Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,188 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 17 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Feb 132015

Cherokee 4WD 4-cyl

  • 3,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After 8 prior service visits in the about 3 mos I had owned my Jeep, I had to have my transmission replaced due to unintended acceleration, surges/lunging when braking, RPM spikes and check engine light coming on. During the replacement of my transmission, Chrysler came out with an transmission flash update to the Jeep and it was applied to my new transmission. As I got to drive the Jeep with the new transmission, I started to find issues where I would press the gas and the Jeep would drift forward before it would engage in gear. It caused a couple close calls of panic when I realized there was cars getting close to me. I was also experiencing lack of pick up after I accelerated to at least 3rd gear and then slowed down. It was very difficult to make it up small hills. I then realized the Jeep was not downshifting from 3rd gear unless you came to a complete stop, so you in essence are starting out in 3rd gear on rolling stops, and slow speeds. This has caused a safety issue with almost being rear ended. I have taken the Jeep in 3 times with this complaint. On my 3rd visit, I took my complaint to the dealer and rode with a shop manager. When we experienced this issue, he stated the Jeep was driving as intended. I said I don't think anyone is designing a transmission that does not downshift so you are struggling to accelerate in low speeds because you are bogged down in 3rd gear. I made a complaint with my Jeep case mgr. My Jeep case mgr got the regional mgr involved and after working with the dealer, he said there is no change they can make to the transmission, it is shifting as designed I had others with Jeep Cherokee's complain about the same issue. Just because they may have "designed" the trans to not shift into 2nd gear does not mean that it isnt a safety issue. Jeep will not address this obvious safety issue.

- Bethel Park, PA, USA

problem #30

Mar 202015

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 2,100 miles
2015 Jeep Cherokee purchased 2-24-15 with 8 miles on it. Two days later the check engine light came on and I was told to check transmission. Car needed brand new transmission after 2 days. Two weeks ago, the tire pressure light came on. Back driver's side tire keeps losing pressure. On 3-20-15 computer went out. I had no camera, no radio, no heat controls, no ipod player.

- Dyer, IN, USA

problem #29

Mar 202015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 3,500 miles
3rd time where loss of power & service transmission light & check engine light came on. Dealer service dept advised there is a recall on the tcm & PCM software, they did update on Friday & also advised my Jeep was giving error P0711-0 code which is transmission temp sensor. They did nothing to address that, just updated software & cleared codes. Next day while driving, same issues & loss of power which nearly caused an accident in heavy traffic. Only 3500 miles, bought brand new in Oct, 2014.

- Bellevue, NE, USA

problem #28

Feb 272015

Cherokee

  • 500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A few weeks after I purchased this Jeep 2015 Cherokee, I noticed that upon deceleration and braking, as the transmission went from one gear to a lower gear, the car would accelerate in the lower gear, lunging the car forward. Though this hasn't caused an accident, I believe it could in certain situations. I have taken the vehicle to the Chrysler dealership twice now. The first time they reloaded the computer software; they told me that it had the latest software, but they reloaded it just to make sure there were no issues. The problems actually got worse with the reloaded software. The transmission will also "clunk" from time to time when changing gears, even when I am stopped and change from drive to reverse, reverse to park, or drive to park.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #27

Mar 262014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 3,516 miles
After a simple first required service of an oil change, the engine light came on. We learned that this engine light coming on was the result of the dealership service department performing a recall campaign service to reprogram the transmission and powertrain control modules. The campaign to reprogram the transmission control modules was completed, without our knowledge, during the time the vehicle was in for the oil change. The vehicle was brought back to the dealership twice more in two days to "figure out" why the engine light was coming on. The dealer is now replacing the entire transmission.

- Tequesta, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #26

Feb 042015

Cherokee

  • 300 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while decelerating in order to come to a stop, the vehicle would experience unintended acceleration and lunge forward. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the transmission was faulty. The transmission was replaced and the transmission software was updated but the failure continued to occur. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who replaced the transmission a second time and updated the software but the vehicle continued to experience the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 300.

