Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2016 Tucson comes with a dual-clutch, 7-speed transmission. But Hyundai forgot to tell you about one key phrase – zero-move. That's right, an alarming number of owners have said their SUV wouldn't accelerate after a stop.

Turns out that's because the transmission's application logic has been stumbling all over itself. Hyundai recalled the issue in September 2016, but it's difficult to say if owners are out-of-the-woods, or if this is just a sign of things to come.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,923 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2016 Hyundai Tucson drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Hyundai Tucson:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2016 Hyundai Tucson Owner Comments (Page 6 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #102

Jul 272016

Tucson

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle was parked for 8+ hours (nice and cool - no hot transmission). I started it and drove 1/4 of a mile to a stop light. As soon as the light went green, I pressed the accelerator, and the vehicle would not move! the rpms were going up into the 4,000 range, and it would not send any power to the wheels. It behaved as if it had the clutch 99% depressed, almost as if it was in neutral. I had to put my hazard lights on as full-speed traffic was bearing down upon me. I tried to switch it into manual mode, but it ignored my choice. I then moved it into park, and back to drive, to no avail. Still, it would not transmit power to the wheels. After about 60 seconds of being hung out to dry, with traffic going around me, and being fearful of someone rear-ending me at full speed, it decided to apply a very small amount of power (like maybe 10%), at very high rpms (4-5K). Even with gentle acceleration, it very sluggishly moved along, first at 10 mph, then 15 mph, etc., slipping the clutch the entire way. After about 2 miles, the transmission returned to normal. The video posted by another user is exactly what happened to me. Exceptions: Temperature 101, cruise off, eco off, 7/27/15 @ 4:15 pm est. Https://www.youtube.com/watch?V=tcvtr_zcyrs

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #101

Jun 202016

Tucson

  • 900 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Hyundai Tucson. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced stalling when shifted into eco drive or sport mode. In addition, there was an abnormal noise. The failures occurred without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was confirmed that the dual control transmission clutch overheated. The vehicle was not repaired; however, the contact was given a handout to safely operate through the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 900.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #100

Jul 182016

Tucson

  • 500 miles
Went to a Hyundai dealership to buy the Hyundai Santa Fe model. They didn't have one in stock but told me that the Hyundai Tucson model was just like the Santa Fe but a smaller version. I got the Tucson vehicle and in 2 days the air conditioner only blew hot air while on the highway. When I called the Hyundai service agent I was told to only use the air conditioner on the lowest fan. If I put it on a higher setting it will freeze up and blow only hot air. It was 95 out side. Later I came to a stop and when I stepped on the gas the engine revved up but the car would not go forward. I let off on the gas and tried again. The engine again revved up for about 6 seconds then the car lurched forward. The next day I had parked on a small incline. When I went to leave I: put my foot on the brake - released the parking brake - put it into drive and stepped on the gas. The engine revved up but did not go forward, instead it rolled backwards about 6 to 12 inches then it popped into gear and lurched forward. Every time I drove the car I had problems with that Hyundai Tucson. I felt unsafe and was worried that there would be an accident with the car acting like it did. Took the car to the dealership and they could not find anything wrong with the car. I looked on line and found hundreds of reviews of this vehicle all stating the same problems I was having. So, I traded in my 6 day old Tucson for a Santa Fe - and I am very happy now. The Tucson I felt was the most unsafe and unreliable vehicle that I have ever owned or driven. No one at the dealership told me about these known problems and/or issues with the duel transmission system. All I can say is this car is a potential life threatening vehicle and if Hyundai does not take care of these issues then there is a high probability of fatalities occurring.

- Banning, CA, USA

problem #99

Jul 232016

Tucson

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Intermittent issues with transmission. We receive messages stating the transmission is overheated. We have also experienced high rpms with no forward or reverse motion when in drive and reverse. The transmission will not engage and move the vehicle. This has happened on inclines and within stop and go traffic. This is a safety concern because we can't depend on forward or reverse motion when in drive and reverse.

- Bartlett, TN, USA

problem #98

Jul 262016

Tucson

  • 7,000 miles
I purchased my 2016 hyjndai Tucson new and in less than a year it has been sent to the local Hyundai dealership via tow truck. Each time is the same issue, the vehicle while in drive will not move forward while the accelerator is pressed. The rpms will react to the accelerator, but the vehicle will not move. First, Hyundai deal said it was the dct needing update. Second, there was no evidence once it arrived at dealer, but I conteact Hyundai corporate to have a monitoring device installed. They left it in for less then a month. Third, just occured and Hyundai has a new case on the vehicle. I informed them via the phone and will send a certified letter stating this is the third and final time, and I will not accept the vehicle back due to the hazards it can cause on the road including collision, bodily hard, and even death.

