Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,468 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #12

Jun 182015


  • 13,900 miles


2015 Jeep Cherokee sport was purchased in October of 2014. Around end May 2015 experienced problems with braking. While coming to a stop sign brake would be pressed down but vehicles RPM's would rev up and vehicle would start accelerating forward. Vehicle was brought to shop after finally being able to make an appointment on 06/16/15. Mechanic was able to experience the problem and reset module on vehicle. But check engine light came on. Dealership gave vehicle back to us and we drove it for two more days and the problem still persisted. On 06/18/2015 a deer had entered highway and while braking vehicle again accelerated and hit the deer causing front end damage. Problem could of been 100 times worse because there were also bicyclists on road as well as tractor trailer traveling behind. Vehicle was brought to dealership via tow truck. Tow truck driver even stated there is something severely wrong with the vehicle. When driver took vehicle off flat bed he put the vehicle in reverse and the vehicle went forward instead of reverse plus the emergency brake came on by itself. Chrysler was contacted and they are doing an investigation on vehicle because of the severity. My wife and I just want them to take the vehicle back because we do not feel safe in it one bit.

- North Lawrence, NY, USA

problem #11

Apr 032015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 5,601 miles
4/3/15 transmission recall work completed. 4/25/15 car would not shift properly. Email of notification from Jeep at time light came on read: Malfunction indicator light indicates your vehicle needs service, prolonged driving could cause damage to the engine control system. Car taken to local dealer 4/25/15-5/8/15 transmission replaced. 5/13/15-5/15/15 no power steering, ABS and no 4 wheel drive available dashboard lights on. No email from Jeep stating lights on. Email from Jeep had been automatically sent at time engine light was activated. When service person was informed he said it was because battery had been disconnected for transmission work and I'd have to reload app. Service center states no history of dashboard lights on but did have history of a loss of communication. This is why the car had stopped email notification to me. The car no longer is communicating with it's programmed computerized parts ie; it's doing whatever it wants. 5/14/2015 contacted Jeep given case mngr[xxx]contact number 1-800-763-8422 ext [xxx], email case#[xxx]. [xxx] informed me he would send case in for review. 5/19/15 ABS and traction control dashboard lights on. Pictures taken of dashboard with lights on because of history of loss of communication indicated. Car no longer recording dashboard lights on and service department keeps telling me no light indicator on. 5/20/2015 sensor replaced. 5/20/2015 call to case mngr no answer or call back from casemngr. 5/22/2015 ABS and traction control dashboard light on. Jeep emailed me at time of dashboard light on. I did not reload app as instructed. Car started communicating again on it's own. 5/22/2015 Jeep informed me no refund, no replacement. They want to continue to fix it. This car is not safe. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Paw Paw, MI, USA

problem #10

May 142015


  • 2,056 miles
Vehicle began shifting hard, and accelerating when brakes applied. Lunges forward gaining speed while brakes engaged. No services engine lights at that times. Taken to dealer for service. Told by service man that it had 2 recalls for updates to transmission computer. Never notified about recalls or can't find recalls regarding transmission on their website. Updates applied today and was picked up. Drove approximately 10 miles toward home when it lunged hard, alarms sounded and service lights turned on. Taken directly back to dealer and awaiting their response. Other non safety related issues include driver side running light malfunction, smart screen audio/climate control malfunctions.

- Barbourville, KY, USA

problem #9

May 032015


  • 500 miles


I purchased a Jeep Cherokee 2015 on May 1st and started having trouble with the start/stop system on the 3rd. A passenger and I were coming to a stop and the vehicle completely shut off and stopped running. The control system, within the driver's panel, flashed start/stop system is unavailable, service start/stop system. I had to restart the car in the middle of the highway. It did this three times before we got home. The engine light also came on at this point. I did not drive it again until the next morning and hoped to make it to work and then take it to the dealer that afternoon. Well I shouldn't have done that... on the way to work, on the interstate, I started slowing down and the system did the same thing. As I sped up the gears starting sticking, the car was stalling and I finally had to pull over and restart the car. On the interstate!!! the car did this another four or five times before I made it to work and another three times before I got to the dealership. When I first arrived, they could not figure out the issue and no reprogramming fixed the problem. They did state that the car has a flash update (aka recall), which was not communicated to me when I purchased the vehicle. So finally today, Thursday, May 7th, (3 days later) Chrysler decided the car needed a brand new transmission. Wasn't the transmission brand new anyway"???" this purchase has been very disappointing and I am really concerned about the safety of these vehicles. I really hope this new transmission fixes the problem. I also hope a serious recall is communicated to the public before anyone gets hurt!

- Rome, GA, USA

problem #8

Apr 302015

Cherokee 4WD 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
When brakes are pressed the engine revs up, and jerks, the rpms shot up, then plummet, and the power surges, and you feel the car struggle to find the correct gear. Service engine light on, cannot be reset by dealer when at a stop and going up incline, no power at all May 1. 2015 brought to dealer. Hooked up to computer, an hour later dealer returns telling that the vehicle needs parts. They are back ordered. We are sent home with a unsafe vehicle told to come back in four weeks.

