Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There's no way around it, the Cherokee's transmission is junk. There's no other explanation for why a vehicle, usually with under 40,000 miles, would have so many complaints

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,596 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 16 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #288

Apr 012015

Cherokee

  • 9,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While attempting to accelerate, the vehicle failed to move without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician stated that the transmission needed to be reflashed. After performing the reflash, the transmission was deemed defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred shortly after. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission failed and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 9,200. Updated 11/23/15

- Blairsville, GA, USA

problem #287

Sep 142015

Cherokee

  • miles
I have had the transmission replace by Jeep yet the transmission still continue to do hard shifts, lunging, unexpected disengagement of the transmission. I have not able to move out of the way in emergency. If the gas is pressed, the engine lags and over revs but goes no where. Then it will jump forwarded. I keep taking the vehicle back to Jeep and but keep being told the engine works as designed.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #286

Aug 302014

Cherokee

  • 3,700 miles
Vehicle died and transmission light came on, also will start off slow and RPM's will go all the way over to 5rpms, vehicle does not accelerate. Sometimes you will have your accelerate with the pedal all the way down and vehicle is going slow. If you stop and need to start going again, vehicle will amp up but will not go, have almost got hit several times due to this happening. This is a huge safety issue. I have contacted Chrysler cair and they don't seem to be much help after second opinion of vehicle. Air conditioning flow volume decreases at highway speeds. Air flow drops from 5.7 to 4.4 and warm air will circulate after only driving vehicle 10 minutes. Have taken to two different dealerships and vehicle still continues to have same issues.

- Goodyear, AZ, USA

problem #285

Mar 202014

Cherokee

  • 14,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle failed to accelerate and jerked violently. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 14,000.

- Denver , CO, USA

problem #284

Oct 152014

Cherokee

  • 4,800 miles
Ever since the first update to the tcm, the transmission has been slipping and then grabbing. More than once, it has slipped when I had to pull out into fast moving traffic. The last time, I needed to pull out into traffic. As I pushed on the accelerator, the rpms increased, but the speed didn't. the engine RPM's spun up to around 6000 RPM and I was only travelling 15 mph. All of a sudden, the transmission grabbed. The wheels chirped and the vehicle accelerated. I was nearly hit from behind due to the failure of the Jeep to accelerate properly.

- Dallas, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #283

Sep 082015

Cherokee

  • 80,023 miles
2014 Jeep Cherokee. Service transmission message comes on screen, transmission make loud noise, engine shuts down. Hard to control vehicle. Almost crashed. Dealer says transmission faulty. Second time this happened

- York Springs, PA, USA

problem #282

Jul 142014

Cherokee

  • 200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle shifts from park into reverse without anyone touching the shift lever. Vehicle also changes gears occasionally when driving, e.g., shifts from reverse to drive when backing up, or reverse to neutral. Reported to dealer immediately in July 2014 (not aware of problem) and Chrysler on 9/29/14 and again 9/9/15. We are now vigilant when shifting gears and before initial acceleration. Once moving, the Jeep stays in the gear selected, e.g., hasn't shifted out of drive while driving down the road. The shift problem is a progression downward, I.e., park to reverse, reverse to neutral, reverse to drive. Unfortunately my wife had another and potentially serious incident this weekend when she parked on level ground, placed the Jeep in park, left the engine running, got out of the Jeep (briefly to check on something), then the vehicle shifted into reverse and started backwards. My wife had to run and jump into the moving Jeep to stop it. On this occasion, she wasn't even in the Jeep and there were no passengers, so no one touched the shift lever. There was a significant pause (I.e., time to get out of the Jeep and start to walk away) before the Jeep changed gears. On the occasions when the Jeep shifts from reverse to drive, we have been fortunate that no person or object was close to the front of the Jeep and the driver was alert and able to stop within the first few feet; we will not always be so lucky. Other manifestation of this shifting problem is when shifted to reverse, we watch the indicator say reverse then, after a noticeable pause with no one touching the gear lever, the Jeep will shift into neutral or continue into drive. Knowing that this is a problem, we watch the shift sequence closely and catch this "slipping out of gear selected" problem to avoid an accident. Is this a drive by wire electrical problem?

