Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There's no way around it, the Cherokee's transmission is junk. There's no other explanation for why a vehicle, usually with under 40,000 miles, would have so many complaints

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,596 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 21 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #188

Apr 162015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Short shift: Jeep Cherokee 9-speed automatic got second update for rough shifting and I still have the same problems with the transmission. It is getting worse.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #187

Nov 142014

Cherokee

  • 5,000 miles
On 09th July 2014, I bought a Jeep Cherokee 2014 at united cars­ al mana airport showroom qatar. Unfortunately, the product Jeep Cherokee is not usable according to the following: On Friday 14th November 2014 07:00 pm, the car completely shut down without any prior warning or alert messages, dashboard shows (smart key failure, steering columns is not locked as stated on the repair order), despite several attempts to contact mopar road assistance, but the number given was wrong. After many trails I delivered the vehicle to the services at 11:30 pm. Two days later I got a phone call from service consultant stating that the car is ready for pick up; repair report indicated that the battery was faulty and has been changed. On 29th November 2014, the car breakdown and every single warning message have been appeared on the dashboard, then, I delivered the car by breakdown on a trailer. The warning message was "transmission services?, the repair report stated that the dynamo has been changed only. On 7th December, 2014 exactly the same thing has happened with small change that time, the car delivered to me by extra error ?transmission performance failure?. recently the complications begun to increase rapidly, I delivered the car for the fourth time to services. ? on 31st January, 2015 I delivered the car to the services by transmission problem. " on 02nd February, 2015, I received same phone call, one day later the car completely stopped in the middle of the road. On 7th February, 2015, I met the service manager and he promised to solve the transmission issues as they received bulletin by the faulty part from Chrysler usa because it's a known problem. On 09th February, 2015, I received a call from their engineer asking me to go to dealers workshop because new software just received. The car was delivered on Saturday 14th February, 2015.

- Doha, DC, USA

problem #186

Mar 272015

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 192 miles
Vehicle suddendly stalls, check engine light came on and a message that says service transmission, press parking brake, when started the vehicle and put it in reverse a big noise was heard from under the car this happened 3 times. I dont feel safe taking my family in this car that can stall in the middle of a highway, and can cause a big accident.

- Miami Gardens, FL, USA

problem #185

Jul 012014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front end wobbles when taking off from a stop, when going from 1st to 2nd gear. Also feels like vehicle is losing traction and hesitates on acceleration from a stop. Jeep replaced the half-shafts and did software updates but problem continues.

- Rancho Santa Margarita, CA, USA

problem #184

Feb 112014

Cherokee

  • 1,304 miles
Grinding noise in front end, shifting hard with loud clunking noise, high pitch squeal when cold, engine miss when drive like a shutter, shift the car in drive - car went into drive but wouldn"T engage and dash was flashing like the computer didnt know what it was doing, exhaust sputtering noise.

- Armada, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #183

Mar 152014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 25 miles
The problem with choppy shifting was apparent as soon as I picked up the vehicle. Soon after leaving the dealership, multiple lights lit up and the shifting was abrupt and there was a fire smell. Upon returning to the dealership, I was informed that there was a software "glitch, " which they repaired. Since then, for one year, the car continues to have choppy and inconsistent shifting. It is a very temperamental and difficult vehicle to drive. The latest software patch, installed on 3/29/15 made shifting from start up to first/second gear worse. The car is being returned to the dealership on 4/13/15 for further investigation.

- Pelham, NY, USA

problem #182

Mar 272015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 23,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Even after the required recall work and transmission software update, the Jeep is sometimes not responding to acceleration for a few seconds, and once it does, it violently jerks forward. My family was almost T-boned due to the lack of acceleration. This does not just occur at lower speeds, I have had it happen on the interstate and while traveling on 45mph roads. The transmission also fails to downshift when going up a hill. After the software update and when hen the car is in the first two gears and you turn the steering wheel, there is now a noticeable "grinding" coming from around the right front wheel. I have had the car in and out of the shop for a few transmission issues, even when it was a brand new car. I worry for ours and other's safety while driving this car and I shouldn't have to.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #181

Feb 022015

Cherokee 4WD 4-cyl

  • 20,100 miles
Transmission refuses to downshift on hills, lunges forward at stops, sometimes does not shift in to drive for several seconds, when shifted into reverse will sometimes buck violently. All recalls have been performed but seems worse now.

- Jersey Shore, PA, USA

problem #180

Mar 172015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
70 mph on interstate hwy, suddenly emergency brake comes on. Car immediately brakes to 35 mph before car can be moved to emergency lane. Mil light is on, emergency brake light is on, transmission gear light is flashing, screen command says "park the car, service transmission and parking brake". emergency brake light on console is off. Ignition turned on and off 6-8 times, try to drive, car won't move. Cycling ignition and transmission shifter car suddenly starts working normally except for mil light. Scan revels no codes. Car runs fine for two weeks and again at 70 mph on interstate the emergency brake comes almost stopping the car in slow lane. Repeated the procedure referenced above for about 5 minutes until the car started running normally. Mil was on for 50 miles but no codes stored or freeze frame. This occurred 5 days after having recall R05 performed, rrt 14-040, and PCM update.

