay for a rental.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #31

Oct 072015

Sonata

  • 125,000 miles
Engine began to knock. Minutes later the engine seized requiring a tow. Hyundai service reported that a bearing failed resulting in engine damage. Prior to this the car did not report oil pressure lights or check engine lights. Hyundai is covering the replacement parts, but not the labor. The failure mode of the vehicle is as described in the current recall campaign effecting the 2011 and 2012 motors. I contacted the customer service line to see about getting my vehicle covered. It is a 2013, but was an early model year build in 2012. The car has been under repair for over a month because of the scarcity part as a result of the 2012 recall. My feeling is that my car should be included.

- Austintown, OH, USA

problem #30

Oct 232015

Sonata

  • 60,000 miles
On 10/13/15 while driving to work this car stutter when slowing for a stop light. The car did not stall so I kept on driving. On 10/16/15 while taking my daughter to school I was crossing the man-O-war and lyon drive intersection and the engine stopped running. I coasted across the intersection and got the car to the side of the road. I put the car in park and restarted the engine. The engine went on running as if nothing had happened. On 10/18/15 I decided to look the engine over to see if I could see why the engine stopped. I checked the oil and discovered that the dip stick showed no oil. I added 2 quarts of oil I had on hand and the dip stick now showed that the engine had oil, but it was still below the low mark on the dip stick. That day while driving the car the check engine light came on. My wife took the car into the dealer to change the oil and determine what the check engine light was for on 10/20/15. They changed the oil and said the check engine light indicated that I needed to replace the "exhaust oil control valve". on 10/22/15 the engine started acting funny. My wife took the car back to the dealer, on 10/23/15, and they said the engine was full of sludge and we needed a new engine. I did not believe it and wanted a second opinion. My wife barley got the car home. That same day I had the car towed to another service facility and they confirmed that we needed a new engine. They are now replacing the engine.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #29

Nov 042015

Sonata

  • miles
My vehicle has been an issue since I purchased it. I have taken it in five times for the same issue with the sunroof leaking and damaging the interior of the vehicle. I have also taken it in for replacement of cv joints twice and as of yesterday for the third time with no resolution. When I dropped off my vehicle it was fine with no lights, no oil change light on or anything, but they called to let me know I had sludge in my engine and it is going to lock up on me. My bumper to bumper warranty will not cover it so I will need to pay out of pocket to fix the issue on a brand new car.I have also had to change my tires on the car at least eight times in the last 3 years. I purchased a warranty for tires and rims, but as usual they have loop holes. They promised I can change my rims if I had any scratches, but when I tried to change them, they have denied my request for three years. It is frustrating to know that what they promise is a lie.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #28

Sep 282015

Sonata

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 60 mph without warning, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle on the first attempt. The contact stated that there was an abnormal noise coming from the engine before the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The contact was informed that the engine seized. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000.

- Locust, NC, USA

problem #27

Oct 222015

Sonata

  • 32,000 miles
Engine shuts off while driving resulting in two minor accidents/off/road incidents, battery (which has tested in excellent condition) needs to be jump started 4-5 times a week, sometimes more. Radio, charging ports, and steering wheel controls are not currently working, lights inside car flash, headlights become locked on, every single function in car has ended twice locking me out completely. These incidents have happened on many different dates and the dealer will not help us, but I am entering the date of the last incident below.

- Cold Brook, NY, USA

problem #26

Sep 242015

Sonata

  • 66,000 miles
I was driving down the road at approximately 60 mph when the engine locked up. I had no power and luckily there was no traffic coming and I was able to pull over to the side with no problems. Once I got stopped, I tried to start the engine but it would not turn over at all. I called a tow truck which took it to texoma Hyundai in sherman, Texas. Unfortunately my car was a little over 6,000 miles out of warranty. I thought the engine was covered up to 100,000 miles but since I bought it as a slightly used car the dealer said it wasn't covered. I ended up having to spend $4500 to have someone rebuild my motor. Upon asking about what might have happened the dealership told me they had no idea and had not had that kind of thing happen before. While my engine was being rebuilt I found on the internet that Hyundai Sonatas have been having all kinds of problems with their motors, so they weren't very truthful with me. They actual have lawsuits against them for defective motors which usually have problems between 60,000 and 90,000 miles. My car had 66,000 on it when this happened so that is in that time frame. I am now out $4500 with I suppose no recourse without hiring a lawyer which cost me more than the repairs. Of course I think Hyundai knows that.

- Sherman, TX, USA

problem #25

Sep 052015

Sonata

  • miles
I recieved an oil change and engine flush on 9/5/2015..the car act as if it would cut off afterwards...I then took the car to the dealership and was told I had no oil sludge and metal depri in the engine...I was then told I don't qualify for the recall because my car is a 2013 but I have the exact same problems as the recall.

- Somerville, NJ, USA

problem #24

Oct 152015

Sonata

  • 52,772 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 30 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated and the vehicle failed to accelerate when the accelerator petal was depressed. In addition, when parked, the vehicle had a delayed start when the key was turned to the start position. The failure occurred constantly. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 52,772.

- Turlock, CA, USA

problem #23

Sep 252015

Sonata

  • 42,000 miles
Engine making noise and trying to stall out. Worse after oil change. Took to dealership stated metal savings in the oil pan. Car has approx. 42,000 miles on it. Hyundai is not honoring warranty because we cannot find a couple of oil change receipts. We have several showing we got oil changed. They just recalled 2011-2012 models for metal in engine. State problem fixed in April 2012 my car assembled June 2012. A little too close for comfort.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?