Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There's no way around it, the Cherokee's transmission is junk. There's no other explanation for why a vehicle, usually with under 40,000 miles, would have so many complaints

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,585 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 6 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Dec 072014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 12,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On December 7th, the car (2014 Jeep Cherokee with 12,600 miles) lost power unexpectedly while I approached a stoplight, and had to be coasted to the side of the road. We waited approximately 10 minutes, and it restarted. No warning or check engine lights came on. Over the next several days, we had approximately 3 instances where the car either wouldn't start, or would lose power. Still no warning lights came on indicating an issue. As we believed this to be a potential safety issue, we took it to the local Jeep dealership and asked them to check it out. They kept it for 6 days and indicated that they could not recreate the issue. We picked the car up on Dec. 16th. On December 25 the car again lost all power while driving (lost engine, power steering, and power breaks). Fortunately this occurred on a local road and the car was able to be coasted to stop without incident. This time several indicators illuminated including the 'check engine' light. We had the car towed the next day to the same dealer. At the time of this writing, the dealership has had the car 22 days, and still have not been able to diagnose the issue. They did replace the PCM, however this did not correct the issue. I'm filing this complaint because of the potential safety issue. I also have a concern because Jeep is not able to properly diagnose the problem in a reasonable amount of time.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #31

Aug 142014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
Two problems came up at around the same time. The car was delivered with the transmission 4 quarts low on fluid. The car was slipping out of gear, lurching and shuddering. The transmission is a sealed unit so there was no way for me to know that. Then the dash display went completely dark. No feedback was given, its a digital display. So I had no speedometer, tachometer etc and the warning lights were out. I feel like a vehicle with no dash display that slips out of gear when passing or lurches forward when stopping could be dangerous to other drivers and pedestrians.

- Camarillo, CA, USA

problem #30

Jan 022015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,200 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that after starting the vehicle, the engine rpms increased to 6000 and all of the warning indicators illuminated. The contact shifted into park and attempted to turn off the vehicle; however, the vehicle failed to shut off. The fire department disconnected a wire underneath the hood in order to turn the vehicle off. The fire department reconnected the wire, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who diagnosed that the ignition and the communication between the ignition cap failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 12,200. Updated 03/04/15 the consumer stated after 28 days of being in the auto center the vehicle was repaired. Updated 10/8/2015

- Laguna Beach, CA, USA

problem #29

Dec 232014

Cherokee 4WD 4-cyl

  • 21,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife was on her way to work for the last day before christmas and got 2 blocks from the house before calling for help. The vehicle lost power and luckily she was able to get off of the road. It was rainy both the day before and that morning also. She said there was a message that came up saying shift into park and start the car. She couldn't get it to start again. I met her and after trying, got the car going but noticed that I didn't feel any response or hear any engine revving when pushing the gas pedal down. It also seemed to start fairly rough. She took my vehicle to work. I checked the vehicle later and it started ok. The battery voltage was the normal 12.6V and 14.7V when running. At first I thought it was a fluke. The next day as the vehicle wouldn't start. We decided to wait until fri morning with christmas being thurs. The vehicle did start before the flatbed towed it off to the dealer. The dealer had the vehicle all day and was about ready for me to pick it up when they noticed a loss in pressure at the fuel pump and decided to replace it. After we got the vehicle back it ran ok for a few days but then on 1/3/2015 it cut out again about two blocks from our house in the other direction.. it was again rainy outside. She again saw the same message. I met her and got it started again but also again noticed no reaction to stepping on the gas pedal. When I shifted it into reverse it then seemed to react to giving it gas fine and drove home ok. We took it to church and around town the next day and it seemed fairly normal. Having gone through rough shifting problems with this vehicle early and two transmission problems with Chrysler Grand Voyager and then this Jeep and the articles on this site that seem to be pointing to Jeep transmissions I think Chrysler better come up with the right fix very soon before someone gets killed.

