Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There's no way around it, the Cherokee's transmission is junk. There's no other explanation for why a vehicle, usually with under 40,000 miles, would have so many complaints

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,585 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #132

Nov 092016

Cherokee

  • 30,344 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had just picked up my Jeep 2014 Cherokee trailhawk from the dealership following the S-55 recall software update. (my vehicle was deemed not to need the new transaxle wiring harness parts, only the software update.) upon leaving the dealership, the battery light and alarm chime came on while making a U-turn and the steering became very hard at low speed. At the next traffic light, I experienced a loss of steering as slowing to a stop. When the light turned green, I was able to complete the left turn as the steering re-engaged upon acceleration. I immediately pulled into a parking lot and had extreme difficulty turning into a parking space, as steering went out again as the brakes were applied and speed decelerated to a stop. I was able to limp vehicle back the short distance to the dealership by keeping off the main highway and using parking lots and back streets. This occurrence of events was the same as my husband experienced prior to the S-55 transaxle wiring harness recall software update, except he eventually also lost all emotive power (complaint # 10915926). The service technician at the dealership could not replicate this issue, possibly because I inadvertently turned vehicle off in service lane, which may have reset the system temporarily.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #131

Nov 062016

Cherokee

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While attempting to start the vehicle, it failed to start. There were no warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 21,000.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #130

Oct 202016

Cherokee

  • 8,800 miles
Chryslter recall 3 S55 recall repair is taking too long to complete! I'm a heart patient and my wife has parkinson's and we have to trave over a mountain pass to see doctors. We feel unsafe in this car. We can not R]trade due to the length of the recall!

- Yakima, WA, USA

problem #129

Oct 072016

Cherokee

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The engine shut off 11 times while driving in the freeway and in the streets. Two of them almost cause an accident while driving up hill and driving in the freeway over a speed of 65mph. The power shuts off without warning while moving and it needs to be restarted once to several times to start the engine. It goes from drive to neutral to rengine shutoff. It kept happeningfor two years now and before the S55 transaxle wire harness. Fremont Jeep dealership are insisting that it is still okah to drive even after numerous incidents and even if they dont have the parts yet for the recall. Stated in the recall information "the loss of motive power could crash without warning". I am very afraid to use the car and afraid for my passenger as well as for other people if ever there will be a major accident that the Jeep/Chrysler is waiting to happen before they make a move. They dont recommend anything but to wait for indefinite time frame of when the parts gonna be available. I think they want us 2014 Jeep Cherokee owners risk and sacrifice our life.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #128

Apr 112016

Cherokee

  • 50,000 miles
Bought this car used January 1, 2016. The previous owner had it for a year and a half. Great condition, about 40,000 miles on it, carfax checked out and I bought it from a Chrysler dealership. On October 12, 2016, leaving work for the day, I drove about a block and the car shut off on me as I was leaving a stopped position. I had to put on my emergency lights and have cars go around me until it finally turned back on after several minutes of pressing the start button. Luckily, all three times this happened at a stop on city streets, but there's no way of knowing if this would happen on the interstate. But even sitting stalled in the road puts me at risk if a car behind me were to not expect a stopped car and crash into me. I had this same issue back on April 11, 2016 & July 7th. The dealership on those occasions determined that was a sensor that was ┐over sensitive┐ saying the oil levels were low and it was shutting the car off as a precaution. They asked for me to come back in every 2,500 miles to readjust the sensor. That's incredibly inconvenient for my busy lifestyle and it's already been in the shop for this reason for two weeks. Today is the Oct. 15th and I won┐T have a chance to even schedule an appointment for a week. We bought this car because we're planning on starting a family, with all of the issues I'm having, I'm not even comfortable giving friends a ride. I love this car, but feel really ripped off by being sold a car with problems they won't or fix. Because I don┐T feel safe, I avoid the interstate and don┐T feel comfortable taking this car on any trips too far from home. Also would like to note that on the first occasion of taking this car to the dealership, they had to update two pages of software updates and two safety recalls they had not done before I purchased the vehicle from them. They did take care of this at that visit.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #127

Jul 012016

Cherokee

  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 50 mph, the vehicle stalled and all the warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact lost control of the vehicle and ended up in a ditch on the side of the road. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the cause of the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V5229000 (power train). The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 43,000.

