Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Structure: Frame And Members Problems

2001 Isuzu Rodeo (Page 2 of 9)


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
99,066 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Isuzu Rodeo body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Isuzu Rodeo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Isuzu Rodeo Owner Comments (Page 2 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #141

Feb 242010


  • 60,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, she noticed that the entire frame separated from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to her home. After she inspected the vehicle, she noticed that it was corroded. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and advised her that there was a recall and for her to take it to a dealer. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Millbury, MA, USA

problem #140

Feb 232011


  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. The vehicle was included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension:rear). The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was told they could perform the recall remedy but the vehicle would still be unsafe to drive because the entire frame was corroded. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 73,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Shrewsbury, MA, USA

problem #139

Dec 102010

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 127,000 miles
2001 Rodeo lse in excellent condition has a completely rusted out frame. Car fishtailed and nearly flipped over. Had it towed but was told it needed a whole new frame and to find a body shop. Did some research and discovered Isuzu was going to issue a recall later that month. Long story short. My car has been sitting since decmeber 2010. No one contacts me, I have toc all several times and stay on hold minimum of 30mins each time. Told my car was a T5"? unrepairable and would be on the "buy back" list. Almost entering the 3rd month, I've spent a lot of money on car rentals. Isuzu offers no help and has no time line. In fact when I called Isuzu in December when it first happened and guy at Isuzu said he saw the repair process and he felt what was being done for the recall fix was "overkill" and my car would be up and running..won't be overkill when someone dies from this! then it takes 2 1/2 months to tell me my baby is unrepairable! what about all the work and money spent keeping this car in top shape? what about the $800 I just spent on tires before this happened? not only is this financially stressful but emotionally stressful as well. Who has time while at work to call and stay on hold anywhere from 30mins and up?" no one. To only be given the run around and that I need to wait for Isuzu to call me back! not to mention also own a 99 Rodeo starting to rust not has bad. I don't even have the energy and mental strength to get this car checked and on the "list"! but for my families safety I will take it to get inspected this week!

- Lyndhurst, NJ, USA

problem #138

Jan 102011

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles


I received a recall #10V-436 form in the mail from the Isuzu owner relations center 1400 S. douglass road, suite 100 anahelm, ca 92806 on or about November 2010. It stated that I should call Isuzu special assistance center to identify the Isuzu service center closest to me. I was told the parts to repair my vehicle would not be available until the middle of January 2011. I called and an appointment for February 18, 2011 at bournival Isuzu where I bought the car brand new in August 2001. The car was due for a sticker January 2011. January 10 2011 this vehicle was in an accident. There was minor damage to the rear left side totaling $2,800. When the body shop further investigating under the vehicle he noticed extensive frame damage rotting with holes and extensive rust. He determined the SUV was unsafe. He also noticed the axel was 3/4 of an inch out of line. He then called our insurance company and the adjuster reinvestigated the vehicle. The adjuster at this time totaled the SUV. The insurance company took ownership of the vehicle and subtracted a large sum of money from the finale amount because of the holes and rust he found on the frame undercarriage, to look at this vehicle you would have thought it was years younger then it was. There was no rust, dents or scratches. This vehicle should have gone another 100,000 miles at least. It was garaged and meticulously maintained from the date of purchase. I was told by friends it drove and sounded like a brand new automobile. My intention was to have it for ten more years. At this time I am requesting the amount disqualified by the insurance company for the frame metal decomposition and an amount for loss of longevity and failure to fulfill my expectations.

- Fremont, NH, USA

problem #137

Feb 082011

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 111,300 miles
Along with most of you, I to have a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. Upon having my vehicle towed to the nearest service center in allentown, pa, I was told that my condition was at a level three- that the rear suspension bracket was able to be installed and that I could pick up the vehicle. The service rep then proceeded to tell me that the frame is badly rusted and that the right front area has a hole that he could put his fist through, stating that it is unsafe to drive, it will not pass inspection, and they are not allowed to weld a plate to a frame, rendering it unrepairable. An Isuzu manager I spoke with on 2/8/11 could not give me an answer as to a remedy if the truck was unrepairable, repeating that they are only responsible for the rear suspension bracket. This is unacceptable...what is the point if the entire frame is useless?

