Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Unknown Or Other Problems

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
87,075 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Isuzu Rodeo miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Isuzu Rodeo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Isuzu Rodeo Owner Comments

problem #8

Jan 202010

Rodeo

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1/20/2010: While driving experienced inability to control vehicle. Upon inspection swing arm/brackets had rusted away from frame. Vehicle repaired and was covered under safety campaign/recall 10V-436. During state inspection this year (8/23/2011) vehicle was deemed unsafe, undriveable and possibly unfixable due to inability to obtain parts. The cause is severe rust in the frame. I spoke with Isuzu at (800) 255-6727 and was told that though this has been a problem with many people there is no coverage for the rust and frame damage. "everyone experiencing this problem is in the same boat, out of luck"

- N. Huntingdon, PA, USA

problem #7

Apr 262011

Rodeo

  • 86,000 miles
Original owner of 2001 Rodeo. Received a recall notice for rear suspension lower link bracket. Drivers side required installation of a bracket, passenger side was sprayed with wax. Recall repair was completed circa 01/2011. Took the car to an independent mechanic for brakes last week and was told that the frame is so rusted that it is not worth doing the brakes. Mechanic stated that the vehicle would not pass its inspection as the frame is softened due to rusting and is unsafe (don't go on any long drives and think about a new car in the next couple of weeks). Contacted Isuzu and was told they have no further responsibility as they did everything they were supposed to under the recall agreement. I would like to better understand how the responsibility for rusted frames can be limited to such a small area of the frame component when it appears from the high number of filed complaints that this is a systemic frame rust issue and not simply a localized issue dealing with the rear lower suspension link. This rear suspension link is only the symptom of the actual problem. Isuzu is taking the position that if the rust is not in that specific location, they have no responsibility beyond that. Is the NHTSA pursuing this issue farther? vehicle is in excellent condition other than the frame. No rust on the body panels/sheet metal whatsoever. Please advise,

- Portland, ME, USA

problem #6

Dec 222010

Rodeo

  • miles
We received a recall notice for frame rust. We took it into a local Isuzu repair shop on 12-22-2010; they told us the frame was rusted through and that they needed to order a part to fix it. We have been waiting several months because the repair shop cannot get the part from Isuzu. They also cannot tell us when the part will come in. We feel the vehicle is unsafe and cannot understand why Isuzu is not required to fix the problem in a timely manner. How long does a company have to fix a recalled vehicle" are they legally required to fix the problem"

- Waterloo, IA, USA

problem #5

Dec 272010

Rodeo

  • 100,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I drive a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo 4X4. It has approximately 100,000 miles on it. Upon taking the Rodeo in for recall inspection on NHTSA 10V-436 (rear suspension) the shop noticed that my fuel tank protector was 90% rusted and rotted away. The shop told me this shield (oem part number 8-97226-445-4) also supports the fuel tank from falling off the vehicle (hence this safety complaint). I told the shop to order a replacement and repair it at the same time they were doing the suspension recall work. Weeks later the shop told me the fuel tank shield is no longer manufactured and is not available anywhere in their dealer network within the usa. I'm still trying to find a replacement at a junk yard. I don't appear to be the only consumer in this situation as I found another complaint that describes the same situation at this web address:

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #4

Jan 102011

Rodeo

  • 92,000 miles
I received a recall #10V-436 form in the mail from the Isuzu owner relations center 1400 S. douglass road, suite 100 anahelm, ca 92806 on or about November 2010. It stated that I should call Isuzu special assistance center to identify the Isuzu service center closest to me. I was told the parts to repair my vehicle would not be available until the middle of January 2011. I called and an appointment for February 18, 2011 at bournival Isuzu where I bought the SUV brand new in August 2001. The SUV was due for a sticker January 2011. January 10 2011 this vehicle was in an accident. There was minor damage to the rear left side totaling $2,800. When the body shop further investigating under the vehicle he noticed extensive frame damage rotting with holes and extensive rust. He determined the SUV was unsafe. He also noticed the axel was 3/4 of an inch out of line. He then called our insurance company and the adjuster reinvestigated the vehicle. The adjuster at this time totaled the SUV. The insurance company took ownership of the vehicle and subtracted a large sum of money from the finale amount because of the holes and rust he found on the frame undercarriage, to look at this vehicle you would have thought it was years younger then it was. There was no rust, dents or scratches. This vehicle should have gone another 100,000 miles at least. It was garaged and meticulously maintained with records from the date of purchase. I was told by friends it drove and sounded like a brand new automobile. My intention was to have it for ten more years. At this time I am requesting the amount disqualified by the insurance company for the frame metal decomposition and an amount for loss of longevity and failure to fulfill my expectations.

- Fremont, NH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #3

Jan 102011

Rodeo

  • 92,000 miles
I received a recall #10V-436 form in the mail from the Isuzu owner relations center 1400 S. douglass road, suite 100 anahelm, ca 92806 on or about November 2010. It stated that I should call Isuzu special assistance center to identify the Isuzu service center closest to me. I was told the parts to repair my vehicle would not be available until the middle of January 2011. I called and an appointment for February 18, 2011 at bournival Isuzu where I bought the SUV brand new in August 2001. The SUV was due for a sticker January 2011. January 10 2011 this vehicle was in an accident. There was minor damage to the rear left side totaling $2,800. When the body shop further investigating under the vehicle he noticed extensive frame damage rotting with holes and extensive rust. He determined the SUV was unsafe. He also noticed the axel was 3/4 of an inch out of line. He then called our insurance company and the adjuster reinvestigated the vehicle. The adjuster at this time totaled the SUV. The insurance company took ownership of the vehicle and subtracted a large sum of money from the finale amount because of the holes and rust he found on the frame undercarriage, to look at this vehicle you would have thought it was years younger then it was. There was no rust, dents or scratches. This vehicle should have gone another 100,000 miles at least. It was garaged and meticulously maintained with records from the date of purchase. I was told by friends it drove and sounded like a brand new automobile. My intention was to have it for ten more years. At this time I am requesting the amount disqualified by the insurance company for the frame metal decomposition and an amount for loss of longevity and failure to fulfill my expectations.

- Fremont, NH, USA

problem #2

Feb 012011

Rodeo

  • 103,000 miles
The frame of my Isuzu Rodeo is full of rust/corrosion. There is a recall (recall 10V-436) on the brackets and this is not a fix. After inspection of my vehicle it was found to be a stage 4 recall. There needs to be a recall on the entire frame. This vehicle is unsafe to drive. The frame can break while driving. Cannot get recall done for the brackets because parts are unavailable to the dealer (steve castrucci, cincinnati, oh). Unable to drive vehicle due to this recall and feel unsafe driving it.

- Springboro, OH, USA

problem #1

Dec 102010

Rodeo

  • 118,097 miles
Received recall notice and had it performed at authorized repair facility. Couldn't give us any info on extent of damage when we picked up the 2001 Isuzu Rodeo. They said they had mailed us our paperwork and didn't have any details. Received paperwork in mail 1 day later. Alarming notes from mechanic read as follows, " performed recall # 10V 436 inspect car, found parts of left side frame rotting away, showed service manager / called Isuzu, could not get through, performed repair procedure for stage four, found holes in the frame. Per service managers request, reinforcement bracket type B." I called the dealership back for explanation. The service manager told me that they completed the repair according to Isuzu's specifications and if Isuzu thinks the car is unsafe they will contact me. In addition to this car being highly unsafe; the exhaust system came back with a perforation and the transmission is making a chain like rattling sound as a result of the recall repair.

- Palatine, IL, USA

Not what you are looking for?