Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2014 Jeep Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,401 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #151

Jun 302016


  • miles


I have a 2014 Jeep and every time I drive the transmission slips gears, mostly if I am slowing down but it also does it when I am accelerating. I have had this problem for about 2 years now and the dealer says it nothing to worry about. I also have a problem with the air bag light it keeps coming on and off I have told the dealer about this and it has taken them months to finally listen to me. Then I find out that there is and electricall problem, honestly what else can go wrong. I mean seriously 6 recalls already and I am sure there is no need for this. To be quite honest I was told today that my car was no safe to drive sue to the electrical issue.

- Providence, RI, USA

problem #150

Feb 212016


  • 13,000 miles
This vehicle's transmission slips in and out of gear without warning. This causes the car to "jerk" at any given time. It sometimes happens as I am accelerating, but also happens as I slow down so there is no definite action that is being performed to cause this problem.

- Grand Island, NY, USA

problem #149

Jun 272016


  • 28,000 miles
Transmission failed while driving at about 60 mph on a highway. Lost power, lost power steering. Could barely steer car to the side of the road. Turned off, waited, restarted and it ran fine. Service transmission light came on for a while, then went off after about 50 miles. This happened for the second time on June 27, 2016. After the first time several months ago we took the vehicle to the dealership for a software update, this is really dangerous. Losing power and power steering while traveling down a highway at 60 mph could result in an accident if it happened in traffic. Luckily for us, traffic was light so we we able to get off the road on both times this has happened. Must be a software defect, as the engine is running fine.

- Hyde Park, UT, USA

problem #148

Jun 282016


  • 25,000 miles


This car is an accident waiting to happen! the transmission (I-4 specifically for me) buckles and lunges in gears 1-3. it gets stuck in gear, it goes into 2 gears at the same time. It has gotten stuck on the acceleration. I am terrified to drive this car in traffic, or anywhere I need to go slowly since it does not always respond when I brake or give it gas. I wouldn't put my worst enemy in this car! the transmission problems started on say 1 with 100 miles on the car, and have kept going for the past 2.5 years. I have had a transmission replacement and that did not help.

- West Caldwell, NJ, USA

problem #147

Apr 152015


  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 25 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle hesitated and jerked before moving forward. In addition, the vehicle failed to start. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #146

Jun 152016


  • 21,000 miles
Numerous computer/electrical intermittent issues with vehicle. Most recent episode the care would completely shut down at freeway speeds. No engine, no lighting, as if it was hit with an electromagnetic pulse. This unfortunately locks the steering as well. The key fob is non responsive. After 5-7 minutes (if you happen to not get hit and die), the car comes back to life (interior lights come back and after another minute will start). Also have had "service air bag indicator system", "service parking brake", "service transmission", "4WD system unavailable", check engine light, traction control light, battery light, parking brake amber service light, flashing odometer, flashing D in dash. Dash completely goes blank intermittently as well. Transmission has also been stuck in neutral numerous time (can not turn car off unless in park, cannot shift). Numerous trips to dealer for warranty service. This last time they found a ground connection loose in the driver side kick panel. So if that ground comes loose or frayed, the car can just kill me?

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #145

Jun 062016


  • 4,255 miles


We purchased our 2014 Jeep Cherokee in December 2014 (new). We noticed immediately the transmission was jerking, and when coming to a stop the vehicle would surge forward. The dealership said the vehicle had to get use to our driving. We continued to have problems with the transmission and took the vehicle to the dealership. After four trips to the dealership, and being told they could not re-create the problem the service tech was able to re-create, however we were told there was nothing the dealership could do, and we would have to drive the vehicle until it broke down. In April 2016, the transmission was replaced. Immediately, we begin having the same jerking, lurching and surging. Now we have been told, we need to have another transmission put in the vehicle. This vehicle only has 23,500 miles on it, and this is the second transmission. I have filed a complaint with Jeep, and gone through arbitration, however Jeep doesn't feel the need to stand by their product. This is the eleventh Chrysler/Jeep/Dodge product we have purchased, and it will be the last.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #144