- Larksville, PA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #136

Dec 032010

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
The frame on my 2001 Isuzu Rodeo is completly rotten and the recall that Isuzu has given to the owners is not fixing the real problem. I have a vehicle which my mechanic has told me is not inspectable in the state and that it is unsafe to drive. My Rodeo was towed over 100 miles to the closest dealer for the recall inspection and has been there for about two months. The dealear said they ordered the parts to fix the recall and it would be about four weeks before they had the parts. When the parts arrived they called me and asked my permission to install them. At this point I contacted Isuzu and expressed my concerne that this was not going to fix the underlying problem and they told me that the next step would be a purchase offer from Isuzu to me. After hours on the phone and faxes sent to them they finally called back three weeks later and told me that they authorzed the dealer to make the recall repairs. I am more than confused now because the dealer is telling that it is going to take parts to fix the recall but Isuzu is now telling me they just want to treat the recall area with anti-corrosion material. I feel like both parties involved with the recall are not on the same page. To top that off, Isuzu says that they will not tow my vehicle back to my residence and in this state I cannot legally drve the vehicle that is now uninspected.

- Dover-Foxcroft, ME, USA

problem #135

May 012009

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles


This is pertaining to the recall of Isuzu/Honda 98-2002 with the rear suspension link arms. I kind of went along with the complaints that were already started but the real problem seems to be the severe rust of the frames. The reason they appear to be separating is because the frame that they are supposed to be welded to are so rusted that there is nothing for the weld to hold onto. They are putting brackets (bandages) onto a frame that has huge rust holes. Mine is so bad I could push a pencil through it. You already have pics of mine from the previous recall. The dealer told me it was too severe to put a bracket on and that I'd be hearing from Isuzu about compensation, but now Isuzu (Corp.) is saying the brackets might work. I think this problem needs further research into "why the links our detaching". my links themselves are not rusting and would most likely be fine if the frame would not have rusted so severely. I've seen the brackets that they are putting on and then the state will not pass it for inspection because of the rust. How is that fixing the problem. I've always taken very good care of my vehicles. They body is in very good condition. The tires are brand new and I just put a motor in it right before this happened because I planned on keeping it for many more years.

- Wintersville, OH, USA

problem #134

Aug 252008


  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated the rear subframe had fractured as a result to substantial rust corrosion, and was repaired by him. Recently, the vehicle was taken to the dealer for a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 10V436000 (suspension: Rear). However, the dealer refused to repair the vehicle because the frame was beyond repair. The technician informed that the vehicle was not safe to drive. Also, the contact stated the recall remedy would not correct the problem. The manufacturer was notified but offered no assistance. The contact was waiting on a response from the dealer for further assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 150,000.

- Baxter , TN, USA

problem #133

Jan 062011

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 123,000 miles
I own a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo which I purchased new in 2001, this vehicle has always been maintained as it should. I received a recall from Isuzu about a frame issue and promptly took the vehicle into dealer for inspection. I drove 90 miles to the dealership for a 2-hour recall repair, after the dealer inspection I was told that my vehicles frame structure was to rusted to be repaired with the frame channel Isuzu provided. The vehicle was deemed unsafe to drive and the dealership would not release the vehicle according to Isuzu's instructions. I was told by the dealership that my vehicle would most likely be totaled out by Isuzu as it was to unsafe to drive. Since insurance company policies will not provide a rental car for automotive recalls, I had to rent a vehicle just to make my trip back home, I had just be unemployed after the company I worked for closed their doors for good. This problem with Isuzu was the last thing I needed to happen. I'm out of a vehicle, how am I supposed to find work and get there when I do find a job" the problem with the frames on these vehicles are worst than just a small repair. This is a bigger problem than just a channel replacement! and this should be looked at deeper, not only am I out of the use of my vehicle, I recently spent a $1000 on new tires and a muffler and for what" just to let it sit on a dealers lot until Isuzu decides what to do next, I think they should at least give me the trade-in value of the vehicle so I can move on. I'm not going to settle for anything less than this vehicles value before this fiasco began. You can tell Isuzu, because I'm sure you guy's are talking, that there are more problem vehicles out there to be reported. This is unfair to the consumer of these vehicles, do the right thing and make Isuzu pay-up. I'm still waiting on Isuzu to contact me back on this problem, they have all my info what's the hold-up on the remedy, I can't drive my vehicle, pay me pre-recall value I need a car now..

