CarComplaints.com Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,701 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 10 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #197

Aug 312015

Cherokee

  • 8,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Check engine light began coming on 8K miles. Doesn't shift properly won't accelerate properly. Has been in shop for same thing 4 times in 2 months. And light has been on all of 3months but had to wait on parts and loner. Bring it home only to have same issue next day. Many complaints online about this issue. They keep replacing same part and never fixes problem for more than a day or two.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #196

Nov 252015

Cherokee

  • 6,000 miles
After driving into my driveway, which has a partial slope as normal, I put the vehicle in park and removed the key from the ignition. I opened the door and started exiting the Jeep when is started rolling backward. I was able to scramble back into the Jeep and was able to break the vehicle to a stop. I then moved the Jeep up back to the driveway and applied the paring break. No damage or injury occurred but it scared the 'bleep' out of me.

- Highlands Ranch, CO, USA

problem #195

May 182015

Cherokee

  • 5,000 miles
The transmission suffers from hard shifts and delayed shifting. This occurs when shifting from reverse to drive, park to drive, accelerating from a stop and accelerating to pass another vehicle. The delayed shifting or hesitation is dangerous to drivers of this vehicle and others as it causes the driver of the Jeep Cherokee to unintentionally lurch into traffic. This is especially dangerous when making a left turn across oncoming traffic. In these situations when the gas pedal is depressed the engine revs and becomes loud but the vehicle does not move- very similar to if one pressed the gas while in neutral. This hesitation lasts a few to several seconds during which time oncoming traffic that was a safe distance away when the turn was initiated has become dangerously close. The transmission suddenly engages and propels the vehicle into the path of oncoming traffic. This problem is intermittent but frequent. It occurs every time I drive but not every time I shift from park to reverse, shift from park to drive, make a left hand turn, accelerate to pass, or accelerate from a stopped position. I believe this makes this issue especially dangerous because the driver never knows when or if this may occur. The vehicle has been serviced 3 times within 10 months of ownership for the above issues. It has had all available transmission module updates without improvement and is currently awaiting transmission replacement. Per the dealership the transmission replacement is unlikely to correct the issues as it is being replaced with the same faulty transmission. My vehicle has been in for service for more than 50 days cumulatively. The earliest anticipated arrival date of the new transmission is over 2 weeks away meaning that my vehicle will have been undrivable for more than 2 months before the earliest anticipated date of repair. First date of service 5-18-15

- Tecumseh, MI, USA

problem #194

Jun 022015

Cherokee

  • 7,718 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Problem started while moving. Now it's as soon as it startsmy problem started June 2015, whole dash lights up tire pressure, service air bag,4WD unavailable, brake failure, and when comes to stop disengages transmission.same thing started again August 3rd 2015 same list again. Received back again Sept 2nd 2015 drove for 2 days. Back to dealer again. Still there currently have not received back cannot figure problem out Chrysler is involved but they are rediculas case number available if needed

- Springbrook, PA, USA

problem #193

Nov 052015

Cherokee

  • 2,220 miles
During driving "4WD overheated. Temporarily unavailable" randomly shows up on the display and then goes away. The last I was taking it to the dealership "4WD svc" yellow light came on. Dealership looked at it twice and even changed some electronic component but the problem still persists.

- Springdale, AR, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #192

Jun 012015

Cherokee

  • 2,300 miles
When downshifting from 3rd to 2nd to 1st at an intersection, the transmission skips 2nd gear and finally drops into 1st at about 1-2 mph. If I accelerate prior to coming to a full stop, the transmission is in 3rd gear and has insufficient power to avoid a collision. The transmission also causes a dangerous problem when shifting from reverse into forward. Numerous times there is a sharp jerk which causes me to concentrate on retaining control of the car and losing awareness of my surroundings. This car is also well know for having an extreme wobble when pulled behind an rv - which is what I purchased it for. I haven't experienced the wobble yet as I haven't hooked up my Cherokee waiting for Chrysler to resolve the very dangerous wobble problem. All of the problems listed above occur while the vehicle is in motion - sometimes at highway speed and sometimes while driving in town.

