Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There's no way around it, the Cherokee's transmission is junk. There's no other explanation for why a vehicle, usually with under 40,000 miles, would have so many complaints

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,585 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 5 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #52

Dec 222014

Cherokee

  • 18,671 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In December 2014, the 2014 Jeep Cherokee shut off twice in one evening due to transmission related issues: 1) the first occurrence, the Jeep was at a red light, when the light changed & the gas pedal was pressed the car lurched and made a loud thump sound and the malfunction indicator light (mil) was illuminated and an error message related to the transmission came on. The car would not accelerate & I was forced to coast into dark parking lot alone. The manual said the vehicle should be serviced if the light stays on through several driving cycles and that the vehicle most likely did not require towing. 2) after following the manual, I turned the car back on and attempted to drive to a safe location until the car could be taken in for service (it was now around 11:00pm). The car drove normally for about 5 minutes until I got on the highway (speed limit 55 mph) & the transmission began to pull & in the middle of the highway thumped and the engine shut off forcing me to rapidly pull over into a dangerous exit ramp at around midnight in the middle of an icy winter. The car would not turn back on & I had to have the car towed. The dealership kept the car for about a week & said the issue was an internal failure of the transmission control module (which they replaced & updated the software). In May 2015, I had been having several issues with the car including another check engine light so I brought it in again for service (this is now the 4th time I had been to the dealership for a variety of issues). The transmission was pulling, jerking, & overall having issues shifting so I requested they service the transmission again. The dealership had to preform a transmission re-learn to improve the shifting. After a couple of days, the transmission was jerking again & I am going to be taking the car back in again for service (now the 5th visit to the dealership).

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #51

Aug 112014

Cherokee

  • 3,000 miles
I have had numerous problems (5 total) with my 2014 Jeep Cherokee limited hard shifting into lower gears. The vehicle jerks and bucks randomly and has nearly caused me to have numerous accidents. The vehicle features the zf-designed nine-speed automatic transmission that has known issues with rough shifting. The recall update was performed in early may yet the problem persists. The vehicle randomly pulls forward, normally in stop and go traffic, and is completely unpredictable. Chrysler has a total of 5 work orders in their system and is asking me for a 6th time to bring the car in for repairs. Each "repair" trip results in a software update to the transmission that ban aids the problem for about a week and then we are right back to square one. I'm very frustrated and am requesting that the vehicle be bought back by Chrysler and I be reimbursed for all car payments made in the last year. The vehicle falls under Maryland lemon law requirements in that, it has less than 18K miles and is under 24 months old and was purchased new. I am requesting to open a case with National Highway Traffic Safety Administration to assist me with this issue. I have an open case number with Chrysler of 26719430. Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

- Glen Burnie, MD, USA

problem #50

Nov 032014

Cherokee

  • 22,500 miles
2014 Jeep Cherokee Wrangler 2.4L 4WD. Vehicle shuts down completely during driving operation. This has happened off and on since last fall (2014). Happens multiple times during commute, including when engine is first warming up and when vehicle has travelled for some distance. Some days it does not occur at all. Engine temperature seems to have no relation to incidents. Speed has no relation as it has occurred at 5mph up to 65mph. Ambient temperature has no relationship as the temp has varied from 0 to 80 degrees F. took to Chrysler dealership shop on 12/30/14 - Chrysler dealership shop did not find cause but did update BCM based on tsb. Problem continues to occur. 5/20/15 - 2015 Jeep Cherokee back in shop for same issue.

- Hockessin, DE, USA

problem #49

Dec 132013

Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notice of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V634000 (electrical system) and 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #48

Jun 252014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. When driving at any speed, the electronics on the dash board went out. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 14,000. Updated 8/10/15 the consumer also stated the doors would not unlock, at times. Updated 03/01/16

- Kimberly, ID, USA

problem #47

Mar 282015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 12,068 miles
Driving 80mph on highway when computer shut down, lost power steering, lost response from throttle, RPM went to 0, mph went to 0. note on dash computer said to shift into desired gear when the car was already in drive. No check engine light came on.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #46

