Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There's no way around it, the Cherokee's transmission is junk. There's no other explanation for why a vehicle, usually with under 40,000 miles, would have so many complaints

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,484 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #40

Jul 052016

Cherokee

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been calling local dealerships (ancira and ingram park) on and off since June/July of 2016 and every time someone from the service department claims they're too busy to schedule and appointment and will call me back in a week or so. No one ever calls me back, seemingly refusing to handle the recall.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #39

Nov 022015

Cherokee

  • 300 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While the vehicle was being flat towed, it vibrated uncontrollably. The contact stated that there was a death wobble to the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed, but the faiulre could not be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 300.

- Grand Marais, MN, USA

problem #38

Jul 052016

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced severe veering while being towed by the contact's motorhome. The contact stated that the vehicle must come to a complete stop in order for the veering to stop. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the wiring harness was inferior and needed to be replaced with an updated one. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 25,000....updated 09/19/16

- Monreville, NJ, USA

problem #37

Feb 262016

Cherokee

  • 30,252 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On several occasions, our Jeep Cherokee has begun to "wobble" severely while being flat towed behind our motorhome. This occurred three times on a recent 2,000 mile trip. The "wobble" is so severe that we have to bring the motorhome to a complete stop before the car begins to track normally. We have had it happen when we ran over a particularly rough expansion joint on the interstate. Going from 65 mph to a complete stop on a busy interstate is extremely dangerous. Another example of it being very dangerous is when the "wobble", occurs when we are in a construction zone where there are rough roads. Coming to a complete stop in heavy traffic in a construction zone also creates a situation that can cause an accident. We pull the Jeep behind a 40' 2013 newmar dutch star. Our tow bar is a blue ox avail 10,000 lb tow bar. We keep the motorhome and tow bar in good condition and I don't believe our equipment is the cause of the "wobble". we have contacted Jeep on two occasions and have been told they are aware of the situation and that they have a "fix" for it. I have tried to procure the "fix" from Jeep but I have been unable to do so. I am asking NHTSA to force Jeep to immediately release the "fix" for the wobble issue immediately at no charge. My wife and I are leaving on two trips, one the last of April and one in the middle of may that will total nearly 10,000 miles. We want to get the repair completed prior to our leaving due to the safety concerns. Jeep was made aware of this by the family motorcoach association several months ago and reported the problem in their January 2016 magazine. I feel Jeep has had ample time to prepare and distribute information and parts to repair this problem.

- Jane Lew, WV, USA

problem #36

Dec 052015

Cherokee

  • 0 miles
In less than a year chysler Jeep has replace transmission, radio, read trunk door handle. Dec 5 2015 car started jerking again like this may -July 2015 and then @3:30pm 12 /5 /15 Cherokee stop in the middle of the intersection of 13 mile & utica. I had my 7yr old in the car and avoided traffic accident pulled over and it suddenly stopped again. Fortunately was able to get home was only five minutes away. Placed complaint to Chrysler they towed the vehicle 12/7/15. However yesterday 12/7/15 @6pm roseville Chrysler Jeep dealership service:(888)409-5930 called to tell me it was my error that Jeep Cherokee stop working because it was "due an oil change in October". I told repair shop my husband and I need to speak to a manager because 1st I received no light signal or notification from this digital display stating I needed an oil change which is provided by 2014 Jeep Cherokee second there is no way the vehicle should have been dry out of oil unless there is leak or something caused oil to dry up. This vehicle is a lemon and is dangerous and all I want is to exchange for another vehicle that is not a Cherokee. July 2015 Chrysler customer care dept. Said my case warranted a vehicle replacement but since roseville Chrysler Jeep have received their money from allay bank they refuse to assist me. This vehicle is dangerous and want to cancel my lease agreement - I pay my $380 lease on time every month I deserve a reliable vehicle from roseville Chrysler Jeep