May 222016


  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 5 mph, the contact heard an unusual noise underneath the hood. The vehicle immediately accelerated and crashed into a parked vehicle, causing extensive damage to both vehicles. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained a minor injury that did not require medical attention. The vehicle was towed to a dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and an investigation was ordered. The failure mileage was 13,000. Updated 08/31/16

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #143

May 192016


  • 27,000 miles
The Jeep continues to stall with no warning in traffic, causing a serious risk of collision. The vehicle has also experience unwanted and automatic acceleration, also causing a serious risk of injury. A leaky break line was just replaced. The vehicle only has 27,000

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #142

May 262016


  • 23,515 miles
Please read...traveling on interstate 75 N / approximate speed 65 - 75 mph / vehicle "turned off, went dead" / coasted through two lanes to get to an emergency side spot! it truly is a miracle that we were not ran over!!! contacted a wrecker service and having to wait 1 1/2hrs on the side of a busy interstate, our vehicle was lifted and taken to a dealership / the wrecker driver wasn't able to get vehicle started or out of gear until he accessed help via his phone, which allowed him to move gear but still didn't crank / next day, a rep from the dealership called and said the vehicle started up and the issue mentioned above could not be replicated"?? a strange report was given that there seem to be grease from an unknown source that was seen under the vehicle and perhaps that caused the problem??" we picked the vehicle up and made it home (70 mi) / this is extremely worrisome, not to mention, of course it could be deadly! please help.

- Buford, GA, USA

problem #141

May 142016


  • 12,000 miles


The primary safety concern is the rough and erratic shifting between gears. The sluggish and unreliable acceleration and the sudden downshifts are troublesome. I've now been told that I need a new transmission at 12,000 miles.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #140

May 042016


  • 21,000 miles
After only 21000 miles and regular maintenance at the dealership, my check engine light came on. The dealer would not book me a service appointment any sooner than one week out. Two days after the check engine light illuminated, as I was driving on a city street to work, a "service transmission" warning appeared and the vehicle immediately became unresponsive. Even switching to tiptronic and no matter how much the gas pedal was depressed, I was not able to accelerate nor have the engine RPM move beyond 1000 RPM. I was lucky that I chose not to take the highway to work or I would have been rear-ended with the car slowing down so much.

- Tigard, OR, USA

problem #139

Apr 222016


  • 19,000 miles
Continuously having issues with the vehicle, related to acceleration while driving in traffic, car shutting off in traffic, not starting back up right away, gears shifting roughly while - is an automatic 9 speed 4 cylinder vehicle. I have been offered a 5% discount on a Jeep trade in by the Jeep resolution department, but at this point, not sure if its worth buying another Jeep. I am afraid of this happening again. Unfortunately, the mechanics, cant find what wrong with the vehicle, and they also test drove the car, driving around the dealership, on side streets, but not in traffic, or stop and go traffic. I am frustrated at this point, jepp knows these are issues with many of there engines, and fail to truly hear the customers complaints, to the point of taking these complaints more seriously. The resolution offered are not good enough to fix the issue, as I feel I would trade this vehicle in and they will turn around and sell it again.... not safe at all. ! I need help, as I don't know what to do next, take the offer or just trade in with a different dealer and car type/model nothing Chrysler/Jeep related uuuggghhhh!

- Summit, IL, USA

problem #138

Mar 192016


  • 53,000 miles
Vehicle misfires. Dealership has had it since March 19th and has replaced 3 heads. Still no resolution. Have contacted Chrysler for help and have a case manager but not really helpful. I would like the engine replaced but Chrysler says it costs too much. I feel it is unsafe to rework the heads so many times.

