Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There's no way around it, the Cherokee's transmission is junk. There's no other explanation for why a vehicle, usually with under 40,000 miles, would have so many complaints

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,596 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 9 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #428

Jun 012015

Cherokee

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle suddenly stopped moving and the "service transmission" and "service parking brake" sensor warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the transmission was reprogrammed, but the failure recurred approximately eight months later. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 25,000.

- Childress, TX, USA

problem #427

Jun 132016

Cherokee

  • 34,000 miles
Power lift gate will not operate all the time, sometimes I have to manually lift up the lift gate to get into the inside trunk area. Recall R 27 has been performed in all 3 parts. Check the electrical connectors, install module water shield, and replace module connectors and install module. I have been back to selling dealer for this issue many times for the inoperative hatch issue customer cairs have been opened on this issue with no success. Dealer and Chrysler advise me when it happens bring in the vehicle so we can see the problem. I am worried about the potential electrical fire potential due to this system not operating as designed. I have been to the dealer about this since Dec of 2013 1 month after purchase due to the fact that the dealer can not duplicate the complaint at their shop nothing is written up because no problem found. The most recent trip to the dealer was June 13 2016. This issue always happens when the vehicle is in park engine running or engine off button on dash will not activate lift gate either key fob will not activate lift gate and when I get out of the vehicle to attempt to open lift gate with lift gate button this will not work either. I have to manually open the lift gate by opening the hatch and raising the lift gate as if the vehicle was not equipped with the power lift gate accessory. Please help resolve this long standing issue, I retired from Chrysler after 41 years of service in warranty, customer service and tech. I am not making up this issue. Since the recall repair date of 4-15-2016 the trans will shift hard from stop lights also.

- Shelby Twp, MI, USA

problem #426

Mar 272015

Cherokee

  • miles
The car hesitates when I step on the gas. Where I live, I have to pull out on main street which is a 3 lane road. I have to find a break in the traffic and pull out quickly. I have almost been hit a coupe of times because the car did not respond when I put my foot on the gas. It will go but very slowly and then kick in a few seconds later causing the car to jolt. This happens very inconsistently. It could happen in the morning for 2 weeks and then not do it for another 2 weeks. I have brought it in to the dealer but of course, it never will do it for them.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #425

May 252016

Cherokee

  • 23,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission does not know when to shift. When accelerating from a dead stop it seems under powered like it is in to high of a gear. Then when I push down on the accelerator it lurches forward. If I were behind someone this could be dangerous.

- Sunrise Beach, MO, USA

problem #424

Jun 082016

Cherokee

  • 25,137 miles
06/08/16 I was on my way to work when 2 houses down my vehicle suddenly wouldn't go and shut down and said "service transmission" "service park brake" "pull car over and put in P then desired gear." The check engine light and traction control light also came on and would not go away. I restarted the car multiple times and was finally able to get it moved off the road. The steering was difficult and when I put the vehicle in drive it made a loud noise and would't move. I put the car in drive and when I pressed the gas pedal the vehicle moved in reverse rather than forward. I put it in park again and restarted until I was able to get it back into my driveway. The messages about the parking brake and transmission had went away but check engine and traction control would not go off. After getting it back home I called Chrysler to have them send a tow truck to take the vehicle to the dealership as this is a huge safety hazard to be on the road. Upon arriving to the dealership, I asked for a loaner vehicle. After an hour wait I was informed that no loaners were available and had to rent a vehicle from enterprise (paid $50 out of pocket for deposit), because they wanted a transmission specialist look at it and his schedule was booked. Before leaving, I was shown 12 codes that had popped up. The following day 06/09/16, I called Chrysler's corporate office to see what options could be done to make this right as this is the 4th time total and 3rd in a 30 day window with transmission issues. They called the dealership and were informed that the dealership has tried to fix the issue but cannot find a solution to fix the issues I am having. Corporate responded with saying that I would be given a case manager to handle my issues and they would contact me in the next 48 hours.