- Leesville, LA, USA

problem #126

Oct 102016

Cherokee

  • 30,097 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving the vehicle, all of a sudden there was a shutdown of the vehicle's computer/electrical system, a loss of any steering control, an immediate vehicle deceleration with no ability to correct by accelerating, and a loss of braking control.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #125

Oct 102016

Cherokee

  • 30,470 miles
On October 10, 2016, I was driving on an access road next to a highway when my car lost motive power. I was driving at approximately 40mph and I did not have enough time to pull over from the lane I was in. My dashboard kept flashing "service transmission" and also to "put the car in park and re-start." For ten minutes, I attempted to re-start the vehicle and begin driving again. Each time I would try to put the car in drive, there was a very loud racket sound from shifting and I had to put the car back in park. Finally, on the sixth attempt, I was able to shift into drive without the sound and I immediately drove my car home. I am disheartened as this was a purchase of a used vehicle only a few days prior, on October 8, 2016, that had only 30,000 miles. Needless to say, my car is already at my local Jeep dealership for repair, and not much reassurance with regards to the associated recall, as parts are not ready yet. This was intended to be a family vehicle, but if it stops while driving, it will render my family completely unsafe. The S55 recall concerns a poorly designed wiring harness, that causes the computer to shift the vehicle into neutral while driving. NHTSA recall number: 16V529 recall date: August 22, 2016 manufacturer recall number: S55

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #124

Oct 082016

Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles
Car randomly stops moving while driving, sometimes while turning a corner. Seems like it turns itself off, but lights on dash are still on. I'm not really sure what causes it and am hoping that it will be resolved once they have a solution to the current recall for the transaxle wire harness. Have brought it to dealer a few times and they keep telling us it has to do with the 20% oil life. I don't see how that would make a car turn off. And why would they make a car that needs to have the oil changed before the oil life is up or at all.

- Center Moriches, NY, USA

problem #123

Oct 072016

Cherokee

  • 25,700 miles
Vehical has lost power 4 times while driving. Almost causeing a collision with the vehical behind me. Vehical was diagnosed by private mechanic dealership does not have any available appointments and parts are not available at this time to correct the recall. This vehical is unsafe to drive and has been reported to Jeep but they cannot help till it is diagnosed with a certified Jeep mechanic

- N Cape May, NJ, USA

problem #122

Sep 302016

Cherokee

  • 1 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car will slip into neutral with no warning and the engine goes into idle. This has happened six times including while exiting the freeway almost causing me to be rear ended. Jeep is aware of the issue and has issued recall S55. They have no fix and they don't know when one will be available. The mopar support reps agree this is very dangerous but will not provide a loaner or rental because they don't know how long before a fix will be available. This car has become very scary to drive and I am getting no help from the dealer or from Jeep.

- Auburn, WA, USA

problem #121

Aug 242016

Cherokee

  • 25,708 miles
On Wednesday morning, August 24th, 2016, my wife was driving our 2014 Jeep Cherokee latitude in traffic when for an unknown reason the vehicle stopped dead, no warning, no coasting to a stop, an immediate very abrupt stop. The steering wheel locked up, the front wheel drive system locked up, the vehicle was unresponsive to any driver commands. My wife had to seek assistance in moving the vehicle to a safe location out of the traffic lanes. We seriously believe that this unintended and uncontrollable vehicle action is a safety issue inherent within this model of 2014 Jeep Cherokee. Upon diagnosis by the local fca dealer, we were informed that the vehicles oem battery failed the load test and would be replaced under the Jeep factory warranty, battery part number bb94R750-aa. The dealers service representatives seemed to be unconcerned with what in our opinion is a serious design flaw with this vehicle. The vehicle has received 3 previous software updates under factory warranty due to safety recalls.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #120

