Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,122 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Hyundai Tiburon seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Hyundai Tiburon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Hyundai Tiburon Owner Comments

problem #14

Aug 092016


  • 109,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon. When the vehicle was started, the air bag and seat belt warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 02V290000 (seat belts) and 03V321000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 109,000.

- Citrus Heights, CA, USA

problem #13

May 152015


  • miles
Drivers side seat belt buckle wiring routing was an issue with air bag light number- 03-01-002 and was recalled in 2003. The same issue has arisen with the passenger seat belt buckle wire routing. The passenger side has now enabled the air bag light, which disables the air bags from deploying - even if there is no passenger in the vehicle or no weight on the seat.

- Castle Rock, CO, USA

problem #12

Jul 312015


  • 79,961 miles
Took vehicle to the dealer to check the air bag warning light. They said it was caused by the seat belt and wiring that needed to be replaced. After checking the recall information, there was a recall (056) under campaign number 02V290000. The dealer stated that the recall was not for my vehicle which was a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon. I called Hyundai and spoke with their rep and she said the same even though the recall includes 2003 Hyundai Tiburons. This fix will cost me close to $400 just to pass inspection. Makes you wonder what was done on vehicles produced after March 2003 that was claimed to correct this issue, considering so many Tiburons that were produced after this date are having the same issue. I currently own 3 Hyundai, very disappointed as this car has only 79961 miles. Updated 09/15/15

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #11

Apr 062004


  • 8,000 miles


I have never received any recall notices at my address, by phone email, not even face to face with the dealer when I took the car to the dealership. I stumbled across this by accident trying to find online how to fix my electronic key, that was Friday, February, 28, 2014. From 2002 to now, no mail, except to extend my warranty. They could reach me then. The dealer never informed me or said anything about a recall on my airbags, light has been on for years, I was told the airbag was no big deal, seatbelt replacement, fuel tank, suspension, I got locked in the car and I couldn't get out, I never know if I will be able to get my car to unlock. It locks itself which is scary, I am Florida and if I get locked in again, with no A/C I can die quickly, it is called barters syndrome so I am on disability, I cannot keep potassium in my body which in a car locked in I could easily die, I can the dealer didn't utter the work recall or anything close to the word. He gave me prices to fix all these problem on the link below he is giving me these prices like I have to fix these at my expense am supposed to fix these recalls. If I can't get help or guidance I just the car the until it does kill me., then my family will sue, will sue Hyundai and anyone else. The neurosurgeon's at mayo clinic said if I have an accident I will either be dead or in a wheelchair. How do I find any one to help the car has on it at this time 3/4/14, 42,282 thousand miles.

- Ponte Vedra Beach, FL, USA

problem #10

May 012012


  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated upon starting the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that the seat belt buckle needed to be replaced. The contact was also informed that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 02V290000 (seat belts:front:buckle assembly). The manufacturer was also notified and offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 94,000.

- Irvine, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

Jan 022009


  • 65,488 miles
I co-own this car with my daughter. The air bag light came on and would not go off. We found out about safety recall 02V290000 which specified that on 2003 Tiburons the driver seat belt buckle could be damaged by the height adjuster mechanism, resulting in failure of the air bag or the permanent lighting of the air bag light with failure to deploy on impact. The dealer refused to fix it because Hyundai claims the problem was fixed by March 2003 and will not agree to fix cars manufactured afterward. Hyundai protection plan refused to cover repair because they say this is part of the cars restraint system excluded by the warranty. Paid to have it fixed Jan 2009. Problem has now recurred in Sept 2010 and dealer says I will have to pay to repair again because parts and service are only covered for 12 months. Meanwhile, my daughter is driving a potentially unsafe car.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #8

Jan 012008


  • miles


Having the same problem as most stated! seatbelt dings constantly when not buckled and air bag light on at all times. Found the recall. Took it to a dealership who said my car was not covered under the recall. If my car is having the recalled problem and is a 2003, and it is a consistent problem for others... it should be covered! I refuse to settle for anything less! because of this issue and Hyundai's lack of taking responsibility for their problem, I will never purchase a Hyundai again.

