Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2016 Tucson comes with a dual-clutch, 7-speed transmission. But Hyundai forgot to tell you about one key phrase – zero-move. That's right, an alarming number of owners have said their SUV wouldn't accelerate after a stop.

Turns out that's because the transmission's application logic has been stumbling all over itself. Hyundai recalled the issue in September 2016, but it's difficult to say if owners are out-of-the-woods, or if this is just a sign of things to come.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,321 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2016 Hyundai Tucson miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Hyundai Tucson:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2016 Hyundai Tucson Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Aug 182016

Tucson

  • 7,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car stalls/hesitates and won't accelerate from a dead stop and stalls when making turns or on hills/elevations. This happens on highways, local and city streets and the car feels unsafe to drive. I am so concerned that my young children and I am going to get in some type of an accident in this vehicle and hopefully it is not a serious or deadly one! Hyundai dealer has been informed by me of this issue and just simply insists that this is due to the dct of the vehicle!!! this is not an acceptable answer to what feels to be a deadly issue for owners of this vehicle.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #23

Jul 202016

Tucson

  • 1 miles
Had an accident while parking the accerlater just took off on its own it stop because it hit a concert wall./reported the accident to hyundi and they said to just fix.I later found out that their is a recall only on certain VIN numbers well car VIN number is not on the list but I still had the accident.got in touch with there Corp office they call me took all my information and I have not heard from nobody. I still feel uncomfortable with the driving.

- Baytown, TX, USA

problem #22

Sep 052016

Tucson

  • 400 miles
I read an article stating the Hyundai Tucson connects with carplay. Turns out only the expensive models do. Hyundai installs a small communication screen on the eco, which is the model I bought, that is not equipped to receive carplay data. What is needed to enable the safety feature" will you require Hyundai to enable the car's communication device; that is, to enable carplay or to replace the install with a receiver and screen that will work"

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #21

Sep 122016

Tucson

  • 7,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Problems with vehicle since purchase. Brought cat back to dealer for repair 4 times, but problems still remain. Prior to last software upgrade, car would not accelerate after stopping, would jerk without warning, slow going up hill, would roll back, and would stop and then propel forward. Once last recall (3) done, the car still in not driving appropriately. Car runs rough, still jerks, still slow to go up hill and still intermittently stops. Transmission warning (over heated) came on, yet the computer did not make note of it when read for problems as if it never happened. Car is unsafe, is not driving as expected nor as it should. Gas mileage is also very low, considerably lower than what was promised upon purchase.

- Bethel Park, PA, USA

problem #20

Sep 192016

Tucson

  • 3,500 miles
While driving the vehicle in normal around town traffic, we have had several incidents where an alarm began sounding, and the instrument panel displayed "transmission temperature is high! stop". we've taken the vehicle to have the dealer investigate, but they find nothing, can't duplicate it, and no indication that it even displayed the warning. They said it might be related to the current recall for the dct transmission on the Hyundai Tucson. I've contacted Hyundai and tried to ask if the dealer may be correct, but they said they can only refer me back to the dealer. It can be difficult and unsafe to find a place to "stop safely" at the drop of a hat as it demands.

- Leland, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #19

Jul 282016

Tucson

  • 5,000 miles
I was driving my Hyundai tuscon limited 2016 60 mph in an open area when the panoramic sunroof exploded spontaneously. It sounded as if a gun had gone off next to my head. I closed my eyes because I sense something flying. When I opened my eyes I was being showered by glass and heard a loud noise above my head. I hit my hazards and drove the vehicle to the roadside. I was distraught and traumatized. Glass shards up to one inch in size were all over my car. I was so fortunate no one had been in my back seat. I was personally covered in glass all down my back since I leaned forward when it happened. The dealer at first said it was an insurance issue and then only fixed it under warranty because our driving school had purchased 25 vehicles from that dealer. Hyundai corporate has been horrible about this occurrence. Sale of these roofs must be stopped before someone is seriously hurt or killed.

- Evergreen, CO, USA

problem #18

Aug 172016

Tucson

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When coming off a dead stop it fails to go. RPM's rev but the car does not move. It does not move after being stopped at a light or when waiting to make a left turn. Has happened numerous times. I have almost been rear ended and T-boned. I took it in for service (June 2016) the first time it happened and was told there was nothing wrong with it. That was a month ago and it is happening again. This time it was worse. I contacted service at my dealership and was told that a fix came out that morning. That is a lie since I have been researching this issue on line. Consumer reports said the first fix was issued in Dec 2015 (when I purchased my car) and this recent fix was issued a week ago.I now have to wait 5 days driving an unsafe car before they will work on it. I contacted corporate and am waiting for a phone call to discuss this. Also sputtering when accelerating has been going on since the first month I had the car. I don't think they realize how dangerous this is. Does someone need to get hurt or killed before Hyundai issues a recall and/or a buy back?? I only have 4300 miles on the car. I feel unsafe driving it.