- Killeen, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #423

Jun 052016

Cherokee

  • 25,100 miles
06/05/16 I was stopped at a light and when it turned green I began to go on the ramp for the highway and suddenly it wouldn't go and shut down and said "service transmission" "service park brake" "pull car over and put in P then desired gear." The check engine light and traction control light also came on and would not go away. I was almost rear ended because of this issue and was in the middle of the ramp not able to move my vehicle. I restarted the car multiple times and was finally able to get it moved off the road. The steering was difficult and when I put the vehicle in drive it made a loud noise and would't move. I put the car in park again and restarted until I was able to get it off the road. The messages about the parking brake and transmission had went away but check engine and traction control would not go off. It was a late Sunday afternoon and the dealership was closed so I had to wait until the next day to bring it in to the dealership. I took it first thing Monday morning (06/06/16) and sat there waiting for 4 hours until the service advisor came and told me my Jeep needed some updates and the lever on the transmission was loose and they had to tighten it was fixed and everything was good to go. Drove the vehicle straight home no issues and my husband drove it to work the following day with no issues reported. Day 2 after repairs the same issues came back.

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #422

May 142016

Cherokee

  • 23,922 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

05/14/16 I was stopped at a light and when it turned green I began to go and suddenly it wouldn't go and shut down and said "service transmission" "service park brake" "pull car over and put in P then desired gear." The check engine light and traction control light also came on and would not go away. I was almost rear ended because of this issue and was in the middle of the intersection not able to move my vehicle. I restarted the car multiple times and was finally able to get it moved off the road. The messages about the parking brake and transmission had went away but check engine and traction control would not go off. It was a late Saturday afternoon and I called the dealership and explained what had happen. I was told they were about to close and I could bring it in Monday. I took it first thing Monday morning (05/16/16) and sat there waiting for 4 hours until the service advisor came and told me my Jeep needed some updates and it was fine. I asked to speak to the mechanic and I wasn't allowed to and I have to argue with her to tell me what the updates were. I was assured the issue had been fixed with the transmission and parking brake with the updates....only to have the same issue 2-3 weeks later.

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #421

May 292016

Cherokee

  • 14,500 miles
Transmission failed to engage on start up, car limped to dealership, and is awaiting a new transmission. Vehicle has less than 14500 miles

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #420

May 302016

Cherokee

  • miles
Car intermittently has extremely rough shifts going from 1st to 2nd and 2nd to 3rd and will sometimes just not go anywhere during these shift points for a second or two, creating a problem when entering traffic. Problem seems worse if the car is on an incline, even a slight incline. Have had several software updates, but the problem persists.

- Prairie Village, KS, USA

problem #419

May 262016

Cherokee

  • 23,515 miles
Please read...traveling on interstate 75 N / approximate speed 65 - 75 mph / vehicle "turned off, went dead" / coasted through two lanes to get to an emergency side spot! it truly is a miracle that we were not ran over!!! contacted a wrecker service and having to wait 1 1/2hrs on the side of a busy interstate, our vehicle was lifted and taken to a dealership / the wrecker driver wasn't able to get vehicle started or out of gear until he accessed help via his phone, which allowed him to move gear but still didn't crank / next day, a rep from the dealership called and said the vehicle started up and the issue mentioned above could not be replicated"?? a strange report was given that there seem to be grease from an unknown source that was seen under the vehicle and perhaps that caused the problem??" we picked the vehicle up and made it home (70 mi) / this is extremely worrisome, not to mention, of course it could be deadly! please help.

- Buford, GA, USA

problem #418

May 052016

Cherokee

  • 45,750 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On May 5, 2016, I was driving on a well traveled street in my 2014 Jeep Cherokee latitude. I had just made a right turn and was driving at a slow pace in order to merge into on coming traffic. I pressed on the gas and nothing happened. I looked at the dash and realized that the car had shut down. I had no engine power, no electrical, nothing. I managed to coast to the right lane, and attempted to restart the car; nothing happened. After sitting for approximately 10 minutes, the car finally started. I immediately drove to the dealership with the check engine light on. The car was kept for a week, and I was told they were unable to duplicate the concern. I picked the car up and two weeks later the check engine came on again. Once again, I immediately drove to the dealership. After two days, I was told the transmission needed to be replaced (car is currently in shop awaiting this repair). Prior to this incident, this car had been to the dealership at least two times for what seemed to be transmission related issues; slamming into gear and lurching forward. Each time I was told the issue could not be duplicated.

- Odenton, MD, USA

problem #417

May 252016

Cherokee

  • 33,000 miles
When slowing down to almost a stop (I.e. light change from red to green) and then accelerating the car lunges or jerks forward sometimes with enough force to cause the rear wheels to spin. This occurs frequently but not all the time. This has been occuring for quite a while and has been taken into the dealer for transmission updates several times

- Wyoming, MN, USA

problem #416

May 242016

Cherokee

  • 11,200 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. When the contact shifted the vehicle into drive, it shifted in reverse on its own. The dealer could not duplicate the failure. The dealer kept the vehicle to attempt to replicate the failure. The contact stated that the same failure occurred approximately six times. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 11,200.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #415

Nov 302014

Cherokee

  • 300 miles
Transmission shifts hard. So hard that it snaps my neck! problem is mostly with 1-2 and 2-3 shifts. Been to the dealer at least 3 times where they upgraded software. Now they tell me to live with it.

