Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,410 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Hyundai Tiburon clutch problems

clutch problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Hyundai Tiburon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Hyundai Tiburon Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #103

Jan 022007

Tiburon

  • Manual transmission
  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Hyundai Tiburon clutch went out at 55,000 miles.

- Terre Haute, IN, USA

problem #102

Nov 272006

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 30,000 miles
I purchased a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon used with 24,000 miles on the vehicle. I drove it for approximately 6,000 miles with no evident problems. Suddenly the clutch went out of the car. I found out that the clutch had already been replaced at 18,000 miles due to a failed bearing/ceased fly wheel. Hyundai dealership told my sales agent that the clutch would be replaced under the 6/60,000 warranty. I had the car towed to them. After taking the clutch off, they decided the failure was due to wear and tear and that the warranty would not cover a wear and tear item. I contacted customer service and they refused to authorize repairs. On carspace automotive forums, I have found that numerous 2003 Tiburon purchases have resulted in failed clutches multiple times in the early life of the vehicle. It is obvious that this is defective equipment and Hyundai should be forced to recall the clutch assembly and transmission in these vehicles. Mechanics I talked to believe the transmission is not completely releasing the clutch. This vehicle was purchased by my son who is a us marine. I think it is disgraceful that a Korean company is cheating our young soldiers.

- Parkersburg, WV, USA

problem #101

Nov 152006

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
I have a lot of trouble putting the car in gear (6-speed manual) I.e. 1st and reverse. I really have to pull or push the stick very hard. I have read a lot of similar complaints about this car ( 03 Hyundai Tiburon ) and feel something needs to be done please help us.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #100

Oct 252006

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2003 Tiburon with the 2.7L. I purchased the car in 2003. Around 14 thousand miles or so my clutch began slipping and then eventually failed. The car had a failure of the clutch disk, pressure plate, and flywheel, and the dealer informed the driver the failure was their fault and it would not be covered. A one time good will repair was made and instead of the exorbitant $2000 asked instead we only paid $500. The car was purchased for about $20,000. Hyundai asks for $2,000, 10% of the cost of the vehicle to repair it. 40,000 miles have now reached the odometer, and the clutch has now failed again. The clutch that is currently in my vehicle is one replaced in 2003 still. Hyundai revised the clutch components due to malformed clutch plates in 2004, yet refuses to acknowledge or compensate the owners. Two of the three parts of the vehicle that have failed are covered by Hyundai's "America's best warranty", the flywheel and pressure plate. Because the deformed compound on the clutch disk is being blamed on the vehicle operator, Hyundai has therefore absolved itself of any responsibility, claiming if it weren't for the operator induced failure of the clutch disk, the pressure plate and flywheel would still be ok. If the parts were replaced under warranty by a dealership then the regional parts director inspects it and deems it shouldn't have, the dealer must pay. This is why so many customers have to wrongly pay. If you dispute the claims of the technicians at Hyundai they will take your car apart and inspect, and if it is deemed its the customers fault, the company will not even reassemble the car for you. You must pay them do it! the transmission case had major scraping and abrasion due to the pressure plate movement. The second set of clutch components were removed personally, and therefore are submittable for inspection and review. Photographs documenting the wear and abrasion inside the transmission case are available.

- Sherman Oaks, CA, USA

problem #99

Jan 162005

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Clutch failure @ around 22,000 miles.

- Yorba Linda, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #98

Aug 272006

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 48,900 miles
I own a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT V-6 (2.7 liter) 5 speed manual transmission automobile with 48,900 miles on odometer. While I was driving it the clutch went out and I lost power and went off the road.

- Schenectady, NY, USA

problem #97

May 152006

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased the vehicle with 50000 miles on it. When I first purchased the vehicle I came into contact with a community of people with the same vehicle. The community is newtiburon.com. My vehicle is a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT V6 6 speed. There are literally hundreds of people with the same complaint as me. As soon as I received the car I still had 10000 miles of warranty. So I took the vehicle to roseville Hyundai to explain that there original clutch for my vehicle was a defective product that they had a tsb out on for replacement. I attend Wyoming technical institute(which is an automotive tech school) they told me that it wasn't covered under warranty even though it is a defective part that they even have a replacement part for. I believe they were just trying to avoid the $2000 repair for them. Since I was so close to not being under warranty. I understand that a clutch is a wearable part, but when the company that produces a part and says themselves that there is a defective product on there vehicle and if any cars come in with this part it needs to be removed and replaced with the new part. The tsb number is tsb 04-40-005. The defective part number is 10/01/2001-02/24/2003....4110039140 the new part is 02/24/2003-present.......4110039145 now within this, if your car was manufactured before 02/01/03 you definitely have the defective part and you should get it replaced by the dealer. My car was manufactured on 01/13/03. The clutch and flywheel combo does not mate well together and causes premature clutch failure. Whereas in my car my clutch slips at anything more that 1/4 throttle.

- Rancho Cordova, CA, USA

problem #96

Aug 052006

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 25,000 miles
I bought a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT 3 weeks ago from a dealership, medlin motors Inc., in rocky mount, nc. I started smelling a burning smell the day I bought the car and asked the dealer what it was and they told me it was probably brake rust or residue coming off from where it was sitting up for a while. So I then dismissed the problem until about 3 weeks later I smelt that smell again and soon after the clutch started slipping. I immediately called the dealership and asked them to fix it. They then picked up the vehicle and took it to their shop. I was under the impression that the warranty would cover it until the next day when we received a phone call stating that the repair bill would be $1700. With this information I told them I couldn't afford to repair it since I had just put a $1400 down payment on the vehicle 3 weeks prior. They still refuse to fix this problem without a payment of $1700. In its simplest form, I paid $1400 to drive a car for a month and now I am obligated to a $13000 loan for a car I can't drive which is still 30 minutes away at the shop.

