CarComplaints.com Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,701 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 11 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #177

Oct 312015

Cherokee

  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At 2,000 miles the check engine light came on and the vehicle began surging as I would decelerate towards a stop. In addition as I would descend down a hill the vehicle would act as if it were downshifting into much too low of a gear. Finally, when I accelerate out of a stop the vehicle would surge forward. I owned the vehicle 35 days.

- Warsaw, NY, USA

problem #176

Oct 012015

Cherokee

  • miles
I have had problems with the transmission of my 2015 Jeep Cherokee since I got it. It will sometime not shift going up hills and over revs but what is very scary is it will sometimes just hesitate when I press the gas and then suddenly take off without warning. If I am pulling out into traffic and I press the gas to go quickly the car simply will not go or it will just go a little and then pause and I will be stuck in the middle of the road. Then it will jerk and take off without warning. I am afraid to drive this car. It is a lease so I cannot even do anything about it. If I bought it I can assure you, I would have gotten rid of it by now. I am terrified to drive it.

- Danbury, CT, USA

problem #175

Nov 022015

Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles
I purchased my 2015 Jeep Cherokee 3.6L limited edition in may since then had nothing but problems with the 9 speed automatic transmission rough shifting and the front axles causing wobbling at lower speed. After 5 or 6 visits to the service department they installed a new transmission and front axles. Two days later horrible noise was coming from the axles the vehicle had to be towed to service again. When the car was returned to me it seemed to be driving fine except it did not shift into 2nd gear and felt like the car has no power however it has 273 hp. Less then a 1000 miles later the check engine light came on along with a!. after diagnosis the error code was pointing to the transmission control module. The service administrator told me that they would clear the code and the tech would drive the car and if it does not come back the would consider it fixed, and not questioning why it happened at the first place. We feel completely unsafe in this car, I wish I never bought this vehicle. This car has 10500 miles on it and I had to take it 7 times to the dealership. Do not buy this type of car

- New Milford, CT, USA

problem #174

Oct 222015

Cherokee

  • 7,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Initially car shuttered when coming to a stop and was downshifting. The engine start/stop malfunction light illuminated and the service engine mil came on as well. From then on the car behaved as though it was stuck in 3rd gear causing a total lack of torque/power when accelerating from stops, and the engine rpms were going extremely high and the car wouldn't shift. Even tried using the "manual shift" feature but the car indicated it was shifting gears, but the rpms did not change, nor could you feel the car shift. When accelerating from a stopped position there was no power and the car crawled/struggled to get moving forward. Was almost T-boned trying to turn across oncoming traffic to get to a parking lot so I could stop. Once I pulled into the parking lot car would not go into reverse. I put it in reverse, but the car wouldn't go. Turned the car off and then on and everything seemed to reset except mil and car started bevaing normally. I took the car to the dealership and they "reflashed" the PCM, tcm, and BCM. 1 day later the car shutters when down shifting and error lights come on. Loses power, and 50% of the time seems like it is not shifting gears. 25% of the time won't go into reverse. Car behaves normally after restarting though the mil indicator light remains on. Usually around 10 miles later the whole series of malfunction starts again, always when the car is downshifting before a stop. Just dropped the car off to the dealer and they are having their transmission specialist look at it. When I dropped it off it was giving the same error code, "improbable error" from the tcm/PCM. The lack of power to accelerate and inability to go into reverse makes this car simply unsafe to drive when the errors occur. Attaching first repair invoice from the tcm/PCM/BCM reflash. Waiting to hear what the transmission specialist says.

- Asheville, NC, USA

problem #173

Sep 112014

Cherokee

  • 660 miles
Bought 2015 Jeep Cherokee brand new off the lot was so excited to own my first Jeep after 600 miles transmission failed and had to be completely replaced I was without it for 23 days. After I got it back and noticed the transmission either lunges forward when making a turn or looses power and reves up then engages took it back and dealer says we are aware of problem but there is not a update or fix for that.... I have never felt more unsafe or unsure about driving or trusting a vehicle than I do now. I have been back to dealer to have many updates/recalls done and tcm had to be replaced not just updated... I wish I never purchased a Jeep. O yeah I almost forgot the washer fluid liquid housing container is leaking took it to the dealer they said it has a crack in it defective so they need to order a new one...... ugghh what next?

- Pacoima, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #172

Jul 082015

Cherokee

  • 400 miles
When slowing, after removing foot from gas pedal, but before appling brakes.vehicle lunges forward..almost hit another car in parking lot. And at times when accelerating vehicle engine reves up but dosent move forward for a few secs..not good when turning left in traffic...

