NHTSA — Power Train Problems

2015 Jeep Cherokee (Page 17 of 19)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,701 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 17 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #57

Mar 042015

Cherokee

  • 3,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The 9 speed transmission on the new Jeep Cherokee doesn't seem to be safe. It has a major lag especially at rolling stops. When one presses the gas nothing happens for around 2 to 3 seconds then a huge burst of power. That may not sound like a long time unless your in the midian trying to turn left. It has almost gotten me killed on several occations. The vehicle has also started lagging while pulling into my driveway then it gives you a burst of power almost sending me through my garage. I have had to pull out of a slow turn to avoid getting hit then the power comes on sending me flying into a median. Jeep thinks it's the transmission and there is a 2 month waiting list just to get an appointment to wait longer. I think the problem stems from the engine start stop software. When your going slow the engine is preparing to shut off but instead of coming to a complete stop like say a left turn at a green light you press the gas. The computer takes a couple seconds to switch to power instead of shutting it down. Well that's my best guess. I really like this vehicle this is such a disappointment. Jeep hasn't offered any help beyond saying theyll call me in a couple months to set up an appointment. I hope it doesn't get me into a wreck before then.

- Sunland Park , NM, USA

problem #56

May 072015

Cherokee

  • 2,200 miles
Purchased a 2015 Jeep Cherokee latitude 4X4 on 2/28/2015. Started having issues with the transmission hesitating and jerking into gear. Took it to the dealership on 5/1/2015 and was informed that there is a computer glitch that the manufacturer is aware of, but there is no fix for it. They say its safe to drive. On 5/7/2015 I almost got T-boned because the transmission wouldn't shift pulling out of a parking lot into traffic. It finally jerked into gear but continued to jerk and would not go over 25mph and my check engine light and errors came on about the start/stop function. The dealership towed my car and I am using a loaner. They have no idea how to fix it. The 2015 Jeep Cherokee's are completely unsafe to drive! spent over $30,000 on a vehicle that I can't safely drive.

- Fort Edward, NY, USA

problem #55

Apr 302015

Cherokee 4WD 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
When brakes are pressed the engine revs up, and jerks, the rpms shot up, then plummet, and the power surges, and you feel the car struggle to find the correct gear. Service engine light on, cannot be reset by dealer when at a stop and going up incline, no power at all May 1. 2015 brought to dealer. Hooked up to computer, an hour later dealer returns telling that the vehicle needs parts. They are back ordered. We are sent home with a unsafe vehicle told to come back in four weeks.

- Pittsfield, MA, USA

problem #54

Apr 242015

Cherokee

  • 2,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2015 Jeep Cherokee 4X4 (2.4L/4 cyl). I've been having issues with the new automatic 9-speed transmission. The vehicle will lunge forward while decelerating at speeds between 20-25 mph. Once the speedometer reaches 20 mph, the RPM's spike and vehicle accelerates (lunges) forward. In addition while accelerating to 55-60 mph the RPM's rev at a higher rate 3000-3500 RPM range and will not click into gear properly. I took my Jeep back to the dealer on 4-25-15 and after a test drive and diagnosis they decided to replace the transmission. I received my Jeep back on Monday May 4th and it still has the same problem. This is a safety issue and I am concerned about hitting another car while decelerating towards a stop light or stop sign. As soon as the Jeep hits 20 mph, the RPM's spike and car wants to go faster.

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #53

May 232014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 3,640 miles
I had the vehicle at the dealer to have the transmission reprogrammed as per their recall and after picking it up I was driving home and making a left turn at a busy intersection and pushed on the gas and there was no response from the vehicle like the transmission was in a high gear and had not shifted down. The light turned red and the only way to get the car to respond was to floor it and the it shifted really hard and took off. It happened two more times in the next two weeks and we have taken to the dealer again and they did another reprogram on it and now it has a bad lag time when you have to shift it all the way down such as to pass a car. The dealership admitted that Jeep was having issues and that he had another car identical to mine coming into the shop that day. People are going to get killed with these transmission issues. I am an automotive technician for 40 years and driving my own car scares me real bad. We bought this car because we live in a snowy climate and I wanted my wife to have the best four wheeler available. The dealer said that Chrysler has five men working on this programming issue and I think they should have a hundred. People are going to dye and this problem is all over the internet. I hope that this will resolve faster than the Toyota issues that killed a lot of people and injured many more.

