Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2016 Tucson comes with a dual-clutch, 7-speed transmission. But Hyundai forgot to tell you about one key phrase – zero-move. That's right, an alarming number of owners have said their SUV wouldn't accelerate after a stop.

Turns out that's because the transmission's application logic has been stumbling all over itself. Hyundai recalled the issue in September 2016, but it's difficult to say if owners are out-of-the-woods, or if this is just a sign of things to come.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,923 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2016 Hyundai Tucson drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Hyundai Tucson:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2016 Hyundai Tucson Owner Comments (Page 3 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #162

Aug 172016

Tucson

  • 6,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2016 Hyundai Tucson limited that ive been having dct problems with. First issue I was in the left had turn lane at a busy intersection and the car wouldn't move just rev like it was in neutral causing me to block traffic and almost get into a accident. Second I went on a hike up at angeles forest and didn't get back to my vehicle till it was dark out and my car wouldnt move again and this time it was followed by a trans temp to high warning and I was in the middle of nowhere with no service. I can no longer trust this vehicle at all.

- Van Nuys, CA, USA

problem #161

Aug 092016

Tucson

  • miles
I purchased the vehicle on 8/6/16 but the dealership had to located the vehicle with our specifications and get it from another dealer. We test drove a similar Tucson and while we drove the test vehicle it would not accelerate after being stopped at a red light. Then the RPM's where going crazy and it felt like the transmission was slipping. It had 5,000 mi. On it and the salesman had to take it to the service dept. We asked if this was a common issue, he assured us it wasn't and played it off. Sadly, we did end up purchasing another Tucson 2016 with 356 mi. On it on 8/8/2016. I have already had problems with it. 1st) trying to back out of my driveway, would not go. 2nd) leaving a parking space it would not go forward. 3rd) driving in a parking garage uphill and the transmission was slipping and couldn't go up the ramp properly. I tried to take it back to the automax dealership in norman, ok and they would not take it back after 3 days and they knowingly sold me and unsafe and defective vehicle!!! I haven't even used a half tank of gas. I did tell them to stop the paperwork on it and now we are dealing with Hyundai headquarters. I am currently driving a rental car and my brand new unsafe and defective Hyundai Tucson 2016 is sitting in my driveway!!!! Hyundai needs to take these vehicle off the road before anyone dies!!! there needs to be an investigation asap!!!!!!

- Chickasha, OK, USA

problem #160

Aug 012016

Tucson

  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Hyundai Tucson. While attempting to proceed from a stop, the accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle failed to respond when the engine revved. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the computer system needed an update. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 11,000.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #159

Jul 252016

Tucson

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

10.10.15 I purchased a new 2016 Hyundai Tucson limited fwd 1.6L turbo dtc. I noticed the hesitation and lag issues with the transmission as documented in similar complaints; however, when these issues where mentioned to the dealership they were dismissed as being normal for this type of transmission. I have made 3 trips to the dealership; although, I continued to experiencing the same issues with the transmission, I was never informed of any transmission issues or that Hyundai had issued a fix in December 2015 to address the hesitation issues in the transmission. 07.25.16 my mom was driving my vehichle and was left stranded in the chic-fil-a drive thru because the transmission failed to engage. My mom was in drive with her foot on the brake, but when she removed her foot from the brake to move up in line the vehicle did not move, even with excessive acceleration. The vehicle was placed in neutral, reverse, and drive again and failed to move in any gear. The vehicle had to be pushed out of line into a parking spot. 07.27.16 the dealership advised my vehichle was ready to pick up. When asked, they stated there was "no" issue with the transmission as they could not duplicate the issue. They had no idea why my vehichle had become stranded, but it was ready for me to pick up. After refusing to take back and drive a vehichle in this unsafe condition, they offered to have a technician drive it around for a few days to see if he could duplicate the issue. 08.11.16 dealership left a voicemail stating Hyundai issued a recall to repair the issue with the transmission failing to "pull", advised my vehicle had been fixed per this recall, and the issue would not happen again. My concern now is whether this issue has been truly fixed once I pick up my vehichle from the dealership and if driving it like this has caused damage to the transmission or engine.

