If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

NHTSA — Power Train: Automatic Transmission Problems

2002 Jaguar X-type (Page 1 of 2)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,832 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jaguar X-type transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jaguar X-type:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jaguar X-type Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #37

Jul 092011

X-type

  • 37,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jaguar X-type. The contact stated while driving the gear box fault lamp illuminated. The contact mentioned that the second time the failure occurred the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the transmission was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 37,800.

- Moreno Valley , CA, USA

problem #36

May 212010

X-type 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jaguar X-type. The contact stated that while driving at 45 mph on May 21, 2010, the transmission failed and the vehicle lost power; a light indicating gear box fault illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop. The contact called the dealership and was told that because the vehicle was no longer under warranty, he would be responsible for repair expenses. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that there was no failure within the vehicle. The current and failure mileages were approximately 64,000. Updated 11/03/10. Updated 12/29/10 the consumer stated the vehicle would shift in reverse or drive. Updated 04/15/11

- Minden, NV, USA

problem #35

Feb 102010

X-type

  • 52,927 miles
I bought my jag 2002 X-type used with 38,000 on it.but after a years ownership on 2/10/10 with about 50,000 on it while driving I experienced an engine deceleration and an error message came on the dashboard saying gearbox failure pulled over to the side of the road out of the way of traffic switched off car and put it back on put in drive but could not go over 30mph took it to Jaguar for a diagnostic was told needed transmission, fuel pump.and oilpan gasket cost almost 10,000 doll. Too expensive for me then took the car to the local co they replace trans and everything on the diagnostic done by Jaguar for $118. Get my car back after 2 mths driving car and same thing happens again a week after trans replacement gear box failure take it back after another month am told I have an electrical prob after 52,000 spent on parts and labor my car is still in the shop. I see that there are many X-type owners out there with the same prob Jaguar needs to come clean and step up to take responsability for this trans prob I am sure like me we all love our cars but not enough to keep spending thousands of dollars on a prob that cant be fixed!!!!!!

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #34

Jan 162010

X-type

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Jaguar 2003 transmission failure nearly causes fatal accident on highway in ga. Dealer denies recall # XT307 S941, will not fix, see

- Athens, GA, USA

problem #33

Feb 222009

X-type

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jaguar xtype. The contact stated that the transmission failed. The contact has no knowledge as to how the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the transmission need to be replaced for $8,000. The manufacture was called and also stated that there were no warranties or related recalls. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- White Plains , NY, USA

problem #32

Jan 252009

X-type

  • 60,000 miles
Jaguar X type tranny failing... how long before it fails in front of a tractor trailer ??

- White Plains, NY, USA

problem #31

Dec 012009

X-type

  • 101,122 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Automatic transmission failure.. every 20,000 miles trans falls apart.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #30

Mar 012009

X-type

  • 59,500 miles
I purchased my 2002 Jaguar X-type in April 2002 new. It had surges, and stalls. I asked the service dept to add remarks, it once stopped in the highway right in front of a semi truck, with no warning. This was very shortly after I purchased the vehicle. Since I cashed in my company 401K and paid cash for the car, I kept trying to drive it and deal with the problems, and it has had very many. Now at just over 59,000 miles I have been told it needs a new transmission, water pump, vacuum leaks on the engine, and so on. The estimate for repairs is approximately the car's total blue book value. Again, just as I pulled out into traffic, gearbox fault error came on, and the car would barely crawl out of the way of incoming cars. Is there anything you can do to assist? based on numerous searches, Jaguar should have recalled this vehicle. It has a terrible safety history. I am a single parent with a son in college and now face adding to our home mortgage just to repair the car. I would take full responsibility for making an unwise purchase, however, Jaguar knows fully this vehicle is extremely defective. Thank you very much vehicle currently located at leith Inc. 700 autopark blvd cary, nc 27511 919 469-2699.