- Pittsfield, MA, USA

problem #7

May 012015

Cherokee 4WD 4-cyl

  • 400 miles
My wife was driving the car all day long the brake light would come on and off after picking up my children she was going by the dealership and decided to turn in because the brakes were acting funny and has she got into the dealership she had a total breakdown you're the guy looking at the car was in amazement that she made it there safely he had no idea how she made it there safely.

- Mokena, IL, USA

problem #6

Apr 242015


  • 2,017 miles


Backed out of business driveway onto busy street and placed vehicle into drive, as I depressed the gas pedal the emergency parking brake applied itself and vehicle stayed in place for several seconds until brake released itself. Nearly got rear ended by approaching traffic from rear. This has happened several times and could be a life threatening situation.

- Green River, WY, USA

problem #5

Mar 202015


  • 2,450 miles
I had just descended in center city heavily congested traffic from the entrance pass. About a 2000 foot decent. I was entering a traffic circle and slowed for traffic, pushing down on the brake pedal, it kicked back at me with substantial force. The pedal the went to the floor board. I had no brakes, and drove into the curb to stop the car. The Jeep has no emergency brake system only an electronic park brake. I found the same problem 2 months before ( at 1200 miles) when the transmission overheated and shut down all power, and left me with no steering or brakes on a narrow mountain road, and almost go me killed.( diagnosed by repairing dealer as a "defectively manufactured transmission" and replaced it). I had Jeep towed to nearest dealer. He could do nothing for that day. Called, next day, he said the problem was a "defective power brake booster", maybe have the part and repair done in a week. Second time hotel and cab home ( now at $800) on me. Big too bad, nothing we can do from Chrysler. The repairing dealer returned the Jeep on 27th. Selling dealer called to say all was perfect.picked up and drove 50 miles the transmission began to howl like a banchee. Dealer diagnosed problem as a " defective transmission mount". same dealer just replace the transmission 2 months ago. Still waiting for car to be repaired and returned. The 2015 Jeep Cherokee is a dangerous and life threatening engineered vehicle. Chrysler can not have any form of quality control, if 3 major components fail within 2600 miles as "defectively manufactured". the zf 9 speed transmission is a disaster and causing problems everywhere. The Chrysler corporation and dealer network is corrupt, non trustworthy, untruthfully, and noncareing from the top down. I would never recommend or buy anything from Chrysler again and would give most anything to get my money back.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #4

Nov 072014

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
Started the car and several warning lights were on check transmission, service parking brake called the dealer & were told it was safe to drive as long as the lights were not blinking.lights were not blinking drove toward the closest dealer (we were on vacation) we were told by the dealer the car may reset itself and after a few minutes of driving lights went out #2incident - Jan 7, 2015 stopped at a light and check transmission, service parking brake came on again, RPM 's were high but the car would accelerate slowly called the dealer and drove it in. Two days later will driving the car warning lights come on the car cuts out on me it has power but the car will not accelerate. Coasted to the side of the road. Turned the car off and on the lights were still on the car was able to accelerate. Pulled into a parking lot. After an hour I started the car, the check engine light was on so I proceeded home. At a light the car lunged forward ( I had my foot on the brake) the car would not accelerate. After turning the car off and then on the car still had it warning lights on the RPM's were high and the car would not accelerate properly. I was told there were program errors and the car was fixed. March 17 the car starts making a humming sound. March 18 on the way to the dealer I stopped at in intersection started to accelerate and all the lights came on and the car just cut out on me. I was stranded in an intersection. Called the dealer who told me to turn it off then on, which I did the car moved slightly RPM's were high, car was not accelerating properly. The car violently jerked when I engaged into park or drive..I was able to drive to the side of the road. Car is at the dealer and has been there for 8 days. I feel the car is unsafe to drive and I am frightened for my safety and my family.under Ohio law it has met the standards of the lemon law.

- Twinsburg, OH, USA

problem #3

Mar 182015

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 10,443 miles
The vehicle was in park and started. All of the vehicle warning displays turned on including the check engine. This vehicle is practically brand new and this should not happen. I also had similar problems with a 2011 model. Vehicle sensors are also giving erroneous readings.

- Carolina, PR, USA

problem #2

Dec 012014


  • 2,500 miles
When coasting or coming to a stop, Jeep will accelerate/jump forward while in 4th gear. This is very dangerous on icy roads.

- Cuyahoga Falls , OH, USA

problem #1

Dec 202014


  • 2,022 miles
While braking at 24 miles per hour the car abruptly downshifts and causes the vehicle to accelerate. I have noticed the longer I drive the vehicle, it will happen while I am slowing down at higher speeds at well. I have taken the Jeep to the dealership and they have flashed and updated my transmission but they said it was fixed but it was not. It is acting up more than it was before. It is incredibly dangerous to drive this car especially when trying to brake around a curve because it will speed up by itself.

- Smiths Station, AL, USA

Not what you are looking for?