Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,500 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Hyundai Tiburon miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Hyundai Tiburon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Hyundai Tiburon Owner Comments

problem #6

Mar 272015


  • 87,923 miles


Just took 03 Tiburon to Hyundai for recall said frame is rotting away never seen frame rot like this is there any recalls for frame rust or is there any thing I can do, Hyundai said unfixable.

- Penndel, PA, USA

problem #5

Apr 262004

Tiburon 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I purchased a 2003 black Hyundai Tiburon in March 2003. I have recently noticed paint chips all over the hood. I have also noticed fading which resulted in a circular form rippling of paint, which the dealer claims to be environmental factors.

- Kenmore, NY, USA

problem #4

Aug 152003


  • Manual transmission
  • 14,000 miles
This is the second time the clutch has gone out. The first time was on May 2003 and I purchased the car in August of 2002. Hyundai flat out refused to pay for the repair and after much hassle they paid to fix it. This second time the clutch went out in August 2003. Hyundai is not wanting to pay to replace clutch. Their reason is that it is not under warranty, it has only been three months since they replaced the clutch. I was told it has a year warranty. They have had my car for three weeks. I have visited many web sites where other people who own this same type of car have had the same problems. I feel that they should fix my car at no cost.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #3

Aug 152003


  • Manual transmission
  • 0 miles


I won a lemon law arbitration case, Hyundai took me to court and I lost and I am still stuck with several problems. One item not included for discussion in the arbitration and court is the matter of false advertisement of horse power rating, which was only disclosed after I purchased my car. 7/19/02 leave deposit to buy car. 8/9/02 pick up car. 8/28/02 first return for service for remote entry. 9/9/02 second return for remote entry for service evening hours no paper work given. 9/11/-9/12/02 third return for service for remote entry. 9/16-9/23/02 fourth return for service for remote entry, paint on car damaged in several places, oil/water leaks, remote fails twice to arm. 1/10/03 drive to toms river NJ, remote fails twice to arm. 3/7/03 pinstripping on passenger side of car coming off. 6/13/03 appear in supreme court, county of westchester, NY 8/7-8/15/03. Fifth return for service for remote entry, correct damage to paint on car in several places and recall on car 8/5/03 date of formal decision of the court 8/21/02 formal decision of the court postmarked 8/21/03 received 8/22/03 document # 2 needless to say I am upset with the challenge brought by Hyundai motor car of America after the recent binding arbitration finding in my favor. I live my life, believing and trusting in the american way. This challenge appears to be nothing more that a delay tactic by the company. They have full time council at their disposal, I don't. I haven't done anything wrong and wish to put this unpleasant experience behind me. When I first called the attorney general's office to inquire about the arbitration process and briefly described the particulars I was encouraged to apply. When my case was accepted by the attorney general I was more encouraged that I was justified in my pursuit. And of course when the decision was made in my favor I was reassured that the american system works.

- Rye, NY, USA

problem #2

Jul 042003


  • miles
Paint on the 2003 Tiburon (blue) improper application results in micro flecks of paint coming off of hood and other parts of car. Either adhesion is poor or paint much too thin for the mildest of road conditions resulting in rapidly aging appearance and condition. Unacceptable in my opinion. Need either a tinted clearcoat applied or repainted.

- Bellevue, WA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #1

Jun 262003

Tiburon 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 3,080 miles
The car will take approximately 3 minutes of continuous cranking to get the car started. At times it will not stay started.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

Not what you are looking for?