Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,926 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2016 Hyundai Tucson drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Hyundai Tucson:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2016 Hyundai Tucson Owner Comments (Page 4 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #130

Jun 232016


  • 2,000 miles


After starting from a stop, the dual clutch transmission (dct) does not always shift into gear. Instead it stays disengages and the engine revs as if in neutral. Very dangerous when pulling into traffic. Car was returned to local Hyundai dealership, and has been in shop since. We started the Hyundai buyback program to see if we can get a refund as we do not feel safe driving this car with our children.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #129

Aug 042016


  • 1,332 miles
On July 25, 2016, took vehicle in for hood latch recall with 1332 miles on the vehicle. While at the dealership service center, they performed a software update. This update created the instrument panel too illegible - the instrument cluster was defected. The part was ordered and it was to take 30 days to be delivered. Fortunately, it took 10 days. Picked up the vehicle on 8/4/16 after work, drove less then 1 mile came to a stop light once it turned green the vehicle would not drive. Being in the center lane of the highway with flashers on, on coming vehicles just missed slamming into the rear. Finally got it back to the dealership, they have indicated it is the dual clutch issue. This is very unsafe vehicle to drive since you would not know when it would just stop shifting and driving. Have registered a complaint with Hyundai motors as the service department does not know when the vehicle will be repaired. Thank the lord no one was killed this time!

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #128

Aug 052016


  • 13,850 miles
This has occurred on multiple occasions. After coming to a complete stop at a stop sign, traffic light or turn lane, the vehicle will, on occasion, not move forward when depressing the accelerator pedal. The engine will rev high, 5000 RPM but the vehicle remains stationary for multiple seconds. On one occasion the vehicle had to be turned off and back on before the vehicle would move. On another occasion the vehicle was revving very high and suddenly engaged while lurching forward uncontrollably. This happens while the vehicle in drive. It happens sporadically.

- Montgomery, TX, USA

problem #127

Jul 082016


  • 9,800 miles


I was out of town for a tennis tournament driving 4 women and with another group in another car. Driving along on a city street, and I braked, when I went to accelerate the car would not move. I put it in park, then drive again, nothing but revving. Turned it off and back on several times, still nothing. Luckily my friend was able to park behind me with her hazards on too, to prevent people from rear-ending me. The car would go in reverse but not forward. We pushed it out of the road into a parking lot and called roadside assistance. I had to have it towed to a Hyundai dealer, and after about an hr or so they said they reset the computer and it should be fine. I had already had the software update. I got the car in Oct 2015, and at the time of the incident it had 9800 miles on it. I am afraid to drive it now, it gets sluggish or revs at various times, which makes me think it will happen again. How long before Hyundai does something about this? otherwise, I love the car, just scary knowing it could just stop with no warning.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #126

Aug 032016


  • 1,250 miles
Purchased this vehicle 2 months ago and on 3 occasions within the last week when I have been at a complete stop, I step on the gas but the transmission does not engage, the vehicle rolls back and the RPM's just rev up. Took the vehicle to the dealership was told there is no known issue with the power train other than a software update. Was told our vehicle was already updated and not needed. Explained what was occurring and was told this was normal due to the eco dual clutch system. I told the service person that the engine reving but rolling backwards is not normal and I was afraid to drive it. Left the dealership and within 2 blocks it happened again at an intersection where I could have been hit! what will it take for Hyundai to fix or even acknowledge this problem. Each time this occurred I was driving on a city street (not freeway, too afraid to drive on the freeway with this issue). Vehicle has always been sluggish when accelerating but this new issue of not engaging and rolling backwards is just the last few days.

- Redlands, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #125

Aug 032016


  • 20 miles
I bought this car in March of 2016 with about 20 miles on it. After around 1000 miles the transmission started getting hot and would stall out. I would have to wait five to six minutes for me to restart the car. I have sent it to the service center to be checked out and they say there is nothing wrong with the transmission. That it is normal for this to happen when you are in traffic. I live in New Jersey thats the norm for us here. This has been a constant headache. I even stalled out in the middle of the Lincoln tunnel. This has happened to me more then I can count. I spoke to Hyundai care center and they have brushed me over to region. Now I am waiting for region to call my case number is 9448240 and I haven't heard from them. This car is unsafe. Also when you want to go to the next lane it is slow to start. An accident waiting to happen. It reves up and don't move. There are so many issues with this car. I've taken pictures of the transmission warning lights and telling me to pull to the side safely. How can I do that in the middle of the Lincoln tunnel. I haven't heard from them and now I have about 10000 miles on the car. I am afraid of this car but I have no choice but to drive it cause I need to go to work. I need help here. The date I put in is the last incident. It got hot then stalled I waited the usual 5 to 6 minutes then started it again I just drove a mile and it happened again. I'm getting really frustrated with a car that I am scared of.