- Middletown, MD, USA

problem #28

Dec 052014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
I was traveling on the interstate in the left lane at highway speeds when I lost my forward drive gear, my vehicle rapidly slowed causing vehicles behind me to break. My display was telling me to shut the engine off and restart the vehicle. My gear shift indicator was flashing rapidly between drive and natural. I tried to get over to the right lane then the shoulder as other vehicles avoided me. My check engine light was on and I had no ability to accelerate. I got to the shoulder, put the vehicle in park, shut off the engine and then restarted. I was then able to proceed directly to the dealer along the shoulder of the interstate without further incident. My check engine light remained on. The service manager ran a quick check and said the vehicle recorded over 20 faults at the same time which ranged from disengaging the anti lock breaks to disabling my forward drive. He said he had never seen before. He returned the vehicle to me the same evening because he did not know how to fix it, but said it was an electrical failure of some type. I contacted Jeep case # 26113535. Although they attempted to resolve the issue they ultimately closed the case because once the dealer initially cleared the faults the vehicle could not be diagnosed until it happens again. I contacted Jeep reference number 26160146 and expressed my concern that they had closed the case claiming that I had not taken the vehicle to have it diagnosed even though they had talked to the dealer who told them he could not do it. Jeep wants me to wait until it happens again. If I have to wait the until next time my vehicle looses all forward drive and ability to accelerate out of a dangerous situation there may be a fatality or major accident depending on where, traffic conditions and weather conditions it happens.there is obviously something wrong with the vehicle which Jeep is choosing to ignore..

- Lorraine, NY, USA

problem #27

Nov 172014

Cherokee

  • 7,350 miles
On my way to work one morning, I was driving on a three-lane highway, going roughly 73 mph when suddenly, as I was attempting to maintain my current speed ┐consistent with traffic flow ┐my vehicle would not enable me to accelerate. During my inability to accelerate, my vehicles electrical system surged, illuminating my check engine light, traction control light, and cabin lights. As a result, in order to remain uninjured, I crossed three lanes of moderately congested traffic, and turned my vehicle off for approximately 5-7 mins. Upon starting my car, I was able to accelerate; however, both lights were lit on my dashboard. After driving 130 plus miles, I immediately drove to the dealership I purchased my vehicle from┐┐they conducted tests; resulting in a computer glitch. The dealership addressed this by clearing the transmission control module. This answer was very unsatisfactory to me as I purchased this vehicle brand new in June 2014 with less than 100 miles. Therefore, I contacted the manufacture and sought assistance. Since, I have been asked to make an appointment with 2 different dealerships, totaling 4 service visits ┐all inclusive. Over all, I am extremely upset and unsatisfied. Buying a new vehicle with transmission issues and or computer issues is not ideal or expected. Now, I am slightly paranoid every time I drive my vehicle ┐hoping I will be alive to retell both the dealership and manufacture this problem has been duplicated.

- Saint Albans, WV, USA

problem #26

Dec 182014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 15,365 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on a 4 lane highway slowing down for a light that had gone from red to green. As I accelerated to go through the light my vehicle suddenly stopped and would not move. It was dead in the water type of stop. I put on my flashers and tried to start the engine again. It would not start. I put on the brake and pressed the start button and opened the driver door. I was able to start the engine but the car would not move. After doing this twice I was able to start the car and move to the center of the highway. A police officer stopped to check on me and asked if I could move to a safer place. I was able to move the vehicle to a parking lot. The police officer made sure that I was ok and left. I then called Jeep for a tow. What I saw when this happened was the no skid light, the service transmission, and several lights on the left side of the screen. It showed the brake was on but it was not on. The engine light was on and stayed on. I have not heard anything from the dealership at this time. If I had been on a normal work day I would have been on the expressway. There is no doubt that something far more serious would have happened to me. I am not sure that I can drive this vehicle again.

- Union, KY, USA

problem #25

Oct 272014

Cherokee

  • 200 miles
Purchased a 2014 Cherokee trailhawk with 0 miles on Oct 25. At 200 miles, and 48 hours later I took it onto the beach. As soon as it got into the sand, it dropped to 2nd gear and rpms shot up to just over 3000. Car would not shift out of second. Temp went up to 230. Later on all computers in car started to flash like white noise. Brought it back to the dealer and was given a variety of excuses. Bad ABS sensor, loose fuse etc. Went to pick the car up from the dealer after hours when they were closed. As soon as I turned it on, flashing white noise on all the screens.I also took it on the beach a day or two later, and again car wouldn't shift out of second gear on the beach. The car now began to shift very erratically. It would up shift very fast accelerate when my foot was not on the gas. When coming to a stop it would down shift so hard. When I brought the car back to the dealer, (now with 700 miles on it) they told me they were replacing the entire transmission. They have had the car for 3 weeks total. Finally picked up the car last week.when I got into the car the odometer ready 6000 miles! I dropped it off with 700.I told him for the 3rd time that I did not want it. I have also been dealing with a Jeep resolution team from Chrysler.its been a week, the car is shifting more erratic than it has since the new transmission. The sunroof leaks water, the windshield is constantly fogged and looks like there is a clear coat that may have gotten on the car that makes it impossible to see when driving. Also, when I turn the floor heat on, the front defroster comes on.Chrysler contacted me on Friday, and my Jeep has officially been deemed a lemon, and I am entitled to a replacement. I don't want a replacement. I want a full refund and to head over to the Toyota dealer.

