Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Power Train: Automatic Transmission Problems

2.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,075 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Jaguar S-Type transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Jaguar S-Type:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Jaguar S-Type Owner Comments

problem #7

Oct 182009

S-Type

  • 69,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2001 Jaguar S-type less than a year ago. It has less than 70000 miles on it and while I am driving down the road the motor starts revving up and it won't shift....it says gearbox fault. Apparently this is a common problem among this model of car. I was pulling out to make a left turn and was nearly hit because suddenly the car wouldn't go. How many complaints do you have to have to force a recall? I purchased this car because I thought it would be a safe dependable car. Very poor craftsmanship!

- Muskogee, OK, USA

problem #6

Apr 152008

S-Type

  • 138,500 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Jaguar S-type. The transmission was replaced at 60,000 miles while the vehicle was under warranty. The transmission is currently slipping and the engine light has came on and stayed on. As of July 31, 2008, the dealer had not inspected the vehicle. The current mileage was 139,000.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #5

Jun 072007

S-Type 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,400 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Jaguar S-type. The contact stated that the vehicle will not start and is difficult to shift out of gear. The failure was reported to the dealer before the warranty expired and the shift cable was replaced. The vehicle shut down again without warning while crossing a rail road track. He was driving 35 mph at the time of failure. He had to push the vehicle off the tracks. The second failure occurred while driving 60 mph. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they diagnosed the cause of failure as the transmission. The replacement will cost $5,000. The powertrain was unknown. The current mileage was 56,627 and failure mileage was 56,400.

- El Dorado Hills, CA, USA

problem #4

Mar 062006

S-Type 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,928 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Oct 7, 2004 shifter has to be wiggled to remove from park and start. Sept 4, 2004 shifter has to be wiggled to remove from park and start-replaced cable assembly Sept 23, 2004 ac rattling when on replaced compressor. Steering wheel feels loose when turning it Sept 23, 2004 major vibrating when braking, front rotors warped, feedback in pedal & wheel Sept 23, 2004 front seat is making a grinding noise when moving replaced the seat assembly December 16, 2004 transmission would not shift into 2nd gear replaced binding shift cable and transmission Mar 17, 2005 whining noise Mar 22, 2005 whining noise added transmission fluid Mar 22, 2005 rattle noise Mar 22, 2005 back up sensors are going off intermittently- replaced park control module Mar 22, 2005 steering wheel is making a clunking noise when turning - replaced er steering rack Mar 22, 2005 trunk alarm goes off Apr 7, 2005 trunk alarm goes off - trunk lid adjusters out too far with trunk switch activate alarm. Trunk lid too high, adjusted lid to correct position and condition April 7, 2005 rattle in dash secured dash sensor fascia April 7, 2005 whining in transmission April 7, 2005 drivers door will not lock with remote, alarm will not set on drivers door unless opened and closed again adjust and lubricate door lock. May 5, 2005 whining replaced transmission May 5, 2005 rattle in dash Aug 5, 2005 check engine light on fault cod PO065 air assisted injection problem white substance found in trans connector so cleaned with electrical cleaner use die electric grease Nov 5, 2005 whining noise replaced water pump Mar 6, 2006 winning noise Mar 6- leak under car of transmission fluid fill plug leaking nc R & R plug install teflon tape Mar 6 grinding noise reposition trans cooler pipes. Rattle on passenger side of car so tightened exhaust manifold down pipe, reposition trans cooler Mar 6 misfire replaced plug ignition coil.

- St. Augustine, FL, USA

problem #3

Jun 162003

S-Type 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer is having trouble moving the gear from park to drive especially while on an incline. The vehicle has to be moved or shaken from the outside in order to release the gear. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer, but the cause was undetermined.

- Sandersville, GA, USA

problem #2

Oct 112004

S-Type

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,500 miles
Owner of a Jaguar S-type 4.0, 2001, 54,000 miles : a warning light came up indicating "shift gear failure". the car was taken to the dealership as per their request to investigate the situation. After 3 days I was told that a new transmission was needed. I asked how a relatively new car, very well kept (every service was done on time and at the dealership) could have this major problem. I was told that this type of car frequently have this problems. Jaguar is replacing the transmission with a refurbished one for a cost of $2240 plus tax. What can I do to get some of this expense back. Do I have a valid claim ? it is just hard to see an expensive car like this have this type of problem and since the insurance expired (50,000 miles) just be told to take it or leave it. Actually I was told that Jaguar was doing me a favor by providing such an inexpensive transmission that they tipically cost about $6,300.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #1

Aug 112003

S-Type

  • miles
Consumer was unable to engage the shift lever into drive. Vehicle was towed to the dealer.

- Jackson, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?