- White, GA, USA

problem #7

May 092009


  • 64,811 miles
In May 2009 my airbag warning light came on. I took it into the dealer and was told that the sensor in the driver's seat belt buckle was defective. They replaced the unit and said it was not covered under a warranty. I was doing research and found that Hyundai had issued a recall for the same problem under campaign number 02V290000. My vehicle was manufactured on Oct 1, 2002 which was outside the recall dates but the same problem happened.

- Asheville, NC, USA

problem #6

Apr 222010

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Recall id# 4217 and id# 74501 for a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon deal with the drivers seat belt buckle wiring causing the air bag light to illuminate. My air bag light keeps on turning on, even after my local mechanic checked the air bag and reset the light and turned it off. I finally had a Hyundai dealership check into it and they found that it is caused by the problem described in these recalls, however my VIN does not fall into the category that these two recalls are for. This recall must be expanded to more 2003 Hyundai Tiburons as it is a known problem and I should not have to pay to have air bags that work correctly.

- Brighton, MA, USA

problem #5

Nov 292009

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon. While driving at approximately 10 mph, the seat belt light illuminated accompanied by the sound made when the seat belt was not locked in. The contact tried to stop the sound by wiggling the seat belt attachment. Once the ringing stopped, the air bag light illuminated and stayed on. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop where a seat belt wiring kit was installed. The failure mileage was approximately 75,000. The current mileage was approximately 78,000. Updated 6/3/10 the consumer stated the seat belt was dinging while driving even when the seat belts were in use. When the seat belt was moved a little, the dinging stopped. However, the air bag light illuminated and it never went off. Periodically, the seat belt would continue to ding while driving and buckled up. It would not stop until the consumer moved the seat belt piece by the center console around. The consumer was informed the air bag light illuminated due to faulty seat belt wiring. Updated 06/11/10.

- Shakopee, MN, USA

problem #4

Nov 152008


  • 79,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon. The air bag indicator is illuminated and will not dim. The driver's side seat belt buckle wiring is preventing the air bag from deploying in the event of a crash. NHTSA campaign id number 02V290000 (seat belts:front:buckle assembly) was referenced. The dealer and manufacturer stated that there were no recalls on the vehicle. The failure mileage was 79,000.

- Newburgh, IN, USA

problem #3

Jul 272008

Tiburon 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,950 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon. The contact stated that the air bag light remains illuminated. She took the vehicle to the dealer and was informed that the seat belt buckle assembly failed. The part for the repair was ordered. The manufacturer stated that her VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 02V290000 (seat belts:front:buckle assembly). The failure mileage was 63,950 and current mileage was 64,010. Updated 10/16/08. Updated 10/20/08.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #2

Aug 012007

Tiburon 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
My air bag light has currently been on for almost a year now at first if I wiggled the seat belt latch it would go off but now it stays on. When I contact the dealership they say that my car is not affected by the seatbelt recall. They want to charge me all this money for something that should be covered by the recall.

- Marysville, CA, USA

problem #1

Aug 202007

Tiburon 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 85,500 miles
Airbag light is on, I think this is due to seat belt buckle wiring issue, since light was going on and off for few days (and when I was moving seat belt buckle it was disappearing) I did research Tiburon forums and I see that most people experiencing same issue had their seat belt buckle replaced and light reset and that was it. Problem with me is that I'm out of warranty. I have called Hyundai affairs and reported this issue and they told me that Hyundai dealter may and most probably charge me for inspection and fixing issue, since there was no recall on my car. I'm afraid that air bag will not deploy during accident and I think Hyundai should pay for fixing it since this is not isolated issue. Many other Hyundai have same issue.

- Parlin, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?