Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Structure: Frame And Members Problems

2001 Isuzu Rodeo (Page 8 of 9)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
99,066 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Isuzu Rodeo body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Isuzu Rodeo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Isuzu Rodeo Owner Comments (Page 8 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Oct 122009

Rodeo

  • 79,578 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Isuzu Rodeo 80,000 miles. Owned 6 years while driving on highway with no forewarning I lost control of the car. Pulled to the side of the road and then had to drive under 15 mph to safe spot. The rear drivers side control arm broke away from the car. Needed to be towed. Examined by mechanic and then examined by a welder, and informed that it is un repairable due to the amount of rust to the frame. Defective frame.

- Manhasset, NY, USA

problem #20

Jun 152009

Rodeo

  • 199,000 miles
While driving my 2001 Isuzu Rodeo, I heard a few loud pops and then my torchen bars broke apart from the frame causing the car to swerve all over the roadway and was uncontrollable. I was informed that the cars frame had rusted and the torchen bars could not be fixed with out installing a new frame. The vehicles powertrain warranty is still in effect which covers the torchen bars however, Isuzu claims the frame is not part of that warranty. I have spoken to many mechanics and all have stated that this is very common in Rodeos. I feel that the frames on Isuzu Rodeos have rusted prematurely and is dangerous to be on the roadways. These vehicles should be recalled.

- Patterson, NY, USA

problem #19

Oct 062009

Rodeo

  • 158,000 miles
2001 Isuzu Rodeo failed safety inspection due to rust, there are holes in the frame by the rear stabilizer bar. Vehicle is unsafe to drive from what the mechanic told me. Isuzu says they don't know of any problems with the vehicle when you call them.

- Millbury, MA, USA

problem #18

Sep 222009

Rodeo

  • 113,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving in a parking lot and rear tire began to wobble. I parked and left the vehicle due to an imminent appointment, returning an hour later I inspected the tire and found the control arm on the drivers side rear tire had broke away from the frame, thankfully I was in a relatively safe area for this to happen otherwise injury or crashes may have occurred. I had the vehicle towed to a mechanic. The tow truck driver said the corrosion/rust would make a repair nearly impossible. The mechanic that the vehicle was towed to agreed with the tow truck driver in determining that there was nothing he could do to make it safely drivable. The vehicle is currently not being driven due to the frame rust/corrosion.

- Waterford, MI, USA

problem #17

Oct 012009

Rodeo

  • 126,000 miles
A few days ago my husband was driving our 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. He noticed that everytime he would step on the gas the vehicle would jolt to the left. Over the next few days it has gotten worse. My father who has been a mechanic for 35 years crawled under it only to discover that the driver's side lower rear suspension link bracket rotted of the frame. The vehicle has been in no accidents and the rest of the vehicle is in mint condition. The rest of the frame is questionable. He said there is no way to fix it legally. Can supply pictures if need be.

- New Gloucester, ME, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #16

Sep 042009

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • 137,000 miles
Hit a banking with rear tire and the frame of my Isuzu Rodeo 2001 broke on both sides can not fix this SUV frame is rotten. There is a recall but only on 1998 and 1999. Updated 10/05/10 the entire frame is rusted, not just the rear suspension. Updated 10/27/10 updated IVOQ 11/01/10

- Hiram, ME, USA

problem #15

Oct 212008

Rodeo

  • 86 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo that the frame is completely rotted in the rear.the vehicle only has 86,000 miles on it.I read there's a lot of them out there with same problem.any chance there's going to be a recall on this 4 I owe money on it and cant driver it or fix the frame for it is to far gone.

- Methuen, MA, USA

problem #14

Jul 102009

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 119,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact took the vehicle to an independent mechanic for repair and the technician observed that the main frame was excessively corroded due to rust. As a result, the vehicle failed the state inspection. The technician recommended that the vehicle not be driven due to the significant safety hazard. The failure and current mileages were 119,000. Updated 08/04/09 updated 08/05/09.

- Mahopac, NY, USA

problem #13

Jul 062009

Rodeo

  • 150,000 miles
Passenger side trailing arm has fallen off the rusted out frame on that side. The other side is soon to follow. Vehicle is unsafe to drive. I bought it used, but aside from a few dings here and there it is in great condition for 150K on it. Other than the rusted out frame. From doing some research, I see that this is a very common problem with this vehicle and seems un-fixable. And Isuzu will do nothing about it.

- Uniontown, OH, USA

problem #12

Jun 152009

Rodeo

  • 68,000 miles
The frame on my 2001 Isuzu Rodeo ls is rusted out beyond repair where the trailing arm attaches in the rear on both sides. I have 68,000 miles on the truck and the rest of the body and interior is in perfect condition. The rust has also corroded the shock mount and the gas tank. I have taken great care of this truck and am careful to wash the salt away frequently in the winter. I have contacted Isuzu and they will not do anything because the truck is out of warranty and they say their 100,000 mile corrosion warranty does not apply to the frame. I spent 26,000 dollars on a truck that I now have to throw away at 68,000 miles and I am furious. Please get them to recall the frame. Toyota had a similar problem with their frames and they took care of their customers due to the extreme safety issue.