- Largo, FL, USA

problem #25

Feb 022015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 7,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When braking to a stop the vehicle suddenly accelerates launching it forward with the brake applied.the transmission slams into 1rst gear just before coming to a stop after that making the vehicle slide to a stop. The problem continued to get worse. Was told by dealer on 2/10/ 2015 that surge was inherent in these vehicles with this trans missions. There are no check engine lights on or warning lights for this problem.we have been pushed trough intersections in front of logging trucks and narrowly missed getting hit, the last time we hit a snow bank across the road at a 3 way stop and damaged the front spoiler when we bounced off. The 2nd problem is the complete loss of power with the engine running, it will stop going forward at any speed and will not accelerate even to the floor. The engine remains running but there is no go.the only way to get going is to stop, turn off ignition and restart. Then it will only go a few miles and do it again.the service transmission light come on when this happens.we lost power at an off/ entrance ramp on the freeway and could not get out of the way on an overpass with no shoulder as it was banked with snow.again we narrowly missed by large trucks and other vehicles. That was the first time this problem started and found out you have to shut the vehicle off to regain power, but that only last for 10 minutes of driving till it does it again.the vehicle was taken to don's auto clinic in Cadillac Michigan March 2nd, they called and did a computer recall up date and took it for a test drive and it launched the tech through an intersection also. There were no codes for the incident and they have contacted Chrysler about the problem. I told the vehicle is dangerous and can not be drove safely. The last incident happened on 3/1/2015.

- Manton, MI, USA

problem #24

Feb 232015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 189 miles
2015 Jeep Cherokee 2.4L. Jeep has less than 200 miles. Car was brought in for service due to sudden acceleration while decelerating at approximately 25 mph. Car would slightly accelerate and the RPM's would jump from around 1400 to 2000 without my foot on the gas pedal. Dealer service department had the car for 1.5 days and said that I had the most recent "flash" after driving off the lot the issue still exists. Car will lunge/accelerate and RPM's jump while decelerating and foot is off the gas pedal.

- Fraser, MI, USA

problem #23

Feb 202015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 130 miles
2015 Jeep Cherokee latitude. Fwd 2.4L engine. Car shifted extremely hard at low speeds/gears. Car would lunge and accelerate while car was decelerating. Acceleration and lunging/shifting was occurring while foot was off the gas pedal.

- Fraser, MI, USA

problem #22

Feb 072015

Cherokee

  • 738 miles
It appears I've gotten the transmission bug that seems to be going around. One month old 2015 trailhawk V6 automatic with 738 miles on it. Started the car(2-7-2015) and notification came on dashboard that read, "service transmission, " "4WD deactivated, " "remote start deactivated, ' "and put car into park then shift to desired gear." I managed to get the Jeep rolling and drove directly to dealership. I talked to the service rep this morning(2-9-2015), and before he could say anything, I told him it was the tcm. He actually laughed because I knew every problem. I guess best case scenario is that the reset works. If not I'm sure there will be a tcm replacement. Worst case scenario is the transmission needs to be replaced, and at that point, they can keep it.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #21

Feb 042015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 1,020 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my Jeep one month ago. Recently I noticed that engine revs up and accelerates by itself as I am trying to stop. I have to control this by pressing the break a little harder. I am afraid I will rear end another car. I had no idea this problem was so common. Now I wish I hadn't purchased this vehicle.

- Montebello , CA, USA

problem #20

Feb 052015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 4,100 miles
2015 Cherokee latitude 4 cyl. Have had vehicle for 2 months, during this time the transmission has had a mind of its own. Accelerating during braking, which in and of itself is extremely dangerous as it has happened while slowing to make a turn, if you need to turn at 10 mph and the car accelerates past 25 you are looking at an accident waiting to happen. Lag in downshift while trying to accelerate, loud un explained clunk while placing into park, numerous engine warning light activations. Called local dealer and was informed that I needed to wait a few days to see if warning light resets itself before bringing in. The transmission never seems to actually shift into 9th gear, which inturn hampers the fwy mileage claims associated with this vehicle. Ive noticed the transmission temperature exceed 240 degrees on numerous times, this cannot be good. I will be taking vehicle to dealer, hopefully in an effort to get this resolved. With all of the reviews and problem, will it take an unfortunate fatality for Chrysler to actually resolve this, as in the case of the Toyota acceleration problems?