- Holland, PA, USA

problem #17

Jan 012016

Tucson

  • 4,000 miles
Less than two months after I bought the car, with maybe 4000 miles on it, as I tried to back out of my driveway one morning, the car would not move. The engine would rev and the rpms would climb, it was only after several times of putting the car back in park and then reverse did it finally engage. After that, when driving slowly as in bumper to bumper traffic, upon acceleration it would seem to hesitate then lurch. The next time such an incident occurred was a couple of months later. I was stopped at a signal and when the light changed and I tried to accelerate, the car did not move, again. It took several times of putting it in park and back to drive before it would engage. It has happened several times since then. I find this dangerous and downright scary. Luckily, no one has rear ended me or worse. I have taken the car to two different dealerships. They say they can find nothing wrong and that no trouble codes show up. I see there are multiple complaints filed on your sight about this same problem, so something is wrong, dangerously so! would you please check into this for us.

- Pinon Hills, CA, USA

problem #16

Jul 112016

Tucson

  • 6,300 miles
2016 Hyundai Tucson started having accelerator issues. After you take off from a complete stop you just get no power and this is when the person behind has already taken off or your in the middle of an intersection I have had many drivers slam on their breaks due to my car not accelerating. 188 claims on 2016 Hyundai Tucson on auto.cliams website 7/11 took car into dearlership 7/12 picked car up from dealership, told me they made an adjustment 7/14 still not fixed same problem, took back to dealership, technician said it needed a part that would have to be ordered- would overnight for 7/18 delivery 7/19 took car back in. Dealership knew nothing about a part, said that Hyundai was aware of issue and did not have a fix. Service dept said I should drive in 'sport' mode and it would happen less 7/19 called Hyundai consumer affair and put in claim. I was told someone would get in touch with me 3-5 days. Called every day and was told the same thing. Also was told that it was given priority and sent up to region. 7/28 received a call and was told they had good news that hyunai had a fix 5-7 weeks. Really I was to drive a unsafe car for 5-7 weeks 7/29 started process claim for Hyundai to buy back the 2016 Hyundai Tucson - was told it's a 8 week process

- Centennial, CO, USA

problem #15

Dec 012015

Tucson

  • 200 miles
I have a 2016 Hyundai Tucson limited which has a major issue with the lack of acceleration from stop. When trying to move onto a highway/road from a light or stop sign when you step on the gas nothing happens then all of a sudden it lurches ahead. This is a very unsafe situation. When you step on the gas you expect the vehicle to respond and it does not. Also going through a parking lot and not really accelerating at all it lurches and backs off and lurches and backs off. Then when you do step on the gas it almost quits then lurches. I'm told its caused by the manual celinoid which causes the automatic transmission to engage. At the present time I'm not driving the vehicle and have a loaner. Hyundai has sent me paperwork to buy back the vehicle but then I have nothing with which to purchase another vehicle.

- Smithville, TN, USA

problem #14

Jul 272016

Tucson

  • 5,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My brand new car, 2016 Hyundai Tucson limited turbo, purchased in March 2016, is causing a life threatening hazard. Multiple times, although sporadic, my car will not move when I press on the gas pedal after being a stop light or stop sign. I have taken my car to the dealer and because the problem is not duplicating itself to the service technician they are not fixing the problem. Today, July 27, 2016, another driver nearly ran in the back of my car as they were going full speed and I guess they anticipated that would move upon the light turning green; I press the gas all the way to the floor and the engine revved but the car did not move. I do not want to end up in a tragic accident or be a victim of road rage because the problem is not being duplicated at the time I take it in to service. I searched for this problem online and there are multiple exact complaints voiced about this same modeled car. I love my life and do not want to take chances in this car. I don't know what else to do. Can you direct me?