- Edgewater, MD, USA

problem #281

Aug 152015

Cherokee

  • 7,900 miles
While leaving the neighborhood my wife's Jeep transmission failed. The entire dashboard lit up like a christmas tree and stated 'service transmission immediately'. she was driving at 30 mph and the transmission went into 'neutral' and she drifted off to the right turn lane. This is the second transmission that has failed in this SUV in 18 months of ownership. We don't feel that Jeep can adequately fix the transmission to a level where I would ever feel safe putting anyone in the SUV again.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #280

Jul 212014

Cherokee

  • 2,400 miles
My wife was driving on a highway at 60 mph when the dashboard lit up like a christmas tree stating 'service transmission immediately'. the transmission went into 'neutral' and she had to drift off to the side of the highway. She had to wait to be towed for over an hour while truck and cars raced paced at 60+ miles an hour.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #279

Oct 012014

Cherokee

  • 3,000 miles
On numerous occasions when slowing down bu not a complete stop, Jeep does not downshift lower than 3rd gear unless. On several occasions Jeep inches forward at a slow rate and suddenly when accelerator is depressed further it shifts hard and accelerates rapidly. Safety is in jeopardy when pulling into traffic on right turns. Unless vehicle is at a complete stop it will not downshift lower than 3rd gear. This results in less power when pulling into traffic. Jeep has updated software 3 times. Condition has not changed.

- Mcdonough, GA, USA

problem #278

May 052014

Cherokee

  • 500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When starting out from 1-2, and 2-3 gears, about 75% of the time one of two things happens.. 1, jerky and hard shifting or 2, does not get gas to the engine until I floor it then it jerks very hard. Every time I took it in, I asked them to look at it. They confirmed the problem but a transmission update did not fix the problem. Still happening at 11,000 miles. Jerks my neck, and worried about getting rear ended.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #277

Feb 022015

Cherokee

  • 3,500 miles
Transmission (automatic) failed at 3,500 miles. Car would no longer go into gear and engage in any gear (drive, reverse, etc).

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #276

Aug 252015

Cherokee

  • 21,271 miles
Episode one: While driving up hill at about 30 miles and hour car jerked into neutral, instrument cluster flashed engine light warning, transmission light warning, parking break warning, traction control warning and flashed "service transmission" and service parking brake". operator restarted car three times before transmission would engage. This cleared all warnings except "check engine" light. Car was driven to dealer where without documentation they stated that they flashed the transmission control module and then car was returned to owner. Second episode: On Sept 3, 2015 operator was driving about 55 miles per hour when suddenly with a jerk the car shifted into neutral and the car jerked into neutral, instrument cluster flashed engine light warning, transmission light warning, parking break warning, traction control warning and flashed "service transmission" and service parking brake".. operator was able to pull over to the side where he restarted the car about 4 times before transmission would engage. Then about 10 miles further on the road, coming up to a stop sign the same behavior reoccurred. Car was delivered to dealer on 9-03-2015 and their service report of 9-04-2015 indicates that they flashed tcm, BCM, ipc and R40 recall. Episode three: September 6 2015 operator was driving car up to stop sign car jerked into neutral, instrument cluster flashed engine light warning, transmission light warning, parking break warning, traction control warning and flashed "service transmission" and service parking brake". from that point to the dealer operator noted that the engine RPM maintained at about 3000rpm instead of fluctuating normally as with normal driving.

- Brownwood, TX, USA

problem #275

Feb 032014

Cherokee

  • 3,000 miles
Started shifting rough check engine light would come on dealer flashed but light came on again would go off after three hard starts they keep saying it was a false reading and cleared code and said don't worry unless light flashes it's ok to drive have had it at shop atleast 5 times now at 10,000 miles after 10 months of this problem it started slipping engine would race etc it is in the shop now and they said they are going to replace transmission after I stared talking lemon law this has been going on since I bought this Jeep

- Yorktown, VA, USA

problem #274

Jul 022014

Cherokee

  • 300 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving at various speeds and attempting to accelerate, the gears failed to engage and caused the vehicle to lunge forward. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician stated that the vehicle was working up to specifications. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and sent out an engineer to inspect the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 300.

