Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Suspension Problems

1998 Isuzu Rodeo (Page 1 of 2)


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
101,647 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Isuzu Rodeo suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Isuzu Rodeo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Isuzu Rodeo Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Oct 012014

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • 137,450 miles


As I was driving the vehicle down the road the spare tire and trailer hitch fell off from underneath the vehicle almost causing a huge accident. Upon inspecting the under body of the vehicle I observed the rear frame totally rusted off and missing. The rest of the frame is badly rusted also. I just purchased the vehicle and did not know of the rotted frame issue on these cars. Please help as I don't have money to buy another car.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #28

Dec 102013


  • 160,389 miles
Fuel tank mounts rusted and failed. Rear suspension.stabilizer.brackets rusted and failed rear axle shift due rusted mounts and rear frame rust.

- Lawton, MI, USA

problem #27

Aug 192013

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • 144,000 miles
I took my vehicle to the certified Isuzu dealership for repair during the 2010 recall for premature rust (NHTSA action number : EA09018) according to them my vehicle did not require the bracket to be installed. They treated the part with the preventive compound. During recent maintenance to my truck we notice the entire frame is completely rusted, to a point that you a easily poke your finger through the chasis in multiple areas. I took it back to Hyundai of louisville to be inspected. They informed me that the rear suspension lower link bracket (which was the only part recalled) needed to have the bracket installed because it does currently show damage. After contacting Isuzu they inform me that since the recall has expired they will not cover installation of the bracket. So I am now stuck with a family vehicle that is unsafe to drive! I did everything required of me during the recall. This is unbelievable!!! what am I to do now"?"

- Shepherdsville, KY, USA

problem #26

Jul 102013


  • 114,000 miles


Excessive corrosion result in the right rear suspension lower link bracket becoming detached from the frame, which can affect vehicle handling and potentially cause a crash.

- Gardner, MA, USA

problem #25

Apr 082013

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • 171,000 miles
Shock bracket broke away from the frame. The underneath is rusted so badly not to sure if a new bracket can be installed.

- Thomas, WV, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #24

Oct 252012

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • 155,000 miles
Vehicle will not pass inspection this year because of frame rusting out and other issues with the spring brackets and stabilizer bar....all are rusted out....Rodeo is now worthless....Isuzu had to know the frame was inferior material for vehicles 1998-2002...and did nothing except a worthless recall in 2011 and ignored the rest of the frame of the vehicle...contacted Isuzu about the problem and spoke to two reps....both basically blew me off....I asked to speak to their manager and was told that this is as far as it goes....and that it ain`T happening...great customer service!!hopefully something will be done about this....I see that there are many other Rodeo and passport owners out there with the same problem...this is a safety issue...someone is going to get killed....

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #23

Jul 012011


  • miles


1998 Isuzu Rodeo. Consumer writes in regards to rear suspension bracket corrosion recall notice. The consumer stated she received a recall notice in July 2011 from Isuzu for inspection and repair of a possible corrosion issue at the rear suspension bracket. In November 2011, the consumer took the vehicle to the dealer for an inspection to performed. The repair facility sprayed an anti- corrosion as a fix. On January 12, 2013, the consumer took the vehicle for an oil change. At that time, she was informed there was a serious and dangerous condition. The technician indicated the rear stabilizer frame mount was destroyed and the frame was rusted out. The technician suggested the consumer seek an evaluation from another repair facility. The consumer went to another facility to have the vehicle inspected. The technician found the rear lateral link for the rear axle mount had rotted away, making the rear unstable. They also stated the vehicle was not road worthy. In the technician's opinion, the vehicle was totaled, as a result of the corrosion of the frame. The consumer called Isuzu and they advised her to return to the repair facility for another evaluation. The repair shop examined the vehicle again. The repair facility listed on the invoice as the lateral link being broken, which was not part of the recall. The area that was previously sprayed, was still in good condition.

- De Forest, WI, USA

problem #22

Aug 122012

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • 175,000 miles
Vehicle has been feeling unstable lately to the point of almost losing control. Climbed under the vehicle to see if I could spot an issue an found the frame to completely rotted through on the rear driver side upper spring perch, which is coming through the cargo compartment floorboard. Frame can also be crumbled with the slight push of a screwdriver at the rear frame section.

- Leominster, MA, USA

problem #21

Jul 252012

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • 169,585 miles
I was driving vehicle on state route. Began hearing what sounded like small rocks or cinders. Now on the road though. Then the car started to sway some as I went around a turn. I pulled over and looked under vehicle and found my right rear sway bar bracket had rusted through and the bar was hanging on that side tried to weld a piece of metal to frame to make a new bracket and discovered the frame is also rusted through in places. My car is unsafe to drive now and is basically totaled. I have no other vehicle to drive. Called Isuzu and was informed it was my problem not theirs.