- Watson, IL, USA

problem #132

Feb 052010


  • 127,411 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact was driving approximately 50 mph when the rear driver side tire began wobbling abnormally and the rear stabilizer bar fractured from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the contacts place of residence where the it was inspected by a welder who advised that the frame was severely corroded and beyond repair. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension:rear) and the vehicle was towed to the dealer for repairs. The dealer advised that the failure was beyond repair. The dealer contacted the manufacturer and the contact was advised that the manufacturer was willing to repurchase the vehicle. The contact declined the offer. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 127,411.

- Sturgis, MI, USA

problem #131

Jan 012011


  • 138,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. While the NHTSA recall campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension:rear) repair was being performed; the technician stated that the frame was severely corroded. The technician was unable to weld the frame onto the bracket because of the corrosion. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that they needed photographs of the damage. The dealer provided the manufacturer with the photographs and they are still waiting for the manufacturers response. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage 138,000.

- Angola, NY, USA

problem #130

Jan 132011

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
Had my 2001 Isuzu Rodeo with 56K and in mint condition in for yearly inspection. To my surprise they failed it...for a rotted frame. It has holes completely through it. They deemed it dangerous to drive telling me I would have been killed if were driving at the time. I have done some research and I just can't believe nothing is being done about this. I'm having a hard time swallowing that this may be a total loss for me. I had plans on keeping this vehicle for well over 100K miles and I just got to 56K. I guess someone has to die for anyone to take action. I feel that I should be entitled to some type of buy it. This is unreal I bought this brand new and it's been garage kept I just can't believe it. I had to get this towed and it's now sitting at the dealership and I'm awaiting an outcome.

- New Kensington, PA, USA

problem #129

Apr 012010


  • 125,000 miles
This is a follow up to a previous ODI complaint - 10336610 and in response to the very poor handling of recall 10V-436 in regards to my 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. I have taken my Rodeo to the dealer and spoken with Isuzu who have stated that they are able to install their 'recall brackets' onto my severely rotten frame, however, the truck will then still not pass nys inspection and will not be safe to drive. I honestly find it difficult to believe that they would even be able to attach said bracket to my frame as I have been told by 3 separate mechanics and welding professionals that the frame is rotten beyond repair, and there is nothing to attach anything to or weld to as the metal is too deteriorated. Isuzu is reusing to cover any other frame damage other than their 'recalled section' in which they would install the bracket. My entire frame is rotten....the rear driver side trail arm is rotted off, as Isuzu has told me, but they are not covering that. How is this helpful to the consumer as these vehicles are still undriveable and unsafe. I would like to see the NHTSA to follow up on this issue and force Isuzu to take responsibility and either replace the entire frame or give consumers the fair market value for these trucks....and not the cost (1500) of what it would cost for them to install a useless bracket....I am out my perfectly functioning vehicle in merely 9 years!!!....and had to buy a replacement vehicle, they should have to reimburse consumers for the inconvenience and the loss of their entire vehicle.

- Williamsville, NY, USA

problem #128

Dec 272010

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
Related to the Isuzu Rodeo rear axle bracket recall, my Rodeo experienced the exact same corrosion problem with the remainder of my 2001 Rodeo's frame. Both my mechanic ([xxx], potters mills, pa) and my Isuzu repair shop ([xxx], state college, pa) said the corrosion will not allow the vehicle to pass inspection, even with the rear axle bracket remedy provided by Isuzu. Therefore, this is not an "appropriate" remedy, as described in NHTSA's "recall summary" on this site. That summary says, "in the rare event the corrosion is so severe that the reinforcement bracket remedy would not be appropriate, Isuzu and Honda will develop an appropriate remedy." Applying the rear bracket repair is inappropriate for two reasons. First, the repair can "barely" (according to [xxx]) be made on my vehicle, and; second, the remainder of the frame (with the same type of damage caused by the same Isuzu error) will not pass inspection anyway. However, I was told Thursday morning by an Isuzu rep at the number listed in the summary that Isuzu would provide "no remedy" for anything outside of the rear bracket area detailed in the summary. This is unacceptable and contrary to NHTSA's summary. I ask that NHTSA contact Isuzu and force them to comply with both the letter and the spirit of the recall remedy as described. If NHTSA and Isuzu fail to enforce this, then a lawsuit against Isuzu will follow. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- State College, PA, USA

