Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There's no way around it, the Cherokee's transmission is junk. There's no other explanation for why a vehicle, usually with under 40,000 miles, would have so many complaints

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,720 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 15 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #317

Jul 132015

Cherokee

  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that the rpms increased independently and the vehicle felt rough while driving in third gear. In addition, the vehicle suddenly increased speed and the brake pedal was depressed with excessive force in order to decrease the vehicles speed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure persisted. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V509000 (visibility) but the recall remedy was not yet available. The contact felt that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 13,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Sonoma, CA, USA

problem #316

Oct 272015

Cherokee

  • 25,000 miles
Last Thursday the vehicle lost all power after applying brakes going down a hill, when attempting to start it up again, it remained in the run position but was not functional, engine sounded like a car grinding. Pressing the starter did nothing, the vehicle would not turn off, but remained in the run position but with an abnormal sound and no ability to drive it. I just kept trying to put it in different gears, give it gas and finally the engine engaged and it was driven back up the hill to my home. It was driven to Jeep service the next day. They could not reproduce the problem and the "diagnostics" did not reveal a problem. The same thing happened today and it took me about 10 minutes of pushing starter button, trying different gears and giving it gas to get it functional again. This vehicle has been into Jeep at least 3 times for transmission problems. One time the vehicle was worse after going in, and 2 of the times it seemed better initially but was worse again within several weeks.

- Arroyo Grande, CA, USA

problem #315

Oct 272015

Cherokee

  • 13,000 miles
This vehicle had been showing issues for a while now. The issues were brought to the local dealers attention but only would accept to take the car in for the radio recall these vehicles have currently. After taking the car on its first 100+ mile journey, upon getting closer to the exit I was supposed to take, the car would not shift to lower speeds properly and I had to stay on the shoulder to come to a stop, otherwise I would risk flipping the vehicle approaching the curved exit at such a speed. Must I say I gave the vehicle plenty of stopping/slowing distance. Upon coming to a stop ahead of the exit the car jumped forward clearly a problem with the deceleration of the transmission. I brought this issue up with the dealer the following day and stated I should watch the car further and be more careful. Just earlier today, the vehicle decided to jerk forward while decelerating from highway speeds again and the same response was given. Later this afternoon, approximately 2:30 pm est the key was put into the ignition and the car jumped forward striking the vehicle upfront but luckily not doing any visible damage. This car is an accident waiting to happen as I live near a children's school and work near a middle school and I worry one morning this car jumps forward and G-D forbid strikes a child or pedestrian and turn into chaos, as well as putting my children in danger. This car clearly has transmission faults and needs to be recalled legally once and for all..

- Paterson, NJ, USA

problem #314

Oct 262015

Cherokee

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took car in for recent update to transmission software. Car was ok for a little while then went right back to the problems. Car shifts into wrong gear when climbing a hill and downshifts to to low of a gear causing the engine in to high RPM. Sometimes the transmission does not engage when depressing the accelerator. Have to release accelerator then transmission will engage. Car has a hard shift point from 2nd to 3rd gear. This has caused me to be more cautious while driving and making sure I have enough time to pull out into traffic incase the transmission doesnt engage.

- Lawrenceburg, IN, USA

problem #313

Apr 012015

Cherokee

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while turning the ignition key to start the engine, the vehicle suddenly surged forward. The contact also indicated that when going from stop to start and while ascending up a hill, the vehicle hesitated to accelerate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a PCM and dtcm update but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 25,000. Updated 02/19/16

- Fredricktown, MO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #312

Oct 172015

Cherokee

  • 21,800 miles
I have reported three earlier incidents regarding this issue. I have taken this up with GM. They have attempted to fix this 3 previous times. On 9/22/215 the service department replaced part 68214620ab. I was going to an event an hour away on October 17, 2015. I was attempting to pass another vehicle on a two lane highway. The speed limit was 75 and the car in front of me was going about 70. When we reached a passing lane, I attempted to pass going about 80 miles an hour. As I pulled even with the other car, the transmission down shifted and the engine red lined when I pressed the pedal to the floor. The engine roared and did not return to normal RPM until I took my foot off the pedal. This is unacceptable. I was running out of passing lane. Fortunately there was no on coming traffic. I continue to be afraid to drive this car in highway traffic as there is no predicting when it will shift or how it will respond to changes in speed. I have not drivin it very much since the "repair" on 09/22/15 for this reason.