- Crestwood, KY, USA

problem #179

Sep 152014

Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
The transmission does not always change gears immediately when going from high speed (70) to a lower speed (45). It stays in the higher gear and then will jerk into the lower gear. I have been to the dealership where the vehicle was purchased several times, but I keep being advised that there is not a problem. Believe me, there is a problem. I also had the car for 2 weeks and had to have both front tie rods replaced. Would not recommend a Jeep Cherokee to anyone.

- Jemison, AL, USA

problem #178

Mar 222015

Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 9,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The odometer screen popped up several messages: Acc/fcw unavailable service required; then a red battery image and low voltage message; and the transmission was locked in D3. After turning it off for 30 minutes it self corrected but a small red battery icon remained lit on the odometer screen.

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #177

Mar 282015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 19,171 miles
On my way to work on March 16th when my service park brake message came across my screen along with my check engine light and park brake light. About 10 seconds later the service transmission message was displayed. I had no power when I pressed on the gas. I was lucky enough to be in a residential area still and coasted into someone's driveway. I put it in park. When I put it in reverse it shifted hard with a loud thud. It literally sounded like the engine dropped out of the Jeep. I still didn't have any gas power so I put it back into park with another hard shift and loud thud. I turned the Jeep off and back on. I had gas power and it no longer shifted hard but my engine light was still on. Took it in for service the next day. Of course they couldn't duplicate the condition with several test drives so they chalked it up to a software update recall "occupant restraint control module". fast forward 11 days later, the exact same thing happens. Lost power in gas pedal, service park brake message across screen, changes to service transmission, the engine light, parking brake light and now the traction light all on. When I put it in park then reverse extremely loud and hard thud. Then another message came across the screen, shift to P then desired gear. Put it back into park with a loud, hard thud. Turned off Jeep then back on. Got power back in gas pedal and was able to get it home. Taking it in first thing Monday morning (3/30) for the exact same issue as almost 2 weeks ago. After reading all the complaints on this site and others, it doesn't sound too promising. I bought this Jeep brand new in Nov 2013. And this will be the 4th time its been in for service. The previous two were for a crack in the transmission case causing it to leak transmission fluid (3/3/14) and for a faulty internal controller in my shifter (5/16/14).

- Maryville, MO, USA

problem #176

Sep 102014

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 2,021 miles
We leased this car in 3/14 with the thought of problem free driving. The first week we felt as though the car was hopping when shifting. Then the steering wheel would squeak when you turned it (found that odd). Took it back to dealer they did a flash change but did not road test it. They said we need struts and they are on back order till who knows when. So now we set here afraid to drive it but still have to make payments. I am a 68 year old women who does not want to drive a year old car. Oh btw the car still does hop when it shifts. Can anyone point me in the right direction to turn this car in?

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #175

Feb 202015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 31,800 miles
The car completely shuts down with no indication or warning while driving, steering wheel locks. Immediately after shutting down the brake (however the gear is in drive) and battery light displays. I take gear out of drive and put it in park, wait a minute or two at times right in the middle of residential street or the end of a turn but it always occur while the car is in motion. I have to crank the ignition several times while tapping down on the gas pedal until the engine starts, hit the brake release, put gear back in drive or at times neutral then back in drive in order to move. This occurrence happened a few times before repairs and about two or three times daily after transmission repairs, and software updates. When pushing down on brakes to make a stop the car will accelerate (as if it's confused whether to stop or go, although I'm pressing the brake to stop) before coming to a complete stop. When backing up or switching gears it's a forceful loud jerk between shifting gears. While driving out of the blue the windshield wipers came on (no rain) and I was not able to disable them. I pulled over on the shoulder and turned the car off waiting a moment before restarting they continued to go back and forth on a dry window they stop on their own about 20 minutes later. Speedometer blanking in and out. Car burning excessive amounts of gas. Prior to engine shut down no indication or warning messages however after repairs of transmission and software updates the engine, throttle, ABS lights, and transmission service message appear and disappear simultaneously when the car is running as expected. Tire pressure display inconsistent.

- Reisterstown, MD, USA

problem #174

Mar 012015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 14,514 miles
My family and I were at an intersection going South making a right turn onto a big street. As my husband accelerated, the car would not respond, it would not move, it jolted very strong but would not accelerate. There was a message flashing on the console something like shift to P then to D, and the check engine light, the (P)! light and brake light turned on. As we were stuck in the intersection my husband turned the car off and turned it back on but it would not accelerate, he put it in reverse and was able to move the car very slowly out of the intersection. Is was a Sunday morning, we had to wait over an hour to have Jeep roadside send a tow truck. The car was at a dealer for 2 weeks, transmission was replaced. Just got it back but it still jerks when shifting gears and slow to respond when you are at a stop and accelerate. I don't feel safe in the car as its unpredictable, you don't know when the transmission will give out. This was the second time this happened to us. The first was about 7 months after we bought the car, and the second time was about 2 and half months after the first time.

