Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

7.1

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,994 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jaguar S-Type electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jaguar S-Type:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jaguar S-Type Owner Comments

problem #11

May 192011

S-Type 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 S type Jaguar. Consumer states problem with electrical system, transmission slipping, drive shaft, and rear-end differential the consumer stated the vehicle was serviced 12 more times after he received a recall notice regarding the transmission and the problems were never corrected. Also, the windshield wipers did not work properly. The dealer replaced the wiper blades. The battery had to be jumped twice, the radiator and heater valve hoses were leaking and had to be replaced. The head lights fogged up and the bulb had to be replaced, the driver's seat rocked back and forth, the exterior driver's side mirror was not working due to a sticking switch.

- West Mifflin, PA, USA

problem #10

May 192011

S-Type 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2003 S type Jaguar. Consumer states problem with electrical system, transmission slipping, drive shaft, and rear-end differential the consumer stated the vehicle was serviced 12 more times after he received a recall notice regarding the transmission and the problems were never corrected. Also, the windshield wipers did not work properly. The dealer replaced the wiper blades. The battery had to be jumped twice, the radiator and heater valve hoses were leaking and had to be replaced. The head lights fogged up and the bulb had to be replaced, the driver's seat rocked back and forth, the exterior driver's side mirror was not working due to a sticking switch.

- West Mifflin, PA, USA

problem #9

May 262010

S-Type 6-cyl

  • 33,948 miles
Jaguar S-type sedan 2003 was subject to recall R-513 but not limited to this. This vehicle experienced major malfunctions in performance with gear box and braking systems in which it could not be properly shifted out of park, lost RPM, parking brake failure, ABS warning lights and major engine light indicator warnings. The car could not be safely driven and suffered a major breakdown with less than 9500 miles, flatbedded to sportique motors in huntington, NY on 12/10/2004, returned on 12/15/2004 only to be flatbedded again on 12/17/2004. A new computer was not installed in the vehicle as promised at that time, and the computer was simply reflashed. At 33,948 miles out of warrenty on May 26, 2010 this vehicle suffered the same major breakdown as described above and was again flatbedded to huntington Land Rover Jaguar, formerly sportique Jaguar, huntington, NY. The car could not properly be shifted out of park, lost RPM and could not be driven safely.the dealership worked on the car four (4) times declaring the problem solved on three occasions from May 26, 2010 until it was flat bedded back a forth time on 07/22/10 only to be told the car needed a new "park sensor module" and new "transmission sensor" at a cost of over $4000 dollars with labor. My attempts to obtain assistance from Jaguar central and huntington Jaguar based on my contention that the vehicle was never properly fixed when under warranty resulted in continual refusals by these parties with claims by the dealership that a faulty truck seal and water leak that certainly did not exist at 9500miles necessitated the costly repairs (the transmission sensor is inside the sealed transmission). My complaints to the dmv ( with lookback of 90 days) has resulted in their findings of a dealership mis-diagnosis. The car remains incapacitated and unsafe to drive. I respectfully request an investigation into all repairs and histories of similar models related to NHTSA recalls but not limited to this.

- Islip, NY, USA

problem #8

Feb 062006

S-Type

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 S type would not start, turn signal stuck, trunk light inoperable. Rain sensors are inoperable. ***** the dealer replaced the battery, turn signal and trunk switch. The rain sensor was inoperable. The engine malfunction warning light illuminated. During diagnostic the technician found engine misfire codes. The engine was repaired per bulletin S303-21. The emergency brake failed. The emergency brake control module was rerouted per the recall. Right hand indicator failed. The ABS and brake warning lights illuminated as well as the parking brake warning light.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #7