- Sandy, UT, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #52

Apr 272015

Cherokee

  • 2,000 miles
Transmission failed to engage, car would not accelerate, narrowly avoided accident.

- Porter, TX, USA

problem #51

Apr 172015

Cherokee

  • 1,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving at 25 mph and making a left turn, the accelerator pedal was depressed and the vehicle failed to accelerate. The contact also mentioned that the air bag warning light illuminated. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the failure was unable to be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 1,500. The VIN was not available.

- Melbourne , FL, USA

problem #50

Apr 022015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 4,069 miles
Jeep performed a recall on tcm/PCM for the 9 speed transmission. Now at low speeds 2-5mph in an intersection or from a stop sign, or slow down on railroad tracks the car will not move even with the gas pedal to the floor, up to a 5 second delay. We were in an intersection, the light changed and cars were oncoming, after hitting the gas pedal the car just sat there, this has happened multiple times and we were almost hit. Took it back and it was reprogrammed. Still has the same delay, taking it back for the 3rd time. If you do a rolling stop and start out into the intersection the car refuses to move, the engine is running, but no response from the Jeep. We are afraid we will get stuck in an intersection or railroad track and get killed! the Jeep only has 4000 miles on it. If your Jeep is running fine...do not let them reprogram the transmission!!!

- Middletown, OH, USA

problem #49

Apr 172015

Cherokee 4WD 4-cyl

  • 60 miles
1 day after purchasing the vehicle (Jeep Cherokee trailhawk) while turning into traffic, the vehicle shut down and lost all engine and steering and was completely disabled in oncoming traffic. The transmission check engine light, parking brake warning, and loss of 4-wheel drive warnings all came on. The vehicle was completely immobile and highly unsafe to drive. Chrysler/Jeep has advised they don't know exactly what is causing the problem and have offered several fixes, but they can not guarantee any of them will fix the safety issue.

- Marietta, PA, USA

problem #48

Nov 242014

Cherokee

  • 1,099 miles
10nov14 returned the car to the dealer for P56 recall.24nov14 mil turned on while driving w/ 1099 miles. Returned car to a dealer in thousand oaks.tech resets mil & erased codes. 4mar15 mil turned-on again w/ 4375 miles on the car. I was driving it on the freeway then it starts to lunge & skip gear, depressed the acceleration pedal & wouldnt accelerate & was blessed I didnt get into an accident & made it home safe.trans temp reached over 258 deg, doesnt accelerate properly & lunges all the time.everytime the gear is shifted it takes 5 sec to engage & lunges again w/ very loud knocking sound after it engages.error codes showed up on the reader: U1504 intake control module mal, P061B internal control module calculation performnce, U0140 lost comm w/ body cntrl module, P07D9, P10A1 abnormal oil pump volt/ovrheat, & P1daf.I didnt drive the car after that & called up nearest dealer in ventura ca.advisor scheduled an appointment after telling them what happened.16mar15, brought the car to the dealer in ventura to have it inspected w/ the problems that I have provided & left the car w/ 4375 miles.17mar15 advisor informed me that tranny needs to be replace.25mar15 I contacted Jeep chat online & was assigned a case number.1apr15, received the car back w/ a new tranny installed.4apr15 the car started to lunge again slowing down & tries to accelerate by itself.shifting of gear takes 3 sec to engage, lunges & a very loud knocking sound will also be heard again.airbag light came on & error code U0140 showed up again.car was unusable again & wasnt safe to drive.scheduled an appointment again w/ the dealer.6apr15, returned the car to dealer to be inspected w/ problems that I have mentioned w/ 4808 miles.as of today 20apr15, car still in the state of unusable condition & unsafe to be driven.I havent got it back from the dealership repairs.no resolutions have been made yet by Chrysler co.

- Point Mugu, CA, USA

problem #47

Apr 112015

Cherokee

  • 7,750 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle is a 3.2 L engine equipped with stop/start. When I stopped at a traffic light after driving about 45 minutes with no incidents, the stop/start system disabled. While continuing onto the highway the transmission remained in a lower gear and the tachometer was about 4500 at 50mph. It was shifting erratically at this point. Turning the engine off reset it. It drove normally for 5 mins then the same issue occurred. I went to the dealership the following day and found I need the 9 speed transmission replaced.

