Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,888 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 14 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #69

Apr 132015


  • 185 miles


My car has a wobble between the 2nd and 3rd gear after a stop. It started shortly after delivery and it went away at exactly 1200 miles and is back since I hit 1800 miles. I can replicate it after every stop.. if you drive slowly after a stop. If you hit the gas paddle it goes too quick thru the gears and you won't notice it but I can't do a race after every stop and waste gas. If you normal start driving after a stop you feel the wobble from left to the right.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #68

Apr 012015


  • 500 miles
Vehicle shakes / wobbles when accelerating from a dead stop. The passenger side front tire actually feels loose until approximately 30 mph. Also, when turning right and / or going up an incline, the front end shakes and the vehicle hesitates. Jeep acknowledges that this is an issue and they are redesigning the front axles with a sturdier design. The issue is that the repair is not available for several months at least, because it's still in development. There is a real concern that the axle could fail and cause an accident.

- East Stroudsburg, PA, USA

problem #67

Jan 132015


  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving at various speeds, the front wheels wobbled and the transmission jerked as if it were in neutral. The contact mentioned that the transmission failed to shift gears effectively, the vehicle accelerated independently while in park, and an abnormal noise was heard from the engine. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle was unable to be repaired since the parts needed were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 6,000.

- Jefferson, PA, USA

problem #66

Apr 032015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 5,601 miles


4/3/15 transmission recall work completed. 4/25/15 car would not shift properly. Email of notification from Jeep at time light came on read: Malfunction indicator light indicates your vehicle needs service, prolonged driving could cause damage to the engine control system. Car taken to local dealer 4/25/15-5/8/15 transmission replaced. 5/13/15-5/15/15 no power steering, ABS and no 4 wheel drive available dashboard lights on. No email from Jeep stating lights on. Email from Jeep had been automatically sent at time engine light was activated. When service person was informed he said it was because battery had been disconnected for transmission work and I'd have to reload app. Service center states no history of dashboard lights on but did have history of a loss of communication. This is why the car had stopped email notification to me. The car no longer is communicating with it's programmed computerized parts ie; it's doing whatever it wants. 5/14/2015 contacted Jeep given case mngr[xxx]contact number 1-800-763-8422 ext [xxx], email case#[xxx]. [xxx] informed me he would send case in for review. 5/19/15 ABS and traction control dashboard lights on. Pictures taken of dashboard with lights on because of history of loss of communication indicated. Car no longer recording dashboard lights on and service department keeps telling me no light indicator on. 5/20/2015 sensor replaced. 5/20/2015 call to case mngr no answer or call back from casemngr. 5/22/2015 ABS and traction control dashboard light on. Jeep emailed me at time of dashboard light on. I did not reload app as instructed. Car started communicating again on it's own. 5/22/2015 Jeep informed me no refund, no replacement. They want to continue to fix it. This car is not safe. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Paw Paw, MI, USA

problem #65

Apr 162015


  • 1,100 miles
Multiple incidents of when applying brakes, the tachometer would increase as the Jeep down shifted and the Jeep would leap forward. Increase in speed. Delays in the ignition switch when starting. When applying the gas, the Jeep would have a 5 - 10 second delay in response and slow down instead of increasing the speed. As days past, the incidents with the Jeep leaping forward when applying the brake got worse and it got to be dangerous to drive. Almost rear ended a few people. Had to have Jeep towed to a dealership because it was unsafe to drive. The computer upgrade that came out in February of this year was not applied to this Jeep before it was sold to me.

- Rockport, ME, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #64

May 162015


  • 2,325 miles
The transmission spun into neutral and finally gave out at mile 2300. It had been acting erratically ever since mile 500, it would surge forward as my foot was off the gas around 30 mph. Up until that time the transmission would act erratic, the cruise control light would come on and off, 2 driving cycles the radio/ climate control screen did not turn on which indicated to me that it was a computer malfunction of some sort. Before it gave out I noticed that the RPM meter was at 5000 at 55 mph then it slipped. I then coasted into the center lane in traffic to turn it off hoping to reset it, it allowed me to take it home before it gave out again. It is currently at the dealer for repair. I was pained to hear of very similar stories from other brand new Jeep owners as this seems to be a known problem.

