Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There's no way around it, the Cherokee's transmission is junk. There's no other explanation for why a vehicle, usually with under 40,000 miles, would have so many complaints

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,596 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 8 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #448

Sep 012015

Cherokee

  • 9,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The transmission in the 2014 and 2015 Jeep was the first to use 9-speed. It creates a rough change in gears, often times stalling while trying to accelerate (incredibly dangerous), and creating a bumpy ride. The software "fix" recommended by Jeep does nothing to fix the issue.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #447

Jul 202016

Cherokee

  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving various speeds, the vehicle stalled and the transmission service warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact stated that the instrument panel suggested restarting the vehicle. The vehicle was restarted and functioned normally. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 37,000. Updated 09/27/16

- Suisun City, CA, USA

problem #446

Jul 082016

Cherokee

  • 33,000 miles
The transmission/gear box has been consistently terrible and has only worsened with time. I have had the vehicle for 2 years, and the transmission just bangs around. Many times, I am on the gas and tap the breaks to re-accelerate to have the transmission spin, then engage and bang the car forward. I imagine the transmission has only a year or two left before it will need to be replaced.

- Cottage Grove, MN, USA

problem #445

Feb 012014

Cherokee

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The transmission has had issues since I got the car, the dealer has done several software updates but none completely solve the issue. The car feels like it wobbles when it accelerates from a stop and they cannot seem to fix this problem or admit that there is one. Also, when you turn the steering wheel it makes a grinding or whining noise and I have brought it back twice for this. They just grease the system and it stays quiet for maybe 10 miles. I'm concerned that this could lead to a much bigger issue in terms of safety if it loses steering to some degree.

- Township Of Washington, NJ, USA

problem #444

May 162016

Cherokee

  • 59,584 miles
2014 Jeep Cherokee shifts rough in lower gears, shifts into neutral when driving on highway or coming down hills, and does not accelerate at all when stepping on gas and moving out into traffic, and transmission slipping. When taken to dealership at least 2 times, I reported the vehicle was unsafe. Dealership (atlantic Chrysler Jeep) reported on service receipt, "unable to duplicate concern on road test".

- Egg Harbor Township, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #443

Oct 302014

Cherokee

  • 4,927 miles
Since getting this vehicle in Oct. 2014 we have had nothing but problems with it. The car switches gears when it shouldn't and lunges forward. Also when you slow down to stop the car lurches and shakes before coming to a complete stop. Sometimes you can feel the pedal pumping under your foot when you are moving slowly in traffic. Whenever you are going up any type of hill the engine sounds like it is going to explode. We have taken it to the dealership where we purchased it numerous times and continue to just be told that it is a known issue with 2014 Jeep Cherokee's. there is also a clicking noise by the tires whenever your make a turn. We also took it to the dealership for this and they claim they didn't notice anything. It sounds like the wheel is going to fall off! we should not have these problems with a car that has less than 20,000 miles on it! I cannot wait to get rid of this Jeep. I've had older cars in the past and had not nearly the amount of problems as I have had with this Jeep. It doesn't feel safe to drive. Jeep is well aware of this issue yet they continue to do nothing about it.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #442

Jun 272016

Cherokee

  • 38,797 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving, transmission suddenly shifts into neutral. The vehicle loses the ability to accelerate. All you can do is (hopefully) steer it to the side of the road without getting hit. This has happened twice now - the first time in November 2015, the second in June 2016. On both occasions I have taken it to our local Jeep dealer for repair. All they do is "update" the software. This clearly isn't working. I called the "Jeep cares" hotline and they refuse to talk about the issue, referring me back to the local dealer. The local dealer doesn't know what to do besides update the software. This is really dangerous. Had we been travelling on a busy freeway with multiple lanes when this happened, it would likely have caused a crash. You lose the ability to accelerate! all you can do is steer! both times that it has happened we have been driving around 60 mph on rural highways.

- Hyde Park, UT, USA

problem #441

Jul 052016

Cherokee

  • 57,000 miles
While driving on the highway at 65 to 70 mph, my car would go in to safe mode the massage said. "service transmission" "service park brake" the engine light and traction lights came on to. I had to coast over to the brake down lane. I would turn the car off wait for 2to 3 min's then restart the car. All massages cleared but the check engine light stayed on. The next day the engine light cleared I took it to the dealer. He said, no lights no codes no problem. This continued to happen about 10 times over 5 months. Every time the car went in for a recall I would tell them. The same answer, no lights no codes no problem. Finale I had a problem with electrical. After 3 days they found a pinched wire in the main harness going through the fire wall. This service department told me the next time the car failed in safe mode ( do not shut it off ), have it towed with the car running, this way they could check the codes in the fail mode. After 5 more times, it happened when the dealership was open. They did a software upgrade. A software 6 flash for tcm and a PCM. 3 days later on July 4 it happened 4 times, then 4 times going to work at night on July 4 for July 5. then on July 5 going to the dealership. I had it towed in safe mode. After about 2 hours they called me. It needs a new transmission. They said there are none in the usa, they are on back order, there is no time frame they can give me to how long it will take. I did get a rent a car, but my wife and I can not go kayaking. No racks on rentals and a smaller car does not do for me. Now I have a payment and no car no time frame for when I get my car back pulse the liability of a rental that just does not work for us.

