Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2014 Jeep Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,712 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 4 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #65

Oct 022015


  • 20,635 miles


Vehicle fails to shift properly and stalls upon acceleration from complete stops, driving on highway and normal roads. Issue started 7 months after purchase at 8,573 miles. Jeep taken to dealer on March 10, 2015, who reprogrammed transmission & power train modules & reprogrammed restraint control module. 5/15 - Jeep was making clunking noise and grinding noises - rear differential was replaced at 14K miles; 5/27 - Jeep still made grinding noise when placed into gear - power transfer unit & skid plate replaced as tech found fluid had leaked into ptu causing internal damage. 7/7 - Jeep still not shifting properly, rpms rev to 5 & 6K before shifting. Slow acceleration has almost caused multiple crashes!! dealer reprogrammed transmission control module. 10/2/15 - lift gate won't open with fob or by hand & won't lock when closed manually - open recall with no remedy avail, I was told not to use it until fixed. Dealer has no eta for the fix and this issue can cause fire!! shifting is still an issue, dealer claimed they were unable to reproduce the issue yet the check in & out mileage remained unchanged at 20,635. The parking sensors go off in drive thru's, yet another issue they can't reproduce. I do not feel safe driving this vehicle which is needed for work!!! I attempted to trade it in but past service issues have depreciated it's value to the point of no return!

- Fox Lake, IL, USA

problem #64

Sep 102015


  • 20,000 miles
The navigation system in the uconnect 8.4 an froze constantly during driving. When it was navigating me for long distance, the system crashed and was unable to restart the navigation process. The problem was repeatable, for example for the route from "133-42 39th ave New York, 11354" to "69 N eagleville rd, storrs, ct 06269".

- Storrs, CT, USA

problem #63

Aug 272015


  • 24,903 miles
Several times while I was driving the digital dash display went blank, red "battery" indicator came on, "no bus" fault message appeared, the headlights went off, the turn signal did not work, radio did not work, door locks would not work (lock/unlock). The safety issue is to lose function of headlights and turn signal while driving. Also if a crash were to occur, I may not be able to exit my vehicle in an emergency, due to not being able to unlock my doors. Between August 27, 2015 and September 14, 2015 this occurred four (4) separate times. The vehicle was turned in for service each time this occurred. The problem is intermittent, during driving it can come and go. Service department at authorized Jeep dealer stated that they do not have any instrumentation to troubleshoot can bus and they can not duplicate the issue. I would pull over into a safe area and take photos of the dash showing the faults. Service department can only reset faults as displayed on a tablet when plugged into the vehicle. Again dealer has no tools to look up bus problems, electrical contact issue, etc.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #62

Jul 142014


  • 200 miles


Vehicle shifts from park into reverse without anyone touching the shift lever. Vehicle also changes gears occasionally when driving, e.g., shifts from reverse to drive when backing up, or reverse to neutral. Reported to dealer immediately in July 2014 (not aware of problem) and Chrysler on 9/29/14 and again 9/9/15. We are now vigilant when shifting gears and before initial acceleration. Once moving, the Jeep stays in the gear selected, e.g., hasn't shifted out of drive while driving down the road. The shift problem is a progression downward, I.e., park to reverse, reverse to neutral, reverse to drive. Unfortunately my wife had another and potentially serious incident this weekend when she parked on level ground, placed the Jeep in park, left the engine running, got out of the Jeep (briefly to check on something), then the vehicle shifted into reverse and started backwards. My wife had to run and jump into the moving Jeep to stop it. On this occasion, she wasn't even in the Jeep and there were no passengers, so no one touched the shift lever. There was a significant pause (I.e., time to get out of the Jeep and start to walk away) before the Jeep changed gears. On the occasions when the Jeep shifts from reverse to drive, we have been fortunate that no person or object was close to the front of the Jeep and the driver was alert and able to stop within the first few feet; we will not always be so lucky. Other manifestation of this shifting problem is when shifted to reverse, we watch the indicator say reverse then, after a noticeable pause with no one touching the gear lever, the Jeep will shift into neutral or continue into drive. Knowing that this is a problem, we watch the shift sequence closely and catch this "slipping out of gear selected" problem to avoid an accident. Is this a drive by wire electrical problem?

