Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,926 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2016 Hyundai Tucson drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Hyundai Tucson:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2016 Hyundai Tucson Owner Comments (Page 2 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #170

Aug 072016


  • 10,635 miles


On August 7, 2016 traveling South on I 44 just North of the willis exit traffic slowed down I decelerated and then is traffic picked up I pushed on the accelerator and there was no power to the transmission. Top speed was 20 miles an hour I let off the excelerator pushed again had some power but not full power. Two cars coming up behind me doing 65 to 75 miles an hour had to detour around me one on the right one on the left. Chuck willis exit stop at stop light pushed on accelerator no power. Let it sit for one hour then drove it with no apparent problem. On August 8 returning to dallas pulled off of I 45 at corsicana slowed down for two trucks on the side of the access road. When I tried to accelerate again it would go 20 miles an hour. Had car towed to dallas to van Hyundai. Dealership said it was a computer card they had a confirmed fix. On Sunday, September 6 on josey lane in carrollton Texas I slow down to let a car into my lane then tried to accelerate an experienced same problems as before. Having it towed to help fines hon day in plano Texas on Tuesday, September 6.the first problem the car had 10,635 miles on it. The third episode it had 10,968 miles on it.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #169

Jul 192016


  • 4,200 miles
The first sign of trouble with the vehicle concerned the computerized functions within the vehicle. I could not sync my phone to the car and other issues. The second sign of trouble was when I was on my way to work one rainy morning. I exited the expressway and stopped at the red light. Once the light turned green - the car would not move. I sat there for a few lights attempting to get the car to move. It finally jerked and accelerated very quickly and I immediately took the car to the dealership. I was told that there was nothing wrong with the car because they road tested the car and did not have the same problem. I kept having all sorts of problems after this, such as jerking, lurching, lights flickering in and out, to name a few. The transmission seems to be confused and I consider this car to be quite unsafe to drive. Eventually I took the car back to the dealer and they replaced a hood latch - something I did not even know I needed and performed a software cluster that was supposed to repair the vehicle. They kept the car for a full week. I got the car back and did not have it 24 hours before it started acting up again, but even worse than before. It still shoots out after the accelerator has been tapped gently, lurches and jerks forward, stalls and stops, especially if it is raining. I don't even want to think about trying to drive this car once the winter has set in. I am already afraid to drive it. I have been attempting to communicate with the dealer (world Hyundai of matteson, il ) and Hyundai motors to no avail. I have to pay for a car that is unsafe to drive. I am afraid they aren't going to make any real changes unless someone has a tragic accident and dies.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #168

Jul 282016


  • 1,982 miles
Vehicle will hesitate when pulling into traffic. Transmission will engage and disengage periodically own its own and RPM"S will rev. After hesitation car will surge forward and jerk your neck. I have had too many close calls to drive this car anymore. The problems happen randomly. Has been back to the dealer 3 times for this. Now they say they cannot reproduce the problem. Somebody is going to get killed in this car if driven because you never know when it is going to happen. I have now seen many complaints about the same problem online.these problems occur when motion on all streets and highway. It does not make any difference if the vehicle is in normal, eco or sport mode. Every time the dealer has it it seems to fix it temporally but then the problem seems to re-accrue. I can not imagine what is going to happen when the roads get bad in the winter.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #167

Aug 242016


  • 2,800 miles


When I try to accelerate from a stop at at a slow speed this car has extreme lag. Sometimes it can take up to 3 seconds for the engine to respond and then all of a sudden the car jumps and accelerates too quickly. This problem has made it very difficult to judge when I can cross traffic because I never know when the car will actually accelerate.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #166

Aug 172016


  • 2,700 miles
2016 Hyundai Tucson limited 1.6T (ultimate pkg) vehicle was purchased brand new May 30 2016. Many times the vehicle has hesitated and/or lurched into gear from a dead stop. The dct transmission hesitates noticeably when accelerating from dead stop. Vehicle had approximately 2,700 miles at the time of the main incident described below (we noticed hesitation in starting from dead stop right from time of purchase and questioned the sales person. He stated that was due the dct and we needed to get used to driving this type of vehicle). The vehicle was on an interstate exit ramp at a complete stop with the drivers foot on the break, when driver took his foot of the break to step on the accelerator the vehicle began to roll back and would not go forward, so the driver stepped harder on the accelerator, when the dct and transmission finally engaged the vehicle lurched sharply forward and the tires screeched loudly. (this basically felt as if the vehicle was preforming a neutral slam). When at a dead stop the dct clutches periodically will not engage the transmission, it's like the car is in neutral and then it will start to move. I have now seen more the 160 similar complaints on the ¿NHTSA¿ web site and many more on other sites when googling 2016 Hyundai Tucson automatic transmission problems.