- Matthews, NC, USA

problem #191

Nov 082015

Cherokee

  • 3,750 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle service engine light keeps coming on, service transmission light comes on. Vehicle shifts in and out of gear on its own. Parking brake activates on its own. The start/stop malfunction light comes on. It has been towed in to dealership 3 times. These problems have occurred while vehicle was in motion.

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

problem #190

Nov 092015

Cherokee

  • 8,000 miles
When attempting to accelerate from a stop position the vehicle's rpms will go up, however the vehicle will not move, and then will suddenly lunge forward. It also will shift very hard from gear to gear, and if stopped on a hill, and attempt to move from starting position, transmission does not engage right away, even though vehicle is in drive. It started doing this about two months after I bought the vehicle at which time it had approx. 2000 miles on it, and has continued.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #189

Nov 052015

Cherokee

  • 7,600 miles
I purchased my 2015 Cherokee 10 months ago and only has 7700 miles but as time has passed the shifting of gears is getting worse. If you let of the gas at 30mph when the car gets to 27mph it accelerates and you can see the RPM increase. When you brake and get to around 20mph the car does the same thing. I have had numerous occassions of almost getting an accident because of this when braking. Its also very dangerous to be going into a turn and the car start to go faster and I don't feel like I have control over the vehicle. During the first oil change I was advised the dealership of the concern and they said you just have to get used to driving a Jeep as they run rough compared to cars. I took my Jeep to the dealership 11/5/2015 since I complained again and now they do agree "something" is wrong with it but they don't know what due to its not giving them a code. I was given a rental car on 11/6/2015. On 11/10/2015 I was advised I needed a new transmission, the part was being ordered and should be ready in a few days. On 11/13/2015 I called to be advised a part was missing and it would not be ready until 11/16/2015. I called 11/16/2015 to see if it would be ready for me to pick up by 3pm and was told it would not be ready until 5pm, I told them I would pick up the Jeep the next day. Today 11/17/2015 my husband went to drop of the rental to pick up our Jeep and now it will not start, my husband was told they have no idea what is wrong but they will call later. At this point I do not feel safe having this vehicle and feel Chrysler should buy it back as now my resale value will decrease since it will show a transmission replacement at less than 8000 miles.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #188

Jun 252015

Cherokee

  • 15,100 miles
Purchased the Jeep in November 2014 brand new. First 6 or 7 months the vehicle performed fine. Around June/July 2015 some minor issues with the transmission in shifting and accelerating. As if the car could not find the gear and it was żlurchingż when taking off from a stopped position. Also, when the car is in park and turned off, it rolls several inches before stopping. Due to having to travel across country in August, took vehicle in for service 9/5/2015 for an oil change and recall work on an unrelated issue. I asked about a recall that I heard about on the news for Jeep Cherokee transmissions and was advised there was a software update available for my Jeep. After the software update, advised to drive my car as normal and give it 100 to 300 miles for the software to żget used to my drivingż and to settle in. Since that time, had a marked increase in transmission noise, shifting problems, lurching problems, and the vehicle rolling more when I stop. The Jeep seems to shift between first and second gear okay, but it regularly going over 3000 rmpss and higher to shift to all other gears. It is like it cannot find the gears and it getting stuck. There is also a good bit of noise with this that was not there. September 9, 2015, while merging onto 1-40, Jeep was having a hard time going from third to forth gear and then it could not hit another gear and the rpms reached 4500 before shifting. Almost got hit from behind by a huge moving truck! took back to dealership on 9/9/15. Since the transmission started acting up again. Jerky, shifting abruptly, not changing gears, gears catching and rpmss going into the 5000 & 6000 before shifting on acceleration. Took back in on 10/3/15. Since then, same transmission issues. Several severe incidents with the transmission not shifting, seizing up and lurching forward and gears not engaging. Took back dealership 11/16.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #187

Nov 142015

Cherokee

  • 14,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle is warm. Shifting between 4th and 5th gear, slams into 5th at 30-35 mph. Feels like the transmission is going to fall out from under the vehicle. 14,000 miles on vehicle. Normal operating temps on all gauges. I am wondering if the electric solenoid aren't performing properly. This hasn't been the first time that this has happened.