- East Hampton, NY, USA

problem #24

Sep 012014

Cherokee

  • miles
Just received my third safety recall today...P67. P14, brake booster and P36, sun visor wiring are yet to be fixed. P14 dates back to this fall 2014. I've been on a waiting list since that time. The dealership, patriot Chrysler Dodge in mountain lake park, md says they cannot get the parts to fix the recalls. Is this ridiculous? please advise.

- Oakland, MD, USA

problem #23

Dec 082014

Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system). The dealer was contacted and was unable to specify when the parts would become available. The contact had not made the manufacturer aware. The vehicle had not exhibited the failure.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #22

Nov 252014

Cherokee

  • 8,750 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the 4th incident for this car. First incident was 10.18.14. Second incident was 11.13.14. Third incident was 11.24.14. And this 4th incident took place 11.25.14. While driving on the highway the front end collision light icon displayed on the dashboard suddenly, forcing my cruise control off and drastically declining my speed with cars behind me. There were no cars immediately ahead of me or indicate why the car sensed a collision.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #21

Nov 242014

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 8,700 miles
#1-car jerks itself out of lane very heavily to the left, almost turns itself left on it's own when lane sense is turned on but not sensing the lane (white indication light). Car does not jerk left when lane sense is sesing the lane properly (green indication light). #2-park sense flashes on the screen 5-6 times while I"M driving. It thinks I"M parking while driving the car or slowing the car down into a turn lane. It literally displays the diagram of car with yellow bars showing how close I am to something while driving or waiting in a turn lane, however, there were no cars or obstacles ahead of me, nor am I parking. At one point I was pulling the car left into the left hand lane to turn into my neighborhood. I was not at a full stop, but almost, in the left-hand turn lane. Park sense flashed 5 times on and off each time a car passed me in the other direction. #3-lane sense cannot sense the lane 90% of the time on main streets, only highways.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #20

Nov 132014

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 8,500 miles
Second incident for this car. First incident was 10.18.14. I was parking car at a restaurant. While edging near ending point of parking space, park sense suddenly disabled and would not enable. Immediately therefore, a series of icons appeared on the dashboard in this order: 1) red lightening bolt for the etc, 2) front end collision light like I had a wreck, 3) engine light, 4) traction light. The power steering appeared very stiff. Car was still running. Drove car out of parking space and it would not accelerate; it moved at a very slow pace like it was stuck in molasses or quick sand. Placed car in park and turned off ignition. While shifting from D to P, the shift was so violent it shook the entire car and I could hear grinding. Let car rest for 60-90 seconds. Turned car back on and only the engine light remained lit. Power steering was not stiff. Drove car to dealership the next morning.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #19

Nov 192014

Cherokee 4WD 4-cyl

  • 7,490 miles
I received a phone call from my wife who was on her way home from work at approximately 1825hrs. She went on to explain to me that her vehicle was "acting" up again with all the same symptoms as last time (first incident has already been submitted under same information). She lost a significant amount of power while traveling on a busy highway where the speed posted is 65mph. When this happened she pulled off to shoulder and took photographs with her iphone to keep for our records and to what her dash was displaying. She stopped while on the shoulder and put the vehicle in park and turned off the ignition. After some time she turned the ignition on and put the vehicle in drive when she noticed the vehicle "jerked" and made a loud clunky noise. This is the second incident. The first incident dealership was unable to find any problems under the diagnostics they ran.