- Garner, NC, USA

problem #29

Jan 122008

X-type

  • 60,589 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jaguar X-type. While accelerating from 25 to 70 mph, the contact noticed that the gear box fault indicator began illuminating on the instrument panel. She then heard a grinding noise, which caused her to stop at a traffic light and turn off the vehicle. When she restarted the vehicle, the gear box fault indicator stopped illuminating and the grinding noise ceased. She continued to drive the vehicle throughout the day and returned to her residence. Four days later, the warning indicator and grinding noise failures recurred. The vehicle began decelerating on its own and she repeated the actions from the previous failure; however, the gear box fault indicator would not stop illuminating. Approximately two minutes later, while driving 25 mph, the vehicle would not accelerate. The vehicle was pulled over to the side of the road and towed to the dealer. The contact was informed that the fifth gear shaft and transmission needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified and informed her that they were not liable for the repairs. The current and failure mileages were 60,589.

- Norcross, GA, USA

problem #28

Jan 162009

X-type

  • 60,589 miles
My car is a 2002 Jaguar X-type. My transmission went completely out Friday morning. Luckily, I was able to move it to the side of the road without being injured. My car only has 60,589 miles on it"! what cars transmission gives out at such low mileage? not forgetting the expense to replace it. The economy right now is not the best and 1 car for two working individuals is not an option...can you help us? I want Jaguar to pay this. I did not purchase an extended warranty because with all my other cars I have never needed to. I take good care of my cars with oil changes, fluids topped off, new brakes and tires when needed??!! Jaguar wants to charge me $7,100 to replace this. I found a mechanic to put a used one in with 43,000 miles on it for half that but what guarantees do I have that one will not give out? this is supposed to be a luxury car???" thanks for your time and I look forward to hearing from you.

- Norcross, GA, USA

problem #27

Nov 302008

X-type

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We recently took our 2002 Jaguar X-type to the dealer for inspection after the transmission seemed to be slipping during acceleration. The dealer recommended replacement of the transmission and shifter - a $6500 repair. After some research we located NHTSA service bulletin 10012396. Jaguar technical bulletin jatco jf506E - service action S941, which acknowledges that the our transmission was faulty from the outset. Our VIN number and our transmission serial number fall within the range listed in the bulletin and should be replaced by the dealer. Jaguar is refusing to replace the part, although they know it is faulty. This is an ongoing problem. Please take a look at these complaints. It's time for Jaguar to take responsibility for this issue.

- Lovettsville, VA, USA

problem #26

Mar 082002

X-type

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jaguar X-type. While driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle accelerated without pressure being applied to the accelerator pedal. The contact attempted to depress the brake pedal, but the vehicle would not slow down. She swayed across the road and crashed into the curb to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was damaged and taken to an authorized dealer for repairs. There were no warning indicators prior to this failure. The insurance company was notified of this incident. Recently, the transmission failed at low mileage and has not yet been replaced. The VIN was verified, but appears to be invalid. The failure mileage was 5,000 and current mileage was 31,000.

- Los Angles, CA, USA

problem #25

Apr 242008

X-type 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,768 miles
I just bought a 2002 Jaguar X-type from the woodbridge auto auction in Virginia two days ago. The transmission is giving me problems and needs to be replaced. I looked on-line for consumer complaints regarding the Jaguar's transmission and there are plenty. Jaguar should recall these cars and replace the transmissions. The Japanese manufacturer currently making the transmissions for Jaguar are making unsafe transmissions. Its time for Jaguar to take responsibility for their product and recall these calls and replace these transmissions.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #24