- Brownwood, TX, USA

problem #311

Oct 172015

Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The electronic transmission constantly slips or has a delayed engagement coming off a full stop or at low speeds. When accelerating from a stop to say make a left turn the transmission has a significant delay prior to engagement which puts the car and the driver (me) at risk of a collision. I have taken to avoiding passing or initiating a turn without significant clearance from traffic as I fear getting into an accident. The car dealership service team says they can't do anything and virtually every other owner of a Cherokee complains about the same issue. I know Jeep delayed the launch of the car due to the transmission issues and believe they knew and know there is an issue and subjecting drivers to avoidable risk and injury, or worse. The issue happens every time I drive the car, not just a single event.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #310

May 312015

Cherokee

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving at approximately 15 mph, the vehicle upshifted without being prompted and then returned to original shift without warning. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was repaired under the manufacturer recall, but the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure was undetermined. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 12,000.

- Carvillen, IL, USA

problem #309

Sep 062014

Cherokee

  • 348 miles
5 recalls since I bought it brand new September 2014. When you step on the gas, car sometimes won't move then jerks into motion & other times it starts off in 3rd gear. Soon after purchase, noticed extreme condensation inside windows. Back right floor board was soaked with water? & condensation under the right front seat. Dealership can't figure it out. Most recently, radio display not working properly. Noticed getting shocked when opening the door. Rear hatch sometimes won't open the the power lift button is pushed

- Sutherlin, OR, USA

problem #308

Jul 052015

Cherokee

  • 15,000 miles
Vehicle transmission failed (would not move) 7/5/2015. After two trips to the dealership, car went into shop 7/17/2015. Car was returned 8/13 supposedly repaired. Transmission failed 8/14 and dealer picked up car 8/15. To date, October 21, 2015, the vehicle remains at the dealership. The dealer told us that 1 in 10 of the 2014 transmissions had failed. A new transmission could not be located because they were going into new cars and the supply to repair the 2014 was low. Chrysler has failed to comply with Arkansas lemon law to repurchase the vehicle.

- Jacksonville, AR, USA

problem #307

Jun 222015

Cherokee

  • 39,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving at 45 mph, the vehicle stalled. In addition, the transmission and check engine warning lights illuminated. The vehicle restarted and was driven to a dealer who diagnosed and replaced the tcm (transmission control module). Additionally, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V393000 (structure) and 15V509000 (visibility). The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 39,000.

- Goodyear, AZ, USA

problem #306

Jan 152015

Cherokee

  • miles
The transmission of my Jeep does work properly. It fails to shift properly, sometimes it is sluggish/ fails to go into gear as it should. It happens when I am just starting from a stop and when I am going down the highway. I have been to my Jeep dealership 4 times to have them repair this issue. They have updated the software. The problem still exists. I want Fiat chyrsler to do the right things and issue me a replacement vehicle...updated 05/19/16

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #305

Oct 192015

Cherokee

  • 37,416 miles
While in drive engine shuts off unexpectedly as a violent jerk from transmission occurs ( luckily at slower speeds) display says "shift to P to select desired gear" goto park and restart is spinning starter solenoid several retries and its like it never happened, took to dealer and reoccurred enroute dealer asked if "check engine light " came on I said no, he claims thats impossible, then showed him the picture I took of dash, same thing 2 days in a row very dangerous imo

- Buffalo Grove, IL, USA

problem #304

Feb 012015

Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving at a low speed, the accelerator pedal was depressed and the vehicle jerked before moving forward. In addition, the contact stated that the liftgate was activated and failed to function intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that a modular needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the modular needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired on multiple occasions, but the failure persisted. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V393000 (structure) and 15V509000 (visibility) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 10,000.