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #18

Nov 032014

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 6,400 miles
On the above date while traveling to work my wife called me and informed that her vehicle had lost power during operation on a busy highway. Upon further explanation she informed me while accelerating to the proper speed for the posted speed limit of 55mph the vehicle had lost power and the "service transmission" light illuminated. She then pulled off the busy road to a safe a spot and proceeded to contact our insurance and the local Jeep/Chrysler dealership, as we are currently under warranty. Once I arrived to my wife's location we waited for the tow truck and upon his arrival he asked if the vehicle could be driven, at this time I turned on the vehicle and placed it in drive, the "service transmission" light was still on. I was able to drive in approximately 3 miles to the dealership all awhile being followed by the tow truck and without incident.

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #17

Aug 292014

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 560 miles
While traveling at night on a highway at 60 mph, I turned my front windshield wipers on due to rain. As soon as the wipers came on, the entire dashboard went black and I was not able to monitor speed or view radio, gps, or other panels. The headlights also dimmed somewhat. As soon as we arrived at our destination, I googled for problems with wipers and found various blogs regarding this problem on 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The only advice online was to disable the automatic rain sensor. After disabling the automatic rain sensor, the problem was not corrected. I contacted the dealer who advised us to bring it in for a checkup. No repairs were made and I was informed that they would advise me if a recall would be released.

- Paige, TX, USA

problem #16

Oct 032014

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 6,900 miles
At freeway speed of 65, the vehicle suddenly had no power, went into neutral, and "service transmission" warning came on. Upon trying to accelerate to pull to the shoulder, the engine would simply rev rpms but provided no power, even after trying to shift between neutral and drive. After getting to the side of the road, the vehicle was shut off and turned back on, at which time the service transmission light was still on, but the vehicle worked again. The dealer replaced the entire transmission under warranty but provided no explanation of why it suddenly lost all power on the freeway and could have easily caused a wreck when trying to get over several lanes on a busy freeway.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #15

Oct 182014

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 7,500 miles
While parking the vehicle, the parksense feature disabled on its own. Immediately thereafter, the red lightning bolt indicator light appeared on the dash, which has been known to be associated with the electronic throttle control, glow plugs, swirl motor failure (low pressure in rail or fuel rail pressure malfunction) and also speed sensors. The vehicle then revved up on its own without acceleration while my foot was positioned firmly on the brake pedal. Immediately following that, the word "transmission" appeared on the dash, then the check engine light, then the collision indicator as if a car crash had occurred, which it had not. Finally, the power steering became very stiff. Drove the vehicle to the dealership it was purchased from and they said the codes were unknown like hieroglyphics. Left vehicle there. The following Monday the dealership informed me there were 3 software upgrades that were needed on the vehicle, however, those upgrades did not correct the problem. Technician also informed me the car was not safe to drive and they didn't feel safe driving it themselves and got off of the highway during a test run. The technician further explained the vehicle had 3 test runs and failed all 3 and it was beyond their expertise so Chrysler engineers would be consulted this week. Lastly, the technician informed me I "may be ahead of a recall issue." The car is 5 and half months old. I ordered the car, meaning, I had it made/built from the manufacturer. It was not a car purchased from the lot. Therefore, no other drivers of the car and it is brand new. It is a safety concern, especially since the Cherokee has been out of production for many years until the 2014 release. As a side note, I remember an incident that occurred the week prior when the vehicle had difficulty shifting gears (automatic transmission). Instead it stalled and revved on its own.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #14

Jun 272014

Cherokee

  • 8,000 miles
I was driving on expressway and vehicle slowed down service transmission light came on.also traction control lite, check engine and another light came on I was able to pull over vehicle would not shift to park.after several minutes I turned engine off.when I restarted vehicle and shifted to park the shifter got rough and jumped to park.since then the Jeep has been at the dealer 2 more times for the same problem. Got it back on 10/8/14 and feel very unsafe driving it.this is my fourth Jeep and I never had a problem with the other ones.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #13

Aug 202014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 2,130 miles
When slowing down from any speed foot off gas pedal vehicle suddenly accelerates. Happens at various speeds. Even put transmission in neutral coming to stop and it still accelerates on its own. At every stop and corner just takes off. Yesterday almost hit the car in front of me. I was stopped and the Jeep decided to accelerate. Had it at dealer on 9/12/14 for service. Jeep did tranny update but did nothing. Head of service department said I just needed to drive it to work itself out. I thought he was joking but he was actually serious! going to take Jeep back to dealer before it kills me ( not joking).getting worse all the time.

- Lake Saint Louis, MO, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?