Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There's no way around it, the Cherokee's transmission is junk. There's no other explanation for why a vehicle, usually with under 40,000 miles, would have so many complaints

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,596 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 19 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #228

Jun 172015

Cherokee

  • 9,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle's speed decreased independently to 30 mph without warning. Additionally, the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 9,100.

- Falem, NH, USA

problem #227

Jan 092014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 108 miles
Wife was driving new vehicle to work traveling approximately 20 mph. Vehicle stalled. Tried to restart and the en drive on. Service transmission appeared in dash. The check engine light came on and the drive indicator was flashing. Vehicle stalled again. Restarted again and vehicle moved roughly stuck in one gear acting like it was going to stall again. Dealer was called to come get the vehicle for service. The dealer completed update for driveability. No other problems found at that time. Began to notice rough shifts sometimes around 8000 miles. I was driving in town on 06/21/2015 and car stalled holding up traffic. Same scenario of stuck in one gear, check engine light on, service transmission light on and the drive indicator flashing on and off. Had to restart twice and limped home. Taking back to dealer today. Mileage 14889.

- Marion, NC, USA

problem #226

Jul 022014

Cherokee

  • 1,348 miles
Started car in the garage, put the car in reverse and the dash lights were blinking and the radio display flashed and said service trans and the service trans stays lit. Had the car towed to the fuller dealer on rt 22. Somerville NJ. Got the car back 8/8/14. The transmission continues to give me problems while shifting. At time I can step on the gas to accelerate and the car doesn't move than all of a sudden will rush forward. Slowing down and going around a turn is the worst because stepping back on the gas the car feels as if it's going to stop then at once it will rush forward as if I was stepping on the gas all the way to the floor. Had the car back and on 8/21 was pulling out of the driveway at work and heard a terrible grinding noise and lost ability to steer the car. Had it towed and the dealer called the next day to tell me that the left front axle had snapped and was probably a defective one from the manufacturer. I want to get rid of the car because I don't feel safe driving it. I'm afraid if I ever need to step on the gas to get out of the way of something, I will not be able to and will be involved in an accident. Terrible transmission and will be discussing my concerns with my lawyer.

- Green Brook, NJ, USA

problem #225

Jun 062015

Cherokee

  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 10 mph, the transmission seized and the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed, but the technician cleared the vehicle's computer codes. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 6,000.

- Milton, WA, USA

problem #224

Jun 302014

Cherokee

  • 30 miles
The transmission in shifting from first to second has a vibration. Took it in twice and they made some sort of adjustment. Now it still has vibration and the shifting is worse from second to first downshifting. You have to come to almost a complete stop before it will downshift to first to get up a hill. Now when you step on the gas to pass someone there is a long hesitation before it shifts to go faster. Terrible transmission on a brand new vehicle I just wasted forty thousand dollars which I have to pay off for the next four years.

- York, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #223

Feb 102015

Cherokee

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 30 mph, an abnormal noise emitted and the transmission shifted into neutral independently. The instrument panel illuminated. The contact shut the vehicle off and was able to restart it, but the failure persisted. The vehicle was towed to a dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed; however, the technician cleared the vehicle's computer codes. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 17,000.

- Drumright, OK, USA

problem #222

Jun 122015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2015 Jeep Cherokee - transmission issues. Started with a jump and crashing sound on acceleration from stop, then started slipping and non engagement during driving. I took it in and had 3 system updates done, and 2 weeks later (June 12th, 2015) I was driving in rush hour traffic and the transmission stopped all together, not responsive, engine check light went on, and the system computer said service transmission. I was almost killed on the highway because the car just stopped....updated 07/30/15 updated 9/24/15

- Apex, NC, USA

problem #221

Apr 012015

Cherokee

  • 16,000 miles
Vehicle transmission kicks when accelerating, or decelerating. In particular, it kicks when coming to a stop and if you do not keep your distance from other vehicles it could lead to rear ending other vehicles or driving through a wall trying to park the vehicle in the garage.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #220

Jun 112015

Cherokee

  • 10,050 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while attempting to shift into reverse, the transmission failed to shift. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 10,050. Updated 8/28/15

- Colorado Springs , CO, USA

problem #219

Jun 092015

Cherokee

  • 21,000 miles
I was driving home on the freeway going about 50mph and all of a sudden I got a series of messages: "service transmission" "service parking brake" "4WD not available".put gear into drive" I was on a ramp merging to another freeway with very little room on the side I shifted the car from drive to park, dash message said to shift back into park, and then into drive. When I shifted back into drive, the transmission made a very loud bang (like somebody hit the bottom of the vehicle with a mallet) the engine indicator was flashing and the error messages were coming up on the screen. This is not the first time I had this issue. Last time I had to shut the Jeep off and wait about 30min for the computer to reset before I could start it and shift into gear. Last time the dealer replaced the transmission valve but obviously did not fix the issue. I am concerned that this can happen anywhere at anytime.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #218

Jun 082015

Cherokee

  • 12,080 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Came to a stop light, car would not move all the warning lites came on saying service transmission, service parking brake the engine lite came on the tracton lite came on, when I shut car off and restarted it the transmission banged loudly and the lite for drive kept flashing, when I would come to a stop the warning message would say put in park and then select gear

- Hammonton, NJ, USA

problem #217

Jun 042015

Cherokee

  • 19,600 miles
Car engine light on. Car accelerating while slowing down between 25 down to 20 mph dealer replacing transmission service manager stated all cars have problems including Ford, Chevy, ect. No big deal. Previous complaint when computer module failed at 3500 miles and car suddenly lost all power going 70 mph on I65 near nashville. Service mgr said 1 in million chance, just happens once in awhile. Complaint 10621360.

