Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Structure: Frame And Members Problems

1998 Isuzu Rodeo (Page 2 of 3)


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
115,267 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Isuzu Rodeo body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Isuzu Rodeo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Isuzu Rodeo Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

Jun 302010

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • 114,149 miles


The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact was driving at 50 mph when the rear end of the vehicle began leaning to the left, causing the vehicle to become difficult to control. The vehicle was towed to a local repair facility where the mechanic advised that the rear driver side frame was severely corroded. Parts of the frame had fractured from the vehicle as a result. The mechanic advised that the failure could not be repaired. The mechanic also recommended the contact having the vehicle destroyed due to the safety hazard of operating the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer would not provide any assistance. The failure and the current mileages were 114,149. Updated 11/12/10 updated 11/24/10

- Mount Perry , OH, USA

problem #22

Jun 012010

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
1998 Isuzu Rodeo with 66,000 miles that has been garage kept for the last 7 years was taken for inspection in June 1, 2010. Mechanic stated car would need to be replaced within the next couple of months due to the undercarriage rusting away from the frame. I was shocked. I did have to replace the transmission support due to rust at a cost of over $400. I have children who could have been seriously hurt if an accident had occurred. I cannot afford to replace my vehicle right now. Isuzu, please do something about this problem before someone does get seriously injured.

- Greensburg, PA, USA

problem #21

Apr 242010

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 76,230 miles
1998 Isuzu Rodeo rusted frame, would not pass inspection. Replaced fuel intake gaskets twice. ABS braking system light keeps coming on. Replaced front rotors twice, rear hatch window will not open. 76,000 miles of nothing but trouble. I think its time for Isuzu to take some responsibility for this vehicle.

- Latrobe, PA, USA

problem #20

Dec 152009

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • 98,100 miles


I was driving on a highway and the car was swaying at 25 mph, all of a sudden, something broke underneath, lost control of the car and threw me across three lanes and back. Was able to stop the car before crashing. Vehicle had to be towed. Mechanic told me frame completely rotted, impossible to weld. Stabilizer arm broke from rest of frame. Updated IVOQ 10/18/10

- Butler, PA, USA

problem #19

Apr 252009

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
1998 Isuzu Rodeo very bad frame left strut rod rusted off lost total control.

- Evans City, PA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #18

Mar 172010

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 170,000 miles
1998 Isuzu Rodeo, frame has rusted out. Bracket holding leaf spring is completely detached from frame because of rust.

- Parkersburg, WV, USA

problem #17

Mar 312010


  • 133,315 miles


I was driving vehicle and went around a curve and it felt like all the wheels were not going in the same direction for a moment. I pulled over and looked at the vehicle, everything looked ok but I was concerned so called a tow truck. The tow driver looked at vehicle before placing onflatbed and found the frame rotted/cracked in front of driver-side rear wheel. The vehicle was not safe to drive and has not been since then. This is not correctable. We purchased a new vehicle. The car was is good shape otherwise with 6 month old tires and well maintained.

- East Taunton, MA, USA

problem #16

Sep 012009

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 124,000 miles
Was driving to work one morning doing about 35mph, and all of the sudden the rear end of the Rodeo swerved almost hitting a car in the oncoming lane. Came to a stop and again rear end felt strange. Got to work and looked it over. Didn't see anything still little dark out. Called my mechanic he said check the frame. Sure enough the rear trailing bar broke free from the frame. My mechanic is a professional welder he said bring it over he would look at it. Had to tow it to garage where he raised it on a rack. The whole frame had all kinds of rot in various place. Rodeo is now junk. Only has 120,000 miles on it. Looks great on the outside. But its only skin deep!!! the day before this happened I had my daughter and her friends on the pa turnpike doing 55 mph with no idea we could have all been killed.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #15

Oct 172009


  • miles
Drivers side shock separated from the frame, the entire frame is completely rusted out just waiting for something to happen.

- Westminster, MA, USA

problem #14

Nov 202008


  • 60,007 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated that the frame was covered with rust. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that there were no related recalls. The vehicle had not been repaired when the complaint was filed. The failure mileage was 60,007. The current mileage was approximately 89,000.