- Edgewater, MD, USA

problem #61

Aug 252015


  • 21,271 miles
Episode one: While driving up hill at about 30 miles and hour car jerked into neutral, instrument cluster flashed engine light warning, transmission light warning, parking break warning, traction control warning and flashed "service transmission" and service parking brake". operator restarted car three times before transmission would engage. This cleared all warnings except "check engine" light. Car was driven to dealer where without documentation they stated that they flashed the transmission control module and then car was returned to owner. Second episode: On Sept 3, 2015 operator was driving about 55 miles per hour when suddenly with a jerk the car shifted into neutral and the car jerked into neutral, instrument cluster flashed engine light warning, transmission light warning, parking break warning, traction control warning and flashed "service transmission" and service parking brake".. operator was able to pull over to the side where he restarted the car about 4 times before transmission would engage. Then about 10 miles further on the road, coming up to a stop sign the same behavior reoccurred. Car was delivered to dealer on 9-03-2015 and their service report of 9-04-2015 indicates that they flashed tcm, BCM, ipc and R40 recall. Episode three: September 6 2015 operator was driving car up to stop sign car jerked into neutral, instrument cluster flashed engine light warning, transmission light warning, parking break warning, traction control warning and flashed "service transmission" and service parking brake". from that point to the dealer operator noted that the engine RPM maintained at about 3000rpm instead of fluctuating normally as with normal driving.

- Brownwood, TX, USA

problem #60

Aug 252015


  • 4,200 miles
I had a roll away incident back around August 25th 2015 I pulled into my driveway and put the car (2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland) in park.I turned it off and exited the car. It started rolling forward so I jumped back in the car and put on the brake then moved it backwards a little and exited the car again. Again the car was in park and shut I was walking away from the car it rolled forward again about 8 feet.I know it was in park, when it was not in gear. I got out of the vehicle and it started to roll back on me. I quickly jumped back into the vehicle to stop it without accident, this time. Now I put a block in front of the tire so it wont roll away.I wont park it on a cant seem to find a problem.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #59

Aug 142015


  • 24,500 miles


The car did not accelerate when peddle was pushed (in heavy traffic) then jumped suddenly to accelerate into oncoming traffic. This vehicle has had complete valve body failure in less than 3,000 miles and numerous updates to the computer because of uneven shifting and acceleration. The latest update seemed to work better for a few weeks and now is worse than previously. The Chrysler dealer (ron carter alvin Texas) refuses to return my calls for service or to set a service date.

- League City, TX, USA

problem #58

Aug 132015


  • 38,005 miles
Vehicle was being operated on a straight and level road at 45 mph when the dashboard electrical and radio system went dark, and there was a loss of power steering at the same time. In about two seconds, the vehicle restarted without any movement by the driver. She had both hands on the wheel so that she could control the vehicle due to the loss of the power steering. When the vehicle restarted on its own, the normal housekeeping functions occurred on the dash, the radio came back on, and power steering came back. Two lights illuminated on the dash that were not normal. One was the check engine light that came on continuous, and the squigily traction light came on until she was able to pull into a parking lot where she stopped the vehicle and shut the engine off. When she restarted the vehicle, the traction light did not come back on, however the check engine light did come back on in a continuous mode. Vehicle is currently at charlie's Dodge/Jeep dealership in maumee, oh being diagnosed.

- Curtice , OH, USA

problem #57

Jun 062015


  • 14,000 miles
On 2 occasions, -June and August 2015, parked vehicle on first floor of an entertainment complex and found engine running upon return (first time it ran for 4 hours/ second time for 2 hours unattended).

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #56

Dec 012014


  • 2,000 miles
I purchased my brand new 2014 Jeep Cherokee with 30 miles. After about 1500 miles it began shifting very hard in low gears jerking, it red lines extremely hard to where it will jolt the Jeep and when I come to a stop it would begin raise rpms and accelerate. It would scare me senseless. I took it to the dealership they said that's how it performs and made me leave. 400 miles later the transmission completely blew out going 50 in la traffic. It was on back order for a month. Since then I have taken it in 8 times for the same problem a few times they have updated the tcm now they are saying there is no codes and they cannot duplicate it, even though it does it every single time. The Jeep will not know what gear to shift and leave me stranded in intersections before it shifts and peels out. When I break it'll pick up speed it is extremely unsafe and unreliable. Jeep has no fix for it and will not buy it back nor compensate me in anyway this isn't right and they should be forced to buy these be back. Last weekend I took it on a trip going downhill at 60 mph 2000 RPM I tapped the break and the Jeep revved to 5000 rpms also my horn is he hardest horn to push ever it does not work. The service department said its a little harder than normal but they cannot replace it since it doesn't give a code.everyone and their mother is concerned and complains about this issue. One day this thing is going to get me in a wreck. I paid good money for this vehicle I just want something safe and reliable for my family. I wish Jeep Chrysler however it is would just do the right thing.