- Inkster, MI, USA

problem #13

Jul 012016

Tucson

  • 2,500 miles
Transmission fails to engage. It happened the first time right in the morning from my driveway. Put the car in drive and car was inching forward while giving it plenty of gas/rpms. Car finally went into gear and started to move and was driving normal for the rest of the day. Thought nothing of it since it only happened once. Then about 3 weeks later, stopped at red light, once it turned green I stepped on the gas and the same thing, inching forward, high rpms, finally took gear after about 30 seconds and many upset people behind me. This bring me to yesterday, stopped at a stop sign to cross a busy non-stopping cross traffic, waiting to cross the street, found an opening and stepped on the gas expecting the car to make it through the intersection. I had plenty of time to move through, but suddenly my car just decided to not move while stuck right in the middle of the street. Oncoming car had to swerve and nearly hit my hood. Finally car started to move to barely make it out of the way for the 2nd oncoming car, scary stuff. Took it to the dealership for service and told them about my 2 incidents and was told this was "normal for the turbo". also, I noticed that when I drive up an incline (say a parking garage) when I get to the top and level out, my car gets a huge rush of rpms and im not even stepping on the gas. Not sure if this is at all related, but just assuming that it is part of the bigger problem with the transmission. Car is 2016 Tucson, limited, ultimate package, AWD I don't feel safe in this car at all. I hope there is a fix for this soon.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #12

Jun 042016

Tucson

  • 8,000 miles
On 4 separate occasions my car would not accelerate from a stop. The first time it was after driving the vehicle for over 20 miles (so warmed up), stopped at traffic light, took my foot off the break and tried to accelerate, and the car would not engage, I was in eco mode at the time, I shifted it to manual and apply the gas nothing, shifted to sport still nothing, finally turned off car waited, turned car back on (while traffic piling up) and finally slowly started to move. I had a scheduled appointment with my dealership (as I had less than 5000 miles on it), and told them the problem, they said never heard that before (which I come to find was not a true statement). They said unless they can replicate it or the engine triggers the alarm nothing they can do. Car continued to act up, last time was after remote starting it and tried to leave the parking lot, would not engage. Called the dealership again and they advised still never heard of this being an issue, and unless it triggers a warning nothing they can do. Upon communication with other owners who are experiencing the same issue, I called the national office to log complaint, they told me to take my car in, as this is known issue and hopefully will be able to fix it, that was 2 weeks ago and haven't heard anything since. I turned it in because it is a safety issue not knowing when the car will not engage when pressing on the gas. Concerned for my safety and my passengers safety.

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #11

Jun 102016

Tucson

  • 16,700 miles
Originally posted to this website on or about 6/13/16. Stopped at red light on a city street, the car would not move forward when accelerator depressed. Engine rev'ed to 4-5K but car failed to move. Put car in neutral and then tried again. Sat thru 3 red lights before car would go forward. It was very jerky and hesitant then car picked up speed. This was second time this has happened. First time I thought maybe I had hit the brake and not gas pedal. Drove immediatel to dealer and told them of issue. They have had my car since June 10, 2016. Service tech was able to actually capture on video (while test driving) my gear shift in drive and car moving in reverse. Hyundai usa, the dearlership and myself have been in frequent contact. Hyundai has no idea why this is happening. The car is not safe to drive. They say the Korean engineers are investigating. When I orginally posted on this website there I could only find this type of issue for a 2015 tuscon. I note today there are multiple complaints identical to mine. This car is less than one year old (owned ) with less than 17K miles. Inability to control directional motion or speed when it does move is not safe to myself or others. Majority of my driving is at highway speeds.

- Blanchard, OK, USA

problem #10

Jul 062016

Tucson

  • 6,000 miles
Today, July 6, 2016, at approximately 1:35 P.M., I electronically started my 2016 Hyundai Tucson vehicle, which has only about 6,000 miles on it, and drove from my home on a county road until I reached a signal intersection at a state highway about 2 miles away. I stopped at a red light at the state highway intersection with the engine running waiting for the signal light to turn green to turn left onto the state highway. When the light turned green, my vehicle would not move. It was in drive gear and the engine was running but it would not go forward even though the engine was definitely running and there were no warning lights or code lights showing on the dash to indicate a problem. I turned on the emergency flashers as there were several vehicles coming up behind me at the signal. I then tried putting the vehicle in park then back into drive but the vehicle still could not move forward. I tried putting the vehicle into reverse and it would not move backwards either. I then tried turning the vehicle off then back on several times using the electronic ignition but the vehicle could not move. A police officer arrived, parked behind me, and assisted with traffic now backed up behind me. He called a tow truck for me and my vehicle was towed to the local Hyundai dealer where I had purchased the vehicle a few months ago. I was instantly concerned that this could happen while driving and be a major safety problem. As it was, I was immediately concerned that someone coming up behind me might crash into me after the light turned green while I was immobile at the signal. I asked a lady who asked me what was wrong when she drove around me if she could see my flashers and she said she had. Both the police officer and my husband checked the vehicle and could not figure out why the vehicle could not move.