- Oregon, OH, USA

problem #273

Aug 042014

Cherokee

  • 10,004 miles
The vehicle almost from the time of purchase exhibited transmission problems, when merging into traffic the car would lag and not engage. This was something that occurred at what appeared random times. It would jerk to the point that I thought I was rear ended. This persisted and I have taken the vehicle to two different dealerships and worked with three case managers at Jeep customer care and the issue was never resolved. This week the transmission completely went out. The car has not been safe for sometime due to situational circumstances. I have had nothing but trouble from the vehicle since purchase (new) and had had to take the vehicle in for repairs multiple times with no resolution made.

- Jeffersonville, IN, USA

problem #272

Aug 162015

Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles
Was driving home and check transmission and motor lights came on. We pulled over stopped car and turned on and could drive home. Next day with kids in heavy traffic, car just coasted and all lights went on, kids were scared and almost hit by a truck as we pulled over to curve. Restarted car and could drive home but the transmission was jerky. Next morning took to dealer and they found all the faults I reported. They said communication problem and cleaned all leads and said if happend again they would have to contact chrystler direct. Next morning, lights came back on check transmission and pulling out of my garage, almost slammed me into a wall changing gears. Dealer confirmed problem in transmission and ordered a new one under guarantee. I am without a car for at least 3 weeks and dealer said if I had gotten the extended guarantee would have gotten reinbursed for an auto rental after 5 business days of not having car. Really concerned about safety and everyone is fortunate no fatalities yet due to a defective 9 speed transmission design. My car was fine until they did a software update to deal with transmission complains. Really supprised usa government has not recalled the transmission or allow family car owners like myself who thought this Jeep was safe with good gas milage to exchange cars or sell back. Have to wait and see if new transmission works or simply replacing one poorly designed part with hanother. Actually liked the car, just now concerned with my family safety.

- Santurce, PR, USA

problem #271

Aug 012014

Cherokee

  • 150 miles
Right after I purchased the vehicle brand new in August of 1914, the auto transmission jumped at 5 mph to 45 mph when shifting gears. I contacted Chrysler Jeep and the local Jeep dealer did one update on the transmission that did not solver the problem. I contacted Chrysler Jeep customer service and was told several times that they would send me another update for my vehicle in augusto of 2015 for my problem. It is now September 2, 2015 and no second transmission update has as yet arrived for my problem. The problem is still in the transmission and they have not fixed it yet. I now have other recall issues with the power liftgate but as yet no parts and the ro recall that I have not as yet had done. I want the second update for my auto transmission fixed.

- Midland, GA, USA

problem #270

Jun 032015

Cherokee

  • 961 miles
I bought my 2014 Jeep Cherokee brand new off of the lot on 4/25/2015. With less than 200 miles on it I noticed that the transmission would hesitate from a stop, and seem almost like the transmission would have a "lag" when I accelerated going up a slight incline and be jerky when it shifted at times. It has been in the Jeep dealership 2 times for this and is scheduled to go again on 8/31/2015. This time it is lunging after backing out of garage and going into drive. It is scary when it finally grabs the gear it actually squeals the back tires. The 1st time on 6/3/15 the dealership performed a software update for PCM, & tcm. 2nd time 6/23/15 the dealer did a tcm software update 181905bk.3 02-19-05-95.4. this time I rode around with the mechanic to 1/2 hr after he did the update. Most of the time these issues happen at lower speeds, but now I have noticed it happening on the freeway too. I do not feel safe driving this car anymore.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #269

Aug 122015

Cherokee

  • 51,000 miles
I have previously submitted a complaint but left out this incident. I was traveling on a highway at about 30 mph. The vehicle all of a sudden would not accelerate some icons appeared on the dash. I pulled over and waited a few minutes. I started the vehicle and resumed my travel. After starting and stopping a few times the icons disappeared.

- Manti, UT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?