- Addison Twp, MI, USA

problem #137

Apr 142016


  • 19,000 miles
2014 Jeep Cherokee bought in December 2014 500miles. Shortly after purchase, car shifting erratically, lunging forward at stops, and not accelerating when stepping on gas appropriately. On the way to work one day, car bogged down in traffic, turned off, would not turn back on for over 30 minutes, trying to start all lights and check engine warnings were going haywire. Car finally started, got to work, but car did not start up again after my shift, had to have car towed to dealer. They did updates and computer resets, picked up vehicle, only for vehicle to shut down on the lot, they took it back in, and kept it over night. They felt they fixed the problem, but again on the way to work, car still shifting dangerously, lunging forward, and has shut down again. Even while in a drive thru, car lunged forward almost hitting another car in front of me. Car taken back into dealer, again they completed a ton of recalls, and updates, some repeated form the last few times, I took the car in. The car has been in the shop 5-6 times now, with 2 claims escalated to Jeep/Chrysler. I am pregnant, and with the car shutting down in the middle of traffic is extremely, lunging forward, shifting erratically, and bogging down while on highway has only brought fear to my safety, the safety of my pregnancy, and the safety of others driving around me, as I hope this can be fixed before something horrible happens. I have requested to claims that the car be replaced, or be issued a buy back, safety is my main concern ! this vehicle is no good< and should not be driven or resold !

- Summit, IL, USA

problem #136

Apr 152016


  • 32,000 miles
The vehicle has stalled at slow speeds several times over the last few weeks while making slow speed turns or coming to a stop. The vehicle will not re-start for several minutes and only after several attempts. The dealer has investigated the problem but cannot duplicate the problem. It is definitely a safety concern as the ehicle is stranded in the road.

- Jefferson, WI, USA

problem #135

Feb 222016


  • miles
Have not had an issue yet, but am concerned there may be. I've had problems with the shifting/stalling/engine hesitation/transmission issues of my car since I purchased it on 2/19/16, with only 15,300 (approx) miles on it. Does fine on the highway, but all kinds of problems in town. The dealership is telling me there is nothing that can be done until Chrysler Corp finishes the computer update to repair all this. Wanted this safety issue out there, in case something does happen. Very frustrating!

- Deer Park, WA, USA

problem #134

Feb 292016


  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contacted stated while at a stop sign, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact had to put the vehicle in park in order to restart the vehicle. The failure occurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the oil change was not performed at a 1,000 miles. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was $33,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 05/18/16

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #133

Apr 042016


  • 70,000 miles
Bought this at steve jones Jeep in owensboro ky in may of 2014. I took it back to them 4 times complaining about transmission shifting erratically. This is a similar complaint that I have read over and over about on this site and other forums. Jeeps response is to do an other software download. They did 2-3 software reloads but said it was running normal and there was nothing they could do. I have learned to deal with it for last 1.5 years. It has days where it shifts really rough other days it is great. My friends joke with me whether my car is having a good or bad day, seriously! sounds funny but it has been really aggravating. Every once in a while it stalls when coming to a stop at stop signs/lights, or when taking off. To restart have to remove key and then it usually restarts fine. This morning it seemed to be running fine, I pulled out of subdivision and it stalled in middle of road. I tried restarting and it wouldn't, could hear fuel pump up and engine turned over then starter disengaged. During this I was nearly hit by a on coming car. I push if to side of road. After 8th or 9th try it finally started. It had a red warning "service transmission" and engine light on. It stalled several more times after putting in gear. It felt like it was stuck in 3rd gear. I shut it off for 10 minutes then restarted it and warnings were gone and it drove normal to work. Coming home it also stalled once while leaving work. Today was the first time this has happened that it nearly caused a major accident. I really fear this problem will end up in my death, I will end up killed in an accident because of a software glitch. I made another appointment foe this Saturday at dealer but I already know what the out come will be. They will reload the software and there will be no change. I can not afford to buy another vehicle but after this morning I feel I have to do something.

- Spanish Fort, AL, USA

problem #132

Apr 012016


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact noticed a burning odor under the hood and, within seconds, the engine caught fire. There were no injuries. The fire department extinguished the fire and stated that it initiated at the transmission area. The vehicle was towed for further inspection. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 30,000...updated 05/17/16

- Macclenny, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?