- Longwood, FL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #165

Mar 172016


  • miles
I purchased my 2016 Hyundai Tucson in March. I have had nothing but problems with the transmission. I'm scared for my life and children's life. My tuscan will be stopped at a stop light, stop sign, or where ever it feels like not going. I push the pedal to go and it doesn't. at times it will jerk as well. One time, I was at a red light and I tried to go and it wouldn't let me. I almost got hit by a vehicle. Thank goodness by children wasn't with me. I have taken my car into the dealer 4 times. They kept my tuscan for almost a month. It's August and they have my tuscan again. I still don't have it.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #164

Aug 212016


  • 4,500 miles


When trying to accelerate from a stop, from time to time the car will not move. I can take my foot off the brake and it will increase RPM but not roll. I press the gas and it will increase RPM but not roll. It will not roll forward until significant gas is applied and rpms are very high. The car started doing this at about 4500 miles. I have taken it to 2 dealerships to have it fixed. They do a "software update" but this does not fix the problem. I even showed a service manager the youtube video of what the car is doing, in case I wasn't communicating clearly enough. I am writing this after the 2nd "repair" as the problem continues. This problem needs to be fixed. When I am stopped at a red light, it is an annoyance to me and everyone around me. I is also a safety concern. When I am trying to cross 3 lanes of traffic and my car hesitates, it is downright unsafe.

- Riverview, FL, USA

problem #163

Aug 202016


  • 11,200 miles
After coming to a stop, the car will not move forward when in drive. The engine revs however the car will not move. This has occurred more than 6 times. I have had repaired by dealer two times and problem has not been resolved. This last incident took over 15 minutes before I could get the car to move. Forward and was stuck on a major 4 lane road. I tried turning car off, moving to neutral and back to drive, put the car in reverse, and then try drive again. Nothing corrected the situation. Finally was able to move car a few jerky feet and then continue to rev engine until car continued to move. The car did move in reverse. Car did stop in middle of intersection once and just starting going in time to just missed being T-boned by dump truck. Have major concerns that could be involved in horrific accident because don't know when this issue will arrive again. The car is eight months old.

- Ormond Beach, FL, USA

problem #162

Aug 172016


  • 6,100 miles
I have a 2016 Hyundai Tucson limited that ive been having dct problems with. First issue I was in the left had turn lane at a busy intersection and the car wouldn't move just rev like it was in neutral causing me to block traffic and almost get into a accident. Second I went on a hike up at angeles forest and didn't get back to my vehicle till it was dark out and my car wouldnt move again and this time it was followed by a trans temp to high warning and I was in the middle of nowhere with no service. I can no longer trust this vehicle at all.

- Van Nuys, CA, USA

problem #161

Aug 092016


  • miles
I purchased the vehicle on 8/6/16 but the dealership had to located the vehicle with our specifications and get it from another dealer. We test drove a similar Tucson and while we drove the test vehicle it would not accelerate after being stopped at a red light. Then the RPM's where going crazy and it felt like the transmission was slipping. It had 5,000 mi. On it and the salesman had to take it to the service dept. We asked if this was a common issue, he assured us it wasn't and played it off. Sadly, we did end up purchasing another Tucson 2016 with 356 mi. On it on 8/8/2016. I have already had problems with it. 1st) trying to back out of my driveway, would not go. 2nd) leaving a parking space it would not go forward. 3rd) driving in a parking garage uphill and the transmission was slipping and couldn't go up the ramp properly. I tried to take it back to the automax dealership in norman, ok and they would not take it back after 3 days and they knowingly sold me and unsafe and defective vehicle!!! I haven't even used a half tank of gas. I did tell them to stop the paperwork on it and now we are dealing with Hyundai headquarters. I am currently driving a rental car and my brand new unsafe and defective Hyundai Tucson 2016 is sitting in my driveway!!!! Hyundai needs to take these vehicle off the road before anyone dies!!! there needs to be an investigation asap!!!!!!