- San Diego , CA, USA

problem #55

Nov 012013


  • 100 miles


The vehicle lunges after you stop as if it is down shifting. Sometimes it bangs and jumps suddenly when taking off from a stop. The transmission seems to have not down shifted and is in too high a gear causing the engine to pause before suddenly downshifting and suddenly accelerating which sometimes it to abrupt and you have to slam on the brakes to keep from hitting traffic. We have had several reprograms of the transmission without any resolution. The last caused the car to suddenly lunge and jump out into traffic while sitting at a stop with the brake on and no gas applied. We could have caused an accident... the motor has started leaking oil from the oil filter and cooler assembly on top of the 3.2 liter V6. It appears it has a bad gasket or seal or it may be cracked. I see several other owners complaining of this be cause you can smell burning oil, we removed the top engine cowl and carry a fire extinguisher just in case it catches fire. It appears that you could easily lose most of the oil and seize the motor not to mention catch on fire. The rear hatch camera and controls malfunction in wet weather. The camera turns to snow or moving objects appear frame by frame and not in real time. The controls fail to allow gate operation. I contacted Jeep today and am taking it in for the oil issue and will try to get them to fix the transmission and rear gate issues. This is a danger to drive when it can launch into traffic or leak oil causing a fire or short out the gate from an electrical fire. Jeep needs to get these issues addressed.

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #54

May 172015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 16,532 miles
The contact owned a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 55 mph, the contact smelled a strong burning odor and noticed smoke emitting from the front passenger door. Within several minutes, the vehicle was engulfed in flames. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure mileage was 16,532. Updated 8/21/15 updated 12/1/2015

- Miami Beach, FL, USA

problem #53

Apr 242015


  • 14,000 miles
Driving home, the car suddenly shifted from drive to neutral. Alarm sounded and a message of shift to park and restart. Engine light came on dash display. The engine continue to run, but there was no power to the transmission. We coasted off the road. I put the car in park and it restarted. After a few seconds the transmission re-engaged. We were near the dealer where we purchased the car. They gave us a loaner and kept the car. We were advised there was a recall on transmission module and powertrain module. We picked our car up from the dealer and it seemed fine. But on 5/20/15 we experienced the same problem. The dealer said they reprogrammed the electronics and road tested the car and all was well. On 6/4/15 we had the same failure. We just missed having another vehicle run into us since the car just stopped it's forward progress. The dealer has the car now. The said they have no idea at this time (3:00 pm) what the problem could be. The first two failures weren't bad because we were the only vehicle on the road. The third failure nearly caused an accident. I just spoke with the service department. They said the vehicle had failed during a test drive, but they cannot isolate the failure at this time.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #52

Dec 222014


  • 18,671 miles
In December 2014, the 2014 Jeep Cherokee shut off twice in one evening due to transmission related issues: 1) the first occurrence, the Jeep was at a red light, when the light changed & the gas pedal was pressed the car lurched and made a loud thump sound and the malfunction indicator light (mil) was illuminated and an error message related to the transmission came on. The car would not accelerate & I was forced to coast into dark parking lot alone. The manual said the vehicle should be serviced if the light stays on through several driving cycles and that the vehicle most likely did not require towing. 2) after following the manual, I turned the car back on and attempted to drive to a safe location until the car could be taken in for service (it was now around 11:00pm). The car drove normally for about 5 minutes until I got on the highway (speed limit 55 mph) & the transmission began to pull & in the middle of the highway thumped and the engine shut off forcing me to rapidly pull over into a dangerous exit ramp at around midnight in the middle of an icy winter. The car would not turn back on & I had to have the car towed. The dealership kept the car for about a week & said the issue was an internal failure of the transmission control module (which they replaced & updated the software). In May 2015, I had been having several issues with the car including another check engine light so I brought it in again for service (this is now the 4th time I had been to the dealership for a variety of issues). The transmission was pulling, jerking, & overall having issues shifting so I requested they service the transmission again. The dealership had to preform a transmission re-learn to improve the shifting. After a couple of days, the transmission was jerking again & I am going to be taking the car back in again for service (now the 5th visit to the dealership).