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #19

Feb 012015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 1,100 miles
Transmission down shifts on downhill at times. RPM increases and vehicle speeds up before completing the down shift. The trans. Should not be down shifting on its own in this situation. This will be dangerous in snowy conditions, as the shift is unexpected. The trans. Is inconsistent on level driving. Sometimes it picks gear 7, other times it picks gear 8. this affects gas mileage and cannot be over ridden by using the manual shift mode. I am at the mercy of the transmission. The manual shift override is virtually useless. I cannot override the gear selected. The indicator show only shows the shifter actions. I does not indicate the gear you are actually in. The trans. Does not respond to manual shifting preferences. It will be dangerous in winter weather when you cannot depend on a manual downshift to maintain control of the vehicle. I am used to other manufacturers transmissions that lock in and hold the manual gear selected. I suspect that there will be Cherokee accidents in winter weather due to loss of control, because the transmission either has a mind of its own which is inconsistent, or because manual transmission control is ineffective, and nonresponsive.

- Flippin, AR, USA

problem #18

Feb 012015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 3,400 miles
When idling after a 20 minute drive, the "service transmission" warning and the "check engine lamp" came on and wouldn't turn off. I managed to drive slowly home - it was about 20F and snowing - in a deserted area. Very bad situation.

- Beachwood, OH, USA

problem #17

Jan 262015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 3,300 miles
Car lunges forward when decelerating. Need to press hard on brake to control speed.

- Beachwood, OH, USA

problem #16

Jan 252015

Cherokee

  • 3,300 miles
Car has rough gear changes when decelerating.

- Beachwood, OH, USA

problem #15

Jan 192015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 750 miles
This 2015 Jeep Cherokee limited, with V6 engine and 9 speed automatic transmission, operated smoothly for 750 miles, but then suddenly the transmission began to downshift very roughly when coasting to a stop or braking to a stop. The problem appears to be with the shifts below fifth gear. When coasting, as the downshift to either 4th or 3rd gear occurs, the engine revs and the car actually accelerates briefly (for 1 or 2 seconds) on its own. In heavy traffic, that makes quickly applying the brakes mandatory to avoid getting too close to (or hitting) the car in front of you as the vehicle accelerates.

- Kirkwood, MO, USA

problem #14

Jan 302015

Cherokee 4WD 4-cyl

  • 4,500 miles
The check engine light goes on and the car does not downshift properly. The engine revs up over 2500 rpms and the vehicle accelerates on its own when applying the brakes and trying to slow down. (last night the car revved up to 3200 rpms when coming to a stop.)

- Newtown, CT, USA

problem #13

Jan 132015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 352 miles
When driving the vehicle, dash lights would flash and check engine light would come on. Messages would state the there was a failure with the start/stop or 4X4 or transmission. Vehicle would not engage any gears, D (drive) indicate would be flashing, and I could only rev the engine. Vehicle would not advance and would not engage any gears. Had to shut off engine and turn it back on several times to get the transmission to engage. Check engine light is still on. Taken in for service four times now, update firmware, replace PCM, and now they are going to replace the wiring harness. Vehicle purchased on 12/31 and has been in for service with major failures with the transmission since 1/13/2015.

- Livermore, CA, USA

problem #12

Jan 012015

Cherokee

  • 900 miles
2015 Jeep Cherokee latitude. When coming to a stop, at about 25 mph, the tachometer reads 1250 RPM then the transmission drops out of gear which makes the vehicle speed up, making me brake harder, then the transmission downshifts and the engine revs up to 2000 RPM making the car lurch forward. This is dangerous and has made me feel like I may rear end a car on several occasions.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?