Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,188 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 13 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #111

Aug 072015

Cherokee

  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Shifting with the vehicle or accelerating often has unexpected results. Shifting from reverse or park to drive results in lunging forward with increased speed. Shift from reverse to park or park to reverse can experience forward lunging. Pressing the gas, or even attempting rapid speed increase, can result in an unresponsive vehicle - no movement forward, high revs and significant rpms. After several seconds a rapid "catch" occurs and an uncontrolled jerking lunge forward.

- Prior Lake, MN, USA

problem #110

Jul 262015

Cherokee

  • 1,790 miles
I purchased a latitude V6 2wd 2 months ago. This past Sunday, while stopping at a stop light, the car made a dinging noise, the check engine light came on along with the message that the start/stop feature was not working. When I began to accelerate, the car would not shift gears and by the time I got to 40 mph my RPM's were at 4,000. After a mile or so, I was able to pull over and turn the car off. When I restarted the car, the check engine light remained on but it was driving fine until I got to the next stop light. The same thing happened again. On Monday, I had the car towed to the dealership. They told me that they performed updates on my car and resolved the issue. I requested them to test drive it for good measure and was assured all was well on Tuesday morning. I picked up the car on Tuesday afternoon and before I could get to the highway, the same error returned! this time I was able to accelerate normally without the RPM issue but as I was slowing my car, the down shifting was extremely rough. The service guy brought his tablet into my car and said that the errors were coming from the PCM. Today, Wednesday, he informed me that they were replacing the PCM. I should get it back tomorrow or Friday. I will follow up on this issue. 7/31 - replacing the PCM did not fix the issue. They are now replacing the transmission - which is on a 3 week backorder.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #109

May 292015

Cherokee

  • 4,000 miles
Car transmission failed, causing us to get hit numerous times. Can not accelerate when necessary, sometimes it will go fine and other times gas pedal floored and go no where.

- Mesquite , TX, USA

problem #108

May 202015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 304 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Thank you!! the first incident occurred at 304 miles. Check engine light came on and the car started shaking and could not accelerate. Check engine light started flashing and called the dealership immediately. Had the truck towed in and they advised at first that the upper head of the engine blew, after speaking with my customer resolution rep (case number: [xxx]) the dealership called me again and advised it was just a bad spark plug and they fixed it. The second incident occurred about a week after this service I took a 200 mile trip to pa to visit family and on the way back from this trip the check engine light came on again. I checked the oil levels and there was nothing on the measuring stick. Had to car towed again and this time bayside Chrysler advised the O-ring went on the car and that it was replaced/fixed. After the O-ring service the car is still loosing oil but I can't smell is burning and there is nothing under the car after leaving a parking spot. However, when the car first starts blue smoke comes out of the exhaust and the engine knocks/tics a bit upon starting but that stops after the oil hits the engine I guess. On 8/5/2015 I started the car after work and the check engine light came on and flashing again and the car began shaking. It was towed to the dealership again this morning for service. The above covers the engine issues. Two weeks ago at a stop sign I stepped on the gas but the engine just revved for a few seconds followed by the transmission engaging. Since then the transmission has not been shifting normally. The transmission has not failed yet but it appears it's on its way. Currently the car has 2,400 miles on it. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I've been in contact with many other on forums and these people have family's/small children as do I. something needs to be done about these cars. Their not safe. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Glendale, NY, USA

problem #107

Jun 272015

Cherokee

  • 5,000 miles
Went in for software update for transmission in April. Started experiencing differences in shifting which I was told would be normal and the result of the software update to prevent wear on the transmission. Gradually got worse, had moments of loss of power when trying to pass/accelerate even with the gas pedal all the way to the floor. Had moments of acceleration when pulling into traffic where there was considerable hesitation in the transmission before finally engaging in a very low gear, sticking in that gear even with rps very high, finally shifted but did not allow for proper acceleration to get out of the way of traffic in this type of situation. Also experienced issues with down-shifting when coming to stops at intersections, the transmission would not downshift in the lower gears, so all stopping power was in braking even when gradually coming to a stop which should be aided by the down- shifting of the transmission. Vehicle also was not able to maintain speeds well while in cruise control. Sometimes it would take off going over 10 mph over the set speed, sometimes it would lag well behind the set speed. Could feel transmission constantly shifting from one gear to another to try and maintain the constant speed on flat ground. Check engine light finally came on. Transmission is being replaced. Today is day 22 without my vehicle as it sits in the shop waiting for a very popular back-ordered part to be installed behind a wait list of other customers.

- Cowiche, WA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #106

Aug 032015

Cherokee

  • 5,300 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 35 mph, the engine shut off and all the warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the power train module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure, but did not offer any further explanation. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 5,300.