- Gulf Shores, AL, USA

problem #216

Apr 242015

Cherokee

  • 14,000 miles
Driving home, the car suddenly shifted from drive to neutral. Alarm sounded and a message of shift to park and restart. Engine light came on dash display. The engine continue to run, but there was no power to the transmission. We coasted off the road. I put the car in park and it restarted. After a few seconds the transmission re-engaged. We were near the dealer where we purchased the car. They gave us a loaner and kept the car. We were advised there was a recall on transmission module and powertrain module. We picked our car up from the dealer and it seemed fine. But on 5/20/15 we experienced the same problem. The dealer said they reprogrammed the electronics and road tested the car and all was well. On 6/4/15 we had the same failure. We just missed having another vehicle run into us since the car just stopped it's forward progress. The dealer has the car now. The said they have no idea at this time (3:00 pm) what the problem could be. The first two failures weren't bad because we were the only vehicle on the road. The third failure nearly caused an accident. I just spoke with the service department. They said the vehicle had failed during a test drive, but they cannot isolate the failure at this time.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #215

Jul 312014

Cherokee

  • miles
The transmission will not downshift from third gear unless the vehicle comes to a complete stop. When trying to accelerate into traffic during city driving this is very dangerous because the vehicle is unresponsive and will not accelerate. Also the vehicle continues to have harsh shifts from first to second gear and from second to third gear even after all recalls have been performed.

- Escondido, CA, USA

problem #214

May 282015

Cherokee

  • 5,147 miles
There is problem with the transmission. After coming out of a turn or even just taking my foot of the gas for a second and then stepping on the gas there is a "dead pedal" for a couple seconds as the transmission does nothing. The dealer says that Jeep is aware of the problem however since there is currently no fix the dealer notes on my invoice that is is normal and by design. This condition where the car basically stalls is potentially dangerous as there is a possibility that I could get rear ended while my vehicle tries to figure out if it wants to downshift or not.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #213

Dec 222014

Cherokee

  • 18,671 miles
In December 2014, the 2014 Jeep Cherokee shut off twice in one evening due to transmission related issues: 1) the first occurrence, the Jeep was at a red light, when the light changed & the gas pedal was pressed the car lurched and made a loud thump sound and the malfunction indicator light (mil) was illuminated and an error message related to the transmission came on. The car would not accelerate & I was forced to coast into dark parking lot alone. The manual said the vehicle should be serviced if the light stays on through several driving cycles and that the vehicle most likely did not require towing. 2) after following the manual, I turned the car back on and attempted to drive to a safe location until the car could be taken in for service (it was now around 11:00pm). The car drove normally for about 5 minutes until I got on the highway (speed limit 55 mph) & the transmission began to pull & in the middle of the highway thumped and the engine shut off forcing me to rapidly pull over into a dangerous exit ramp at around midnight in the middle of an icy winter. The car would not turn back on & I had to have the car towed. The dealership kept the car for about a week & said the issue was an internal failure of the transmission control module (which they replaced & updated the software). In May 2015, I had been having several issues with the car including another check engine light so I brought it in again for service (this is now the 4th time I had been to the dealership for a variety of issues). The transmission was pulling, jerking, & overall having issues shifting so I requested they service the transmission again. The dealership had to preform a transmission re-learn to improve the shifting. After a couple of days, the transmission was jerking again & I am going to be taking the car back in again for service (now the 5th visit to the dealership).

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #212

Dec 252014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
2014 Jeep Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to recall notice repairs. The consumer stated the rear hatch came down on her head. In February 2015, the transmission went out.

- Luna Pier, MI, USA

problem #211

Feb 022015

Cherokee

  • 5,000 miles
Vehicle has continued issues with shifting performance, upon slowing down and then accelerating the vehicle hesitates before increasing speeds.

- Kingsport, TN, USA

problem #210

Oct 022014

Cherokee

  • 3,000 miles
The vehicle fails to accelerate properly from slow speeds this has been an ongoing problem since a recall ( RO1 ) was performed on the transmission multiple attempts by dealers to improve this condition have failed I am told that this is the way flat/Chrysler has decided to make these transmission work, in order to prevent failure due to a design flaw the current software no longer allows the transmission to downshift below third gear unless the vehicle is completely stopped therefore if driving conditions require you to slow down ( to as slow as 1 mph ) and then you need to accelerate the transmission remains in the third gear and provides little to no response if you floor it, the transmission will sometimes eventually slam into first gear but only after struggling its hardest to accelerate third gear which involves the torque converter allowing the engine to rev, so that the resulting shift into first gear is extremely rough and often accompanied by wheel spin the transmission will no longer ever under any circumstances downshift into second gear the hard jolts and wheel spin of 3-1 shift are somewhat dangerous but when the transmission completely refuses to downshift and simply leaves you vulnerable to approaching vehicles, pulling into traffic, entering roundabout or changing lanes from a slower lane to a faster one or even just merging is always stressful not knowing if vehicle will respond to accelerating properly or downshift properly

- Glendale , NY, USA

problem #209

Feb 072015

Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles
Vehicle loses power going up hills and has trouble shifting gears. At times when driving on a level surface at a consistent speed, you will feel and hear a loud bang and think something hit you, but it didn't. this vehicle is unsafe, when merging onto a highway, fingers crossed that it will accelerate when pushing on the gas so you don't get hit. I had it at the dealership three times since February 2015 for this issue and was told that all of the software is up to date, that Chrysler is attempting to develop a software update that would resolve this problem but it hasn't been developed yet. Was also told that others with this vehicle are having this same problem. I truly believe that this vehicle is unsafe, not being able to accelerate when needed is going to cause a serious accident.

- Jefferson Hills, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?