- Lyndeborough, NH, USA

problem #11

May 282009

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact took her vehicle to the mechanic and was informed that the frame was rusted, which prevented the vehicle from being driven. The manufacturer stated that they are not taking action at this time. The contact feels that the manufacturer should repair her vehicle or give her another one. The failure mileage was 140,000.updated 06/11/09. Updated 06/11/09.

- St Albans, VT, USA

problem #10

Apr 032009

Rodeo 4WD 96-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 79,733 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. While pulling into the driveway at an unknown speed, the contact heard a strange noise. He noticed that the rear subframe, shields, and traction bars were all corroded. The vehicle is unable to be driven. The vehicle was inspected and the contact was advised to replace the rear and front frame because they were also corroded. The manufacturer stated that they would not assist with the repair because the vehicle was six years old. The current and failure mileages were 79,733. Updated 5/18/09 updated 05/19/09.

- Methuen, MA, USA

problem #9

Apr 232009

Rodeo

  • 84,115 miles
While driving 2001 Isuzu Rodeo at about 25 mph, I heard a thump from the rear of the vehicle. Soon thereafter I noticed that the handling of the truck became quite loose. Upon stopping I examined the underside of the vehicle & saw that the driver's side rear trailing arm had broken away from the frame & there were holes rotted through the frame. I have an appointment at a frame shop tomorrow to see if the vehicle is at all repairable. The mileage on the vehicle is currently 84,115 mi.

- North Smithfield, RI, USA

problem #8

Apr 052009

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. While driving approximately 25 mph on normal road conditions, the vehicle automatically pulled to the right without assistance. The contact experienced difficulty steering in the desired direction. The vehicle and steering wheel made an excessively loud grinding noise and vibration. There were no warnings prior to the failure. The driver pulled over to the side of the road and inspected the vehicle. He observed complete detachment of the rear passenger stabilizing arm. The vehicle was cautiously driven to his residence. The vehicle is currently inoperable and has not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 118,000. Updated 5/6/09 the consumer stated the vehicle has not been driven. The frame is too corroded to repair. The bracket weld does not penetrate width of the metal. Updated 05/08/09. The consumer said that it felt like the vehicle on "on ice" while the incident occurred. He still have the vehicle and is available for testing if NHTSA desires. Updated 05/12/09.

- Powell, OH, USA

problem #7

Mar 092009

Rodeo

  • 130,000 miles
The frame of my 2001 Rodeo rotted right through and broke while I was driving, thank god I was not on the highway. I now have a vehicle that is useless, the body and interior are brand new. I am out a trade and very upset especially since my husband has a 73 delta 88 Oldsmobile that is like perfect. What can I do. Can you help me?

- Townsend, MA, USA

problem #6

Oct 302008

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 136,526 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. The rear driver's side trailing arm, which connects to the tire, was severely rusted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the vehicle was dangerous to drive. They further stated that it could not be repaired. The failure and current mileages were 136,526. Updated 11/26/08 updated 12/01/08.

- Beckley, WV, USA

problem #5

Sep 192008

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. The contact took her vehicle to the dealer for an inspection and was informed that the frame had excessive rust. The vehicle was labeled as unsafe to operate. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 74,000. Updated 10/16/08 updated 10/20/08.

- Winchendon, MA, USA

problem #4

Aug 012008

Rodeo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. While driving 20 mph, the rear driver's side of the frame failed. A mechanic stated that the rear passenger side was going to fail as well. The dealer stated that the vehicle was not covered under warranty.. the current and failure mileages were 115,000. Update 09/10/08 the bracket from the trailing arm broke from the frame, and caused minimal damage to the fender flare. Updated 09/16/08

- Farmington, PA, USA

problem #3

Jul 182008

Rodeo

  • 166,600 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. While driving approximately 5 mph, the contact heard and felt a loud thump and the rear driver's side wheels failed. The vehicle was towed to the tow yard and it was discovered that the rear axle had detached from the vehicle. Upon further inspection, a rusted frame was diagnosed as the cause of the failure. The contact called the manufacturer and was informed that the vehicle was out of warranty; therefore, he would be responsible for the repair costs. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 166,600.

- Upton, MA, USA

problem #2

Jun 202008

Rodeo

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. While driving to the mechanic shop, the contact heard a loud thud and the vehicle became difficult to steer. The mechanic determined that the support from the axle to the frame was detached and the rest of the frame was rusted. The VIN and speed were unknown. The current and failure mileages were 110,000.

- Framingham , MA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?