Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,391 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Hyundai Sonata engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #14

Aug 172015


  • 25,000 miles


The contact owns a 2015 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that when the brake pedal was depressed, the vehicle accelerated. In addition, the vehicle would not move when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 25,000.

- Canton, GA, USA

problem #13

Sep 192014


  • 16,054 miles
On August 18, 2015 I was siting at a stop light and my car just shut off, I waited a few seconds and it started back up again, I took it to cocoa Hyundai they ran every test called me and told me that they could not find nothing wrong with my vehicle. On September 21 I was driving home from work my car just died it started jerking and the engine light and skid light came on I waited and it restarted it moved maybe about an inch or so and shut down again, I pulled to the side of the road and let it sit and it restarted I proceed to take it to cocoa Hyundai and told them that this is the (2) second time I have had this problem they kept the car ran every test called the Hyundai tech and they proceeded to inform me that they could not find anything wrong with this car. So I said of I guess this is normal for a 2015 to do this, I am in fear of driving this vehicle because I'm not sure when or where it will shut down. Something is seriously wrong with this vehicle and it is putting my life in danger...

- Rockledge, FL, USA

problem #12

Sep 052015


  • 125 miles
This Hyundai sonota has a push button ignition. Once the engine is started, a person can leave the vehicle with the key fob in their pocket and the engine stays running and will not shut off. This is in violation of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 114. Once the key is removed from the vehicle the engine should shut off. This engine is so quiet you cannot even hear it running while in the vehicle and if someone is partially color blind you can barely see the red and green indicator. This engine will run in an idle state no matter where the key causing risk of fire, carbon monoxide poisining and death and injury to anyone near this vehicle if left running and since the car stays running once it is started anyone can walk away with the key fob in their pocket and the car stays running no matter what. There are no reminders when exiting the vehicle that the engine is running, there is no automatic shut off in the vehicle, there are no reminders in the vehicle that the engine is running. The push button starts are not only a safety threat but also can be hazard in a parking garage if the engine catches fire due to over heating it can affect all the other vehicles in a parking garage and cause even worse damage.

- Mayfield Heights , OH, USA

problem #11

Feb 172015


  • 1,625 miles


At 11:38 am, car suddenly lost power while in middle of intersection, all the symbols on the dashboard lit up, pushing on throttle had absolutely no effect on cars movement. Car would go forward at idle speed only. Received a message on navigation screen and an email saying ?a possible condition with your engine control system has been detected. Hyundai recommends a full system check soon. To schedule an appointment with a Hyundai dealer, say service link when asked to say the name of a service. Pulled to side of road, turned off engine. Restarted engine, only check engine light was on, but acceleration still rough.

- Poway, CA, USA

problem #10

Jul 202015


  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Hyundai Sonata. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle suddenly shut off. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 3,000.

- Laplata, MD, USA

problem #9

Jun 222015


  • 600 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle made a very loud sound and stalled. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and had it towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 600.

- Boco Roton, FL, USA

problem #8

Feb 062015


  • 3,000 miles


2015 Hyundai Sonata 2T - slow acceleration; car will continue to move when foot on break; loud engine noise; engine light always on. Took car to dealer they said it was a recall issue that they repaired. Drove car two days engine light came back on. Now dealer states they are waiting for parts to come in to fix.

- Hammond, IN, USA

problem #7

May 012015


  • 2,500 miles
I have the limited edition, 2.0L turbocharged. When the engine is cold, and if you tip-in aggressively, you can hear some screeching sound above 5000 RPM of the engine, easily achieved in second or third gear. The turbo is designed by Mitsubishi and I knew someone who works there. After listening the sound, he indicated it is a case of turbocharger imbalance. I am not sure if it a design issue or mine is just a one off case. I have contacted Hyundai last week, haven't gotten any response yet. I believe the turbo has to be replaced. If it not resolved, over a period of time due to excessive vibration, the journal bearing may fail and the turbo could blast. If anyone has the same issue, please take it seriously.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #6

Apr 062015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 1,351 miles
On 04/06/2016, the vehicle's engine began to run rough and hesitated. Lack of acceleration, even at 4000 rpms (top speed 20 mph at 4000 rpms). The vehicle began to stall and required the gas pedal to be pressed due to low rpms at idle. The problem is intermittent, with no warning to the operator, and poses a significant safety risk on roadways with speed limits above 40 mph. No engine warning light came on to warn the operator. After three occurrences of this problem, in less than 24 hours, the vehicle, with only 1,351 miles on the odometer, was taken to dealership for service on 4/7/2015. After replacing, the fuel pump, the vehicle was returned to the owner on 04/10/2015. Less than 2 miles after picking the vehicle up from service, the problem occurred again, on a 50 mph roadway. The operator was very concerned for her safety as other motorists were swerving around the vehicle and honking their horns. Again, no engine warning lights came on to warn the operator. Once again, the vehicle was taken back to the dealership within 20 minutes of initial pick-up, for further repairs. The dealership has had the vehicle ever since, changing multiple parts dealing wit the fuel systems, and has yet to correct the problem to date (04/16/2015).

