Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2016 Tucson comes with a dual-clutch, 7-speed transmission. But Hyundai forgot to tell you about one key phrase – zero-move. That's right, an alarming number of owners have said their SUV wouldn't accelerate after a stop.

Turns out that's because the transmission's application logic has been stumbling all over itself. Hyundai recalled the issue in September 2016, but it's difficult to say if owners are out-of-the-woods, or if this is just a sign of things to come.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,998 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2016 Hyundai Tucson drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Hyundai Tucson:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2016 Hyundai Tucson Owner Comments (Page 10 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #16

Jun 072016


  • 700 miles


Vehicle does not move from a stopped positioning a city street has occurred randomly 4 times in first 2900 miles. Vehicles currently has 3100 miles. After stopping at a stop sign, I depressed accelerator to start moving again and the engine revs to 3000-4000 rpms, , but car does not move. It does not move!!!! release accelerator, depressed accelerator again and car jerkily moves forward after 4 to 5 second hesitation. Taken to dealer twice, at first visit no errors codes found and dealer attempted to explain away problem "as this is how the new trnsmission works, it has a small hesitation". second time at dealership last week for this recurrent problem. After stopping, engine revs but car fails to move. Again, no error codes found nor did car exhibit problem for service tech. Dealership told me to call Hyundai consumer relations to log the problem. This is a safety problem that NHTSA should look into as many other are also having this problem.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #15

Jun 032016


  • 7,000 miles
At seemingly random times, the transmission will slip completely out of gear and the engine will just rev but not move the car. Feels like the car is in neutral gear and just revving the engine. Almost got hit from a car as we pulled out to turn right from a stopped position at a stop light, pushed on the accelerator, and the car would not move at all. Just revved for about 5-6 seconds before finally going into a gear and moving the car. Very dangerous situation!! just went to the dealer to day to have it looked at and they said nothing was wrong and the car was "working as designed."

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #14

Jun 042016


  • 1,400 miles
When stopped and hitting the gas pedal there have been occasions that the transmission will not engage and the vehicle will rev the engine as if in neutral. This has happened twice, once going uphill and I had to wave gars behind me to pass. 1.6T engine with the dct. The dealer says that this is the vehicle's way of not hurting the transmission. However it doesnt seem to me, an average driver who has owned many cars as if this would be safe or normal for anything moving on a road.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #13

May 312016


  • 200 miles


Purchased new tuscan and has 200 miles on it. My wife started backing up into our garage and warning light came on stating not to drive car due to transmission over heading. The car was towed to dealer. After a day they advised us not to drive the car in the eco mode as the tranny heats up. I'm concern that my warranty will run out and this was such a problem, it wouldn't get fixed. I'm sure all the tests for mileage was done in this eco mode. Plus someone needs to look into the fact when backing up, if you take your foot of accelerator the car rolls forward. Someone is going to get ran over this is a major flaw and needs to be addressed.

- Hudson, FL, USA

problem #12

May 072016


  • 3,400 miles
Air conditioning system will freeze up during hot and humid weather. This will happen regularly and consistently about every 60-90 minutes. We discovered that the solution is to stop, turn vehicle off, and let system thaw for 10-15 minutes. I have taken vehicle to dealer but they can't find or fix the problem. No diagnostic codes related to the issue appear in the computer system and dealer cannot recreate the problem in their shop.

- San Marcos, TX, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Apr 202016


  • 2,900 miles
Problem concerns the 7-speed dual clutch transmission. Clutch plates in the transmission may not engage in drive or any forward gears after stopping at an intersection, toll booth, etc. When you apply power to move forward the clutch plates inside the transmission will not engage. Even putting the vehicle in 1st (vs drive) does nothing. The only gear that works when this happens is reverse. You'll have to back your way out of the intersection to the side of the road. Very dangerous! be careful of rear-end collisions or being side-swiped as folks try to get around you. Turn the vehicle off and let it sit for 5-10 minutes. Restart the vehicle and put transmission in drive. Gradually increase RPM to about 4,000, transmission will start to engage. Crawl from the shoulder to a place of safety. Turn the vehicle off and let it sit for another 10 minutes or longer (if possible). Make sure all systems are off, even interior lights (very important). Essentially, the computer that controls the transmission must have time to reset completely. Restart the vehicle and transmission will probably engage normally. Have taken vehicle to dealer for service multiple times, they tell me they simply can't fix it, there's something wrong with how the transmission was designed. Dealer has tried to reset and relearned transmission computer but problem continues. Watch this youtube video from another owner about the problem: Https://

- San Marcos, TX, USA

problem #10

May 142016


  • miles


Takata recall; while in traffic I lost all throttle response and car would not accelerate but only dropped to low RPM and coasted. No warning lights. After coasting car began to respond to accelerator. This has happened before but dealer told me it was turbo delay on 1.6T engine and found no problem. This is not turbo delay and car is now setting at the dealer as this last time made it to the lot on late Saturday. Not safe to drive home. Will wait and see what they find but probably will not repeat or get fixed. I now see other web sites give same type of problem. Only has 6400 miles on it since 8/19/2015