- North Bergen, NJ, USA

problem #124

Jul 222016


  • 1,900 miles


I had a half dozen incidents where the dct either does not engage or only moves the car very slowly which indicates that it is slipping badly. I also have had 2 incidents where the car accelerated at first and then stopped accelerating as I was trying to make a left hand turn from a stop sign. The speed limit is 40 mph there and it left me wondering whether I would into the right hand lane before I had an accident, I have driven this car 1500 miles on local rural and city streets since I purchased the car in April 2016. I have had the vehicle back to the dealer twice with the latest being told that Hyundai is working on a dct software upgrade to be available in 3 to 6 weeks.

- Boulder, CO, USA

problem #123

Jul 312016


  • 5,500 miles
I was stopped at a stoplight, but when the light turned green the car wouldn't go forward. Instead the engine just revved and rpms went up, but no movement forward and no warning lights or sounds came on. I immediately flipped on my emergency flashers and tried several times to restart and go again, but two cars crashed into each other next to me as they tried to go around me. I sat in a panic in traffic with people honking at me and flipping me off. The car wouldn't drive forward, but it would go in reverse so as the cars crashed into each other and were coming towards me I dodged getting hit by a few inches and drove slowly down the street in reverse and into a nearby parking lot in reverse. Then I parked and had the car towed to a dealer. In the parking lot I took video evidence of the car not driving forward, but able to drive in reverse so I do have video proof. The car has about 5,500 miles on it and already had an ECM reset / active transmission relearn done at about 1,000 miles back in January when the car was lagging the first month I owned it. My car is still at the dealership and for a correction they did another active transmission relearn/programming reset and say the car works and is fine now and ready to pick up. I'm not comfortable driving a car that's been in twice for transmission problems and had the same correction done. I donżT feel confident this wonżT happen again and most online reports I read with the same problem and correction say it happens over and over again. I filed a complaint with Hyundai customer care. Iżve also read there is a part that may be replaced as a fix (fp number 41470-2D011 actuator assy-clu) and possibly a recall coming up, but the dealer said I need to wait for the recall. It would be good to expedite any fix and repairs before more accidents happen, driving this car is not safe for me or other cars around me.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #122

Jun 212016


  • 5,000 miles
Have encountered several instances of dct not engaging after "creep" or "crawl" to a stop sign awaiting right-of-way to proceed. Following "creep" and subsequent stop at sign, just enough propulsion is given to enter the intersection, and then dct disengages and high engine rpms with no forward propulsion, whatsoever. Has very nearly caused a broad-side accident on a number of occasions. This condition is very unsafe for city and hwy stop-and-go traffic (and entering any sort of roadway). Has happened both in situations when turning from a stop and proceeding foward from a stop. Each time is just enough foward propulsion to allow vehicle to enter the roadway broadside to oncoming traffic, and then complete loss of forward propulsion leaving vehicle stationary for 10, 15, up to 20 seconds with no forward propulsion to move out of the way of oncoming cross-traffic.

- Bartlesville, OK, USA

problem #121

Jul 012016


  • 8,900 miles
Intermittently when car is taking off from a standstill, the engine will rev but no power is transmitted to the wheels. This has resulted in me being stuck at traffic lights unable to move. I will shift into park and back into drive to make sure I have the appropriate transmission selection. After about 15-20 seconds of repeatedly stepping on and off the gas, the clutch will slowly catch on and the vehicle will begin moving and resume normal operation. This issue has been impossible to replicate on command which is troublesome when consulting the dealer. It has happened to me three times over the past three months in both cold and warm engine states. Usually presents within 10 minutes of starting the car.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #120

Jun 192016


  • 5,900 miles


Issue with the new 7 speed dct. Transmission revved and would not engage after driving 60 miles on highway, some stop-and-go traffic, in 101 degree heat and sitting for 45 minutes. In order for me to get it to engage, I went into manual mode, noticed it was in 2nd gear from start, downshifted to 1st gear, and was able to work thru the gears to get it going and eventually put it back into automatic.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #119

Jul 292016


  • 4,500 miles
This SUV stalls & hesitates when accelerating from a stand still, in motion & all other times. Currently have 4500 miles on it, & this problem started right after I first purchased it. This is a dangerous situation when merging into traffic. Push the accelerator down, it revs up, but goes no where.the transmission (dct) is not working right, & the recall to update the software did not fix anything. Please Hyundai fix this problem before serious accidents happen.

