Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2008 Veracruz has a minor trend of complaints where the valve cover leaks oil onto the alternator, causing alternator failure. The problem starts with the battery warning light & typically all the other warning lights coming on in quick succession. Luckily, that problem was covered in a 2014 recall.

Overall, It's a solid reliable vehicle with no major problems reported.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,732 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Hyundai Veracruz electrical problems

electrical problem

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Hyundai Veracruz:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Hyundai Veracruz Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

Aug 252016


  • 0 miles


Proximity key worked on and off for a week and then stopped working completely, key inside proximity fob only unlocks doors, no way to start vehicle without this device working. Tried to order a new proximity key fob through an auto locksmith, Hyundai service would not assist locksmith on programming new proximity key and we were told only dealers can do this and that it would be approximately $65 to reprogram the proximity key. Once we took the vehicle to Hyundai and Hyundai checked the vehicle we were told the proximity key would need to be replaced, price jumped from $65 to $290 plus $65 reprogramming the new proximity fob, the next day we were contacted that the module that makes the proximity key fob work was bad and needed to be replaced. Price went from $355 to $1300 for the new module and proximity key fob. Today, after a week of the vehicle being at Hyundai we were told by the Hyundai service advisor that the module for this proximity key fob is under the cup holder in the middle console and that fluid (they assumed soda) leaked through the console shorting the module causing us to replace the module and the proximity key fob..

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #33

Feb 292016


  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Hyundai Veracruz. While driving approximately 70 mph, the low beam headlights seized. The contact had to tap the turn signal leveler in order for the headlights to illuminate. The failure occurred every time the vehicle was driven at night. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the turn signal was stuck. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was invalid. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000. Updated 06/14/16 the consumer stated the lights would go out, while driving at any speed. They would flicker or go out, when the turn signal was activated. Updated 06/20/16.

- North Port, FL, USA

problem #32

Oct 262015


  • 85,822 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Hyundai Veracruz. While driving 10 mph, the battery warning light illuminated and the radio shut off. In addition, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the alternator failed and the valve cover casket was damaged and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 85,822.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #31

Sep 042015


  • 115,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Hyundai Veracruz. The contact stated that vehicle was taken to a dealer for repairs under NHTSA campaign number: 14V415000 (engine and engine cooling).the contact stated that the technician failed to complete the recall remedy and only repaired the valve cover gasket. As a result, the alternator was not replaced. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle stalled after the recall repair being performed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the starter failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 115,000. The VIN was not available.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #30

Aug 242015


  • 92,000 miles
In May 2013, brake switch failed. It was almost impossible to move car from park to reverse, or park to drive. Took Veracruz to Hyundai dealership, brake switch replaced. Problem solved. In September 2014, all brake lights fail. Replaced bulbs. Problem solved. In August 2015, ESC light illuminates, car gets stuck in neutral. Can not turn off, switch gears. Battery is drained and car is towed to Hyundai. Spent 3 days at dealership. Brake switch replaced again, all brake lights failed, replaced bulbs. Electrical system draining battery. Problem found in radio - short in wiring. Radio disassembled. Two weeks later, left brake light out again. Replaced bulb and returned to dealership. Dealership states cannot locate problem since bulb was replaced.

- Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #29

Jun 252015


  • miles
I just got this car around may and it started making a terrible noise when it was in park and neutral. Took it to a mechanic and he said it was in the switch. Also, during this time I had noticed the ESC light came on and sometimes during that time I cannot change gears. Wondered if there was any recalls with this problem or any other complaints.

- Newberry, SC, USA

problem #28

Apr 112015


  • 41,500 miles


While driving my 2008 Veracruz, the ABS, ESC, and 4WD lights went on, a few minutes later the speedometer registered zero, then worked intermittently. According to my mechanic the source of the problem was the ABS module. The original ABS module became inoperable in March 2015, after approximately 41,000 miles and was replaced once the part became available from Hyundai on 4/9/15. The part was purchased brand new from Hyundai by my mechanic and professionally installed, drove approximately 100 miles before the. According to my mechanic, the ABS module which cost approximately $2,500 and controls the brakes, stability control, speedometer, traction control, etc is only guaranteed by Hyundai for 30 days. Two ABS module failures within a month.