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #63

May 202015


  • 1,500 miles


Car updated on 5/20/15 with latest tsb 21-21-15A for transmission control module. Car now skips 2nd gear when downshifting (coasting). On rolling stops the car is stuck on 3rd gear causing lack of acceleration while traffic behind expects car to get moving (highway entry ramp). If gas is floored car finally reacts and skips to 1st causing wheelspin. Car has slid during wet conditions. With snow this can be lethal. Car did not skip 2nd gear before tsb. Dealer advised this behavior is the new standard.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #62

Apr 032015


  • 11,500 miles
Vehicle performed very well for the first 11,500 until I did a RO1 software recall at dealership. Immediately upon picking up the car, I noticed that the car would no longer shift properly. Dealer claimed that I just needed to "relearn" it. Six weeks, 3000 miles, 4 trips back to the dealer and it still will not shift normally. After four trips they finally level with me that the new software prevents a 3-2 downshift and limits the amount that the transmission downshifts at any time. This is extremely dangerous and almost caused an accident on several occasions now. When you slow down all the way to 1mph, the car now stays in 3rd gear so that you have no power at all when trying to merge into traffic. I have almost been rear ended several times now even though I am trying to get a two block head start. When going around the corner, the only way that you can get moving again is to jam the accelerater to the floor and force it into first gear, upon which the car will surge and loose traction. Very dangerous and unstable. In the mountains or hilly terrain, this car is now a death trap. Chrysler as per software engineer louis farrow claims that this is now considered "normal operation."

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #61

May 022015


  • 495 miles
While driving at low speed, making a right turn and accelerating into traffic, the whole car shakes/wobbles from side to side. Almost frighteningly severe at times. Dealer claims they cannot reproduce. Sometimes get this shake while accelerating gently in straight line, usually always when in second gear. They continue to produce these Jeep every day, many will have this defect. There are bulletins out there, but nobody really has claimed the issue is fixed. Unacceptable for a modern, new designed car. Feels like a safety risk, but dealer refuses to help. Shouldn't I feel safe driving my new car?

- Waukesha, WI, USA

problem #60

May 062015


  • 4,400 miles
Transmission has always been "quirky". the transmission software was updated in April. Soon afterwards I started to notice loss of power after slowing down or coming to a near stop. The automatic 9 speed was not in the correct gear. One day I went to pull out in traffic and had little power. There could have been an accident as the other vehicles had to brake to avoid me. Vehicle is at the dealer waiting for a new transmission. I saw all the stories online about the transmission issues in this vehicle and decided I should also report my experience.

- Maryville, TN, USA

problem #59

May 142015


  • 2,056 miles


Vehicle began shifting hard, and accelerating when brakes applied. Lunges forward gaining speed while brakes engaged. No services engine lights at that times. Taken to dealer for service. Told by service man that it had 2 recalls for updates to transmission computer. Never notified about recalls or can't find recalls regarding transmission on their website. Updates applied today and was picked up. Drove approximately 10 miles toward home when it lunged hard, alarms sounded and service lights turned on. Taken directly back to dealer and awaiting their response. Other non safety related issues include driver side running light malfunction, smart screen audio/climate control malfunctions.

- Barbourville, KY, USA

problem #58

May 052015


  • 9,500 miles
As I was driving on the highway (cruise control), I raised my right knee which accidentally bumped the ignition key which turned the car off. I turned to key to on, but no help, then start position, again no help. I then put the trans in neutral and was able to restart the engine. However, I could not shift back into drive. I had to pull off the highway, come to a complete stop before I could shift into drive. Fortunately I was on a two lane highway where I could safely pull off to the side of the road. Had I been in one of the middle lanes of I-5 near seattle, this could have caused a serious accident (me getting rear ended). Note that I able to duplicate this problem later.

- Seabeck, WA, USA

problem #57

Mar 042015


  • 3,500 miles
The 9 speed transmission on the new Jeep Cherokee doesn't seem to be safe. It has a major lag especially at rolling stops. When one presses the gas nothing happens for around 2 to 3 seconds then a huge burst of power. That may not sound like a long time unless your in the midian trying to turn left. It has almost gotten me killed on several occations. The vehicle has also started lagging while pulling into my driveway then it gives you a burst of power almost sending me through my garage. I have had to pull out of a slow turn to avoid getting hit then the power comes on sending me flying into a median. Jeep thinks it's the transmission and there is a 2 month waiting list just to get an appointment to wait longer. I think the problem stems from the engine start stop software. When your going slow the engine is preparing to shut off but instead of coming to a complete stop like say a left turn at a green light you press the gas. The computer takes a couple seconds to switch to power instead of shutting it down. Well that's my best guess. I really like this vehicle this is such a disappointment. Jeep hasn't offered any help beyond saying theyll call me in a couple months to set up an appointment. I hope it doesn't get me into a wreck before then.