- Farmingville, NY, USA

problem #105

Apr 132015

Cherokee

  • 1,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My husband and I bought a brand new 2015 Jeep Cherokee trailhawk. 2 weeks after owning our brand new car that we purchased because we were expecting a baby and wanted to have a safe reliable vehicle we started having shifting problems and electrical issues. We brought in the vehicle multiple times (4 times) and although we were told that it might be transmission related issues but then as soon as Chrysler got involved we were told our vehicle is perfectly fine. Nothing was ever fixed until my husband and I went to a different dealership. The new dealership fixed the electrical problems but said everything with the transmission is normal. The car makes shudder motions, sometimes it does not accelerate as I'm trying to get onto the freeway and it shifts very jerky. We have owned a Jeep before which did not do that. We are so disappointment how Chrysler is responding to known transmission problems and not doing any recalls on transmission related issues. We bought this vehicle because we wanted a safe vehicle for the family. However, after the latest tcm update the shifting has gotten worse and it doesn't feel safe to drive the vehicle yet Chrysler won't do anything as we are being told this is normal.

- Buckeye, AZ, USA

problem #104

Jun 302015

Cherokee

  • 1,000 miles
Mine is 2015 new Jeep Cherokee V6 limited model. The problems mainly lie in the zf 9 speed transmission. 1) experienced front end wobbling when shifting from 2nd gear to 3rd gear accelerating at 1750 RPM to 2000. The vibration happens most frequent when starting from uphill. 2) the vehicle will accelerate on its own even without gas pedal engaged when down shifting from 4th to 3rd or lower gear, causing significant safety issues.

- Mapleshade, NJ, USA

problem #103

Apr 182015

Cherokee

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving at 40 mph, the contact depressed the accelerator pedal and the vehicle would not shift properly to speed. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred after 2,000 miles. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 2,000.

- Yukon, OK, USA

problem #102

Feb 162015

Cherokee

  • 1,254 miles
Purchased 2015 Cherokee in January, 2015. First recall in Feb 2015. Software update for transmission and rapid response transmittal. Shifting problems started shortly after update. Hesitation from a stop; delayed start and then "takes off"; surging forward without foot on gas; shifts up when coming to a stop with foot on brake; clunking noise started at 7000 miles. Took it in for recalls on airbag and radio security and told dealer about transmission issues. Was originally told they would have Jeep for 2 hours. 7 hours later they called to tell me they did several software updates (ptu, rdm, dtcm, PCM, BCM); when I went to pick it up I asked for details on each update. Frustrated when I was told it would "take some time for the car to learn my driving habits." I asked, "what happens when I am teaching my kids how to drive (twins that will be driving in a month)?" the service tech told me that "the transmission would be really confused." I expressed my concern for safety. Told him I never know when it is going to accelerate on its own or hesitate with a 5 second or longer delay. I asked how that could be safe when teaching kids how to drive. He didn't have an answer. Just said, "I understand your concern." I have only driven it about 20 miles since the updates. Now it shifts quickly through the first 3 gears, still hesitates, and rough shifting. Keeping detailed records now. I've had my Jeep for 7 months (7000 miles) with 3 actual recalls, and 6 software updates that weren't recalls, just performed based on my complaints. The issues with this transmission are a safety hazard, especially when sitting at an intersection waiting to make a left hand turn and never knowing how the Jeep will respond...this isn't safe for an experienced driver. How can anyone safely put a new driver into a car that has these types of issues?

- Stow, OH, USA

problem #101

Feb 212015

Cherokee

  • 2,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. When the ignition was turned to the on position, the vehicle would not shift out of park. The contact stated that the brake lights illuminated without the brake pedal being depressed. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the diagnosis was unknown. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer as made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 2,500.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #100

Jul 252015

Cherokee

  • 7,800 miles
This problems is intermittent when pulling out into traffic vehicle will move but then has no throttle response leaving you in ath of incoming government traffic good 3 second delay and as you can push accelator down and no response then after a delay RPM shoots way up and be vehicle bolts forward. This has even happen when leaving parking spot the trams mission is not consistent on its shifting. I'm going to take to dealer again but if it doesn't show a code they won't do anything. The vehicle could run and drive good for a month then it will have problem again could happen once or each time you take off then goes away and drives fine again. It is usage with the delay and no throttle response and hardy shifting. Not a good feeling when traffic coming at you and your vehicle won't move and when it does you bolt forward.I have check over the internet and the are tons of complaints with this vehicles transmission and software. Please get this problem fix before someone gets seriously injured or killed.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #99