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #9

Mar 202016


  • 6,695 miles
On January 11, 2016 I was going on an entrance ramp to interstate 10 in jacksonville, fl. And as I was entering the interstate, there was a lag time in the engine, and power was not getting to the wheels. I had the accelerator floored and it just wouldn't move. Then all of a sudden it propelled me forward very fast. I had a semi right behind me, and I couldn't go anywhere until it finally kicked in. This could have been a very serious accident if that truck would have hit me. The vehicle had 4703 miles on it. It happened again on a busy street on March 20, 2016. I had stopped at a light, and when I went forward, it got up to 18 mph and then just nothing, no movement at all. The tach said the engine was revving, but I was going nowhere. This happened at the next 7 traffic lights/stop signs and each time was the same thing, 18 mph stopping, and propelling me at 33 mph. This was each and every time. The mileage was 6695 at the time. There is a serious lag time in the 1.6 liter engine, that Hyundai has been made aware of. I contacted them both times, and the case # is 8735263. They basically just told me to take it to a dealership, but they couldn't find anything wrong as it didn't register on the computer either time. This is a very serious problem that has happened to many, many others across the us. I'm terrified to drive this car now as I fear that if it happens again, I could be killed, or someone else could be hurt/ killed. This vehicle is not safe to drive. I bought it brand new in Sept.2015, and if I had been told there might be a problem like this, I wouldn't have bought it. I can't get rid of it, and I can't trade it in on another vehicle, so I'm basically screwed and still owe 64 more payments of $332 on it. I feel the dealership and Hyundai is responsible for selling me something that could be a potentially very dangerous situation.

- Norwalk, OH, USA

problem #8

May 082016


  • 7,000 miles
The car does not accelerate at a light or traffic. The car is on and revs and the dials move but does not drive. This has happened 3 times and the dealer cannot find anything wrong because the computer doesn't show an issue. I am scared to drive the car.

- Farmingdale, NY, USA

problem #7

Apr 242016


  • 4,452 miles
Purchased vehicle 12/13/2015. Today (4/24/16) driving vehicle in normal to light traffic, four times vehicle lost power. I stepped all the way on the accelerator and the car would not go. Very dangerous as there were cars behind me. I had driven approximately 8 miles when this started. Current mileage 4452. If this happens when on freeway/highway I would be afraid of getting hit in the rear.

- Redondo Beach, CA, USA

problem #6

Feb 242016


  • 5,000 miles


Motion on highway, transmission just slows car down causing cars in rear almost hitting my car. Sometimes when going from stop, transmission does not go in car in gear and just revs. While going from stop sign car starts to go then slows down by itself. This is a new double clutch transmission that does not work. Had it in the dealer 3 times. They put in a new clutch motor and it worked well for 2 weeks. Now it is bad again one day somebody is going to get killed.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #5

Apr 142016


  • miles
I have had problems with the 2016 Tucson since day one of our 3 year lease. Originally I was going to keep the car after the lease, but that's not going to happen now. I have the same problems as many others with the hesitation from a stop or when slowing down at a turn - no power. I ordered the turbo model thinking it would not have power problems, but now after 6 months, I realize the car is just not very good at moving from a stop. The dealership said it was normal because of the electronic computer system in the car. Another problem that occasionally manifests is the on-board navigation screen. Periodically it will go blank on starting the car and won't come on at all. The only cure is to shut off the car and restart it. Tried to save money with this make and model, but guess I'll go back to an american made car next time. I would cancel my lease contract if I thought it was possible.

- Monument, CO, USA

problem #4

Apr 052016


  • 957 miles
On 3 occasions my 2016 Hyundai Tucson stalled when approaching an on ramp to a major interstate road. The loss of power placed me in a very dangerous position, a similar state of danger when entering a busy intersection. This vehicle is extremely unpredictable and needs to be recalled

- Bonita Springs, FL, USA

problem #3

Feb 052016


  • 3,500 miles
The few months old vehicle would get into a degraded mode and severely hesitate when accelerating from a stop. This created a dangerous situation where I was almost hit because the vehicle would not move. In addition, the vehicle ignored manual shifting and stayed in drive mode even when the shifter was set physically in the - and + manual mode. Driving on highways caused the engine to groan and rev loudly as it tried to shift into a gear. Turning the car off and opening the door and restarting the car seemed to correct the issues for a short time. After two weeks in the shop, it was determined it was a faulty clutch accuator assembly. This is a very dangerous condition that appears to be happening to many as seen on forums.

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #2

Dec 202015


  • 2,134 miles
Twin clutch seven speed transmission needs updating hesitates on acceleration from a start at a red light / stop sign / etc. Jerking auto & creating vibrations in driving axles had dealership install tcm sw update {15-01-050} on Jan 14 2016 still have same results on occasions help!!!!!!!!!

- Bogalusa, LA, USA

problem #1

Dec 012015


  • 6 miles
The problem that I am having is when I start to accelerate going through the gears 1,2,3 and 4 there is a huge, pause/delay in shifting through the gears. In fact there has been may times when I start to accelerate the gears pauses and I hit the gas again and the vehicle does not accelerate at all the RPM's go up sometimes past 6 and the transmission start burning. I even got an safety display message that the transmission is overheated and to pull over for safety until it cools down. Note I only have 5719 miles and my 4th time taking it back to the dealership for service. I am driving in fear everything because this problem happens when it wants to sometimes the vehicles drives perfect then the next minute I'm having the same issue. This problem is happening at a street light, stop sign, stop and go traffic on the streets and on the freeway, when I am slowing down to make a turn then accelerate and in the morning, afternoon and at night. I am afraid when I start to accelerate then the next second I cannot accelerate that the car behind me or if I am changes lanes and stop accelerating than another vehicle will crash into me. I don't know if the problem is the actual transmission and or software related, but it is unsafe and I do not want to drive this vehicle anymore. This problem is off and and on, but when it does happen it does not stop the problem until I turn the car off. Sometimes it continues to happen or not. For example last time I had the problem was on sat. Night while I was out with my family in the car. The transmission was overheating, it cooled off and about an hour later I drive it home and it was okay. I drove it to the dealership this morning with no issues. I am in sales and drive a lot and cannot afford these issues for safety reasons and for work.

- Corona, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?