- Roanoke Rapids, NC, USA

problem #95

Jul 292006

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 57,000 miles
My Hyundai Tiburon 03's clutch was burned out, but I've been driving a manual for a pretty long time and before, my Toyota Celica never had this problem. From what I heard, Hyundai has defective clutch parts and they won't cover this under their warranty. The parts and the labor at Hyundai would be extremely expensive. I would not want my car to have to replace the clutch every 2 years, from what I heard.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #94

Jul 212006

Tiburon

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
My 2003 Hyundai tibruon GT has a clutch that is slipping and there is only about 80,000 miles on my car. I have a daughter and if this clutch goes while we are in the car it could cause injuries to us both.

- High Springs, FM, USA

problem #93

Jul 132006

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while traveling at various speeds, the transmission was hard to shift and progressively worsened. Later while attempting to start the vehicle, the engine would not respond and would not start when jumped. The vehicle was towed to the dealership where it was determined the clutch failed, and the clutch fly wheel needed to be replaced.

- Canton, GA, USA

problem #92

Jul 012006

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The clutch on my 2003 Hyundai Tiburon has been prematurely slipping at only 65K miles. According to members on www.newtiburon.com, this is apparently a common problem and one that should be addressed by Hyundai.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #91

Jun 242006

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 61,000 miles
I have a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT V6 6-speed and at 61,000 miles the clutch master cylinder and flywheel have completely fallen apart. It has cost me over $2,000 in damage and I was told by the mechanic the condition of the clutch and flywheel was completely out of the normal! I have also heard many other complaints of this same issue with the Hyundai Tiburon. Also, girard gibbs llp is investigating claims in connection with a pending lawsuit seeking class action status against Hyundai America, Inc. Consumers complain that certain Hyundai Tiburons experience premature clutch and/or flywheel failures, resulting in the vehicle being inoperable. Consumers also complain that Hyundai does not replace the parts under warranty, resulting in tremendous cost of replacements to the consumer.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #90

Apr 132006

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Clutch went out on vehicle after only 30,000 miles normal use. This has been a problem with alot of Tiburon's/ I had to pay to have my clutch replaced out of pocket at the Hyundai dealership, even though the car is still under warranty, due to the fact that I am stationed with the army in germany.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #89

Jun 202006

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 44,000 miles
Faulty clutch.. per warranty 10 years or 100,000 miles for drive train.. $2000 clutch is not covered. Had car in previous complaining about clutch not working properly.. note that numerous complaints have been filed per information on the internet with tiberon's having clutch problems.

- Oviedo, FL, USA

problem #88

Jun 202006

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 45,000 miles
Clutch failure while driving, lost ability to use 2nd, 3rd, and 4th gear after moving into traffic without incident from first gear. Was able to coast to side of road.

- West Allis, WI, USA

problem #87

Jun 072006

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 46,000 miles
I have a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT with 6-speed standard transmission and 46000 miles. I live in indianapolis, in and the car was manufactured in October of 2002. Recently I have been experiencing problems with the clutch in this car. I took it to the dealer and they told me that the failure is due to my driving habits and they have no responsibility under warranty for this problem. I have been arguing with them for about a week now because of all of the claims on the web that are exactly like what I am going through with this same car. They have given me a quote of 1356 dollars to replace the clutch, pressure plate, and flywheel and said that they would pay 50% of this as "goodwill". the whole situation seems unbelievable to me. I have driven a standard transmission for several years and have never had any other car with these problems. The dealer who is servicing the car even says that the clutch should last twice as long as it has. Hyundai motor America's corporate office is who I have been arguing with about this issue and I think that they may be just offering to pay half because they know that they really should pay for the whole thing. I just don't know what to do because there is no way for me to know what is truly going on with this situation and whether hma is lying to me or not. I appreciate any help. Thank you.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #86

Mar 012006

Tiburon

  • miles
My 2003 Hyundai Tiburon V6 6-speed manual transmission car has had 2 clutch failures. The first occurred at 29000 miles and cost me nearly $800 to repair. After clutch replacement with an identical clutch kit, it failed again on me 5/29/2006 just 3000 miles later. This repair will cost me much more, most likely around $1500. I understand that their is faulty clutch that comes with the Tiburon GT as numerous problems have been reported in relation to early clutch failure. It is unacceptable for the clutch to fail twice within 33000 miles.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #85

May 282006

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 30,000 miles
With 30000 km on my 2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT V-6 my clutch is slipping and worn. There is a well documented problem with the clutches on these cars, and the dealers unwillingness to warranty the repair.

- Edmonton, 00, USA

problem #84

Aug 022003

Tiburon

  • Manual transmission
  • 700 miles
A few months after I got the car, back in May 2003, the clutch has been horrible. I have complained to the dealership many times and they never find anything wrong. It slips all the time, sometimes won't disengage, which could really cause an accident. Alot of times it won't go into gear even though the clutch is pushed all the way in.

- Whittier, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?