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #35

Nov 122015

Cherokee

  • 31,000 miles
After dealership replaced transmission at 30,000 miles for improperly shifting we noticed a burning smell and noticed new transmission was slipping and not shifting properly. We called the dealership and was advised that the not get it in to be checked for another week and a half. At 9:10pm I went around the corner about 4 blocks to visit with a friend and left and came back to my home where I noticed smoke coming from underneath the hood. Upoing the hood I saw light from a flame and extinguished it using a garden hose. Minimal damage but fire non the less. Chrysler corporate stated I can not drive it and to let it sit un touched. I have a daughter to get to school and jobs to do that pays my bills. Three days pass I call Chrysler again and state I am going to fix the vehicle my self and send them a bill. I tighten the transmission lines they did seem loose. No transmission still leaking. 15 days later still no word from crysler. I have a $28,880 paper weight in my front yard costing me $380 a month. I have called crysler every day for a 2 weeks and all they can tell me is " its in our legal department". no call, no loaner, nothing. An expensive paper weight costing money.

- Duncan, OK, USA

problem #34

Nov 192015

Cherokee

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving straight, around 4pm on dry pavement, with a vaild drivers license, at 25 mph on a residential street with a 40 ft right of way, my cars suspension/ a frame broke into pieces, cause me to crash into a parked range rover. My front passenger wheel just about cane off. Further inspection of the crash reveled that the steering knuckle/lower control arm had broken into pieces. Air bags did not deploy.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #33

Oct 162015

Cherokee

  • 10,600 miles
We use this car as a daily driver and also flat tow it behind our motorhome. We are unable to continue to tow the car, because it has a dangerous front end wobble while being towed. We have ten years experience towing cars behind our motorhome. I have been told by other owners of the same model that they have experienced the same problem. Jeep has been informed, but has taken no action to correct the problem. We feel this wobble could result in serious injury or death it not corrected. Thank you rick and laura stephens

- Box Elder, SD, USA

problem #32

Oct 182015

Cherokee

  • 14,000 miles
On 10/18/2015, while flat towing my 2014 Jeep Cherokee at approximately 60 mph on I-5 near san clemente, ca behind our rv, we suddenly experienced a violent side to side swerving sensation. While working to control the rv, I viewed via the rear camera, the Cherokee rocking side to side, violently shaking the rv. The 2014 Jeep Cherokee is specifically designed to be flat towed behind the rv, and was connected to the rv with a blue-ox towing system. I had previously towed the Jeep Cherokee approximately 14,000 miles prior to this event with no problems. The violent swaying continued through the braking process, and did not cease until the vehicle came to a complete stop. After stopping on I-5, a preliminary investigation did not identify an obvious cause such as a flat/soft tire on the rv or Jeep, loose or damaged tow bar. I slowly exited the interstate and parked in a safe location for a closer inspection. Turning the Jeep's ignition to "on" without starting, I noticed my check engine light and electronic stabilitycontrol light were illuminated. After checking various rv forums, I discovered that others with 2014 Jeep Cherokee had experienced the same issue which seems to resolve itself after stopping the vehicle. I continued on my journey without any additional problems and the warning lights on my dash reset within a day or so. It appears to be a unique problem to 2014 Jeep Cherokee according to various rv forums. My 2014 Jeep Cherokee is equipped with the active drive II transmission specifically designed for flat towing behind my rv.

- Mooers, NY, USA

problem #31

Sep 212015

Cherokee

  • 22,000 miles
Experienced an uncontrollable car wobble problem three times, while flat towing our 2014 Jeep Cherokee behind our motor home in September on trip from Wyoming to Michigan. An irregularity in the highway initiates a violent side to side wobble of the entire vehicle which appears to attain a natural frequency that requires bring the vehicle to a complete halt to stop the oscillating. The third time this occurred was life threatening on I-80 South of Chicago at rush hour with five lanes of traffic at 60 plus mph. Luckily, I was in the outside lane where I could get my rig off to the shoulder and stopped. This is a major safety issue which other people are experiencing with the new Jeep Cherokee. Even though Chrysler specifically designed the new Jeep Cherokee to be flat towed behind a motorhome, and was one of the main reasons I bought the vehicle, the unpredictable danger the wobble prohibits flat towing. A fast growing number of consumers who experiencing the same problem need assistance from Chrysler on how to remedy this problem. Please instigate an investigation into this issue with Chrysler as there has been no acknowledgement of the problem on their part. We have our travel plans on hold until we can have a remedy to the problem.