- La Mirada, CA, USA

problem #173

Mar 032015

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
Started backing out of parking space; stopped for vehicle passing behind; started to resume backing; numerous warning lights and tones started; such as a message to get service; transmission would not engage and move vehicle; coasted to another parking space; vehicle engine would rev when gas pedal pressed but transmission still would not engage; clunks were heard as shifter was moved to neutral, park, drive and reverse; turned off engine and waited; several minutes later everything was normal when engine was started. Had vehicle serviced at Jeep dealer. Vehicle was reprogrammed by a fca technician on 03/11/15. On 3/24/15, mileage: 13,749 the same vehicle performed similar to first event as stated in the above description. This event occurred as vehicle approached a traffic signal; moving around 20 mph. Transmission would not engage. Coasted to a safe area. Turned off switch to engine; waited, then restarted; system reset. All appeared to be normal except park sense system is inoperable; on/off switch for park sense will not resolve inoperable status. Headed to dealer again tomorrow for service. This is a serious safety issue.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #172

Jan 082015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 18,500 miles
About every third time driving the vehicle (transmission mode in auto), a dash warning message appears indicating 4WD system overheated and temporarily unavailable, then 4WD capability is lost and vehicle is stuck in 2wd mode. A couple of times the service 4WD yellow warning light also came on. Transmission clunk can be heard when slowing to a stop and steadily depressing accelerator to start from stop or after slowing to very low speed results in no response for a couple of seconds, then vehicle lurches forward with engine speed shooting up to ~6K RPM.

- Conifer, CO, USA

problem #171

Mar 212015

Cherokee

  • 3,300 miles
After a complete stop at a stop sign, "service transmission" message appeared on the speedometer, check engine light turned on, car was beeping all over the place, and could not accelerate after stepping on the gas pedal 3 times. I had to turn off the car and restart the car on the spot. After restarting the car, engine light stayed on and I was able to drive home. Prior to this incident the check engine light has been on and off for about a few months since I purchased the vehicle on November of 2013. Seems like other Jeep Cherokee owners are also experiencing similar problems if not more serious and fatal. Several complaints found on this forum (www.aboutautomobile.com/complaint/2014/Jeep/Cherokee/power+train) regarding the issue reported that their vehicles lost power on the highway. Other even had trouble with their gears. Also the car would accelerate a little more even the driver had let go of the gas. This is definitely a serious problem and needs to be addressed and investigated immediately before someone gets hurt or even killed.

- Rowland Heights, CA, USA

problem #170

Sep 032014

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 4,680 miles
We purchased this vehicle new, with 4,658 miles on it and within the first day, we noticed the extremely rough shifting between 2nd 4th gears. After several PCM reprograms and a new transmission, it is still doing the rough shifting and continues to worsen. In heavy traffic, the accelerator is inconsistent, sluggishly moving forward on one occasion and lunging forward as if the gas pedal was mashed to the floor on the next. Same can be said for braking; rough down shifting and often times feeling as though the vehicle is still trying to accelerate as if the gas pedal is still pressed even though the brake is being applied. In another incident, I started the vehicle, with my foot on the brake shifted it to drive, then began to release the pressure from the brake to inch forward, when it suddenly lurched forward nearly striking my parents. Additionally, the vehicle now seems to be driving itself. When entering my neighborhood doing approximately 25mph, upon letting up on the gas completely, the vehicle maintains the rpms and speed on a flat surface as if the cruise control is on. We have filed for the md lemon law with Chrysler, but after a test drive with one of the their reps where the car was not as violent in the shifting but still quite rough, the rep declared the vehicle as ¿¿performing as designed and its the adaptive learning of the vehicle and closed the case.this vehicle is completely unpredictable and inconsistent, and quite frankly, unsafe and nerve racking to drive. My wife will not drive nor ride in it any longer for fear of an accident, nor will she allow our son to ride in it. In my 28 years of driving, I have never owned nor driven a vehicle that actually made me feel unsafe in. As I stated to the rep on the test drive: With this vehicle, it's not a matter of if this thing gets in an accident, but rather when!

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #169

Feb 272015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 9,807 miles
While driving in a Suburban environment, I was coasting to yield for merging traffic. After checking for oncoming vehicles, I pushed the gas pedal to merge, but the car would not accelerate causing me to nearly get hit by another driver. This seems to occur only on rolling stops/yields, and appears to be a result of the transmission holding third gear, and not downshifting into first or second gear to provide adequate acceleration. This happens frequently and is more pronounced on hills. In order to regain adequate acceleration, you must mash the throttle which produces a hard jerk and clunk as the transmission engages a lower gear.

- Columbia, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?