Jan 022015

Cherokee

  • 1,890 miles
I have owned this 2015 Jeep Cherokee since December 2014. The transmission had to be replaced @ 1890 miles, car stopped dead trying to pass a truck on steep grade, overheated transmission. The power brake master booster had to be replaced twice, @ 2490 miles and 4920 miles, no brakes just crash into nearest curb or car, part and system failure. The transmission mounts had to be replaced @ 2560 miles, car howling like a banchee, parts failure. The software had to be changed 3 times, "trying to solve factory problem". warning lights for check engine and battery came on and car shuttered and came to abrupt stop, in the middle of a dangerous curve, with all system shut down completely @ 4970 miles, currently investigating cause. The car has been with the dealer, in total, more than 45 days, currently at dealer again. This car has left me in life threatening situations 4 times. It appears that when any preprogramed limits are reached, all systems shut down, brakes, steering, everything. You are left totally defenseless and not able to control the vehicle. The Jeep has no emergency brake! this is the most unreliable and dangerous vehicle I have ever driven. I have been totally stranded away from home twice, and have yet to recover over $1000 in out of pocket expense, transportation, hotel, food, and cabs. The dealer closed at 2pm on a Saturday, 280 miles from home, said good by and told me to contact Chrysler for assistance, " it wasn't his responsibility". all 2014 and 2015 Jeep Cherokee should be recalled and taken off the road. This poorly conceived and engineered vehicle is dangerous and will kill many people, if it already has not. The Chrysler corporation and its dealers are knowingly selling a faulty and dangerous vehicle to the public.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #98

Dec 152014

Cherokee

  • 2,000 miles
Vehicle speeds up when brake is applied, downshifting is jerky and uneven. Transmission has been replaced once. Symptoms are the same.

- Naples, NY, USA

problem #97

Jun 292015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 400 miles
I leased the vehicle on 6/17/15. Within a week the service park brake light came on briefly. Dealership said it was a fluke. A few days later. Back sensor beep would not turn off while driving. Dealership said it was a fluke. A day later power lift gate wouldn't work for a day. Dealership said it was a fluke. When I called the dealership the first time they proceeded to tell me car was sold to me with a reprogramming airbag recall so I took in to get fix & have other items looked at. They never looked at other issues. A week later service brake light came back on I took in immediately. After 3 days sitting in the shop they said 25 codes came up & not sure how to fix. After a week of them having the car they said it was fixed. After 10 hrs of having back the transmission light came on. I took back to service & the mgr said car is unsafe and would request a new vehicle for me that would take 6 wks to get. He also told me the dealership they got my vehicle from had issues w/car and never said anything. In the week I haven't had the vehicle I've been given 6 loaner cars. 1 of which broke down with service park brake & transmission lights on and could not shift. I have demanded Chrysler to cancel my lease and return my funds owed...updated 09/22/15 the consumer stated the ncds arbitrator and Chrysler agreed to release the consumer from the lease. The consumer would also be reimbursed. Updated 12/9/2015 updated 12/21/15

- Parma Heights, OH, USA

problem #96

Apr 032015

Cherokee

  • 6,277 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 10 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed and the vehicle hesitated to accelerate without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer several times. The technician stated that the transmission software needed to be updated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 6,277.

- San Bruno, CA, USA

problem #95

Jul 192015

Cherokee

  • 7,500 miles
Needs a new transmission. Has been hesitating when starting out and pulling away when brakes were applied. Service engine light came on to notify us of problem. Dealership advised that it was part of a recall, but we never received notification of this recall.

- Sterling, OH, USA

problem #94

Jan 122015

Cherokee

  • 900 miles
The Jeep shifts unexpectedly all of the time. When you use the brake going down a hill the transmission shifts and the rpms shoot to 5,000! the transmission shimmies when you are in second gear. I have been back to the dealership several times to have it fixed but they say it needs an update from Jeep for the flash or something with a chip. They can't get it to shift normally.

- Elysburg, PA, USA

problem #93

Jul 202015

Cherokee

  • 50 miles
The car will accelerate and raise RPM's (sometimes increases speed by 1mph) by itself at 26mph while coasting from 30mph or greater. I'm pretty sure the car is downshifting at this point, but no car I have drove will accelerate while not pressing the gas. When the car is downshifting from any other speed, I can feel the downshift however the car does not accelerate like it does at 26mph. Only at 26mph it accelerates at the down shift. Sometimes the acceleration is greater then other times, but happens 95% of the time. I was told this is a characteristic of the car and it needs to learn how I drive. Which makes no sense because if this is a characteristic of a car, it is a very unsafe one. I feel that this is a safety issue as the car is accelerating on its own while I'm expecting it to de-accelerate. A software update was done on my car, but the issue was not fixed.

- Allen Park, MI, USA

problem #92

Mar 162015

Cherokee

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at 70 mph, the entire instrument panel illuminated. The digital speedometer read 20 mph and the speedometer reading indicated 75 mph when depressing the accelerator pedal however the vehicle hesitated to accelerate. The contact was able to merge over to the exit and could not accelerate over than 10 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The contact mentioned that the failure occurred intermittently. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 2,000. Updated 11/18/15

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?