- Bayside, NY, USA

problem #27

Mar 182014

Veracruz 4WD 6-cyl

  • 26,417 miles
The ABS light, ESC light, traction control light, all wheel drive light came on the dash, made appt with dealer (03/25/2015) and was told that I would need left & right side rear wheel speed sensors. The vehicle is a 2008 which was purchased May 2009 and has only 26417 miles on it and was told that it was out of warranty. Bin on the internet and seen that this is a common problem with this car. I am hoping that you will look into this and do something about this. Thank you for any help you can give me and the rest of the owners of this vehicle.

- Rockville Centre, NY, USA

problem #26

Mar 282015


  • 41,500 miles
Started car, ESC off, AWD, and ABS warning lights stayed on. After a few minutes driving there was a whirring noise in the engine compartment on the drivers side. Stepping on the brakes made the noise go away, noise returned when releasing the brakes. Repair shop diagnosed it to be the ABS module which needed to be replaced.

- Bayside, NY, USA

problem #25

Mar 042015

Veracruz 4WD 6-cyl

  • 149,000 miles
The ABS module is faulty because of the defective wiring harness. The harness is susceptible to live environmental elements especially during winter due to the high salt use on roads especially in the states with harsh winter. This problem creates a safety hazards and render the vehicle operation in a stall mode. Over time it could causes fire hazard, sudden acceleration cruise control lock with no release option that could results in a crash. It could cause other components failures like main PCM module and side modules of the vehicle. The harnesses on the Veracruz are not sealed properly and highly defectives.

- Dearborn Heights, MI, USA

problem #24

Mar 022015

Veracruz 4WD 6-cyl

  • 149,000 miles


Car was driving ok since we have acquired it. No problems, no issues until we had a snow storm when my wife driving home from my children's school the cruise control got stuck and would not release. She put the car in neutral and the engine RPM kept going up. She turned the car off then restarted in 5 mins it was ok with all light in cluster on. Diagnosed the car with wheel speed sensor rr. It drove for 1 hour then all light came back on. Took it to deal for the open recall I found online about my model car. Dealer changed all recall problems but light is on. Now the dealer said no communication to the car's computer can bus. Checked with my local mechanic and said it is the ABS hydraulic pump and module affixed to it. It is shorted out inside and causes interference with the computer system. The cost of parts is well over 2600 plus labor.

- Dearborn Heights, MI, USA

problem #23

Feb 242015

Veracruz 4WD 6-cyl

  • 95,700 miles
ESC off, AWD, and ABS lights lit up on the dashboard. While driving in traffic, the vehicle suddenly died and lost electricity and had to coast the vehicle to the side of intersection, while not having power. Eventually able to restart the vehicle and drive again. Happened 2 more times where the vehicle died while it was being driven. While driving it to the dealer, noticed the speedometer was not working. Dealer found a bunch of codes for wheel sensors and eventually determined the issue was an ABS hydraulic module, which costs over $2000 just for the part itself. I researched through several Hyundai forum websites and it appears this is a chronic issue with this vehicle as other owners have had the same problem. Due to the cost of this part and the safety issues involved with driving the vehicle, I would suggest it should be part of a recall. Veracruz owners should be notified not to drive the vehicle if the combination of these lights come on, as the vehicle may quit and lose power while it is being driven.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #22

Feb 132015

Veracruz 6-cyl

  • 46,476 miles
I am the owner of a 2008 Hyundai vera cruz. In 2014 my oil gasket leaked and I brought the car to a local garage and had it repaired. It cost $400. A few months later, I had a problem due to a power failure and I went to another garage nearby, and discovered my alternator failed and needed to be replaced. It cost me another $400. A few months later, I received notice from Hyundai stating that they discovered a fault in the oil gasket which could leak into the alternator and cause it to fail. I contacted Hyundai and explained what had happened. They assured me, just as it says in the recall notice, that if I had the work done already, I would be reimbursed, but they first wanted me to bring the car to a Hyundai service center, which I did. They checked the repairs and decided to re-do the gasket replacement, although they had no explanation as to why. They did not re-do the alternator so I assume they deemed it okay. Now, I have been going back and forth with them supplying copies of the repairs that I had done, and the repair orders, and the credit card receipts, some of which, strangely, kept getting lost even though I sent them as email attachments (after scanning them to digitize the copies). I was told some of the copies arrived, but others did not even though they all went with the same email. In any case, it has been a few months and now they finally said they would like to reimburse me for the repairs but have determined (again, with no explanation) that I should only receive $195. I have asked for an explanation and they simply state they want to pay me a lesser amount for the parts that were provided in the repairs and less for the labor. I must admit, I am a bit dumbfounded. I may be a disabled veteran but there is nothing wrong with my math. Can you please help me?