Feb 172008

X-type 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
Jatco jf506E transmission is a known defective issue with a rotor or plate that cracks and ruins the whole transmission costing thousands of dollars. There was a noticeable slip occurring intermittently and has caused a failure. Jaguar never warned it's customers of this issue when they found out 4 years ago or more never calling for a recall. There has been thousands of reports on this issue and is very hazardous to the consumer. When driving it can slip not go into gear and cause a major accident. There are three components to the Jaguar 2002 X-type which is european, american, and Japanese parts. This I asked the dealer to specifically tell me if the parts were european and he explained this are all Ford parts so it won't cost that much to fix things. A blatant lie which was sold to the masses, very disturbing that they knew of this issue with a plate which cracks after overheated and causes the transmission to slip and fail. The jatco jf506E is a Mazda part in a Jaguar which is very strange and confusing let alone very dangerous. It stalled out and slipped the other day almost resulting into a very serious accident and when I read about the issues and the complaints by hundreds if not thousands, this should be a recall by Jaguar. When I told them that I noticed a problem with the shifting, they said it was normal. They knew exactly what the problem was and waited till everyone was out of a warranty so they wouldn't have to fix it or deal with the issues which are life threatening.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #23

Jan 282007

X-type 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles
I have owned my 2002 X-type since April of 04 and it was purchased from crown Jaguar as a certified pre-owned car. Like many other compliants to this site and others my transmission failed with 115,000 miles. While I'm lucky compared to some owners I'm still amazed that it would fail so quickly. The cost of the repair is 7K. Hopefully someone will look at this problem because a lot of people are getting the short end of the stick with Jaguar.

- Riverview, FL, USA

problem #22

Jan 092008

X-type 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
Transmission was slipping during first, I was told it was adjusted. Transmission failure at 40,000 miles.

- Tinley Park, IL, USA

problem #21

Nov 052007

X-type 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,085 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jaguar X-type. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer because it would jerk. She suspected the cause of the failure was the transmission. The dealer replaced the transmission. While attempting to park the vehicle a day later, it spun out of control and the front driver side tire blew out. She notified the dealer. The vehicle jerked violently and almost crashed into an oncoming vehicle. Roadside assistance was called to take the vehicle back to the dealer. The contact informed the dealer that they did not correct the failure. The vehicle is currently at the shop and is still under warranty. She stated that the mechanic replaced her original owner's manual with one for a 2003 Jaguar X-type. Ford Motor Company and Jaguar motor company have not been notified. The failure mileage was 79,085 and current mileage was 87,800. Updated 04-11-08 updated

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #20

Jul 102006

X-type 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,960 miles
Automatic transmission began dropping gears, beginning with top gear, working its way down till the transmission would no longer pull the vehicle. After the first gear dropped, "gearbox fault" came up in the driver information display. After researching this matter, it appears that Jaguar has a serious defect with these transmissions, as most X-type transmissions fail at 50,000 miles. Jaguar (corporate) refused to reply to both verbal and written inquiries. Total cost new was $7,700 for replacement, rebuilt was $2,900. Jaguar obviously knows of the defect, as it was covered in their tsb's.

- Clarksville, TN, USA

problem #19

Sep 102003

X-type 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jaguar X-type. The contact stated that she always noticed white smoke coming from the rear of the vehicle. During that time, she also noticed that the engine light was illuminated on the instrument panel and she smelled something burning. She took the vehicle to a local dealer and they stated that the smoke was not problematic. After a year of complaining about the smoke, the contact began experiencing failure with the gear box and noticed that the gear box fault light was illuminated. She then took the vehicle to another dealer and they replaced the transmission. She does not remember what caused the transmission to fail or the specific failures she experienced with the gear box. The failure mileage was 69,000 and current mileage was 75,000.

- Freemount, CA, USA

problem #18

Aug 292007

X-type

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles
I would like to post a similar complaint to notify other consumers who owns a Jaguar X-type 2002. In August 29 2007, on my way to work the car wouldn't accelerate more that 30 miles per hour. I drove back home and I had the car towed to the nearest Jaguar dealership. I had to replace the transmission for a cost of $5,400 with 59,000 miles. The first 4 years, I made several visits to the dealer to fix an engine light problem, fuel leak, reported a squeaky sound coming from the brakes (@ 10,000 miles Jaguar told me I needed new brakes pads for a cost $1,200, ). the radio speakers stopped working and I was told it was normal wear and tear and it will cost me $ 900 to fix it.

- North Arlington, NJ, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?