- Nesbit, MS, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #97

Jul 232016

Tucson

  • 13,000 miles
This issue has only happened while driving on a city street. As I accelerate from a standing stop the engine will rev up to match the accelerator petal but the transmission will not engage. I let off the petal and attempt to move again with not luck. I shift the vehicle into neutral then back into drive with the same results. After the third or forth attempt the vehicle will start to move slowly then accelerate rapidly as the transmission fully engages. This is a 7 month old vehicle with 13K miles and this issue was first noticed at about the 10K mark. This issue was brought to the dealers attention who informed me that this was know issue with the tuscon with the new 1.6 turbo and 7 speed dual clutch transmission. The dealer followed the mfg advice to reset the ECM (engine control module) and the tcm (transmission control module) this was done and within 100 miles for the reset the issue was back and even worse. The vehicle is no longer safe to operate because of the randomness of the issue so the vehicle was left at the dealer on 7-26-2016 awaiting an answer from Hyundai on a permanent fix. As of 7-26-2016 no update or even acknowledgement of the issue has been received by the dealer or the owner. A complaint was filed with Hyundai on 7-23-2016 and the owner is still awaiting a call back from a representative of Hyundai America.

- Minooka, IL, USA

problem #96

Jul 252016

Tucson

  • 8,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Two times in the last two weeks, the vehicle would not go into gear from a stop. Yesterday (7/25/16) it occurred while making a left turn and nearly resulted in a serious accident!

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #95

Mar 252016

Tucson

  • 10 miles
It doesn't always go. You push the gas it revs up and then doesn't move. Or moves incredibly slow. Not all the time but not at good times either. Usually happens after coming to a complete stop or if you'd slowed down and go to accelerate. Started about a week after I bought it maybe once a week and now it's a few times a week this happens.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #94

Jul 032016

Tucson

  • 25 miles
I have a 2016 Hyundai Tucson sport 1.6 turbo. It has a dual clutch transmission. Everytime I press the accelerator slowly the car takes 5 seconds to start moving. When it does move the transmission chatters and is not smooth. As I am slowing down, stop, then proceed to go the trans either does not engage or there is a 5 second delay, chatters, and then takes off. It happens every time I drive the car and my wife is afraid to drive it. I afraid to drive it because I think it is going to get stuck in the middle of the road when I am turing. Which it has done at least 10 + times. I almost got hit 6 times. If you look on Hyundai forums and youtube it is a widespread complaint. I have called Hyundai about the problem and they do not have a fix. It is going into the dealership this Thursday 7/28/16. I have over 25 years experience in the automotive industry, and have 15 yrs dealership experience.

- Forked River, NJ, USA

problem #93

Jul 162016

Tucson

  • 800 miles
First incident: Put car in reverse, pushed accelerator, and car would not move but accelerated to 4000 RPM. Second incident: Backed out of parking space into traffic, put car in drive, would not accelerate, Ram rose over 6000, switched from park to drive numerous times with no results. Switched I to sport mode and dropped into 1st gear and got car moving. Third incident was same as incident 2 but car would only move less than 10 mph in very high rpms. Restarted, but still didn't work. Was told by Hyundai the first time it was how I drive. They now admit to a problem that might be fixable 30 days from now.getting a runaround from dealer and this problem is documented all over the internet.

- Clear Lake Shores, TX, USA

problem #92

Jul 212016

Tucson

  • 9,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Standing at red light with foot on brake pedal. When light change to green, I tok foot of brake and stept on gas pedal. The engen started to race but car would not move. After severel seconds and cars behind me honking their horn, car would lurch forward and slowely gain speed. I was going strait forward so I did not cut anyone off. If I had been making a left hand turn on this two way street, I mostlikely would have hit someone or they would have hit me. Bringing car to island Hyundai on staten island N.Y. tomorrow.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #91

May 262016

Tucson

  • 4,200 miles
Numerous visits to a service department with no results. No movement from a stop, rpms revved upwards to 6000, finally screeched across the intersection. Total unsafe vehicle to drive. Something needs to be done.

