Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,458 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Hyundai Tucson engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Hyundai Tucson:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Hyundai Tucson Owner Comments

problem #4

Aug 082011


  • 30,000 miles


My 2008 V6 Tucson has stalled when stopped in traffic numerous usually started right back up but the last time it would start but not stay running. The car also chugs when I release the gas pedal at around 45 mph and it does not shift smoothly during regular driving. I feel that the car is unreliable and I do not feel safe taking it on long trips. I have had it in to the dealer twice as it is still under warranty. The first time they replaced the mass air sensor. This did not solve the problem. The second time I brought it in, they told me they found wires that were loose and that they cleaned a ground. The car is not running any better and I expect the stalling problem to start at any time. I am very unsatisfied with the fact that Hyundai cannot correct the problem and the car is not running properly or safely.

- Latham, NY, USA

problem #3

Jul 012009

Tucson 4-cyl

  • 1,500 miles
Owner (Hyundai Tucson 2008 gls) Hyundai customer service and representative is the worse. My vehicle has been cutting off without any warning. I've taken my car to the dealer numerous time indicating the car cut-offs without warning. In addition, I took my car to the dealer in 2009 complaining about the cut-off and not picking up speed. The dealer ourisman Hyundai (laurel) service representative indicated there is a value that allows the air flow intake for the vehicle not opening up properly. Needless to say; they have done nothing. Again the vehicle went back in for check engine light and cutoff. Their explanation, the gas tank was not tight. In 2010 the vehicle cutoff with warning and now is cutting off without warning. To date the vehicle has cutoff without warning more than 10 times to include August 16, 2011 (speed 10 mph), August 17, 2011 (speed 15 mph), August 23, 2011 (speed 20 mph) and August 29, 2011, (speed 60 mph) without warning. Each time, Iżve taken the vehicle to the dealer; however they cannot replicate the problem. As I mentioned to them, the vehicle cut-offs when it wants to without warning. The cutoff without warning is an accident waiting to happen. The August 29, 2011(at 60 mph) 7:45am cut-off was fortunate the vehicle in the back did not rear end me. The vehicle cutoff, again on August 29, 2011 at 5:45 pm. The vehicle has been with the dealer each time, however they cannot duplication of locate the problem. However, they want me to pay to replace the mass air flow sensor with may not be the problem. The July incident was the first time. The vehicle is back at the dealer trying to determine the problem. Updated 09/08/11 updated 2/23/12

- Oxon Hill, MD, USA

problem #2

Mar 212009


  • 26,000 miles
Assistant service manager, I have a 2008 Hyundai tuscon, purchased at fitzgerald's, which you have serviced in the past. Yesterday (3/21/10) when on a short road trip I stopped for gas. On starting, the engine accelerated on its own (without accelerator pressure) to an idle RPM of 5000 while in "park". it did this repeatedly. I was able to put it in gear only by shifting it rapidly into drive immediately after starting, before the engine RPM increased dramatically. The car would then maintain a road speed of around 60 mph on its own without accelerator pressure if the brakes were not applied. Thankfully, the brakes would slow the car, but at a stop (while in drive) the engine would idle at 2000 RPM requiring marked brake pressure to keep it from accelerating forward. If placed in neutral the engine would accelerate to around 5000 RPM. It did this continuously and repeatedly over a 6 hour period of time. This am (the following morning) the car functioned normally! I am in syracuse for the next 2 weeks and would prefer to have the car serviced in the DC area, if it continues to function satisfactory in the interim. Obviously, this situation is dangerous and rings of the Toyota fiasco. I called Hyundai motor consumer assistance (800-633-5151) to register the concern, but was placed on hold interminably and never got through. I will forward this E-mail to them via land mail as well as to the national safety transportation board. Please register this concern in your records. I plan to bring it in for service when I return to Maryland.

- Cabin John, MD, USA

problem #1

Apr 152008


  • 330 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Hyundai Tucson. The contact stated that the rear of the vehicle would slide as if it were on ice while driving on dry land. The vehicle would also surge from approximately 30 mph to 35 mph. The driver side of the vehicle, where the wheel would slide, would drop and bang as if the vehicle had been struck. A second vehicle that she test drove at the dealer experienced the same failure. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for inspection, but no failures could be found. They stated that the failure was normal. On May 24, 2008, while driving 55 mph, the rear tire locked and was dragged along by the remaining three tires. The vehicle also surged on numerous occasions. The current mileage was 1,436 and failure mileage was 330.

- Tacoma , WA, USA

Not what you are looking for?