Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Power Train: Automatic Transmission Problems


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,400 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Isuzu Trooper transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Isuzu Trooper:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Isuzu Trooper Owner Comments

problem #5

Apr 022008


  • 80,000 miles


When you stop at stop sign or light the transmission shifts into neutral. Whenever you push on the accelerator it jerks and takes off. Sometimes it takes a few minutes to shift in gear. It is in the shop right now. The mechanic said it has transmission problems.

- Booneville, AR, USA

problem #4

Dec 022004

Trooper 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
: the contact stated when stopped during various road conditions, the vehicle shook and decelerated to 10 mph. Also, all power failed, and the vehicle stalled. It was towed to the service dealer, who replaced the transmission for the third time for the same problems. The manufacturer was contacted. The dealership stated the transmission was leaking burnt fluid. The radiator had a low cooling efficiency. The ABS sensor had to be replaced. Updated 10/30/06.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #3

Apr 242004

Trooper 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
I bought my new automobile on the 24th of June 2001. On April 24, 2004 the Trooper broke down and I had it towed to sheehy Chevrolet Dodge Isuzu dealership. Before the truck broke down the transmission light and engine light came on. At this time the truck had 56,680 miles on it. I picked the truck up on April 28, 2004 from the sheehy dealership. I paid sheehy $173.22 for the repairs they made and rented a car which cost me $175.61. On May 3, 2004 I took the truck to lindsay Chevrolet to be repaired because the engine light had come on and the truck felt like it was about to brake down again. At this time the truck had 56,777 miles on it. On May 11 2004 I took the truck to brownż's Buick and Isuzu dealership because the engine light had come on again. At this time the truck had 57,140 miles on it. This time the repair work cost me $584.32. On July 22, 2004, I took the truck in for a oil change and told the service consultant about the truck not running right. Near the end of 2004 ( not sure of the exact dates) I had the truck towed to the brownż's dealership. The brownż's dealership had to order a transmission. It took nearly a month for them to get the transmission and repair the truck. So I had to renedt a car. July 5, 2005, I had the truck towed back to browns because the past problems were happening again. Brownż's dealership replaced the transmission once more. I picked the truck up about closing time on the 14th of July 2005. As I was driving home I experience the same problems again. On July 18, 2005, I had the truck towed back to browns. At this time the truck has around 76,000 miles on it. July 20, 2005, max hahne, the service consultant called me and said another transmission is on order because of internal failure in the transmission. So my truck is at the dealership waiting to be fixed again. Should the Isuzu corporation or the dealership reimburse me for rental car expenses and or replace the truck because they have a defective product?

- Dale City, VA, USA

problem #2

Jul 312004

Trooper 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
The vehicle is a 2001 Isuzu Trooper. Transmission has been replaced twice. The first time consumer took it to the dealer it was skipping or stalling like it was not getting enough fuel. When pushing the gas pedal the rpms went up. Then, transmission was replaced on 7-31-2004. The second time he took the vehicle to dealer was on 6-28-05. This time the problem was about the same as before. Consumer was told that there was internal problems with the transmission. He took the vehicle back a third time on 7-18-05. The vehicle is at the dealers right now waiting for the transmission part to come in so that it can be replaced.

- Dale City, VA, USA

problem #1

Nov 192001


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When vehicle is engaged in first gear it will then move a short distance and pop out of gear.

- Bountiful, UT, USA

Not what you are looking for?