- Arcola, IL, USA

problem #90

Jul 222016

Tucson

  • 900 miles
After coming to full stop and subsequently trying to proceed the dual clutch does not engage.this can result in possible accidents including caught in intersection turning left or being rear-ended.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #89

Jul 162016

Tucson

  • miles
Vehicle fails to move and/or accelerate when pushing the gas pedal or it moves in a very "jerky" manner. I do mostly city driving. This happens randomly and after I have come to a complete stop, usually at a stop light or stop sign. Happened once after I filled up the car with gas. At that time the engine had been off. So after I am stopped, and the light turns green, I hit the gas. The engine revs and the tach can hit 4000rpms but I either don't move or move a matter of inches. Usually lasts 20 - 30 seconds. Last weekend it was 45 seconds. (it is as if the car is in park, which it is not). Eventually the car moves. First started at about 6400 miles; I now have 7500 on it and it seems to be occurring more frequently. It has happened twice while backing up as well. I took it to the dealer and they said they did a software update. They said it is just the way this car runs. (they also mentioned they have started getting complaints like mine with this model car.) the update did nothing. Please look into this situation. I am afraid of causing an accident.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #88

Jul 222016

Tucson

  • 9,500 miles
I was at a traffic light on a city street waiting for the light to turn green. When the light turned green I depressed the gas pedal and my car barely moved. The RPM's rev'd up but the car was barely moving. I thought I was in neutral at first but was not. I kept hitting the gas trying to get power to the car to get through the intersection. Cars behind me were beeping. The car finally found a gear and continued on. That was scary. If I were making a left turn someone could have been seriously injured or even worse! I am afraid to drive this car now. This seems to be a growing issue with owners of this vehicle. I believe it has something to due with the dual clutch transmission. I have contacted Hyundai corporate and the dealership. I want to help get the word out to escalated the fix for this issue or a resolution.

- Mays Landing, NJ, USA

problem #87

Jul 182016

Tucson

  • 7,000 miles
I have taken the car into dealer (at 6800 miles) because of significant jumpiness and hesitation. They told me this was "normal" even though it was not doing this earlier. Then less than 1 week later, my car refused to move. Was driving, came to a red light and stopped normally. When the light turned green, the car would not drive. Rpms revved up to 4000/5000 and...nothing. I moved through the gears, tried different modes, and got the car to inch forward with high revs of the engine. This was good cuz I was able to get off the roadway. It was raining heavily and I was afraid I would get rear ended. Finally, car decided it would drive. Got home. Next morning backed out of garage, and no forward movement. Had to have vehicle towed to dealer. I don't believe they know what is wrong. One person says waiting for Hyundai to tell them something. Another says software issue. Internet postings suggest clutch assembly actuator. I bought this car in good faith, but I believe they knew there were issues.

- Hockessin, DE, USA

problem #86

Jun 122016

Tucson

  • miles
Vehicle was stationary at traffic light, after light turn green and applying the accelerator the vehicle would not accelerate. High rpms and zero speed. Thirty seconds later the transmission shifted into gear and started accelerating the way it should.

- Sterling, VA, USA

problem #85

Jul 152016

Tucson

  • 2,700 miles
I have a 2016 Tucson limited - purchased 2/2016...has 2700 miles on it. The transmission has always been "jumpy" but last week and the week before I was in traffic at a signal and when I went to accelerate nothing happened. The RPM's went up to 6000 RPM but the car would not move...it was very scary and I came so close to getting hit. I had people coming toward me and behind me going 40 mph. I kept pressing the pedal and it finally took off...I took it to the dealer the first time and they could not replicate it and they said there was no known issue. I took it again yesterday and they gave me a rental and they called today and said they did a 'software update' and its fixed. I will see how it goes. But it will be hard to ever drive this car with any confidence again.

- Williamsville, NY, USA

problem #84

Jun 072016

Tucson

  • 6,000 miles
On two occasions, when my Tucson was at a stop (in drive, brake engaged), releasing the brake and attempting to accelerator resulted in the car stalling, staying in place and the engine revving as if the vehicle was in neutral. The first time this occurred was at a stop light and I was able to get the vehicle to go by putting the car in park, turning the engine off, turning the engine back on then putting the car in drive. The second time this occurred, I was in a drive-thru. Powering the vehicle off and putting it in park, then drive did not resolve the problem. I revved the engine, putting a lot of force down onto the gas pedal and my vehicle slowly began rolling forward. After getting out of the drive-thru, I had to do this again and once the vehicle got up to a speed of 30mph or so, it appeared to return to normal with shifting.

- Stillwater, OK, USA

problem #83

Jul 172016

Tucson

  • 10,000 miles
Dct transmission hesitates off the line on normal acceleration; every time you take off from a dead stop. Very irritating, never sure of a quick smooth acceleration. If you roll to almost a stop then accelerate briskly, clutches will hesitate before engaging several seconds, then grab causing the car to lunge. Several times a month - I bought the car new, now has 10K miles. When sitting still at red light, then accelerate slowly nothing happens -this is like you are in neutral. I have to physically knock the gear shift in low then back to drive, etc., to finally get the clutches to engage.-I have had to get out of the car and wave people around several times. Dealer said normal for dct nothing now can be done but Hyundai is trying to come up with a soft-ware fix. They have done one already but no fix and car vibrates-consumer reports talks about this on line.

- Florence, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?