- Blanchard, OK, USA

problem #158

Jul 252016

Tucson

  • 5,000 miles
Car is stopped at red light on highway (4 times) and once in driveway. Running and in gear. You attempt to move forward and it is as if the car was not in gear. It will not move for several minutes and then it will randomly engage and begin to move. Other complaints I have seen say it relates to the clutch but my dealership still has the car (for the second time) and says they can not identify the problem. Vehicle is unsafe until a fix is found.

- Bluffton, SC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #157

Jul 152016

Tucson

  • 11,000 miles
On multiple occasions, the car will not go into any forward gear after stopping. This has happened on at least 3 occasions. Once, the vehicle had to be driven in reverse to get off the highway safely. The dealer has updated the transmission software, but it concerns me that this could happen again.

- Lafayette, NJ, USA

problem #156

Jun 172016

Tucson

  • 3,853 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is my second complaint concerning this vehicle. My original complaint was on 06/27/16 where I stated that the car will neutral out when taking off from a stop. As so many have said in there complaints, vehicle is unsafe to drive. On 7/8/16, I dropped my car off at chapman Hyundai where it sat for 34 days being destroyed by the elements of the Arizona sun, before Hyundai America finally released a software update. Back in may, I had requested Hyundai repurchase this vehicle because I felt it was unsafe to drive, which of course was declined. After requesting an engineer to personally look at my vehicle, I was informed (07/08/16) that Hyundai is aware of the issue and is working on a software update with no eta. Finally after my car was there for 34 days, they informed me that the update has been performed and my car is operating as designed. This information comes a few days too late as anything pass the 30 days is considered lemon law in Arizona. Since the day we dropped off the car, we have insisted that they repurchase this unsafe vehicle. On the 11th of August, we were informed that are request for 'repurchase' has been approved. On the 13th, I picked up my vehicle and now it sits in my garage waiting for the 'repurchase' to complete. Don't let Hyundai get away with this, hold their feet to the fire and demand they repurchase your car. The issue is safety and they want us to believe it's all fixed with a software update" what about 34 days my car was being destroyed by the sun / elements? what about the damage that has been done to our cars by the clutch 'slipping' or 'neutralling' out" anyone would would like more information on how to go about this process - please call me or email me at 480.225.8576 or aroantes@majicamesa.com I feel for all of you and understand your pain. Please stand up and fight Hyundai tooth and nail on this please.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #155

Jan 042016

Tucson

  • miles
This vehicle has a dual clutch transmission. When pressing the accelerator from a dead stop, the car hesitates and doesn't move. When moving forward from a rolling start, the car hesitates then lurches forward. Sometime, the engine simply revs and the car doesn't move at all. This is extremely dangerous, especially when making a turn in front of oncoming traffic at an intersection. There is no certainty that the car will move or maybe the car will lurch forward. This condition has happened ever since I purchased the vehicle and seems to be getting worse.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #154

Aug 112016

Tucson

  • 2,400 miles
I purchased this car in April & only had 2400 miles on it when this happened! we were driving along the interstate on 8/11/16, everything was fine until we stopped (in bumper to bumper traffic) to pay the toll. Upon acceleration, the car just revved, no forward movement at all! my fiancÉ switched into sport mode, with some hesitation the car began moving forward. Once we reached cruising speed, everything was back to normal. That is until we had to stop again due to traffic. We were coming up to another toll, at the base of a bridge with a major incline. When the transmission finally engaged, we diverted off the interstate because we were coasting backwards when it was just revving. This is a major safety issue! we couldn't imagine being on that bridge & causing an accident! we felt very unsafe with my children being in the back seat and the automatic transmission not functioning properly. This is an intermittent problem, but no warning of when it will occur. It happened to us 6-7 different times, sometimes sport mode didn't even work! vacation cut short due to a new car with tranny problems. As soon as we got home, I looked online & found 152 complaints about this same issue, so it's not just one vehicle. This is not a cheap vehicle ($40,000), it needs to be fixed!

