Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,188 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 14 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #91

Jul 172015

Cherokee

  • 2,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Service transmission message. Hard steering. 2000 RPM @ 30 mph repaired with software on 07/18/15 same problem next day car now needs new tranny

- Beacon Falls, CT, USA

problem #90

Jul 192015

Cherokee

  • 939 miles
As I was driving the car notified me that my 4WD was temporary suspended and after sometime it showed service transmission and the service light came on and my steering was stuck, it was difficult to control the car but I managed to stop the car in a remote place. After I tried to restart the Jeep I could not restart it and there was not cranking noise and I got 3 messages on my dash. "service transmission" "service park brake" and svc 4WD. I have had the Jeep for less than a month. It just had 939 miles on it.

- Lynnwood, WA, USA

problem #89

Jun 192015

Cherokee

  • 725 miles
6/19/2015: Transmission/electrical issue when attempting to shift the vehicle into reverse it would shift into neutral instead. Had to shift to park and then back to reverse before the vehicle went into gear. This was the fourth occurrence of this issue since purchase date. Airbag warning message and indicator light turned on when shifting from park to reverse and to drive. Electronic stability control indicator came on repeatedly while driving. 6/22/2015: Transmission/electrical issue vehicle would not shift from park to reverse. After several minutes was able to put vehicle into park, and eventually powered vehicle off and on and was then able to shift from park to reverse and then drive. Airbag warning message and indicator light turned on and electronic stability control indicator came on. 6/23/2015: Transmission/electrical failure odometer at 800 miles. While driving, the vehicle suddenly went out of gear. Climbing a parking garage ramp the vehicle stalled, the parking brake turned on, the airbag service message and indicator turned on, the service engine light came on, the windshield wipers came on, the media console and bluetooth connection failed. After several minutes of attempting to shift gears (could not get the vehicle into park, drive, or reverse, and parking brake kept engaging), was finally able to power the vehicle off. Once the vehicle was powered back on, was able to shift to drive, and drove directly to the dealership. Check engine light remained on and electronic stability control indicator came on repeatedly while driving. Delivered vehicle to dealership for inspection and repair, and am awaiting resolution as of 7/20/2015.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #88

Jul 032015

Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2015 Jeep Cherokee latitude 4X4 V6 just did the recall update with a oil change. I also was almost hit from oncoming traffic. Car wouldnt go as I was trying to make a left thru traffic! I am lucky that the other car didn't hit me it was within inches! it also speeds up as I slow to a stop! the transmission lights and the a! comes on after 4 updates now it shifts bad and has been the the shop for 2 weeks with no idea what they are going to do next! the mechanic at the dick hannah dealership is on vacation now! they said they are waiting on parts they ordered even though he has not took the transmission apart yet! I get 2 different stories from the dealership and Jeep! I think this car will hurt someone if they dont fix this issue! at this point I dont feel safe with my family in this " future accident maker"! I spent well over 35,000 for this car!

- Vancouver , WA, USA

problem #87

Jun 272015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 11 miles
Going down hill, the car accelerated 8 to 12 miles an hour faster than the cruise was set for. Car keeps accelerating until you hit the brake. Does not hold the set cruise speed limit. I brought it to the dealer and after 1 1/2 hours they told me my Cherokee limited was not equipped with an adaptive cruise control with stop and go. I was told by the service writer I just have to hit the brake until the decline is over and then hit resume on the panel. I know this is incorrect so is there a fix for this? we are taking a long drive trip to Pennsylvania and I will need the cruise to enjoy my trip. The consumer stated the issue was the transmission. Updated 10/15/15

- Camdenton, , MO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #86

May 222015

Cherokee

  • miles
Purchased a new 2015 Jeep Cherokee latitude 4/9/15. In may (approx 700 miles) I stated to notice a wobble when accelerating & the vehicle lunged when stopping & starting. The lunge was so powerful that I thought I was going to hit the car in front of me. Took in for service 5/29. They reprogrammed the tcm module. Wobble came back & by June 8th it was wobbling & hesitating (once it happened in an intersection). I called service dept on June 9th. Took it in on Jun 10th to have one of their guys take it for a spin. While waiting, they told me Jeep do "certain things other cars don't". I told them I searched the internet & apparently there is a know problem & brought a printout of some of the other customer complaints. They said "can't go by that"... I rode with their tech & he said he never felt anything like that. He got his service manager so they go take it for a ride together. They replaced the axles (6/12) but said the wobble is still there. They'd contacted Chrysler via email & was told not to dump anymore parts in the vehicle. They know what the issue is (but they wouldn't tell the dealer) & a tcb was coming out in Aug. There was nothing that could be done until then. They said (in their email) the car was safe to drive. Really? took car back on 7/3. work was done the same day, they reprogrammed the tcm again. On the way home I stopped to get gas & when leaving the gas station the car lunged me into the road! by 7/7 the wobble was more intense. By 7/8 car was slow to accelerate from a stop, could barely keep up with traffic. Called case manager on 7/9 said whatever they did made it worse. His solution was to take back in for service because I can't drive a car like that! he called to make appointment and the earliest they had was 7/20 (11 days later). These cars are unsafe & someone is going to get hurt! please do something!