- Unionville, CT, USA

problem #414

Jun 272014

Cherokee

  • 400 miles
Shifting in the lower three gears is jerky, rough, inconsistane and dangerous....!!!!

- Bigfork, MT, USA

problem #413

May 122016

Cherokee

  • 30,000 miles
For the second time in a month the transmission failed. Multiple vehicle warning systems started sounding include "check transmission", "put vehicle in park, then select gear", accompanied by warning chimes, the engine light, etc. It occurred during rush-hour traffic in Washington, DC in 4 lanes of traffic - the vehicle transmission died. The same thing happened just over a month ago; the dealer claimed they did a software fix previously.

- Brandywine, MD, USA

problem #412

May 062016

Cherokee

  • 38,000 miles
Vehicle stalling while in motion, (feels like it shifts itself into neutral) only dash notification is saying to to place in park and shift to desired gear. This happened 3 times in 3 days, all three time my safety was at risk as you are unable to accelerate. I had to wait until it coasts to a full stop to shift to park and then several tries to restart vehicle, once started car still will not move when pressing gas pedal for few moments although rpms are at 5 or 6 like its not in gear. In all instances I was in traffic and almost rear ended by other vehicles. There is no warning lights or sounds that make you aware that an issue is happening so you can pull to safety.Jeep is in dealership now but am afraid they will tell me they cannot duplicate the problem, reflash the module and send me on the way. I have researched the problem and this is a common problem and common repair scenario at dealership but does not fix issue. I am afraid I will be rear ended by a fast moving vehicle as this has happened 2 times on the highway and once in middle of intersection. It is very scary when this happens as I have had my grandchildren in the vehicle 2 times when it occurred. I am very unhappy with this car as it is my first purchase not lease in 10 years. I don't know what I am going to do, still waiting to hear from dealership which is another issue as I took in yesterday at 7am and it is now the 2nd day at 9 am and nobody has called. I missed a day of work yesterday and have to go out of town for work for 2 days tomorrow. This report is my proof if I should be killed in my Jeep that theres an issue of it stalling in traffic and highway conditions.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #411

Feb 072015

Cherokee

  • 500 miles
The car stalls when giving it gas leaving me and my family vulnerable in intersections as well as shifting very roughly.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #410

May 022016

Cherokee

  • 32,000 miles
The automatic 9-speed transmission shifts poorly up and down gears 1,2,3. in stop and go traffic I cannot rely on the car to safely and soothingly allow me to aggressively make necessary lane changes. For example, when attempting to change form a congested lane to an adjacent faster moving lane the car may momentarily hesitate as I am depressing the gas pedal. After the hesitation the car now responds to the over depressed gas pedal position and lurches forward (>4000 RPM on the tach) at an unsafe rate. Often times I am forced to brake hard and return/remain in the congested lane in order not to riskily pull out in front of cars approaching from the rear is the less congested lane. To minimize the problems with the lower gears, Jeep reprogrammed the transmission in may of 2015 to remain in 3rd gear through to about 5 mph as the car decelerates towards a stop. For example, the car remains in third gear when making a slow rolling stop at a stop sign. This reprogrammed fix can cause problems when trailering my boat. If IM forced to slow down prior to a hill the car will remain in 3rd gear and when IM attempting to accelerate while encountering the moderate uphill grade the car eventually and unexpectedly aggressively up-shift and again lurches forward at >4000 RPM. I seems there is no software fix and now I'm stuck with a poor performing, annoying and sometimes dangerous drive train. If I were wealthy I would get rid of the car. In good conscious I would not sell my car privately. I'd lose to much money if I traded it in at a dealer for a different car.

- Nolensville, TN, USA

problem #409

May 052016

Cherokee

  • miles
Received two recalls, have been going to dealer for over 8 months to get them done, contacted Jeep manufacturer, still no parts received. Dealer says they have not received parts and to keep checking in, which I've persistently been doing for eight months to the point of frustration. It has been almost a year since the last two recalls were stated.in the meantime my defective parts continue to malfunction if used. An efficient and timely manner to get the recalls done has not been conducted by Jeep and by fca us llc.

- Bellevue, WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?