problem #127

Nov 152010

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
My 2001 Isuzu Rodeo with 90,000 has completely corroded underneath and a steering bracket became detached from the rear wheel while the car was being driven in traffic. The Isuzu factory did recall the car, but it has been sitting disabled in my driveway for 2 months now and I don't think it can be fixed (the entire underside is rusted out). The company is botching this recall: This is a very dangerous condition. These cars need to be bought back by the company and taken out of circulation. They basically told me "too bad" when I explained that being unable to drive this car is unacceptable: I need a car! they also told me not to try to get the car fixed on my own. I can't trade it in, I can't fix it, I can't drive it...I'm basically screwed. I bought this car new and am the original owner. I have always taken excellent care of it as far as maintenance, oil changes, etc. The car looks great, the body and engine are fine, but yet, it is a total loss, at only 90,000 miles. Something needs to be done to get this company to make this right for the victims of this factory defect, those of us who unknowingly bought a car that was destined to self-destruct in 9 years. It is only a matter of time before someone dies in a horrific accident from this; it almost happened to me, but I was able to get over to the side of the road. When the bracket gave way, the car began to swerve uncontrollably.

- Westfield, MA, USA

problem #126

Dec 132010


  • 170,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated that she received a recall notice for suspension:rear (10V436000). The contact took the vehicle to the dealer who noticed that the entire frame was covered with an excessive amount of corrosion. The dealer stated they would replace the rear suspension lower link bracket but not the frame. The contact stated if the rear suspension lower link bracket was replaced that the vehicle was inoperative because of the corrosion. The contact stated that the manufacturer should replaced the frame since this was a manufacturers defect. The failure mileage was 170,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Feward, PA, USA

problem #125

Dec 272010

Rodeo 4WD 6-cyl

  • 127,000 miles
I received a safety recall no. 10V-436 for my 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. I took the car to the dealership on 12/27/10. On 12/29/10 I called to find out the status of my vehicle, I was told that the frame was totally rusted, the vehicle was unsafe to drive and that they were waiting for instructions from Isuzu. On 01/03/11, I called the dealership and was told, once again, that the frame was totally rusted through and even if they proceeded with the prescribed remedy that the vehicle would not pass Massachusetts inspection. I was then told that they had also contacted Isuzu again about the problem and that I too, should follow up with Isuzu. On 01/03/10 I emailed, left messages, and finally was able to speak to a representative who took my name and telephone number and promised a return call from a manager, as of 9 pm est I have not received a call back. In light of the safety issues with the Rodeo a complaint the nstb is warranted. This car was bought brand new in December of 2001, it is deplorable that the frame of a nine year old car is totally rusted out and beyond repair.

- Sandwich, MA, USA

problem #124

Nov 132010


  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated that there was massive rust on the frame which caused the trail arm bracket to brake and the vehicle became undriveable. The vehicle was with an authorized dealer who stated that the vehicle could not be repaired. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle could be repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 83,000.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #123

Dec 162010


  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact detected that the frame had cracks and completely rusted due to substantial corrosion. There was a recall associated with the NHTSA campaign id number 10V436000 (suspension: Rear). The contact stated that the frame defect should be included in the recall remedy. The vehicle was not repaired under the recall. The failure mileage was approximately 86,000.

- Johnson City, NY, USA

problem #122

Oct 162010


  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact stated that after taking his vehicle in for routine maintenance, he was informed that the rear frame of the vehicle was corroded. The vehicle had not been inspected by a dealer nor had it been repaired. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Fitchburgh, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?