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #21

Jan 072015


  • 50,100 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Hyundai Veracruz. The contact stated that while driving approximately 8 mph, the battery warning light illuminated as the vehicle stalled. The contact had to maneuver to the side of the road. The vehicle started but all the warning lights on the instrument were illuminated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,100. The VIN was not available.

- Plainwell , MI, USA

problem #20

Nov 032014


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns 2008 Hyundai Veracruz. The contact stated that the air conditioing unit failed. In addition, the stereo failed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Glenwood, IL, USA

problem #19

Oct 292014

Veracruz 6-cyl

  • 152,000 miles
The car just failed and did not have power. Lights came on and then car stopped. It is recall 121 from Hyundai but they will not fix the problem because they have no solution. I tried to fix it once before but I was told I had to pay my own bill and they might reimburse me because they have no long term fix for the issue. But my car died because of it and they say that is my problem because I have 151K miles on the car. I spoke to many people at Hyundai and no one would take responsibility. That is crazy that they know it is a problem but will not own up to fixing it for me.

- Fairfield, CT, USA

problem #18

Oct 052014

Veracruz 4WD 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
This vehicle went out of control when trying to park. When I tried to move stick to park, the vehicle took off with 70 - 80 miles an hour. Once it took off like plane, I had no control over this vehicle. I tried to stop it but brakes did not work, steering was locked and can not turn off ignition either. Vehicle traveled about 800 - 1000 ft before it stopped. Vehicle finally came to stop by trees. Steering, brakes and gas nothing worked as expected and I had no control over this vehicle. This vehicle went through this ordeal in children play area and luckily it was early in the morning and no one was in play area. Imagine if this vehicle was on interstate, major intersection or us / state hwy. This vehicle is road hazard and may cause serious accidents and possibly loss of life. I have also contacted Hyundai and they have opened up case to check but want NHTSA to investigate the issue so we have neutral outcome V/S just Hyundai. I wanted to bring up this matter to your attention so proper investigation should be completed for this vehicle to avoid loss of property or lives. Please contact me for more details.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #17

May 062013


  • miles
At random times, I cannot move my shifter from drive to park and it seems to correspond with the ESC light turning on without pushing the button. I can only move the shifter from drive to neutral and have to leave the car ignition partially on and cannot lock the vehicle. Obviously a safety concern! I have brought it to the local dealer only to be told there is nothing wrong with the ESC control even after the recall bulletin. The dealer just did a fix relating to the oil leak issue and told him it was also doing the shift issue. Picked vehicle up 9/25/14 as everything was supposed to be resolved but only to have the shifter and ESC issue again on 9/27 and 9/29/14. Called dealer and am bringing in vehicle again today 9/29/14.

- Brunswick, GA, USA

problem #16

Aug 072014

Veracruz 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
Randomly after pulling up to a stop in my garage, I cannot move my shifter from drive to park. I can only move it back and forth from neutral to drive. After turning the car on and off multiple times in neutral it allowed me to put the car into park. I could not back out of my garage, nor could I put it into park, a serious safety concern. I called Hyundai corporate and they told me the recall for it has already been done, but it is doing it now every time I want to put it into park. The ESC off light comes on without pushing the button and the car is stuck in drive.

- Schofield, WI, USA

problem #15

Feb 272014

Veracruz 6-cyl

  • 149,111 miles
Vehicle lost electrical control including ability to accelerate while driving on the highway. Was unable to shift vehicle out of gear. Previous electrical issues caused brake failures and starting and throttle control issue.

- Eaton, CO, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?