- Jenison, MI, USA

problem #186

Oct 022015

Cherokee

  • 2,500 miles
My car has had transmission issues from very early on. I can step on the gas, the engine revs up but does not register on the tachometer, then all of a sudden it catches and goes. I have been in 4 or 5 situations where I started pulling out into traffic and the car simply hesitated for several seconds before going. I actually had a very close call with a tractor trailer because of this hesitation. Also, you can step on the gas to accelerate and once at the desired speed then let off the accelerator and the engine stays at the accelerated RPM's for several seconds then shifts back out to normal RPM's. also, the car has had 4 separate electrical issues in 4 months as well. The check engine light comes on, then the engine cooling fan runs fast for about 30 minutes then shuts back down. I have had my vehicle at he dealership for problems 5 times in 4 months and they can't seem to find what the issue is or what to do to correct it.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #185

Oct 262015

Cherokee

  • 24,000 miles
Transmission sometimes stalls, lags behind gas pedal, slips, and will even shutoff on the rode. I have been stuck in the middle of the road multiple times, twice with my two children in the car. I have taken in to Jeep dealership each time to be told something different each time. Twice they have re-flashed ECU, once to replace control module, and once again to be told they couldnt replicate the event. This vehicle is a death trap. I would suggest staying far away from this car. I am in the process of attempting a lemon law before I am stranded on the road and involved in an accident.

- The Colony, TX, USA

problem #184

Nov 092015

Cherokee

  • 18,000 miles
When pusking the gas pedal from a complete stop, the car hesitates before engaging and then when it does engage, it accelerates at a high rate of speed and when slowing down it does not stop as quickly because the transmission is still engaged at a higher gear thus making rear impacts likely. Trying to make a turn either left or right in a high traffic congested area, it is almost impossible to to merge with the traffic quickly because of this hesitation. I feel like I am taking my life in my hands every time I drive this vehicle. This is a safety concern and should be treated as such.

- Hazel Green, WI, USA

problem #183

Nov 102015

Cherokee

  • 2,869 miles
My 2015 Jeep Cherokee limited 4X2 has the 9 speed transmission. The transmission worked well at first, but soon shifted hard, surged, clunked hesitated, and hunted for gears. At 1921 miles, the check engine light came on, indicating transmission overheating, and the dealer replaced the transmission. The new transmission worked well for about 500 miles, but has started the same combination of hard shifting, surging, hesitating, clunking, and hunting. Dealer now says this is normal for the nine speed transmission, and they cannot do anything until the transmission gives error codes. This vehicle is scary when crossing intersections or making left turns across busy streets. The surging when it is put into park is also scary.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #182

Nov 072015

Cherokee

  • 13,604 miles
6 times since purchasing the vehicle on Jan 30,2015 the car's transmission fails to engage after coming to a stop. Upon acceleration after a stop, the engine revs as if its in neutral when the gear shift is in drive often rendering the vehicle inoperable in the middle of an intersection. Several warning lights and messages flash including the disabling of the ABS system, emergency brake system, and shift vehicle into desired gear while still in drive. On 11/7/15 the lights began flashing while driving and the transmission failed to engage when the car came to a stop. Usually turning the car off and restarting will allow the vehicle to become operational again (with a check engine light illuminated) however, this time the vehicle would not even start and the transmission could not be shifted out of park in order to push it out of the middle of the street. This began the day after I purchased it with 80 miles on it and has continued to happen even after dealer "remedies" of resetting the transmission module, updating the transmission module and replacing the transmission module. This issue continues to worsen and is becoming increasingly hazardous. I do have videos of how the vehicle acts during these episodes and the dangerous position it has left me and my young daughters in when it occurs.

