Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Fuel System, Gasoline Problems


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,719 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jaguar S-Type fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jaguar S-Type:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jaguar S-Type Owner Comments

problem #15

Feb 012012

S-Type 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles


Fuel smell inside vehicle when tank filled. Engine warning light on. Contacted Jaguar customer service and Jaguar dealer in tampa fl. Both said vehicle had been fixed in April 2007 under Jaguar recall R 176 and NHTSA 06V418000 and, sorry about your luck, was nothing they could do about it ! problem has been continuous since then and is only avoided by filling tank to 3/4 or less.I believe that there are many of this model out there where a fix has been done but the original recall fault reappears after time constituting a safety hazard..

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #14

Sep 152014

S-Type 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jaguar S-type. The contact stated that when refueling the vehicle, fuel was leaking. The contact also stated that he smelled fuel on the inside of the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was previously serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 06V418000 (fuel system, gasoline). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 98,000. Updated 4/6/15

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #13

Jun 252014

S-Type 6-cyl

  • 66,500 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jaguar S type. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated and fuel fumes emitted into the vehicle. The contact stated that fuel would leak whenever the vehicle was refueled. The vehicle was taken to both the dealer and an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who notified the contact that the vehicle was no longer eligible for any additional repairs since the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 06V418000 (fuel system, gasoline). The approximate failure mileage was 66,500...updated 08-26-14 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired free of charge. Updated 09/2/2014

- Malvern, PA, USA

problem #12

Jul 022012

S-Type 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles


Gasoline vapors very strong at all times. When fueling vehicle gas would leak out from under the vehicle. Check engine light illuminated at all time. Restricted performance indicator light illuminated when attempting to accelerate greater than 35 miles per hour with extreme hesitation. I researched the recall and was instructed my particular VIN# did not qualify. (plano park place Jaguar) there is fuel leaking from my vehicle! I've spent hundreds of thousands of dollars to repair each individual item - with little to no improvement. Will Jaguar pay after a fatality" will the usdot hold Jaguar usa accountable" the fuel tanks that have any vapor/leakage with codes P0171 and/or P0174 the recall id# 46548 - is listed but Jaguar is not honoring it. It is listed that the model affected is 2005 Jaguar S-type summary: FDM, jpm, cv, mil and fuel order consequences: Fuel above FDM, jpm, or cv appears fuel will discharge on the ground...could result in a fire. Remedy:...due to problems in obtaining the replacement fuel tank Jaguar at 800-452-4824. I was given the run-around until I invested $3,500 and risked fatality. Jaguar - must be held accountable!

- Little Elm, TX, USA

problem #11

Nov 012012

S-Type 8-cyl

  • miles
2005 Jaguar S. consumer writes in regards to recall on gas tank. The consumer stated he was only able to fill the tank half way.

- Frisco, TX, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #10

Feb 082011


  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jaguar S-type. The contact stated that fuel was leaking from the fuel tank and onto the rear seat. The contact took the vehicle to a local mechanic where the failure was confirmed. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign I.D. number: 06V418000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly) and called the manufacturer. The manufacturer advised that due to the VIN number, the vehicle was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 83,000.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #9

Jan 292011

S-Type 6-cyl

  • 31,825 miles


A strong smell of gas is evident in the cabin of the car when driving and it's been getting worse. After the gas tank is filled, it gets to the point where the vapors are making my families eyes water and we have to open all of the windows/sunroof and it's still bad. I have worked on many of my own cars in the past and I can tell you -it's a good thing I don't smoke because this car would have exploded. The vapors are that strong and I'm amazed there is no evidence of gas leaking out of the car, which would be extremely flammable. I've researched my car's history today, as we just got our car repaired and the problem is worse. I found out about recall R176 which is due to defective gas tanks and mine should have been replaced. But Jaguar(Ford) only repaired my tank seals during the recall. This evidently didn't work and now this failure is putting my family in harms way. I just spent more than $1,000 trying to remedy the problem, before I knew there was a recall as the dealer did not inform me there was a recall when I directly asked whether the warping gas tanks (as he explained) were ever recalled. Why should any car's gas tank need replacing due to warping"?" I read my repair receipt from yesterday and the service department only replaced one seal and "re-fit" the other. This is not how you repair a car, they didn't fix it. They put it back together with the same parts on one side. Now the gas tank has been repaired twice by the dealer since the recall, I'm out more than $1,000 because the dealer didn't accept responsibility that their fix didn't work and now I'm left driving a potential fire hazard.

- Kailua, HI, USA

problem #8

Mar 092011


  • 80,000 miles
My car starting leaking gasoline after filling up the tank. I have spent the last 8 months trying to get Jaguar to supply a retainer ring to my original fuel tank. I know that my fuel tank was covered by recall campaign #06V418000. According to Jaguar they say they already checked my tank for leaks in 2007 and then reinstalled the original tank. I also know that subsequently the fuel tank was redesigned and the parts for the redesigned tank do not fit on the original defective tank (this includes the retainer ring). Since this is a safety issue I would like your input on how to proceed to ensure Jaguar will correct this dangerous issue with the fuel tank leak that should be replaced by the government mandated recall.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #7

Nov 162011

S-Type 8-cyl

  • 86,663 miles
When I tried to start the vehicle, it would not start. There was a heavy fuel leak onto the ground, coming from underneath the vehicle. This occurred only when the ignition was turned on. I had the vehicle towed to the Jaguar dealer and repair shop. The repairman disconnected the fuel pump power, pushed the vehicle into the shop, raised the vehicle using the hoist and inspected the fuel line. He found the fuel line was completely disconnected at the coupler in the middle of the vehicle. The repairman stated there was no damage to the belly pan or the fuel line so he has no idea why this happened.