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #51

Aug 112014


  • 3,000 miles
I have had numerous problems (5 total) with my 2014 Jeep Cherokee limited hard shifting into lower gears. The vehicle jerks and bucks randomly and has nearly caused me to have numerous accidents. The vehicle features the zf-designed nine-speed automatic transmission that has known issues with rough shifting. The recall update was performed in early may yet the problem persists. The vehicle randomly pulls forward, normally in stop and go traffic, and is completely unpredictable. Chrysler has a total of 5 work orders in their system and is asking me for a 6th time to bring the car in for repairs. Each "repair" trip results in a software update to the transmission that ban aids the problem for about a week and then we are right back to square one. I'm very frustrated and am requesting that the vehicle be bought back by Chrysler and I be reimbursed for all car payments made in the last year. The vehicle falls under Maryland lemon law requirements in that, it has less than 18K miles and is under 24 months old and was purchased new. I am requesting to open a case with National Highway Traffic Safety Administration to assist me with this issue. I have an open case number with Chrysler of 26719430. Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

- Glen Burnie, MD, USA

problem #50

Nov 032014


  • 22,500 miles
2014 Jeep Cherokee Wrangler 2.4L 4WD. Vehicle shuts down completely during driving operation. This has happened off and on since last fall (2014). Happens multiple times during commute, including when engine is first warming up and when vehicle has travelled for some distance. Some days it does not occur at all. Engine temperature seems to have no relation to incidents. Speed has no relation as it has occurred at 5mph up to 65mph. Ambient temperature has no relationship as the temp has varied from 0 to 80 degrees F. took to Chrysler dealership shop on 12/30/14 - Chrysler dealership shop did not find cause but did update BCM based on tsb. Problem continues to occur. 5/20/15 - 2015 Jeep Cherokee back in shop for same issue.

- Hockessin, DE, USA

problem #49

Dec 132013


  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notice of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V634000 (electrical system) and 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #48

Jun 252014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. When driving at any speed, the electronics on the dash board went out. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 14,000. Updated 8/10/15 the consumer also stated the doors would not unlock, at times. Updated 03/01/16

- Kimberly, ID, USA

problem #47

Mar 282015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 12,068 miles
Driving 80mph on highway when computer shut down, lost power steering, lost response from throttle, RPM went to 0, mph went to 0. note on dash computer said to shift into desired gear when the car was already in drive. No check engine light came on.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #46

Nov 142014


  • 5,000 miles
On 09th July 2014, I bought a Jeep Cherokee 2014 at united cars­ al mana airport showroom qatar. Unfortunately, the product Jeep Cherokee is not usable according to the following: On Friday 14th November 2014 07:00 pm, the car completely shut down without any prior warning or alert messages, dashboard shows (smart key failure, steering columns is not locked as stated on the repair order), despite several attempts to contact mopar road assistance, but the number given was wrong. After many trails I delivered the vehicle to the services at 11:30 pm. Two days later I got a phone call from service consultant stating that the car is ready for pick up; repair report indicated that the battery was faulty and has been changed. On 29th November 2014, the car breakdown and every single warning message have been appeared on the dashboard, then, I delivered the car by breakdown on a trailer. The warning message was "transmission services?, the repair report stated that the dynamo has been changed only. On 7th December, 2014 exactly the same thing has happened with small change that time, the car delivered to me by extra error ?transmission performance failure?. recently the complications begun to increase rapidly, I delivered the car for the fourth time to services. ? on 31st January, 2015 I delivered the car to the services by transmission problem. " on 02nd February, 2015, I received same phone call, one day later the car completely stopped in the middle of the road. On 7th February, 2015, I met the service manager and he promised to solve the transmission issues as they received bulletin by the faulty part from Chrysler usa because it's a known problem. On 09th February, 2015, I received a call from their engineer asking me to go to dealers workshop because new software just received. The car was delivered on Saturday 14th February, 2015.

- Doha, DC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?