- Fairview, PA, USA

problem #153

Jun 182016

Tucson

  • 10,800 miles
There is a problem with the 1.6L turbo dual clutch transmission. On three or more occations, pressing the accellerator after being at a couple stop at a traffic light resulted in the vehicle revving to the redline and the car not moving. The last time it happened (June 18th 2016 ~2pm), the car began to roll backwards because I was on a slight incline. I almost hit the vehicle behind me. I tried tried putting it in park. I tried switching to manual mode. I tried turning the car off and on. Nothing worked. It would not move. It was as though it was stuck in neutral. Then without reason, it began to move again. When it did move, it was extremely jerky and lurched forward a couple of times. That was the worst and most frightening. Lately all it has been doing is once or twice a day on average it does the slow acceleration and lurch. This happens during my morning and evening commute. Once it has happened, it does not happen until the next day. I have been lucky that it has not happened while turning into traffic. But it is clearly a dangerous situation.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #152

Aug 102016

Tucson

  • 2,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Yesterday 8/10/16 while returning home from park and ride, driving 1/2 into traffic my transmission failed again for a few minutes leaving me in a traffic situation in the middle of the road where cars had to weave around me causing another dangerous position to be in. As a matter of record once again my safety driving this car was in jeopardy with no resolve from Hyundai. Hyundai states that my case is in escalation which has no true definition as to resolve. I have no choice but to involve every government Agency that handles safety and any form of media to let them know that they will not be safe in vehicles produced by this company based on the handling of my case. This is the third incident I have encountered with less than 2100 miles on the car. It is important to inform all as to the danger it puts people in. In addition there are multiple complaints publicized with the same problem, dangerous unsafe positions people have encountered and no results from Hyundai. When safety is concerned, generic generated emails from Hyundai will not prevent unsafe situations that can result in serious injury and possibly loss of life. I am stating for the record, once again that I want Hyundai to take back their vehicle for full refund.

- Freehold, NJ, USA

problem #151

Jul 182016

Tucson

  • 11,500 miles
The car consistently hesitates and violently jerks upon acceleration. Additionally, several times after a complete stop, the car will not accelerate when pushing on the gas. The engine revs, but it feels like the car isn't fully in gear (like riding the clutch in a manual transmission). This caused me almost to be rear ended when turning onto a 55 mph highway. The dealership has performed two software updates from Hyundai and the problem persists. I feel that the car is unsafe to drive and am currently driving a rental car while the dealership continues to fix the problem.

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #150

Aug 092016

Tucson

  • 5,000 miles
On numerous occasions (10 plus), the vehicle will not move forward while in gear and the accelerator is depressed. This usually happens at stop signs, when stopped in bumper to bumper traffic or waiting to make a left hand turn. There is no warning it just happens. Usually the RPM goes as high as 4000 to 5000 with no movement. It can take as long as 3 minutes before it decides to move forward at a reduced speed. The vehicle has also lurched and behaved erratically after some of the slow goes. These problems started with less than 1000 miles on the vehicle. I have had one instance of a no go and where it refused to move forward at all. It was towed to the dealership and they preformed a relearn on the transmission. The problems came back after a month. After the latest incident, my dealer claimed my vehicle was not safe to drive and they had me drop it off. It has been sitting there and they have put me into a loaner car until Hyundai comes up with a fix for the problem.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #149

Aug 102016

Tucson

  • 7,900 miles
Like many others, I was stopped at a light. When it turned green, the car would not accelerate. RPM's went up, but the car stayed still. After shifting multiple times into reverse, park & drive, it lurched forward with a screech of the tires, but then still just crept along. Thankfully, the driver behind me was attentive, but I could have been rear-ended. This was the 4th time this happened in one day, but no one was behind me the other 3 times. I don't feel safe in this car.....and I loved it until now. Going to the dealer this morning, but not hopeful of a solution.