Nov 142014

Cherokee

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 09th July 2014, I bought a Jeep Cherokee 2014 at united cars­ al mana airport showroom qatar. Unfortunately, the product Jeep Cherokee is not usable according to the following: On Friday 14th November 2014 07:00 pm, the car completely shut down without any prior warning or alert messages, dashboard shows (smart key failure, steering columns is not locked as stated on the repair order), despite several attempts to contact mopar road assistance, but the number given was wrong. After many trails I delivered the vehicle to the services at 11:30 pm. Two days later I got a phone call from service consultant stating that the car is ready for pick up; repair report indicated that the battery was faulty and has been changed. On 29th November 2014, the car breakdown and every single warning message have been appeared on the dashboard, then, I delivered the car by breakdown on a trailer. The warning message was "transmission services?, the repair report stated that the dynamo has been changed only. On 7th December, 2014 exactly the same thing has happened with small change that time, the car delivered to me by extra error ?transmission performance failure?. recently the complications begun to increase rapidly, I delivered the car for the fourth time to services. ? on 31st January, 2015 I delivered the car to the services by transmission problem. " on 02nd February, 2015, I received same phone call, one day later the car completely stopped in the middle of the road. On 7th February, 2015, I met the service manager and he promised to solve the transmission issues as they received bulletin by the faulty part from Chrysler usa because it's a known problem. On 09th February, 2015, I received a call from their engineer asking me to go to dealers workshop because new software just received. The car was delivered on Saturday 14th February, 2015.

- Doha, DC, USA

problem #45

Mar 272015

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 192 miles
Vehicle suddendly stalls, check engine light came on and a message that says service transmission, press parking brake, when started the vehicle and put it in reverse a big noise was heard from under the car this happened 3 times. I dont feel safe taking my family in this car that can stall in the middle of a highway, and can cause a big accident.

- Miami Gardens, FL, USA

problem #44

Jan 152015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V643000 (electrical system, air bags, seat belts); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 05/20/15 updated 7/6/2015

- Neptune, NJ, USA

problem #43

Apr 052015

Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 10,233 miles
Will not start. The odometer screen and radio screen light, when I depress the brake peddle and press the start button both screens black out and vehicle does not start. The screens light back up and radio starts playing. The only message on the odometer screen is the start sequence. Press the brake peddle and press the start button. Jeep not turning over - not trying to start.

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #42

Mar 172015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 24,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

70 mph on interstate hwy, suddenly emergency brake comes on. Car immediately brakes to 35 mph before car can be moved to emergency lane. Mil light is on, emergency brake light is on, transmission gear light is flashing, screen command says "park the car, service transmission and parking brake". emergency brake light on console is off. Ignition turned on and off 6-8 times, try to drive, car won't move. Cycling ignition and transmission shifter car suddenly starts working normally except for mil light. Scan revels no codes. Car runs fine for two weeks and again at 70 mph on interstate the emergency brake comes almost stopping the car in slow lane. Repeated the procedure referenced above for about 5 minutes until the car started running normally. Mil was on for 50 miles but no codes stored or freeze frame. This occurred 5 days after having recall R05 performed, rrt 14-040, and PCM update.

- Crestwood, KY, USA

problem #41

Mar 282015

Cherokee

  • 9,966 miles
While driving the odometer messages started popping up and an alert chimed for each one: Acc / fcw unavailable service required; big red battery icon and low voltage message; park assist off message; radio screen went blank; small red battery icon remained lit on the odometer screen. I then selected to view the battery voltage along with my speed on the odometer screen. The voltage moved from 16 to 15 and stopped at 14V (1/2 charge) all in less than 5 seconds. I tried to make a hands-free phone call and as the phone was ringing the phone call was terminated by the vehicle.

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #40

Mar 272015

Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 9,960 miles
Picked vehicle up from dealer - they made sure battery was fully charged and suggested it be driven before taking home. On the interstate at 65-75 mph activated the adaptive cruise control. It shut itself off in approximately 10 seconds. Then a message on the odometer: Acc / fcw unavailable service required; message low voltage; radio screen went blank then came back on. A small red battery icon remained lit on the odometer screen.

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #39

Feb 202015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 31,800 miles
The car completely shuts down with no indication or warning while driving, steering wheel locks. Immediately after shutting down the brake (however the gear is in drive) and battery light displays. I take gear out of drive and put it in park, wait a minute or two at times right in the middle of residential street or the end of a turn but it always occur while the car is in motion. I have to crank the ignition several times while tapping down on the gas pedal until the engine starts, hit the brake release, put gear back in drive or at times neutral then back in drive in order to move. This occurrence happened a few times before repairs and about two or three times daily after transmission repairs, and software updates. When pushing down on brakes to make a stop the car will accelerate (as if it's confused whether to stop or go, although I'm pressing the brake to stop) before coming to a complete stop. When backing up or switching gears it's a forceful loud jerk between shifting gears. While driving out of the blue the windshield wipers came on (no rain) and I was not able to disable them. I pulled over on the shoulder and turned the car off waiting a moment before restarting they continued to go back and forth on a dry window they stop on their own about 20 minutes later. Speedometer blanking in and out. Car burning excessive amounts of gas. Prior to engine shut down no indication or warning messages however after repairs of transmission and software updates the engine, throttle, ABS lights, and transmission service message appear and disappear simultaneously when the car is running as expected. Tire pressure display inconsistent.