- Fall River, MA, USA

problem #440

Jun 222016

Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles
About two weeks ago, as I was driving to work in my 14' Jeep Cherokee, the cluster read brake to park when I was driving up hill and the shifter was still in drive. When this occurred, the vehicle begin to slow down and came to dead stop in the middle of the highway where the vehicle behind me almost hit me from behind. At this point I put the shifter into park turned off the Jeep, turned back on the Jeep and drove it. The transmission light went on and I decided to take into the dealership as the Jeep is still under warranty. The dealership retained the Jeep for about a week, they ran updates and looked at the Jeep. They do not why it occurred or if the updates they did resolved the shifting issue. At this point, I refused to drive the Jeep home for the concern of my safety that it might happen again.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #439

Jul 032016

Cherokee

  • 33,565 miles
Experiencing hard shifts in the zf 9-speed transmission. This also includes a delayed 1st gear initiation, it regularly takes up to a second from when the pedal is depressed to when 1st gear gets initiated. Often get hard shifts in 2nd and 3rd gear as well. These events occur on a regular basis.

- Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #438

Jul 032016

Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was backing out of a parking space and my car refused to go into reverse, but would go forward instead. I ended up having to stop the engine and restart the car in order to get it to go into reverse. A week later, I was driving and stopped for a minute by putting my foot on the brake and when I went to continue my car would not go forward. Cars were honking their horns at me but I could not get it to go forward. Finally I lightly touched the ignition switch and the car proceeded to drive forward. When I spoke to the dealership after the first incident, they said that I would have to reproduce the problem at least 5 times before they would address it. Both incidents happened while I was in busy areas in our town.

- Lake Geneva, WI, USA

problem #437

Jun 282016

Cherokee

  • 46,000 miles
My Jeep Cherokee latitude has been plagued with transmission problems. At 20,000 miles transmission jerked and caused the car to basically stop unexpected on the road. Death trap! I'm at 45,000 miles and back starting to go out again. This vehicle has major transmission issues and it's no secret. A lady even stopped me in hollywood and pulled up next to me and asked if I ever experienced jerking and stopping with the vehicle. Are you kidding me this is so ramped and needs to be fully recalled before people get killed!

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #436

Jun 292016

Cherokee

  • 44,000 miles
When the vehicle is in drive, it will go into neutral safety mode. This will not allow the vehicle to move. It has done this on 4 separate occasions. Each time stranding the vehicle in the middle of the road and on 3 of the occasions the police have been called to ensure safety. It has to be towed back to the dealer and the first and third time we have been told the valve body needed replaced. The first time was in Jan of 2016 and it went until may before the 2nd time occurred. We now have had the vehicle in the garage for all besides 2 weeks until it has done it for the 4th time. The third time we had it for 3 hours. We were told Chrysler would nott replace the transmission on the last visit. There have been many reports of transmission problems reported to Chrysler and that they are avoiding a serious safety issue with these vehicles. When these vehicles go into neatral safety mode. It leave the operator without a means to move out of traffic.

- Butler, PA, USA

problem #435

Jun 272016

Cherokee

  • 43,629 miles
My vehicle has been running fine, until Monday June 27, 2016 it stalled at a stop light, a few minutes later it cranked and I was on my way. Yesterday June 28, 2016 it did the same thing. Then today June 29,2016 it stalled and my check engine light turned on and said service transmission. I have read numerous complaints about the transmission in these vehicles. This just is not right.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #434

Jun 272016

Cherokee

  • 28,000 miles
Transmission failed while driving at about 60 mph on a highway. Lost power, lost power steering. Could barely steer car to the side of the road. Turned off, waited, restarted and it ran fine. Service transmission light came on for a while, then went off after about 50 miles. This happened for the second time on June 27, 2016. After the first time several months ago we took the vehicle to the dealership for a software update, this is really dangerous. Losing power and power steering while traveling down a highway at 60 mph could result in an accident if it happened in traffic. Luckily for us, traffic was light so we we able to get off the road on both times this has happened. Must be a software defect, as the engine is running fine.

- Hyde Park, UT, USA

problem #433

Jun 262016

Cherokee

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. When the ignition was turned to the on position while the vehicle was on an incline, it would not shift into drive. The vehicle went into neutral and drifted backwards. Also, while driving approximately 65 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to accelerate and the speed reduced. The air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. The failures recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or diagnosed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 22,000.

- Commack, NY, USA

problem #432

Jun 252016

Cherokee

  • 22,888 miles
My Jeep stalls while it shifts gear while slowing down. If I anticipate the stop sign or light, and slow down gradually long before I get to the stop sign or light, it prevents stalls in most cases. This is very dangerous as you can imagine while in the middle of the interstate and between lanes, perhaps. The last time I was at my usual dealership was due to the transmission light being on and after a few days, that issue appear to be corrected, now this. If I could I would simply get rid of this vehicle.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #431

Apr 252016

Cherokee

  • 45,000 miles
Transmission failed, starting to work and selected drive and a huge clank! would not go into any gear. Tow truck, dealership for repairs. It was a solenoid in the transmission that had failed.

- Vernal, UT, USA

problem #430

Apr 152015

Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 25 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle hesitated and jerked before moving forward. In addition, the vehicle failed to start. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #429

Jun 212016

Cherokee

  • 43,000 miles
The transmission jumps when shifting from first to second gear. The transmission also "drops" when shifting out of park to reverse.

- Covina, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?