- Battle Creek, MI, USA

problem #30

Aug 152015

Cherokee 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 35 mph on an uneven road surface with another vehicle hitched to the vehicle, it began to shake violently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 12,000. MA 10/14

- Lake Wales, FL, USA

problem #29

Aug 232015

Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle decelerated and the engine continued running as the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was merged to the side of the road, where it was turned off and restarted in order to reset the system which resumed normal operation. In addition, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 15V461000 (equipment). The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Williamsville, NY, USA

problem #28

Aug 052015

Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V392000 (suspension) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Masa, AZ, USA

problem #27

Jul 142015

Cherokee

  • 14,200 miles
Shortly after starting our 1500 mile trip on July 14 crossing a bridge the monaco diesel pusher motorhome towing a 2014 Jeep Cherokee 4X4 latitude with active drive II shook badly front-to-back and side-to-side and would not stop until I pulled over to the side of the road. Normally a bump will cause the mh to shake front-to-back momentarily. I got out and checked around and under both vehicles and found nothing amiss. Got in and headed on our trip. A couple of times that day the mh shook when hitting a bump but not as violently as earlier. No more shaking on the trip and no apparent damage. The Jeep had been disengaged and reengaged from the motorhome a couple of times with no sign of damage. We traveled from bryce canyon national park to capital reef np on 20 July over a curvy, hilly highway. At capitol reef we disconnected the Jeep and found the passenger side tow bar/tab had damaged the shroud in the front of the Jeep. We drove the mh and Jeep separately to moab, ut for repairs. When the mechanic removed the lower front shroud on the Jeep and inspected the damage he found the welds on the Jeep aluminum bracket that the tow-bar base-plate was fastened to were broken on the passenger side and cracked on the driver's side. We continued driving both separately to our home.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #26

Sep 012014

Cherokee 4WD

  • miles
2014 Jeep Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle wobbles and sways when flat towing behind consumers motor home and parking brake issues. The consumer stated the wobbling or swaying occurred when a rough spot was hit in the road. The consumer stated the incident happened several times. It was an intermittent problem and can not always be duplicated....updated 03-10-16

- Lancaster, TX, USA

problem #25

Feb 162015

Cherokee

  • 8,500 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving at 35 mph, the vehicle would vibrate. The contact received a recall notification for the rear suspension shock absorber; however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 8,500.

- Phippsburg, ME, USA

problem #24

Feb 112014

Cherokee

  • 1,304 miles
Grinding noise in front end, shifting hard with loud clunking noise, high pitch squeal when cold, engine miss when drive like a shutter, shift the car in drive - car went into drive but wouldn"T engage and dash was flashing like the computer didnt know what it was doing, exhaust sputtering noise.

- Armada, MI, USA

problem #23

Sep 022014

Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V392000 (suspension) was received in September of 2014. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wayne, MI, USA

problem #22

Sep 152014

Cherokee 4WD 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V041000 (air bags) and 14V392000 (suspension); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 05/19/15 the consumer stated the recall was completed. Updated 9/16/2015

- Marblehead, OH, USA

problem #21

Oct 152014

Cherokee

  • 3,500 miles
Mac haik Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram; 10/15/2014 - visited service center for inspection to confirm recall affected my Jeep. They indicated that it did and would order parts for replacement. 03/05/2015 - still no parts or repairs completed, called dealer on 3 occasions in the last 5 month and they stated that parts are still on order.

- Georgetown, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?