- Chickasha, OK, USA

problem #160

Aug 012016


  • 11,000 miles


The contact owns a 2016 Hyundai Tucson. While attempting to proceed from a stop, the accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle failed to respond when the engine revved. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the computer system needed an update. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 11,000.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #159

Jul 252016


  • 30,000 miles
10.10.15 I purchased a new 2016 Hyundai Tucson limited fwd 1.6L turbo dtc. I noticed the hesitation and lag issues with the transmission as documented in similar complaints; however, when these issues where mentioned to the dealership they were dismissed as being normal for this type of transmission. I have made 3 trips to the dealership; although, I continued to experiencing the same issues with the transmission, I was never informed of any transmission issues or that Hyundai had issued a fix in December 2015 to address the hesitation issues in the transmission. 07.25.16 my mom was driving my vehichle and was left stranded in the chic-fil-a drive thru because the transmission failed to engage. My mom was in drive with her foot on the brake, but when she removed her foot from the brake to move up in line the vehicle did not move, even with excessive acceleration. The vehicle was placed in neutral, reverse, and drive again and failed to move in any gear. The vehicle had to be pushed out of line into a parking spot. 07.27.16 the dealership advised my vehichle was ready to pick up. When asked, they stated there was "no" issue with the transmission as they could not duplicate the issue. They had no idea why my vehichle had become stranded, but it was ready for me to pick up. After refusing to take back and drive a vehichle in this unsafe condition, they offered to have a technician drive it around for a few days to see if he could duplicate the issue. 08.11.16 dealership left a voicemail stating Hyundai issued a recall to repair the issue with the transmission failing to "pull", advised my vehicle had been fixed per this recall, and the issue would not happen again. My concern now is whether this issue has been truly fixed once I pick up my vehichle from the dealership and if driving it like this has caused damage to the transmission or engine.

- Blanchard, OK, USA

problem #158

Jul 252016


  • 5,000 miles
Car is stopped at red light on highway (4 times) and once in driveway. Running and in gear. You attempt to move forward and it is as if the car was not in gear. It will not move for several minutes and then it will randomly engage and begin to move. Other complaints I have seen say it relates to the clutch but my dealership still has the car (for the second time) and says they can not identify the problem. Vehicle is unsafe until a fix is found.

- Bluffton, SC, USA

problem #157

Jul 152016


  • 11,000 miles
On multiple occasions, the car will not go into any forward gear after stopping. This has happened on at least 3 occasions. Once, the vehicle had to be driven in reverse to get off the highway safely. The dealer has updated the transmission software, but it concerns me that this could happen again.

- Lafayette, NJ, USA

problem #156

Jun 172016


  • 3,853 miles
This is my second complaint concerning this vehicle. My original complaint was on 06/27/16 where I stated that the car will neutral out when taking off from a stop. As so many have said in there complaints, vehicle is unsafe to drive. On 7/8/16, I dropped my car off at chapman Hyundai where it sat for 34 days being destroyed by the elements of the Arizona sun, before Hyundai America finally released a software update. Back in may, I had requested Hyundai repurchase this vehicle because I felt it was unsafe to drive, which of course was declined. After requesting an engineer to personally look at my vehicle, I was informed (07/08/16) that Hyundai is aware of the issue and is working on a software update with no eta. Finally after my car was there for 34 days, they informed me that the update has been performed and my car is operating as designed. This information comes a few days too late as anything pass the 30 days is considered lemon law in Arizona. Since the day we dropped off the car, we have insisted that they repurchase this unsafe vehicle. On the 11th of August, we were informed that are request for 'repurchase' has been approved. On the 13th, I picked up my vehicle and now it sits in my garage waiting for the 'repurchase' to complete. Don't let Hyundai get away with this, hold their feet to the fire and demand they repurchase your car. The issue is safety and they want us to believe it's all fixed with a software update" what about 34 days my car was being destroyed by the sun / elements? what about the damage that has been done to our cars by the clutch 'slipping' or 'neutralling' out" anyone would would like more information on how to go about this process - please call me or email me at 480.225.8576 or I feel for all of you and understand your pain. Please stand up and fight Hyundai tooth and nail on this please.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #155