Sep 232016

Cherokee

  • 36,000 miles
Vehicle loses power while driving and fails to accelerate properly which poses a safety issue when driving on freeways where speeds can reach up to 70-80mph. The vehicle will only reach first gear and reach only a speed of 40 mph.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #119

May 012014

Cherokee

  • 150 miles
Main issue is with the nine speed transmission on our 2014 Cherokee. We have had issues with this transmission from the day w bought car. Initially there were the bumps, bangs, knocks and hard erratic shifting both up and down shifting. Now with 20,000+ miles, and many-many trips to dealer we are still having to deal with a situation in which the transmission has been "flashed" to remove second gear on downshift, thus hanging up in third, and causing vehicle to almost stall out when trying to accelerate from a slow, non-stopping speed. This has created some gut wrenching as well situations. The only way I have found to overcome this problem is to manually shift into second gear - - - and this is supposed to be an automatic transmission. My wife generally uses this car and does not really understand the "manual shifting part". hopefully, she won't get injured or worse in this thing!!! this needs to be fixed!!!!!

- Statesville, NC, USA

problem #118

Sep 232016

Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 45 mph, the gear shifted automatically. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was determined that the failure was due to NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train). The contact received the recall notice; however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. In addition, the radio started changing stations automatically. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 20,000.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #117

Feb 062016

Cherokee

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 50 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed, but failed to respond. The service transmission warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission failed and the valve body and parking brake needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred two additional times. On another occasion, the headlights became inoperable and the "head lamp out" warning message illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the body control module and head lamps needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. While driving 15 mph, the automatic power locks failed to operate without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for repair; however, the specifics of the repair were unknown. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 26,000...updated 10/13/16

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #116

Mar 262016

Cherokee

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V509000 (visibility) and 16V529000 (power train); however, the part for the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. While driving approximately 35 mph turning the vehicle to the left, the vehicle failed to turn with the road. The vehicle went off the road and flipped several times on all sides. The passenger lunged forward and fractured the windshield. The vehicle was desroyed and towed. The air bags did not deploy. The passenger received facial, neck, back, and head injuries. Medical attention was needed. A police report was filed. The contact's insurance company stated that the body control module failed and caused the crash. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and a case was opened. The approximate failure mileage was 26,000.

- Brixey, MO, USA

problem #115

Jun 092016

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning and failed to restart. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the electrical system failed and the valve body and body control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred three additional times. The contact mentioned that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 11,000. The consumer stated the vehicle broke down on four separate occasions.. when the consumer tried to restart the vehicle, the electrical components came on and the engine tried to turn over, but failed. All power to the vehicle was working inside; radio, dash, touch screen and lights were on. The consumer tried to restart it again, but the engine did not even turn over, but all the electrical components continued to work. The consumer called a tow truck, and when he jump started it, the vehicle made a loud noise when dropping into gear and jerked upon acceleration. When the vehicle broke down the fourth time, it dropped out of gear with a jerking motion. The transmission failed while merging into the traffic. Once the vehicle transmission dropped out of gear, the parking brake engaged and the vehicle proceeded to fish tail across three lanes of traffic. The vehicle loss power steering and failed to accelerate. Updated 11/08/16. Updated 11/08/16

- Wrens, GA, USA

problem #114

Aug 102016

Cherokee

  • 45,000 miles
Car was parked and upon startup produced a loud bang. Car reversed after a jerk and a complete loss of power. Turned car off and turned it back on. Felt like it rode in neutral without the ability to accelerate. Almost caused an accident. I had my child in the back seat. Every light on the dashboard lit up-failed transmission ect... I have photo documentation.

- Freehold, NJ, USA

problem #113

Feb 012015

Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving various speeds, the system board randomly lost power and the vehicle suddenly shut off. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but the cause of the failures was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Pikesville, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?