- Sunland Park , NM, USA

problem #56

May 072015


  • 2,200 miles
Purchased a 2015 Jeep Cherokee latitude 4X4 on 2/28/2015. Started having issues with the transmission hesitating and jerking into gear. Took it to the dealership on 5/1/2015 and was informed that there is a computer glitch that the manufacturer is aware of, but there is no fix for it. They say its safe to drive. On 5/7/2015 I almost got T-boned because the transmission wouldn't shift pulling out of a parking lot into traffic. It finally jerked into gear but continued to jerk and would not go over 25mph and my check engine light and errors came on about the start/stop function. The dealership towed my car and I am using a loaner. They have no idea how to fix it. The 2015 Jeep Cherokee's are completely unsafe to drive! spent over $30,000 on a vehicle that I can't safely drive.

- Fort Edward, NY, USA

problem #55

Apr 302015

Cherokee 4WD 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
When brakes are pressed the engine revs up, and jerks, the rpms shot up, then plummet, and the power surges, and you feel the car struggle to find the correct gear. Service engine light on, cannot be reset by dealer when at a stop and going up incline, no power at all May 1. 2015 brought to dealer. Hooked up to computer, an hour later dealer returns telling that the vehicle needs parts. They are back ordered. We are sent home with a unsafe vehicle told to come back in four weeks.

- Pittsfield, MA, USA

problem #54

Apr 242015


  • 2,500 miles
I own a 2015 Jeep Cherokee 4X4 (2.4L/4 cyl). I've been having issues with the new automatic 9-speed transmission. The vehicle will lunge forward while decelerating at speeds between 20-25 mph. Once the speedometer reaches 20 mph, the RPM's spike and vehicle accelerates (lunges) forward. In addition while accelerating to 55-60 mph the RPM's rev at a higher rate 3000-3500 RPM range and will not click into gear properly. I took my Jeep back to the dealer on 4-25-15 and after a test drive and diagnosis they decided to replace the transmission. I received my Jeep back on Monday May 4th and it still has the same problem. This is a safety issue and I am concerned about hitting another car while decelerating towards a stop light or stop sign. As soon as the Jeep hits 20 mph, the RPM's spike and car wants to go faster.

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #53

May 232014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 3,640 miles
I had the vehicle at the dealer to have the transmission reprogrammed as per their recall and after picking it up I was driving home and making a left turn at a busy intersection and pushed on the gas and there was no response from the vehicle like the transmission was in a high gear and had not shifted down. The light turned red and the only way to get the car to respond was to floor it and the it shifted really hard and took off. It happened two more times in the next two weeks and we have taken to the dealer again and they did another reprogram on it and now it has a bad lag time when you have to shift it all the way down such as to pass a car. The dealership admitted that Jeep was having issues and that he had another car identical to mine coming into the shop that day. People are going to get killed with these transmission issues. I am an automotive technician for 40 years and driving my own car scares me real bad. We bought this car because we live in a snowy climate and I wanted my wife to have the best four wheeler available. The dealer said that Chrysler has five men working on this programming issue and I think they should have a hundred. People are going to dye and this problem is all over the internet. I hope that this will resolve faster than the Toyota issues that killed a lot of people and injured many more.

- Sandy, UT, USA

problem #52

Apr 272015


  • 2,000 miles
Transmission failed to engage, car would not accelerate, narrowly avoided accident.

- Porter, TX, USA

problem #51

Apr 172015


  • 1,500 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving at 25 mph and making a left turn, the accelerator pedal was depressed and the vehicle failed to accelerate. The contact also mentioned that the air bag warning light illuminated. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the failure was unable to be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 1,500. The VIN was not available.

- Melbourne , FL, USA

problem #50

Apr 022015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 4,069 miles
Jeep performed a recall on tcm/PCM for the 9 speed transmission. Now at low speeds 2-5mph in an intersection or from a stop sign, or slow down on railroad tracks the car will not move even with the gas pedal to the floor, up to a 5 second delay. We were in an intersection, the light changed and cars were oncoming, after hitting the gas pedal the car just sat there, this has happened multiple times and we were almost hit. Took it back and it was reprogrammed. Still has the same delay, taking it back for the 3rd time. If you do a rolling stop and start out into the intersection the car refuses to move, the engine is running, but no response from the Jeep. We are afraid we will get stuck in an intersection or railroad track and get killed! the Jeep only has 4000 miles on it. If your Jeep is running not let them reprogram the transmission!!!

- Middletown, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?