- Schaumburg, IL, USA

problem #171

May 182015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at 55 mph, the vehicle down shifts erratically. The contact also stated that while attempting to stop the vehicle, it began to increase in speed surging forward without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was informed that the vehicle was functioning as designed. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 1,000.......updated 12/17/15 the consumer stated Chrysler agreed to purchase the vehicle back him. Updated 12/21/15..........updated 01/06/16 the consumer stated the problem was with the 9 speed transmission. If shifter erratically in all driving conditions, sometimes down shifting to a low gear at highway speeds and surged forward on its own when slowing down for a red light or stop sign. Three upgrades were performed. However, the upgrades did not correct the problem. The consumer went to another dealer, because the check engine light kept illuminating, which was due to the transmission. The dealer stated there was an internal problem with the transmissions. The dealer recommended replacing the transmission. However, chrsyler offered to purchase the vehicle back from the consumer, in which he accepted. Updated 01/11/16.

- Concord, CA, USA

problem #170

Sep 192015

Cherokee

  • 4,000 miles
2015 Cherokee trailhawk with 4K miles. On several occasions when accelerating from a stop the vehicle does not seem to want to go anywhere. I almost got into an accident. Not a good thing when you are trying to cross traffic and your vehicle will not accelerate. I have also had very hard transmission shift when coming to a stop that will literally throw you and the vehicle forward. A lot of people say it is worse after taking the vehicle in for service so I have yet to notify the dealership of this issue. From what I can tell, they really do not know what to do. Someone needs to figure this out faster then what is happening now because someone is going to get killed or get seriously hurt.

- Platte City, MO, USA

problem #169

Oct 242015

Cherokee

  • 4,916 miles
Jeep 2015 Cherokee stalled while in motion in high speed lane of highwayin heavy traffic. Upon restarting, car was stuck somewhere around 3rd or 4th gear. Engine was skipping.

- Wallingford, CT, USA

problem #168

Oct 052015

Cherokee

  • 5,500 miles
July 31, 2015: Vehicle transmission overheated warning light came on while driving (8-10 miles) in morning and again in afternoon. In pm turned of vehicle and restarted, various warning lights including transmission requires service warnings appeared and transmission was stuck in one gear. July 31-augusts1 Jeep was at dealer for complete transmission replacement (approximately 5500 miles). October 5-October 7 vehicle left with dealer due to continued transmission issues while driving. Vehicle periodically clunks and jerks forward when shifting into low gear when coming to a stop. Becomes confused when slowing to a rolling stop, and hesitates to take off when accelerating from a stop. Currently when driving in daylight the auto headlights periodically flicker on and off when I drive through a shadow and make viewing displays in daylight problematic. Jeep customer care says that they could find no error codes and without "replicating the problem" or having error codes they can't do anything.

- Temple Hills, MD, USA

problem #167

Oct 152015

Cherokee

  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was trying to continue through a busy intersection, I pressed the accelerator and the car acted like it was in neutral. It revved up, but did not accelerate. I looked down at my gear shift and it was still in drive, however my dashboard said that the Jeep was in neutral. Because I could not continue through the intersection, I was rear ended by the person behind me.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #166

Oct 092015

Cherokee

  • 40 miles
Completed a new lease for a 2015 Cherokee 4X4 limited on $10.08. The next morning, the vehicle would not accelerate as I made a left turn into a five lane road. I was able to coast to a lot. Dealership towed it and within a week replaced valve body. When I picked up car, the car malfunctioned again on the porter who brought the car to me- service transmission and break lights on again (both happened with the vehicle lost power the first time). They kept the car and replaced the transmission control module. Two days later, the car is making a whistling noise while in park- possible burning smell coming from rear of care where the noise is most prevalent. Will return to dealer today but very concerned about the safety of this new vehicle of me and my two young sons.

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #165

Oct 162015

Cherokee

  • 120 miles
I bought a 2015 Jeep Cherokee trailhawk V6 on 10/14/15. On 10/16/15 while driving down a street at 45mph, the vehicle died. I managed to get off to the side of the road and after a couple of attempts it started again. The check engine light was now on and I had no acceleration. I managed to drive 5 miles to the dealership in "limp mode" and drop it off for repairs. The last I heard on 10/17/15 was that they were going to replace the tcm and PCM and see if that helps, it is now 10/21/15 and I do not have an update.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #164

Oct 162015

Cherokee

  • 12,800 miles
There have been 2 incidents within 6 months where upon acceleration onto a highway from an on-ramp, the vehicle will suddenly light up different warning lights in the dash stating that the 4WD is not functioning, the auto stop/start is inactive, and the vehicle will no longer be able to accelerate no matter how much you press on the gas. The car starts running at very high rpms, around 4,000-5,500 rpms, but will no longer accelerate past 40 mph. There is no more power being driven to the engine, the rpms are stuck at high revolutions, and you are not able to accelerate. This occurred as soon as the vehicle entered a busy highway, and immediately lost acceleration power. This is a serious safety risk, and it has happened to many other people with the same vehicle as reported on carcomplaints.com another issue that is a safety risk is when attempting to accelerate from a stopped position, the transmission will not accelerate but will hesitate for a few seconds, then roughly jerk into gear and take off. This is also a safety risk because when the car does not accelerate, your first reaction is to press on the gas pedal more, but when the transmission finally shifts into gear, it accelerates way too fast because of the amount of power you were giving the gas pedal. This happens constantly. Chrysler has taken no interest in solving these issues, and we have already had a new engine and transmission installed in this year old car, but none of the issues have been resolved through this, but have actually gotten worse. This car is no longer reliable, or safe to drive, and it is unacceptable. These transmission issues will cause accidents, as the loss of acceleration and power make being able to maneuver on the roads or the highway a severe risk. I have all service records for this vehicle upon request.