- Upper Darby, PA, USA

problem #85

Apr 102015

Cherokee

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission failed at 1,000 miles. Dealer replaced with a redesigned version. I started to get a wobble in the front end while I was accelerating. I brought it back and they said that it was a known issue and they were redesigning the front axles but the fix wasn't out yet. A few weeks later the metal frame in my sunroof broke and the weather stripping fell out and I couldn't close the shade. They informed me that the entire sunroof assembly had to be replaced because the frame was defective. The wobble continued to get worse and the car was shifting rougher than ever. I kept telling the dealership that there was something wrong, and they said "that's how the new 9 speed trans behave". when I brought the car in for the sunroof replacement I asked them to look at the wobble and trans again, and they informed me that the front axle was indeed bad. They put in the redesigned axles, and replaced the entire sunroof. I continue to have serious transmission issues and they put in a new valve body and updated the software. It's worse than ever. I kept complaining to Jeep and all they said was "the dealership can't replicate your problem." I actually had the service manager in the car with me and he verified that the car does not drive properly- and when Jeep called me, they told me that I had to go to another dealership. This car is not safe. It hesitates when you step on the gas, then it jerks very hard into second gear, it will accelerate on it's own because it can't find a gear to downshift, and the engine will spontaneously rev on it's own if I am descending a hill and its trying to downshift. The car will leap forward and accelerate until I press the brake hard enough to slow it down and it will finally shift. The rpms will go up for several seconds after I've applied the brake. The vehicle also rolls several inches after I put it in park now.

- East Stroudsburg, PA, USA

problem #84

Jul 102015

Cherokee

  • 224 miles
After fueling up I pulled out of the driveway and started down the road. About 300 feet down the road the transmission lost power and then reengaged after almost being rear ended. When transmission reengaged the vehicle surged forward.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #83

Jul 102015

Cherokee

  • 4,700 miles
Vehicle shimmys when shifting from 2nd to 3rd gear. Also lunges forward when braking in slow traffic and stop lights/signs. Called dealer was told this is normal.

- Bath, PA, USA

problem #82

Mar 012015

Cherokee

  • 3,200 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer for the manufacturer's "long term reliability of the transmission/drive train performance" campaign. The vehicle was repaired under the reliability campaign and the dealer was to update/recalibrate the transmission. After the repair, while driving various speeds, there was a lag in acceleration when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The contact also noticed that the gears would not shift properly while driving uphill or at a traffic light and the vehicle would roll backwards independently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they stated that the transmission needed to be re-calibrated. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure persisted and became worse. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the transmission was re-calibrated again and eventually replaced; however, the failure persisted. The contact stated that the failure had not occurred until the vehicle was initially taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 3,200. The VIN was unavailable.....updated 11/02/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was declared a lemon. Updated 11/05/15.

- Mamaroneck, NY, USA

problem #81

Jul 042015

Cherokee

  • 3,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

3rd incident where the transmission has suddenly disconnected and the car will coast to a complete stop. Messages read "4WD temporarily unavailable", "service park brake" first incident happened at about approximately 340 miles, second incident happened at approximately 3500 miles. First two incidents were on the highway - one at 45 mph the other at 60 mph. The third and most recent was on a residential road. Once the car has been pulled over, car has been put into park, then turned off and turned back on. Usually it takes 2 or more tries after turning the car off and on and back into gear before the transmission re-engages and the car can be driven. Paying attention to the vehicle information for the transmission temperature has shown the transmission can reach 208 degrees from town driving conditions on a 75 degree day. Photo evidence has been taken of the readout for the transmission temperature. The model of the Jeep Cherokee is the trailhawk with 9 speed transmission. After 3 flash updates upon second time in for service the issue persisted and another issue with the stop/start system began and has been frequent up until the third time being taken in for service. Messages will read "stop/start system is unavailable", "service start/stop system". vehicle is in dealer service currently for the third time for next steps.

- Lake Geneva, WI, USA

problem #80

May 262015

Cherokee

  • 6,200 miles
Transmission disengaged intermittently as vehicle coasted along freeway. Pulled over and turned off/restarted vehicle. Transmission then engaged. Took in for software upgrade. No more high speed issues but now vehicle will rev from stop condition before transmission engages. This is a 9-speed transmission in the new 2015 Jeep Cherokee trailhawk.