- Albany, OH, USA

problem #9

Jul 032016

Tucson

  • 5,600 miles
Frequently the vehicle has issues taking off from a full stop. When pushing the gas after the vehicle is fully stopped, it hesitates before accelerating and also sometimes the car shakes and vibrates but doesnt really move forward. A few times the car would not move at all, the rpms went to 3000-4000 but the car would not go. This seems very dangerous since when this occurs you become stranded and cannot move properly.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #8

Jun 222016

Tucson

  • 4,000 miles
I have the 1.7 turbo engine with the dual-clutch automatic transmission. On multiple occasions, when accelerating from a stop, engine revs and car doesn't move (as if it's stuck in neutral). Transmission finally kicks in, but only after a scary couple of seconds - especially when turning left through an intersection. Many other people have had the same problem. Dealer says this is normal for this type of transmission. I say it's dangerous!!

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #7

Jun 102016

Tucson

  • 17,000 miles
While stopped, with car in drive, pressing accelerator engine revs (4 to 5 on the gauge) but does not go forward. Car then jerks forward and then finally moves. I sat thru 3 red lights before the car actually moved. This occurs on city street this occurred once before but the forward motion "caught" quicker than the last time at the same time this occurred the ac failed as did the bluetooth. The phone said it was connected but the car said it was not. The ac fan worked but blew hot air. The ac and phone worked after turning off car at dealership. The tech at dealership captured on video the gear clearly in drive and the car was rolling backward. Service center said no error codes were recorded. Hyundai usa has no information to give me. Car has been at dealer service dept for 11 days now. Concern is safety of vehicle to myself and others with the sudden acceleration and car going in reverse while in drive.

- Blanchard, OK, USA

problem #6

Nov 192015

Tucson

  • 1,000 miles
I had to replace the throttle body and rear shock at approximately under 2000 miles. It hesitates badly. It decelerates as I press down on the accelerator. It had low coolant before a long trip so I filled it up as it advised. When the vehicle was hot the coolant was approximately 1/2 inch to 1 inch below the minimum fill line. After my trip I took it to the certified Hyundai dealer service center for tire rotation and oil change and they advised the coolant was low again, but that there are no leaks. I told them I just filled it up and so they are checking again for leaks. It slammed into gear as I was going on an off ramp from an interstate. It jerked and shimmied like it was going to die when I was at a stoplight. It is brand new. It should not be having so many issues and no one will help me with it I just keep hearing "there is nothing wrong with it, it is just the way Hyundai designed the vehicle." Hyundai needs to work on this. There should be multiple recalls on this vehicle. It has a popping sound every time I reach 20 mph after taking it out of park. It has a rattle in the frame/rear passenger door area. No place can fix these sounds. I just have to deal with it all. It has been nothing but a nightmare since purchased in November 2015. This really needs multiple recalls on it. I just got an email about a hood latch recall too. Not even from Hyundai... from car fax. Hyundai did not contact consumers regarding the hood latch recall. They should be required to. The dealer did not contact me about it either. The dealer, bob poynter columbus, in refuses to service my brand new vehicle under warranty and they will not speak with me at all. They will not tell me where they obtained my vehicle from as a dealer trade either.

- Columbus, IN, USA

problem #5

May 192016

Tucson

  • 1,800 miles
05/06/2016 @ 1600 cond-rainy. While at a stop light I pressed the accelerator and the SUV did not move. The engine revved but the SUV did not go forward. It slowly engaged and lurched forward after approx 3-5 seconds. 5/19/2016 @ 1800 cond-rain /not driven in approx 4 days. Less than a mile from start and had been driving for approx 3-5 mins-while waiting at a stop light I attempted to accelerate when the light changed and the veh did not move. I pressed the accelerator to the floorboard and the engine revved for approximately 5-7 seconds before the veh lurched/jumped forward and slowly moved. I again immediately went to Hyundai. I was given a loaner vehicle - 2016 Tucson. 5/21/2016 @ 1350 same non-movement while accelerating from a stop occurred w/the loaner vehicle. It had not been driven in 2 days cond-rainy. This occurred approx 3 mins after start and w/in a mile. Hyundai Corp are not taking responsibility for the issues with this veh. 3 similar issues from customers were reported to this dealership. I do not feel safe driving this veh or allowing any member of my family to drive this veh. It is an accident in waiting either from being hit from behind by another veh or from striking another B/C of the lurching. I had to put my hazards on and hope that I did not get hit from behind. I am not satisfied and want a refund for both of the veh's I purchased due to this huge safety issue. At random times, usually from a stop, but sometimes when pulling into traffic, the veh does not move. I consider this to be a very hazardous defect. Hyundai is unable to replicate the error, so eng. Advises to release the veh back to me, they are unaware of any similar problems. I will never drive another Hyundai veh again B/C it is unsafe and the lack of responsibility to rectify their manufacturing problem. It is not a driver's operational error.

- Dothan, AL, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?