- Hesperia, CA, USA

problem #303

Jan 312015

Cherokee

  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While in park, the liftgate was activated but failed to function. The contact also stated that the liftgate independently closed while the contact was behind the vehicle. The contact sustained lower back injuries that did not require medical attention. In addition, the contact stated that while driving at 35 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed and the vehicle jerked before moving forward. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V393000 (structure) and 15V509000 (visibility) however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 3,000.

- Wood Ridge, IL, USA

problem #302

Oct 092015

Cherokee

  • 16,000 miles
9 speed auto trans recalled for software update performed by dealer. Trans continually searching for lower gears and when finds gear will shift hard and lurch forward at times breaking traction with sudden acceleration. Higher gears will not downshift with engine lugging in 7th gear at 40-42 mph. The software recall done by dealer made shifting worse. Last trip to dealer with trans complaints resulted in dealer saying nothing will help and that Chrysler considering trans replacement on all 2014 Cherokee. Could not provide any time frame on repairs for obviously defective transmission which is a danger when vehicle lunges forward in lower gears. Is this defect being addressed by Chrysler? on-going and continuous problem and defect.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #301

Oct 122015

Cherokee

  • 42,000 miles
Was driving in very busy town, luckily turning into a parking lot, Jeep had lost all power, and was showing engine light, etc light flashing, and traction control was shut off. Got the Jeep running again about 15 minutes later, auto zone was next door but they could not read the codes. Had to drive an hour to the closest dealership. Was told there was a recall that needed to be updated, was told to drive it so many miles to reset everything, then sent back on my way. The next day I was putting the required miles on it, it left me stranded on the side of highway with young child, got it to start again and made it back to park it the rest of the day. Next morning drove 1/4 mile down road and it had lost all power again. Called dealership to let them know I was bringing it back, Jeep would not go past 3rd gear, almost hit multiple times trying to get off the road. Got to dealership, they told me it is un-driveable after driving over an hour to get there, they had Jeep almost 3 weeks. Mileage was around 18,000. Would need to replace transmission, when they finally called to say it was ready, I was told it was bc it needed an oil change...with only 3500 miles on this change(feb2015-march2015). Now(oct2015) Jeep shows engine, etc, traction control, after turning at light in neighborhood. Took Jeep to new dealership, could not recreate problem, 3 days for diagnosis.

- Alvarado, TX, USA

problem #300

Oct 102015

Cherokee

  • 26,400 miles
Mileage 26,000+ transmission failed while driving on the highway this morning. Revs went very high but couldn't generate speed to keep up with traffic (check engine light came on)...car didn't move past 2nd gear. Having read all the complaints about transmission issues cause by the lack of "mature" software as cited by Fiat Chrysler CEO sergio marchionne, I'm wondering why the vehicle hasn't been recalled to prevent a potential dangerous event from occurring. I was lucky I could get off the highway this morning and get to a dealership close by. At this stage - the vehicles has had a recall for the radio R40), wipers, liftgate.. what else Mr. Marchionne... do they right thing for your consumers and recall the vehicles who are as you say lacking "mature" programming. Navigation system not working either. I am seriously considering trading this in for a non Chrysler car.

- Stephenson, VA, USA

problem #299

Jun 012015

Cherokee

  • 12,000 miles
When going from a stopped or slow speed to a quicker speed the Jeep does not respond. It stalls, sometimes in the middle of a road, then will suddenly kick very hard and finally get going. The ca does this if I am merging onto a highway, going on a green light, or pulling into traffic (turning left or right). The way it is acting it is extremely likely that I will be hit. This has been happening for several months. I have take to two different dealerships and told two different things. One saying there was a software update they did that should take care of it, would not explain the update to me. The other saying they could not replicate the problem and everything seems to be operating fine and that this is just the "new 9 gear transmission deciding on a gear"

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #298

Oct 052015

Cherokee

  • 22,500 miles
Hard shifts, lunging, malfunctioning light illumination, and unexpected disengagement. It completely went out on me. I was driving home from work and the car kept dragging and when it shifted, it was a very hard shift. And when I try to stop, it lunges forward. These particular things have been going on for awhile. However in this particular instance, it completely went out on me.luckily I was in front of my house and was going to back up in the driveway and the transmission went out on me.

- Horn Lake, MS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?