- Mount Perry, OH, USA

problem #20

Aug 012010

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated that the under carriage was severely corroded and exhibited a loud noise when driving. In addition, the frame felt as it was separating from the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The contact stated that repairs were made to the vehicle under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension: Rear) was performed on the vehicle in 2010. The contact believed that the repair did not correct the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 117,000 and the current mileage was 250,000. Updated 8/31/12 updated 09/11/2012

- North Chicago , IL, USA

problem #19

Jul 162012


  • 202,000 miles


The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated that while driving 8 mph, the vehicle emitted a popping noise and began to sway. The vehicle was safely pushed into the contact's driveway. An independent mechanic examined the vehicle and advised the contact that the stabilizer bar fractured and was possibly beyond repair. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 10V436000 (suspension:rear). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 202,000.

- Woburn, MA, USA

problem #18

Mar 162012

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • 206,000 miles
Well on March 16 2012 we were driving our Isuzu. Rodeo on the highway going 55 mph. We then heard a popping noise and the rear of the vehicle started bouncing so we took the vehicle to a local repair shop when they said the frame was rotted out and that the shocks were. Hanging their and the springs mounts had rusted off and the springs were sitting on the cargo area floor board and so a few days later we called Isuzu. And they said we had to have the vehicle to one of their repair shops by the next day or they wouldn't do anything about it and we did not have money to have the vehicle towed to them and it was unsafe to drive, so in April we took the Isuzu to a body shop locally and he stated the same thing as the first garage but that if we invested $2000 into a new frame it would be good as new and since we haven't had the vehicle fixed due to we don't have the money and we haven't even paid the vehicle off yet, and the major problem is Isuzu wont do anything about the problem and the recall was only for the sway bar, and the whole frame is damaged.

- Princeton, WV, USA

problem #17

Jun 072011


  • 145,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. While driving approximately 55 mph, the rear end of the vehicle began to sway. The contact maneuvered to the side of the road and then drove on the shoulder at a low speed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated the rear axle would need to be replaced. There was a recall related to the defect under NHTSA campaign id number 00V058000 (suspension: Rear); however the recall expired. The vehicle was repaired at the owner's expense. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 145,000.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #16

May 042012


  • 231,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, he heard a loud noise and lost control of the vehicle. The contact stated that the rear passenger side control arm fractured as a result of corrosion. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the statute of limitations for NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension:rear) had surpassed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 231,000.

- Chicago , IL, USA

problem #15

Apr 062012

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • 177,332 miles
Frame rusted causing rear lower control arm to fall off almost causing a serious accident vehicle purchased 8/22/11 want to know why these vewhicles are still be allowed to be sold. It is a known problem and the recall started in 2010 and only good for 1 year so I have to junk a otherwise decent car because the frames are junk. These vehicles need to be taken off the roads for everyones safety!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Secor, IL, USA

problem #14

Oct 172011

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • miles
October 17, 2011, I took my Rodeo to, have it serviced for the suspension:rear recall. After service the mechanics inspection report noted that: "frame corroded badly, R/F hub loose, rear shock hanging, frame rotted thru" and that the front C/V joint had rusted off. The service department, did not advise me to drive the car home, as it was a safety issue. Over the years I have had the exhaust repaired, a number of times due to rust. This vehicle has never been off-road, and has only been used as transportation to work(all highway driving).

- Hartly, DE, USA

problem #13

Dec 132011


  • 286,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 10V436000 (suspension:rear). The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that the entire frame was severely rusted, but the recall only addressed a failure related to rusted brackets. The vehicle was not repired. The failure and current mileages were 286,000.

- Middleberry, CT, USA

problem #12

Dec 222011


  • 161,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact was driving 65 mph and traveled over a speed bump when the rear driver side wheel abnormally turned in the opposite direction that the vehicle was traveling. The contact stated that the rear suspension had completely detached from the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for repairs. The manufacturer was contacted and they confirmed to the contact that the vehicle qualified for repairs under NHTSA campaign id number:10V436000 (suspension:rear), but the recall was expired. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileages were 161,000.

- Millhall, PA, USA

problem #11

Dec 062011


  • 126,000 miles
Was driving the vehicle at 30 mph when a pop in the back was heard and all steering control was lost. When I looked under the vehicle, the bracket that holds the rear axle (left side) had broken off. Frame is grossly rusted. When Isuzu was called regarding the current recall, was told that the nearest service center was over 3 hours away. I am currently in the process of getting the vehicle to the service center, but due to distance this is an issue.

- South Bend, IN, USA

problem #10

Oct 232010


  • miles
Immense amount of frame rust that has basically made the vehicle useless way before the end of its useful life. Has eaten away at the critical parts of the frame that has made it very unsafe and unusable to me. Had to get a new car as a result and now waiting to see what is going to be done if anything about truck. Would like to see the the frame fixed and the manufacture take responsibility for these malfunctions before someone gets killed or seriously injured!

- Exeter, NH, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?