- Carpentersville, IL, USA

problem #181

Feb 212015

Cherokee

  • 13,000 miles
Bought my 2015 Jeep Cherokee in November 2014. Began having a very loud, annoying rattle coming from back seat and transmission issues in February of 2015. The transmission surges when you start the car, it clunks after you turn the car off, sometimes the car won't go when you give it gas and then it will kick in and be like a turbo boost pushing the car forward. It's a huge safety concern. You have to be careful when making turns when there is oncoming traffic because you may push the gas but the car may not go like it should or could jump forward and cause you to reared someone when taking off from a red light. It's been in the shop 5times for the backseat and 3 times for the transmission ( just put it back in the shop yesterday). They have reprogrammed the transmission twice and I don't know what they do to the seat - they put some tape on the metal or something like that but it of course didn't fix it. This is a horrible vehicle and I traded out of a vehicle with negatively equity and after all the issues tried to trade out of it but the car has lost nearly $10,000 in value in less than a year leaving me stuck with this unsafe vehicle. I am scared to drive this vehicle on the highway where you must travel at high rates of speed. In August of 2015. I was stopped at a red light, light turned green, all the cards began moving forward. I pushed the gas which with the transmission issue the car kicks toward pretty hard when you take off and the car in front of me stopped abruptly and I tapped the back of the person's car. It was very insignificant and I was not even ticketed but of course the other driver is now making a personal injury claim and I truly believe if the transmission in this car did not surge forward when you first push the gas I probably would not have even tapped this vehicle!

- Blythewood, SC, USA

problem #180

Sep 252015

Cherokee

  • 5,004 miles
I have owned this vehicle for 4 months and every 3 weeks I have to return it for service due to the transmission, 4X4 and traction control not working. Starts off in 3rd - 4th gear at any given time (almost been hit several times), will accelerate and surge forward during down shifting while stopping (almost hit several different vehicles) and now surges to 7000rpm when turning right and parking break has locked up 3 different times while in gear. 2 different dealerships don't know what to fix because it doesn't register any codes, they also tell me that this is a huge problem on all 9 speed transmissions they make, not just the one's in Jeep. But since they don't know what to fix and therefore its not an issue and I have to take my unpredictable and unsafe vehicle home and not the loaner because Jeep will not pay for it. I have contacted Jeep who assigned me a "resolution case manager" who will no longer return my phone calls for buy back or trading for a different vehicle. Is that their resolution, blow everyone off and hope we all go away"? why is nothing being done for everyone's safety? why are they still knowingly selling these vehicles with no know fix? how long before someone gets seriously injured? there is more than enough information that I have read on this page yet there is no action? isn't that what this site is for? action"

- Davison, MI, USA

problem #179

Oct 252015

Cherokee

  • 3,500 miles
I started leasing this brand new car July 2015. Initially there were a few minor shifting changes that felt unsteady. Coming home from work one day in October 2015 I noticed the car was not accelerating, would shift poorly into different gears and was jolting. At the same time the "service engine light" turned on as well as a message stating "service transmission". I waited seven hours for Jeep to tow the car, it took them one week to diagnose, and they estimated another week to repair. So far they've had the car for two weeks and the estimate pickup day would mark 17 days without the car if its even ready on time. They are replacing the entire transmission.

- Hoboken, NJ, USA

problem #178

Oct 252015

Cherokee

  • 3,500 miles
I started leasing this brand new car July 2015. Initially there were a few minor shifting changes that felt unsteady. Coming home from work one day in October 2015 I noticed the car was not accelerating, would shift poorly into different gears and was jolting. At the same time the "service engine light" turned on as well as a message stating "service transmission". I waited seven hours for Jeep to tow the car, it took them one week to diagnose, and they estimated another week to repair. So far they've had the car for two weeks and the estimate pickup day would mark 17 days without the car if its even ready on time. They are replacing the entire transmission.

- Hoboken, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?