- Allen, TX, USA

problem #79

Jul 012015

Cherokee

  • 125 miles
Purchased new and drove home 60 miles parked vehicle for about 45 minutes. Drove to nearby parking lot to test out park assist, pressed park assist button and then reverse, then drive and vehicle would no longer move. Dash warning lights came on and message service transmission and restart vehicle. Turning off and restart transmission made some attempt to slam into gear but seemed to be locked in high gear and could not move. We were fortunate to be in low traffic parking lot and not in heavy traffic. Jeep roadside assistance towed the vehicle to nearest dealer.replacing transmission. Vehicle was built January 2015. Trailhawk with 9 speed transmission.

- Marathon, NY, USA

problem #78

Jun 182015

Cherokee

  • 13,900 miles
2015 Jeep Cherokee sport was purchased in October of 2014. Around end May 2015 experienced problems with braking. While coming to a stop sign brake would be pressed down but vehicles RPM's would rev up and vehicle would start accelerating forward. Vehicle was brought to shop after finally being able to make an appointment on 06/16/15. Mechanic was able to experience the problem and reset module on vehicle. But check engine light came on. Dealership gave vehicle back to us and we drove it for two more days and the problem still persisted. On 06/18/2015 a deer had entered highway and while braking vehicle again accelerated and hit the deer causing front end damage. Problem could of been 100 times worse because there were also bicyclists on road as well as tractor trailer traveling behind. Vehicle was brought to dealership via tow truck. Tow truck driver even stated there is something severely wrong with the vehicle. When driver took vehicle off flat bed he put the vehicle in reverse and the vehicle went forward instead of reverse plus the emergency brake came on by itself. Chrysler was contacted and they are doing an investigation on vehicle because of the severity. My wife and I just want them to take the vehicle back because we do not feel safe in it one bit.

- North Lawrence, NY, USA

problem #77

Jun 062015

Cherokee

  • 4,750 miles
Car would not want to shift, all lights came on to check engine, transmission, and service park brake. I was on a rural logging road at time, so took multiple tries to get it into gear. After finally getting into gear couldn't go faster than 40. Made it to next town and called tow truck. They installed new transmission and it didn't even work coming out of shop. They installed another transmission and it is also not working right, and starting to shift hard. This is one day after getting car back...

- Rainier , OR, USA

problem #76

Jun 212015

Cherokee

  • 6,300 miles
I have the 9 speed transmission. When the vehicle shifts from 1st to 2nd there is a definite wobble that can be felt in the vehicle. And when the vehicle downshifts from 2nd to 1st during a stop, the vehicle frequently lunges forward when the shift occurs. I have to be sure I am holding the brake very tightly to prevent the lunge. Both the wobble and the lunge feeling happen frequently, the lunge in particular is concerning to me, this is a 2015 vehicle! I have discussed this with my dealer and he indicated Jeep is aware of the issue, I sure hope they plan to do something about this.

- Orefield, PA, USA

problem #75

May 152015

Cherokee

  • 1,500 miles
The Jeep has a wobble or shimmy between 11 and 17 mph that is very significant. Seems to happen after the Jeep has been driven and is warmed up. I have 3200 miles on this vehicle and this problem was noticed when the Jeep had about 500 miles on it. I am being told its the front axle shafts that are supposedly on order. However, I am also being told it could weeks to months to get the parts in.

- New Richmond, WI, USA

problem #74

Jun 152015

Cherokee

  • 4,100 miles
Vehicle flutters or shimmys briefly upon accelaration from a stop position. Unsure if this is engine transmission or wheels.

- Bath, PA, USA

problem #73

May 232015

Cherokee

  • 100 miles
2015 Jeep Cherokee V6 exhibits a vibration or "shimmy" during acceleration. Vibration occurs at between 13-17 mph just prior to shifting from 2nd to 3rd gear (in "auto" transmission mode). Vibration always occurs, but is more pronounced as the drive train heats up. The dealer acknowledged that this has been a common problem, but that Chrysler has yet to identify a definitive fix for the defect.

- Amherst, NY, USA

problem #72

Aug 122014

Cherokee

  • 1,514 miles
Vehicle was parked. I put vehicle into reverse and all warning lights came on - service transmission/service park break/engine light. Turned off vehicle, turn back on and vehicle jolted and would not move. Turned off again and let it sit for a few hours. Started the vehicle and all lights are illuminated (park brake and check engine) but vehicle runs. Took to dealer, they did an update to the computer. Happened again around 8200 miles - same result from dealer (update to computer). Took to dealer a total of three times - the third time warranted a full transmission replacement. Vehicle still does not drive properly - hard shifts, especially when deccelerating.

- Hilliard, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?