Dec 052005

S-Type 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,890 miles
Since purchasing this car it has been towed 2 times, serviced eight times in a 12 month period. I found in the glove dept after purchasing this car a manufacture defect sign.the car kept registering "restricted performance 3 visits. Brake problem, steering wheel, ABS fault. Present problem:they kept my car 2 and half months to fix a wheel guard and bumper rail told me the compressor and other problems exist/would cost $2300 to fix.my insurance company. Paid them and then they charged my ins. Co another $1300 more. I went to pick up my car they told me I had to pay $1600 because my ins urance refused to pay. When I got home car wouldn't start right /then registered no engine fluids /contacted them ask if ishould try to return with it/they spent 20 minutes told me the car was ok /I ask if they put fluids in they said, 'yes".drove the car home in less than 2 days car monitor registered "transmission fault". I have had a loaner car at least half of the ownership of this car. This car has left me strand in some unsafe areas because I have to travel to D.C.. for class work. Now, they told me that my warranty will cover the transmission problem.I feel if the major part of the car is being replace/they need to give me a another car to replace a total manufacture defected car.dates of some of the services performed on this car 01/05, twice each time01/05,02/05,02/05,08/05,08/18/05 08/26/05,09/07/05,09/10/05,10/04/05,12/05/05 thru 0303/06 kept for 2 and half months.

- Upper Marlboro, MD, USA

problem #6

Jun 222004

S-Type

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,700 miles
In the 1 1/2 years that I have owned my vehicle it has been int he shop 15 times for various reasons: Electrical, transmission, front end problems, steering, accelerations etc...Jaguar has been dragging their feet for 4 months in rectifying problems. Consumer affiars is worthless and have accused me of "outgrowing" my car. Not concerned about their customers just doesn't want their car back.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #5

Jun 022004

(reported on)

S-Type

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle is not getting traction on slippery roads as well as a noise coming from the transmission. The consumer received a transmission recall but it doesn't seem to be related to the traction problem.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #4

Dec 152003

S-Type 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 300 miles
The touch panel screen displayed an hour glass then ultimately came up with a 'communications fault' error message on the screen. Stopping and re-starting the car corrected the problem. This problem has occurred serveral times (> 4) since we bought the car. The car has been in for service for this and other problems in excess of 30 days since we bought it in Oct 2003.

- Sterling, VA, USA

problem #3

Nov 112003

S-Type 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,091 miles
Let it be known at miles 2291 the door handles replacement clear coat off paint.turned signals, oil light on, failed computer system.while driving, the park brake and brake light appeared on the dash and was continuous, replacment of the instrument cluster was needed for the vehicle and the part was not in the United States. Completed in 15 days.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #2

Oct 232003

S-Type 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
Had just retrieved car from dealer service. Within 10 blocks, car's brakes engaged and car skidded to stop in center turn lane (lucky me that I was not rear-ended). Dsc and park brake lights were illuminated. Moments later, flames shot from right front engine compartment between hood and fender. Exited car and called fd and jag service mgr for tow truck. Experienced burning eyes and inside of lips peeled next day from acid burns (burning pvc emits chlorine gas or hcl gas that is corrosive when wet - as in eyes and lips. Jaguar na not responsive to any degree to date - want my company to file insurance claim for damages. Ins adjuster provided opinion that it was just electrical fault from either: Alternator ran away; or ABS solenoid overheated; or fuseblock shorted; or voltage reg. Shorted. All were apparently damaged beyond recognition. Initial estimate to repair set at $20,000. Latent smell in car will be difficult or impossible to correct. Jaguar na (jna) response to date is totally unacceptable - no contact whatsoever to see if I was hurt or if I could provide clues as to what happened. Dealer responding ok but advises that hands tied by jna.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #1

Oct 082003

S-Type

  • miles
Ltr addressed to Jaguar request refund for her vehicle, her vehicle continues to have the same brake problems that was supposed to be repaired. While driving, the park brake and brake light appeared on the dash and was continuous, then the vehicle would suddenly shut down. The vehicle was nearly hit by another vehicle. The consumer was told that a part called a instrument cluster was needed for the vehicle and the part was not in the United States.

- Ronkonkoma, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?