- Lompoc, CA, USA

problem #6

Sep 202011

S-Type 6-cyl

  • 107,476 miles
I would like to start by sharing with you that I am a father, husband, friend and active member of the community that I am part of. Today, I am contacting you because I am extremely concerned about an issue that has occurred with our family car that we purchased only two months ago. I am concerned because I feel that driving this car presents a high danger and can cause a tragic accident harming not just me, but my children whom I drive to anf from school, my wife and friends and other fellow drivers who drive on the same streets and highways I do. The details of my concern and complain are as follows and I hereby request that your organization investigate this matter until the cause of it as well as the permanent resolution is found and reached for the benefit of all the drivers on the road - who are not just drivers but also parents, children, siblings, spouses and friends to those in their lives. In the two months I have owned a 2005 S type Jaguar, I have had to take it to the dealer twice with the same problem which the Jaguar mechanics have not been able to figure out the root cause of. The issue involves the car shutting down right in the middle of the street without warning. The dealer has told me that the fuel system/pump is failing on the car, however, they are not able to determine what causes the fuel pump system to fail. Since I have taken the car now twice in two months, the dealer is telling me that they will not fix it again if the fuel system fails. I am extremely concerned because the dealer/manufacturer now does not want to take ownership of the issue and identify and correct the root cause of the problem which I found out through an attorney is a known problem for these cars and there was actually had a recall under NHTSA's campaign id number: 06V418000.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #5

Jul 232011


  • 80,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Jaguar S-type. The contact stated that fuel fumes were emitted into the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who diagnosed that there was a leak between the fuel tank and the fuel pump. As a result, the seal, ring and a clamp needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 06V418000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly). The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure and current mileage was 80,000. The VIN was not available.

- Austin , TX, USA

problem #4

Feb 032011


  • 56,467 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jaguar S-type. The contact stated that when refilling the fuel tank, fuel would discharge onto the ground once the tank was full. In addition, gasoline fumes were entering into the vehicle interior cabin. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 56,467 and the current mileage was 64,000.

- Royal Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #3

Jul 132011


  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jaguar S type. The contact smelled fuel fumes within the vehicle and noticed the check engine light illuminating. After adding fuel to the vehicle it began to spill underneath the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and after inspection he was informed that the fuel tank needed to be replaced. He was also informed two years prior of NHTSA recall campaign 06V418000, fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly. The vehicle was repaired per the recall; however, they advised him they will not repair the vehicle again under the recall instead he would have to pay the repairs cost of $4,200. The manufacturer was contacted and stated the fuel tank was replaced previously and they will not replace it again. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 47,000.

- Goodyear, AZ, USA

problem #2

Oct 202010


  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jaguar S-type. While fueling the vehicle, the fuel spilled on the ground and the contact noticed that it was spilling from the top of the fuel tank. The contact referenced recall 06V418000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly) but was informed by the manufacturer that the repair had already been performed. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 44,000 and the current mileage was 44,200.

- Gainesville, GA, USA

problem #1

Aug 072006

S-Type 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,860 miles
My wife and I were given a replacement Jaguar S-type on 05/03/2005 by smith co. Motor cars of charleston, wv. After they were unable to repair a Jaguar X-type that we had bought on 08/26/2004. We then moved to California in 06/2005 and my husband drove the car cross-country to ca without any problems. On 08/05/2005 the car was first presented for a scheduled 10,000 mile maintenance to Jaguar of South bay, 3111 pacific coast highway, torrance, ca. Since then, the car has been returned to them for more than 8 (eight) times, without satisfactory repair. Problems include: Faulty gas tank latch, rhs exhaust hanging lower and scraping pavement, hard transmission shifts, faulty remote transmitter, judder from steering wheel, knocking noise from the engine that ran sluggish, replaced rack & pinion several times, car out of alignment, injectors dirty, rhs lug nut broken because of, according to tech., non lubrication at factory, jerky gear shifting from 3rd. To 4th. Gears, creaking noise in sunroof and headliner, faulty cd player, faulty power steering pump, faulty air bag light on dash, faulty passenger side fog lamp, faulty rack and pinion valve, leaking washer fluid reservoir, no warnings or messages during these malfunctions from dash instruments, except air bag lamp, faulty bluetooth hands free, etc.etc. We had told the techs. That both my wife and I have experienced total loss of steering control over 5 times and finally on 08/07/2006, I again loss total control and the car hit into the guard rail and scraped the whole of the rhs of the vehicle. Jaguar would not even give me the free tow that I was entitled to when I called them to inform of the accident and I had to drive the car to my house. I had both my kids ( son 31/2 yrs. Old and daughter 4 months old) in the car with me. On 05/10/2006, we hired an attorney who is still negotiating with Ford Motor Co. Who have taken over Jaguar.

- Lomita, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?