- Beckley, WV, USA

problem #118

Jun 262016


  • 741 miles
Transmission completely failed in drive. This is a known condition to Hyundai, diagnosed as dct failure. Hyundai has no known fix. Car was 6 weeks old with 740 miles on it. Cat was bought new with 65 miles. Dct failed in middle of intersection leaving wife and child stranded in dangerous traffic situation. Now at dealership awaiting anything from Hyundai. This car was almost not sold to us due to a active recall for the hood latch, but was happily sold with a known defective transmission issue.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #117

Aug 012016


  • 4,200 miles
Acceleration issues from stop. Engine will go to high RPM's without moving the vehicle. Issues seen with vehicle leaving 1st gear, vehicles rolls in to intersection and loses power. Vehicle has hard shift issues and often seems to be "stuck in gear" for too long.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #116

Jul 192016


  • 8,800 miles
The dct transmission on this vehicle randomly stops propelling the car forward. Although initially the car refused to move forward while at a stop, I have had several recent incidents where the dct transmission "dropped" out of gear while traveling at 70 mph. I was unable to get the transmission to re-engage until I managed to pull over to the side of the road - and restart the vehicle. This has happened ~10 times since I purchased the vehicle in April 2016. It now has 9400 miles. I have taken the car to my local dealer - and they reported "no problem found." They recommended that I no longer operate the vehicle in "eco" mode, and not do "aggressive" driving. This problem continues whether it is in eco mode or not -- and my driving style is far from aggressive. Losing power at high speed creates a potential dangerous situation, especially when it happened at passing speeds. I cannot consistently re-create the problem - but it's definitive a software/hardware issue with the control of the dct transmission.

- Newton, MA, USA

problem #115

Jul 282016


  • 400 miles
Leased vehicle on 7/18/16. Noticed slight hesitation during acceleration shortly after taking possession of vehicle. On 7/28/16, I was in stop and go traffic on freeway going around curve. Traffic finally picked up speed. When I released my foot from the brake and stepped on the gas, the car wouldn't move and the RPM's were all over the place. I was panicking, fearful that I was going to be rear ended at any moment. I continued to press down on the accelerator, praying that it wouldn't rocket forward. It took approximately 20 to 25 seconds for the vehicle to move at all and finally kick into gear. I am totally traumatized by this situation and cannot even fathom putting my family in this vehicle.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #114

Mar 162016


  • 1,500 miles
I purchased this vehicle in Jan 2016 and have less than 2000 miles on the vehicle. I am having dct transmission issues. Had noticed that on several occasions the vehicle is very sluggish and has some difficulty accelerating from a complete stop and at times it lurches forward. This is an intermittent and ongoing issue, but very troublesome, none the less. This occurs during normal in town traffic and especially going up hills from a complete stop. There have also been issues in traffic where it accelerates unexpectedly. I have taken the vehicle into the dealer on two occasions in a seven day period, after deciding that this is not safe to drive at times. When I made the initial appt the receptionists stated that there have been several vehicles in for this issue. The initial time at the dealer, they completed the latch recall and reset the computer to relearn the system, hoping that would be the saving grace. Driving down the road a couple of days later and the sound was so loud while driving, that I pulled over and the sound died down at bit. Made another appointment to take in the vehicle the following Monday, I was told that they were not able to recreate the issue and the service manager was not sure what was going on. It's very frustrating, because you have to take time off work to go back and forth to the dealer to hear that nothing is wrong. The dealer acts like they have never heard of the concern. I was also told that it's the design of the clutch that gives drivers the sluggish feel. I decided to come back to Hyundai to purchase a vehicle and I deeply regret that decision.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #113

Jun 292016


  • 4,500 miles
Transmission not providing power to the wheels from a standing stop. The engine accelerates, but the car does not move. First instance was trying to turn from a stop. Second instance was backing out of a parking spot. Reverse worked, car stopped drive. Third instance was after starting the car and placing it in drive. Intermittent problem that was duplicated at the dealership service department. This is extremely dangerous when entering traffic or turning in front of oncoming traffic. Two instances of being stopped for 15 to 20 seconds. The occurrence at the dealership lasted about 30 minutes. Hyundai usa is aware of the problem.

- Palm Springs, CA, USA

problem #112

Jun 062016


  • miles
Dct problems: Purchased Tucson eco in April 2016. Currently 1350 miles and car stalls, creeps up, doesn't move at stop/go, and unresponsive. Also high revs/low mph. Major dct product failure. Dealership ran gds scan tool and can't duplicate problem. They're aware of problem and cannot do anything unless corporate has a programming update. Car creeps up at drive thru line when foot released from brake pedal. Dangerous and unsafe at intersection, esp when you have to make a sharp left turn. RPM revs high, car unresponsive. Filed complaint with Hyundai Consumer Affairs. They played dumb and was told that's how the dct behaves and get used to it. Waiting for Hyundai investigation

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #111

Jul 192016


  • 3,000 miles
I had ~3,000 miles on the vehicle, at the time of the incident. I went to move the Tucson up my driveway. The engine was revving 3-4K rpms and the vehicle speed was 1 mph.

- Omaha, NE, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?