- Mercer Island, WA, USA

problem #163

Jun 112015

Cherokee

  • 9,000 miles
Bought the car new in Jan. 2015. Noticed first issue in June 2015 when it had no power going up a steep hill. End of June check engine light came on and start/stop unavailable. Took it back to the dealer and was told it needed a new transmission. It had 9,000 miles at this point. Got car back and immediately noticed problems with acceleration. Car will not accelerate properly from a stop. I have almost been T-boned numerous times D/T pulling out into traffic for a turn and having no power. Also will accelerate when trying to brake. Car returned to dealer, told they could not duplicate. Car continued to have same issues as well as loss of power when going up inclines. Took back into dealer. They put a recording device on the car to monitor what it was doing when I was having the issues. Car also started going forward when I would put it into reverse. Just heard back from the dealership about the car. It needs another new transmission. I am done with this car. Pretty sure it qualifies as a lemon under Ohio law. They will be buying this car back from me. Obviously the defect cannot be corrected. It is a huge safety issue.

- Xenia, OH, USA

problem #162

Feb 162015

Cherokee 4WD

  • 4,700 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the horn failed to function. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where they diagnosed that the air bag needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 4,700. Updated 02/12/16 the consumer stated two lower gears in the transmission failed. The manufacturer is buying the vehicle back, as the second transmission was beginning to exhibit problems. Updated 03/08/16.

- Indio, CA, USA

problem #161

Oct 072015

Cherokee

  • 4,500 miles
While applying the brakes in an attempt to stop the vehicle, the vehicle slows down to approx. 20mph and then accelerates on its own.

- Bethpage, NY, USA

problem #160

Oct 082015

Cherokee

  • 800 miles
I was driving to work, the vehicle had only 800 miles on it and both the "malfunction indicator light" and the auto stop/start light came on. When I stopped at a stop sign, the auto stop/start made a warning noise and a message came up saying "auto stop start not available have it serviced". it continues to do this. When driving down a steep hill the car races as if it isn't going to slow down and twice while climbing a steep hill the vehicle had no power, I couldn't get the vehicle to go any faster no matter how hard I pushed down on the accelerator. In these instances, the rpms go as high as 4000 and stay there and don't decrease. Twice I have had to pull over and shut the car off to stop this and "reset" the vehicle (which the mechanic of the dealership told me to do). The instances where the auto stop/start warning comes on are when I stop at a stop sign and when I am driving on relatively flat road going between 30 & 40 mph. The "racing" occurs going downhill between 50 & 60 mph.

- Chester, VT, USA

problem #159

Oct 142015

Cherokee

  • 5,800 miles
I bought my car 3/29/2015. My car has been in the shop 4 times in the 6 months since I have bout it. It had the transmission valve replaced, the harness replaces, and after all of that still did not fix anything. My car is currently having a new transmission put in ( only has 5,000) miles on it! so many costumers are having the same issues with their 2015 Cherokee, they are unsafe and have caused many accidents from transmission failures. They need to be recalled!!!

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #158

Aug 282015

Cherokee

  • 9,000 miles
Bought 2015 Jeep Cherokee trailhawk 2/2015 brand new. Started having creaking coming from sunroof area about 2 months in. Dealer states no fix for it. Took vehicle in for oil change at 9000 miles. Dealer performed 3 updates at that time. Received car back and auto start/stop light came on and went off several times. Also noted hard shifting and acceleration issues at that time. Took to dealer and they did "software updates." Got vehicle back "fixed, " drove it 3 blocks and lights came on again with same acceleration and shifting issues. Straight back to dealer. Ended up getting entirely new transmission at 9000 miles! picked up "fixed" vehicle again and noted severe jerking with slow stops and sluggish acceleration. Back to dealer for yet another software updated. Have back again now. Can now feel vehicle when it is idling. Feels like it has a mild shake or shudder. Also having occasional problems with sluggish acceleration particularly when turning. Also continue to have loud creaking from sunroof which is just getting worse. Scared to drive vehicle as am afraid it simply won't accelerate one of these times. Heaven forbid it is in rush hour traffic with a left turn. Vehicle is not reliable, have absolutely no faith in it.

- York, NE, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?