- Temple, TX, USA

problem #148

Aug 032016

Tucson

  • 500 miles
I've had an issue where on numerous occasions, my car won't move when the accelerator is pressed. Sometimes this happens when pulling out into cross traffic and I've almost been T-boned. Twice the car didn't move at all. I thought it broke down. I put on flashers, shifted it into park, then back in drive and the car started to go, but very slowly with the transmission revving up very high. The car seems very dangerous to drive as it responds differently to the accelerator almost every time. This usually happens after being stopped.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #147

Aug 062016

Tucson

  • 19,000 miles
We were stuck in a backup, stop and go traffic for about 20 minutes, when I went to accelerate the car would not move forward. I put the gear selector in park and back into drive, the car would not go forward. I had to step on the gas to make it move and then the air conditioner went warm. After driving for about 5 minutes the air conditioner started working again. I have tried to call the dealer for three days and they have not called me back, I think my next step is to call corporate Hyundai to file a complaint. This problem really needs to be repaired, otherwise this is a good car.

- Ellicott Cit, MD, USA

problem #146

Jul 182016

Tucson

  • 800 miles
Transmission is slipping when accelerating from a stopped to start, or a rolling low speed to accelerating causing the vehicle to drift into intersection or lane without power. Attempts to re-shift into gear were unsuccessful. Car slammed into gear at high RPM while attempting to clear an intersection causing a jerking into gear sensation and accelerating very quickly. This has happened several times and getting more frequent. Took it to local dealer for service. Dealer checked for any mechanical failures and found none. Dealer acknowledged Hyundai is aware of a widespread issue with this model car and the dual clutch transmission not properly engaging. Dealer reset the learning mode of the transmission in attempt to temporarily delay the symptoms. The same symptoms re-appeared with a week. This is a dangerous scenario and I feel unsafe in this vehicle especially when in certain driving situations like making a left turn in a window of oncoming traffic and not having the power to clear the intersection or lane. This has happened and thankfully no-one has gotten hurt, ,,,yet! this car is only a month old and has 1000 miles on it. The first occurrence was on 7/18/2016 and is getting more frequent with time.

- Macedonia, OH, USA

problem #145

Aug 082016

Tucson

  • 5,500 miles
I bought this car in December and this problem started awhile ago. When at a stop its like the car is in neutral and RPM's rev but no acceleration. It is very scary to be in traffic and your car has no power. I put it in park and then shift back to drive hoping the car will accelerate. Finally when it does it jerks suddenly and then you have to brake in order not to hit the car in front of you. Driving this car now makes me very stressed and I hope I will not get rear-ended or worse.

- Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA

problem #144

Jul 092016

Tucson

  • 13,845 miles
Unable to move from a stopped position with the car in drive. Dual clutch accelerator issue with this model with no current fix.

- Yuma, AZ, USA

problem #143

Jun 162016

Tucson

  • 1,800 miles
On the evening of June 16, 2016, I was on my way home from work. I was sitting at a stop light at the intersection of two major roads and was the first car in line at the light. When the light turned green, I pressed the accelerator to proceed through the intersection and the car refused to move. For a moment I though maybe some how I had hit the shifter and put the car in neutral but I was still in drive with the rpms up to over 3500. Took a minute to put the car in park and then back to drive. After about 30 seconds, the car finally began to move forward and accelerate but the rpms were still high and the car was obviously not wanting to go. The car started smelling hot and finally proceeded. Scared me to death. I called the dealer right as it happened but the service department was closed. The next morning I was at the service department before they even opened. They kept my car for the day and gave me a loaner. I was told they could not recreate the issue and they "reset the shift points". I said I didn't feel safe in the vehicle even after that. They basically said there was nothing more they could do. At this time the vehicle had about 1800 miles on it. At 3800 miles, I took the car in for its first oil change and mentioned the same transmission issue to a different service advisor and said it was still shifting rough and just not smooth. He told me Hyundai is working on a fix but until then, I still think this vehicle is unsafe.

- Mccordsville, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?