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #5

Mar 042015


  • 2,800 miles
This is the second 2015 Hyundai Sonata which had computer problems. The first one purchased in July 2014, Hyundai took it back in Dec 2014 because of the computer problems. The second picked up in Dec 2014 currently has approximately 2900miles with the same basic computer issues. Both vehicles when traveling from about 40 to 65mph the engine's computer system would cut the speed down and lose compression to approximately 20mph to protect the vehicle from some kind of engine damage. You would be forced to get off the road and shut the vehicle off. Once the engine was off 5 minutes the engine would start up, the check engine/anti skid lights would stay on so that the dealership could see what codes were causing the problem. The first vehicle was assigned a case# by Hyundai -case# 6788232 and was finally taken back by Hyundai in Dec 2014 after being out of service for well over 35 days due to the continued computer problems. The replacement vehicle recently had 3 incidents while traveling at approx. 65mph the engine would go to 20mph without warning. The only exception was that when I restarted the vehicle the check engine light would remain on until I turned off the vehicle. When I restarted the vehicle the check engine light went off leaving me in a difficult position when bringing the vehicle in for service, the computer didn't store the event to verify the problem. The dealer said if it occurs again to let them know and they would contact their technical hotline. The service dept knows there is a problem since they went through this with me on the first vehicle, that's why they took the vehicle back. I established a new case file [xxx] on 4/16/2015 with Hyundai Consumer Affairs. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Wallington, NJ, USA

problem #4

Feb 252015


  • 1,540 miles


At 1540 miles 2015 Hyundai Sonata limited engine cam advance sensor failed. This caused engine running rough and limited power with inability to climb hills without constantly downshifting. Highway driving is dangerous due to inability to accelerate and merge and loss of power on hills. Other owners are unable to start their cars altogether. Engine monitor warned of problem and recommended full systems diagnostic which pointed to cam sensor issue. Supply of sensors was backlogged due to multiple failures nationally. This is also evidenced by the number of online owner complaints for the same issue many stating long delays in obtaining the part and multiple part failures. In my case, after 200 miles with the new sensor if failed a second time and I am again waiting for parts. The vehicle now has 1700 miles on it since new. For a new vehicle this is a totally unacceptable level of quality. While I was told the O-ring seal fails causing oil to saturate the sensor I personally believe they do not know the full reason for the failures, I.e. poor sensor manufacturing, materials issue, O-ring issue etc. In speaking with Hyundai corporate personnel it became obvious to me that they are trying to avoid a national recall by understating the scope of this problem nationally and trying to minimalize the extent of the problem in our conversations. I suggest an investigation to determine the extent of the issue and see if it warrants a recall. For other owners or potential buyers, while this failure has been my primary complaint I have noted other issues with the electronic warning sensor inconsistency and cabin electronics systems which have not been resolved. This my first experience with owning a Hyundai and I am terribly disappointed. Next step is lemon law filing.

- Bethlehem, PA, USA

problem #3

Oct 132014


  • 500 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Hyundai Sonata. While traveling on a roadway or a highway, the vehicle's speed would reduce without warning. The vehicle became slow to respond when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer more than five times, but they could not replicate and diagnose the failure. The vehicle was taken to a second authorized dealer who diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired and the failure recurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was taken back to the authorized dealer for further inspection and diagnosis. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was invalid. The approximate failure mileage was 500.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #2

Jan 162015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 386 miles
I purchased my Hyundai Sonata on 1/05/2015 with only 6 miles from sheehy Hyundai of waldor in Maryland after 11 days of purchase on January 16 2015 at approximately 5:45 pm (rush hour in the DC metro area) my Sonata came to an abrupt stop without any warning signs on the highway in middle lane which is very dangerous and very scary and put me in a very vulnerable position. The engine shut off, I was unable to steer out the way of traffic and the brakes locked up and I was unable to do anything while in the middle of the rush hour traffic. I was a sitting duck waiting to get smashed by a pickup truck directly in the back of me.thank my god nothing happened. I was unable to use the sos and bluelink emergency features that is equipped came with 3 months free activation in this vehicle. I had to personally call via my cell phone and await police assistance which was 10 minutes still in the middle of the highway and after the assistance of the police we were only then able to push the vehicle to the shoulder of the highway. The bluelink customer service did very poorly in responding after all this emergency situation and to make it worse they did not provide a tow until 1.45 minutes after, then commence to justify this long period by stating its "Friday and the normal time is 2 hours or more". therefore, I am pleading to sheehy dealership and Hyundai corporation along with anyone else that can assist me to ensure that I have a new replacement vehicle. I am getting nowhere with sheehy dealership in reference to a new replacement vehicle. The vehicle is currently at sheehy service department and they are still not able to figure out the problem. Even though they might be able to fix the vehicle I will not feel safe driving the same vehicle after this very hazardous incident.

- La Plata, MD, USA

problem #1

Jan 302014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 3,552 miles
This is a new Hyundai Sonata 2015. The engine check light came on and the engine started running erratically. The following symptoms can be a safety concerns: 1. sometimes when idling at intersection the engine RPM goes up all of a sudden and the car starts moving forward and only a stronger push on the brakes stops the car from crashing into the vehicle ahead or running a red light. 2. when driving on highway the car lacks power even if the gas pedal is depressed all the way into the floor. This prevents the car from properly accelerating when merging into incoming traffic. I took the car to the dealership and they identified the issue is "cam cover leaking" and "oil coming through the oil seal making the motor do weird things". these are the quotes from the paper I got from the dealer. The car spent 2 weeks with the dealer. They replaced the cam cover. But 2 days later the problem appeared again. I'm afraid of driving this car now, because engine behaves erratically. And this car only has 3500 miles on it.

- Lewis Center, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?