Jan 042016


  • miles
This vehicle has a dual clutch transmission. When pressing the accelerator from a dead stop, the car hesitates and doesn't move. When moving forward from a rolling start, the car hesitates then lurches forward. Sometime, the engine simply revs and the car doesn't move at all. This is extremely dangerous, especially when making a turn in front of oncoming traffic at an intersection. There is no certainty that the car will move or maybe the car will lurch forward. This condition has happened ever since I purchased the vehicle and seems to be getting worse.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #154

Aug 112016


  • 2,400 miles
I purchased this car in April & only had 2400 miles on it when this happened! we were driving along the interstate on 8/11/16, everything was fine until we stopped (in bumper to bumper traffic) to pay the toll. Upon acceleration, the car just revved, no forward movement at all! my fiancÉ switched into sport mode, with some hesitation the car began moving forward. Once we reached cruising speed, everything was back to normal. That is until we had to stop again due to traffic. We were coming up to another toll, at the base of a bridge with a major incline. When the transmission finally engaged, we diverted off the interstate because we were coasting backwards when it was just revving. This is a major safety issue! we couldn't imagine being on that bridge & causing an accident! we felt very unsafe with my children being in the back seat and the automatic transmission not functioning properly. This is an intermittent problem, but no warning of when it will occur. It happened to us 6-7 different times, sometimes sport mode didn't even work! vacation cut short due to a new car with tranny problems. As soon as we got home, I looked online & found 152 complaints about this same issue, so it's not just one vehicle. This is not a cheap vehicle ($40,000), it needs to be fixed!

- Fairview, PA, USA

problem #153

Jun 182016


  • 10,800 miles
There is a problem with the 1.6L turbo dual clutch transmission. On three or more occations, pressing the accellerator after being at a couple stop at a traffic light resulted in the vehicle revving to the redline and the car not moving. The last time it happened (June 18th 2016 ~2pm), the car began to roll backwards because I was on a slight incline. I almost hit the vehicle behind me. I tried tried putting it in park. I tried switching to manual mode. I tried turning the car off and on. Nothing worked. It would not move. It was as though it was stuck in neutral. Then without reason, it began to move again. When it did move, it was extremely jerky and lurched forward a couple of times. That was the worst and most frightening. Lately all it has been doing is once or twice a day on average it does the slow acceleration and lurch. This happens during my morning and evening commute. Once it has happened, it does not happen until the next day. I have been lucky that it has not happened while turning into traffic. But it is clearly a dangerous situation.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #152

Aug 102016


  • 2,200 miles
Yesterday 8/10/16 while returning home from park and ride, driving 1/2 into traffic my transmission failed again for a few minutes leaving me in a traffic situation in the middle of the road where cars had to weave around me causing another dangerous position to be in. As a matter of record once again my safety driving this car was in jeopardy with no resolve from Hyundai. Hyundai states that my case is in escalation which has no true definition as to resolve. I have no choice but to involve every government Agency that handles safety and any form of media to let them know that they will not be safe in vehicles produced by this company based on the handling of my case. This is the third incident I have encountered with less than 2100 miles on the car. It is important to inform all as to the danger it puts people in. In addition there are multiple complaints publicized with the same problem, dangerous unsafe positions people have encountered and no results from Hyundai. When safety is concerned, generic generated emails from Hyundai will not prevent unsafe situations that can result in serious injury and possibly loss of life. I am stating for the record, once again that I want Hyundai to take back their vehicle for full refund.

- Freehold, NJ, USA

problem #151

Jul 182016


  • 11,500 miles
The car consistently hesitates and violently jerks upon acceleration. Additionally, several times after a complete stop, the car will not accelerate when pushing on the gas. The engine revs, but it feels like the car isn't fully in gear (like riding the clutch in a manual transmission). This caused me almost to be rear ended when turning onto a 55 mph highway. The dealership has performed two software updates from Hyundai and the problem persists. I feel that the car is unsafe to drive and am currently driving a rental car while the dealership continues to fix the problem.

- Franklin, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?