Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There's no way around it, the Cherokee's transmission is junk. There's no other explanation for why a vehicle, usually with under 40,000 miles, would have so many complaints

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,423 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 4 of 32)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #561

Oct 262016

Cherokee

  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 25 mph, the vehicle jerked, stalled, and the transmission warning indicator illuminated. The contact pulled the vehicle over to the side of the road. The vehicle was able to be restarted after the first attempt, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact mentioned that this was the fourth time that the failure occurred. The failure mileage was approximately 13,000.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #560

Sep 132016

Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 01/11/2017

- Kingman, AZ, USA

problem #559

Aug 222016

Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 01/11/2017

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #558

Oct 102016

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall car bucking when shifting into gear. Also there was a knocking noise when driving at different speeds and when turning the wheel or going over bumps. It got so bad that it sounded like my tire was going to fall off or the underneath of my car. Also my car was shaking when it would hit a bump. There was also a whining noise that would occur when I turned my wheel either way. This problem has been occurring for almost two years now, everytime I brought it back to the dealer they stated that my "car was fine" was not until I brought it to another mechanic that they told me it was my front passenger wheel ball joint. This would occur while the car was on the highway or side roads, as long as the car was in motion. Also my car would have problems when shifting. The car bucked on my on the highway when I was going 65 the car lights started flashing and I got warning lights stating to put car into desired gear, check oil and transmission. I pulled into the break down lane and put the car in park. Turned the car on and off & the same thing happened.

- North Providence, RI, USA

problem #557

Sep 122016

Cherokee

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving low speeds, the contact experienced transmission issues without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 2,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Gravois Mills, MO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #556

Oct 222016

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 7,500 miles
3 transmission incidents when I have filled up with gas. After leaving the station the car has shifted into neutral and will not drive. The engine has sputtered and shut off. There are transmission warnings "service transmission to shift vehicle must be stopped" on my display. Also my malfunction indicator light, electronic throttle control and avoidance disabled are illuminated. When car is re-started there is a sudden almost violent jerking forward motion or engine ideals slowly and can stall out. This will be my third service call on for my transmission and I am feeling like I have a serious problem that could cause an accident, putting me and my family in harms way.

- Goodyear, AZ, USA

problem #555

Oct 222016

Cherokee

  • 40,953 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had been driving my vehicle all night when all of the sudden out of no where the transmission service came onto my screen on the dash and my Jeep lost power and the brakes locked up and said that I need to service the brakes and the transmission. At the time this happened I was just starting to come to a complete stop at the light. This is really dangerous and needs to be reported that the transmission has failed or is not working correctly in this Jeep. What is someone gets killed?

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #554

Oct 082016

Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles
Service transmission came on while in motion. The vehicle came to a complete while in motion.11

- Morenci, AZ, USA

problem #553

Oct 202016

Cherokee

  • 8,800 miles
Chryslter recall 3 S55 recall repair is taking too long to complete! I'm a heart patient and my wife has parkinson's and we have to trave over a mountain pass to see doctors. We feel unsafe in this car. We can not R]trade due to the length of the recall!

- Yakima, WA, USA

problem #552

Sep 292016

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
While driving straight on a two-lane highway, the transmission shifted itself into neutral and all forward power was gone. The gearshift lever could be moved, but would not put the car back into any gear. We turned on emergency flashers, put the gearshift in park, shut off the car. We re-started the car after a short period, and it then went back into gear. Fortunately, there was no one behind us when this happened. Had there been, it could easily have caused an accident. If it happened on an expressway, this could cause a fatal crash! we relayed this to a Jeep dealer in mesa, AZ. It is assumed to be related to your safety recall 16V-529. There are others talking about this on line. Please, get the manufacturer moving to fix this problem before someone gets hurt or killed.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #551

Oct 192016

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Same or similar problem with 2014 Jeep Cherokee transmission: After car was bought new had a couple of situations where Jeep's dashboard display would all of a sudden while driving error(service transmission, must put car in park and restart)vehicle would be in limp mode had to coast to side of road and restart car, would bang while going into and out of gears... dealer changed the tcm(transmission control module 5/16) but gave me no paperwork stating such, just verbal.. same error again on 6/11/16, again on 7/29/16 and again on 10/19/16...error on display, car goes in limp mode, have to coast and restart...although, after a few engine shut off and restarts service error disappears...seems to happen mostly at speeds less than 55mph..will have to continue to pursue with dealer.....