- Reisterstown, MD, USA

problem #38

Mar 032015

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
Started backing out of parking space; stopped for vehicle passing behind; started to resume backing; numerous warning lights and tones started; such as a message to get service; transmission would not engage and move vehicle; coasted to another parking space; vehicle engine would rev when gas pedal pressed but transmission still would not engage; clunks were heard as shifter was moved to neutral, park, drive and reverse; turned off engine and waited; several minutes later everything was normal when engine was started. Had vehicle serviced at Jeep dealer. Vehicle was reprogrammed by a fca technician on 03/11/15. On 3/24/15, mileage: 13,749 the same vehicle performed similar to first event as stated in the above description. This event occurred as vehicle approached a traffic signal; moving around 20 mph. Transmission would not engage. Coasted to a safe area. Turned off switch to engine; waited, then restarted; system reset. All appeared to be normal except park sense system is inoperable; on/off switch for park sense will not resolve inoperable status. Headed to dealer again tomorrow for service. This is a serious safety issue.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #37

Feb 062015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 6,500 miles
When shifting from park to reverse or drive, the vehicle will occasionally not shift into gear, even though the display and shift control indicates that the car is in reverse or drive. When this happens, when I release the brake and apply the gas, the car does not move. This happens about once every 10-15 times the car is shifted from park. The most serious incident happened when I was parked uphill. I shifted the car into drive, but when I pushed the accelerator pedal the car did not move forward but instead started rolling backward. I had to move the shifter into park, and again into drive before the gear would engage. Additionally, there have been times that the car will not accelerate after being stopped at an intersection. When I apply the gas, the car will hesitate for 1-2 seconds before engaging and moving forward. I am concerned that these issues will end up placing myself or my occupants in danger if an emergency situation arises while on the road, or if the transmission fails completely and I roll back into another car.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #36

Dec 222014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 1,795 miles
While driving the vehicle the instrument panel starting running a check system cycle, ie. Transmission service needed, anti-lock brake need service, battery needed to be checked, mil was on, etc. (I have video of one occurrence) and I was no longer able to accelerate the car even though the engine was still running. The electronic parking brake was engaged and I could not disengage it. After the car slowed down I turned the engine off and on several times until I was able to accelerate the car. The mil was now on steadily. This has happened 4 times now.

- North Babylon, NY, USA

problem #35

Jan 262015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 10,250 miles
This car has been nothing but trouble since 1500 miles off the lot brand new Jeep. And then at 2800 and then at 3000 miles they replaced the power control module then two more times for software update. Then at 10250 they tell me the transmission has gone and needs to be replaced. As if anything else can go wrong with this car the tires they put on from the dealership Firestone my aft right tire split on the sidewall for no reason at all the only damage on the tire was the crack on the tire. So not only is the car defective but the wheels from Firestone as well. Has anyone else experienced my horrible luck.

- Quakertown , PA, USA

problem #34

Feb 132015

Cherokee

  • 9,200 miles
Electrical issues and update to 2/9/15 complaint. As requested by Jeep customer care, took 2014 Cherokee for second opinion for headlight issue. (new car, have only had 5 months). Upon leaving the dealer, multifunction / check engine warning light went off. Thankfully, close to dealership, returned 1.5 miles - ran diagnostics. Tech stated pages of error codes, no idea could be transmission, steering column, stability control, radio, ABS, anything electrical. Had to leave the car as advised unsafe to drive. 2 days later, no idea whats wrong, still at service dept. Today, tech said Jeep told them to drive car 20 miles and see if the code is gone. Informed dealer this is unacceptable for Jeep and further compromises safety of this vehicle. They need to pinpoint exactly what caused the check engine code.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #33

Feb 142014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 12,001 miles
While turning at a stop light the car slipped into neutral. Check engine light came on, service transmission message on dash, parking brake light came on and also traction control light. Pulled over and restarted car still would not engage into to drive. Had to let car sit for 30 minutes then restarted and went back in to drive. Made it to dealership but slipped out of gear one more time on the 20 minute drive. The exact thing has happened 2 more times and has now been at the dealership 3 times in 2 weeks. Afraid for my safety at this point!

- Canton, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?