- South Dennis, MA, USA

problem #13

May 182010

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles


1998 Isuzu Rodeo, 76,000 miles. Will not pass inspection, frame totally rusted out, was told it cannot be repaired.

- Latrobe, PA, USA

problem #12

May 202010

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
Rust on frame of 1998 Isuzu Rodeo.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #11

Feb 222010

Rodeo 4WD 8-cyl

  • 277,681 miles
While driving home,1998 Isuzu Rodeo drivers side rear wheel stabilizer broke away from frame due to rust. Unable to continue driving. Vehicle towed home.

- French Lick, IN, USA

problem #10

Oct 012009

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 131,000 miles
I have a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo Jeep. A while back I had a piece of the frame repaired/welded, as it broke and the vehicle was unstable. I spent over $500 in repair costs to bring the vehicle to driving status again. To this day I still wonder if it is good enough to drive, as there is rust all on the under frame of the car. I have put so much time, and money into this vehicle, and I cant afford to just get rid of the car and get a new one. I have once thought that maybe the car had just sat in water before I purchased it, but due to the other stories I have read on this vehicle, I know now that it is not the case. Many people have experienced the same issues with the frame rust as I have. I have two young children that ride in this vehicle as well, and I am concerned for there safety as I hear that the condition of the vehicle can deteriorate over time. I think something should be done about this now before it gets any worse. I am not sure what the dealer is waiting for, maybe a catastrophe, before they do something about this. Please look into this matter as soon as possible before things get out of hand.

- Charlestown, MA, USA

problem #9

Apr 232010

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. While driving at speeds of 55 mph, the lateral support bracket corroded and fractured from the vehicle. The rear of the vehicle began to sway back and forth and the contact was able to maintain limited control of the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a welding specialist where a new bracket was welded to the frame. Neither the manufacturer nor the dealer was contacted. The failure and current mileages were 120,000. Updated 11/03/10. Updated 11/19/10. The consumer stated the fuel tanks were corroded. Updated 12/02/10

- Westford, MA, USA

problem #8

Oct 162008

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 190,000 miles
Frame rusted out rear trailing arm broke free had to be welded back to truck.

- Dundas New Brunswick Canada, 00, USA

problem #7

May 062010

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact was advised by the dealer that the vehicle was unsafe to drive due to excessive frame rust and underbody corrosion. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 62,000. Updated 07/19/10. Updated 09/21/10

- Wellesley Hills, MA, USA

problem #6

Mar 082010

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • 127,000 miles
While driving down rte 9 in framingham MA on 12/05/2008, my 1998 Isuzu Rodeo started swaying. It felt like the rear end of the vehicle was sliding on ice. I pulled off of the highway and had the vehicle towed. My mechanic determined that the rear sway bar had rotted off the vehicle. A new sway bar was installed, however additional rust was noted and I was told to keep an eye on it for future rot. In March 2010, while completing normal maintenance, my mechanic noted that the frame on the drivers side between the front and rear doors was rotted beyond repair. The vehicle now sits in my driveway.

- Berlin, MA, USA

problem #5

Apr 022010

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 114 miles
I have a 1998 Rodeo, drivers side frame rusted at trailing arm bracket, separated and wheel went forward against wheel well. Luckily in drive way15 mph. Six month later driver side frame rusted at upper shock and coil spring mounts. The left rear trailing arm and bracket broke from the frame(due to rust), causing the vehicle to shake violently. I believe Isuzu company that has an obligation to notify owners of this potentially disastrous condition.

- Morgantown, WV, USA

problem #4

Jan 222010

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 86,550 miles
January 2010 -1998 Isuzu Rodeo-backing out of driveway vehicle abruptly stopped. Upon investigation we discovered rear wheel of driver side lodged against inside of wheel well. Further discovered rear stabilizer bracket completely off of rear frame. Vehicle repaired by a welder who discovered 5 feet of frame rot in the rear of vehicle. He replaced rotted frame and fabricated new bracket. Visually inspected passenger side which appeared to be stable. April 4,2010-while traveling on interstate highway the vehicle made an unexpected very abrupt shift to the right. Visual inspection revealed the rear passenger side frame was failing.there was no prior warning in either incident. We have filed a complaint with Isuzu motors. We consider ourselves very fortunate not to have been injured as this problem is clearly a major safety issue.

- Torrington, CT, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?