- Wappingers Falls, NY, USA

problem #550

Feb 142015

Cherokee

  • 14,000 miles
Since I bought this Jeep new in 2014 its been unable to predictably go from stop to start. This is a major safety concern in stop and go traffic (which is daily where I live). I've had all the transmission flashes and each one seems to work for a week or two before this behavior returns. There's also a grinding/clanking noise when going from reverse to forward - the same noise can sometimes be heard when going over a speed bump.

- Issaquah, WA, USA

problem #549

Jul 152016

Cherokee

  • 38,287 miles
Transmission electronically shifted from drive to manual, while in traffic, three times so far. Service transmission, service emergency brake, traction control off, and mil illuminated(code P0887 stored). Software updates preformed in July. Transmission shifts erratically at low speeds since updates and problem back in October of 2016, with a rear end collision barely averted.

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #548

Oct 152016

Cherokee

  • 49,500 miles
My 2014 Jeep Cherokee lost forward gears without warning. I was stopped and tried to pull out on a busy intersection. I lost all forward power limped forward 10 feet and stopped. Route 51 in jefferson borough is a major 4 lane and this could have caused a major accident. I had to reverse to safety. There is a known recall that Jeep is refusing to fix. They are putting peoples lives in danger with a sub standard transmission. I want Jeep to be held accountable for the entire transmission system and not just the parts they deem in their internal selection. If it supports a transmission they should stand behind their product and build it correctly. Safety should be a concern and obviously it isn't. my Jeep is less than 2 years old, I've complained multiple times about hard shifting to the dealer and all they did was adjust the shift points. Now my life is in danger because of their safety issue. Jeep needs to fix this known issue in all Jeep and not just a select few. Pleasant hills Jeep should be revoked as a 5 star dealer and Jeep should be forced to stop production of this substandard transmission.

- Seven Fields, PA, USA

problem #547

Aug 262016

Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V52900 (power train); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Smyrna, DE, USA

problem #546

Oct 152016

Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles
My transmission has been jerking during gear shift since I bought the car. On the expressway traveling 75 mph in a high traffic area when my transmission completely quit and would not shift out of neutral. I lost speed rapidly and luckily I was unable to get to the side of the expressway without causing an accident.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #545

Oct 152016

Cherokee

  • 37,415 miles
2014 Jeep Cherokee transmission jerks. Took it to the dealer and they claim it's working as intended because it's a new technology. This transmission jerks and is very sluggish. I almost had an accident turning left at a busy intersection. The car did not want to accelerate. Luckily incoming traffic slowed down enough for me to pass. I fail to believe that this is normal and also fail to believe that there's nothing the dealer can do. Apparently there are thousands of other Cherokee owners with the same problem. Add me to the list. Any suggestions on what else I can do?

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #544

Feb 192016

Cherokee

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The dealer diagnosed that the valve wiring body harness and transaxle wiring harness needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was brought back to the dealer where updates were done to the transmission and power train control modules, but the failure persisted. The contact stated that the failure recurred on several occasions intermittently. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 26,000.

- Middleboro, MA, USA

problem #543

Jul 012016

Cherokee

  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 50 mph, the vehicle stalled and all the warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact lost control of the vehicle and ended up in a ditch on the side of the road. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the cause of the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V5229000 (power train). The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 43,000.

- Leesville, LA, USA

problem #542

Oct 102016

Cherokee

  • 30,470 miles
On October 10, 2016, I was driving on an access road next to a highway when my car lost motive power. I was driving at approximately 40mph and I did not have enough time to pull over from the lane I was in. My dashboard kept flashing "service transmission" and also to "put the car in park and re-start." For ten minutes, I attempted to re-start the vehicle and begin driving again. Each time I would try to put the car in drive, there was a very loud racket sound from shifting and I had to put the car back in park. Finally, on the sixth attempt, I was able to shift into drive without the sound and I immediately drove my car home. I am disheartened as this was a purchase of a used vehicle only a few days prior, on October 8, 2016, that had only 30,000 miles. Needless to say, my car is already at my local Jeep dealership for repair, and not much reassurance with regards to the associated recall, as parts are not ready yet. This was intended to be a family vehicle, but if it stops while driving, it will render my family completely unsafe. The S55 recall concerns a poorly designed wiring harness, that causes the computer to shift the vehicle into neutral while driving. NHTSA recall number: 16V529 recall date: August 22, 2016 manufacturer recall number: S55

- San Antonio, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?