- Pine Grove, PA, USA

problem #46

Apr 142015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 3,445 miles
The service transmission message appeared on the dash information screen. I was on a highway, driving 60 mph. It felt as though the car was slowing down and unresponsive to my attempt to accelerate. Once I exited the highway, the car didn't respond to attempts to accelerate when light turned green. It felt as though it were coasting. I came to a stop and required a tow truck to get the vehicle back to dealership service department. I was later told there would be a likelihood of needing a new transmission. Something with regard to the 8th gear not engaging due to some issue with the solenoid. That issue is what caused the gear to not engage. According to the pre-assessment by the service department. The service advisor indicated this was a failure that Jeep is familiar with. Prior to today, I had experienced a sensation of the vehicle trying to accelerate when the gas peddle wasn't bring depressed. When attempting to decelerate, it would attempt to lunge forward against my attempts to brake.

- Flower Mound, TX, USA

problem #45

Apr 092015

Cherokee

  • 2,650 miles
After doing the Jeep Cherokee power train recall for the transmission my car would only drive from a flat surface to a hill at 20 mph and then drift slowly down speed wise. After getting to a flat surface I was able to get the car up to a speed of 40 mph and then let off the gas at which time the car started to grab and slow quickly by 10 mph and the rpms went from 4 to 1 and there was a huge bang underneath my car. Took the car to get serviced based on the check engine light saying for a start stop system failure (2nd check engine light for this problem). The dealer told me that the new recall would have to take time on the computer to readapt to driving tendencies of the driver according to Jeep but would be happy to test drive it for me. In a matter of 30 minutes I was given a call that I had a transmission failure and needed a new transmission. I was given a rental no other information and sent on my way. I think to only have 2600 miles on a 2015 Jeep Cherokee that I bought in November is a shame and Jeep and Chrysler should be ashamed. Talking about a $30,000 car to have to have a new transmission installed at only 2600 miles makes me worried when my bumper to number expires what could I have to replace to keep it on the road.

- West Mifflin, PA, USA

problem #44

Feb 262015

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 6,200 miles
My Cherokee has been having transmission problems since I bought it in November. At first I was told that it was just the transmission learning how to shift but then it kept shifting rougher and rougher. I brought it in when I got the oil changed, expressed my concerns, they did the recall, the problem wasn't fixed. Then they re-calibrated it and that didn't fix the problem. Next they replaced the entire transmission, unfortunately I'm having the same issues. The car now has 8,800 miles and it still doesn't run right. I spent 30 thousand on a vehicle and I have spent week after week back and forth to the dealership. I also have filed a lemon law claim but as usual Chrysler is slow to respond. This transmission should never have been released. It's now at the point where the vehicle jerks severely sometimes when it shifts.

- Lemoore, CA, USA

problem #43

Apr 072015

Cherokee

  • 3,010 miles
Took vehicle in for, quoted from notice, " fca us spokeswoman said the transmission software reflash is "intended to keep the vehicle performing as intended, and to prevent durability issues from occurring in the future." I scheduled this for the next week when I got this notice in the mail. Reflash did not take until second try I was told and everything checked out ok. Left dealership, got a mile down the road and rpms shot up, started loosing acceleration and check engine light came on. Im trying to keep from getting in a accident while making first available U turn to limp back to dealer. They hook evaluation programming up and come back and tell me my transmission needs to be replaced. The "trip codes" should have gone off when they were done but did not. It hung on long enough for me to get on the road with it.

- Kingsland, GA, USA

problem #42

Apr 032015

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
I bought my 2015 Cherokee limited in December 2014. It has a very rough ride with jerking movements as it shifts gears.(or attempts to shift gears).as you are braking the vehicle accelerates which has almost caused me to rear end the vehicle in front of me many times. I had to learn how to drive to anticipate this inefficient and dangerous SUV. As I was accelerating on the highway to pass, the car just paused without any acceleration and then jerked and kicked in. I never know what this vehicle will do and it is painful to drive with this new transmission that turns off after braking and then sluggishly accelerates. I have taken the vehicle in for the software update on April 3, 2015 and told that I need a new transmission. I am in the process of waiting now. This transmission is unsafe and dangerous and Jeep needs to take responsibility now before more incidents and casualties exist.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #41

Mar 032015

Cherokee 4WD 4-cyl

  • 300 miles
I had recently bought a brand new 2015 Jeep Cherokee and immediately started noticing transmission problems. It shifts very hard and it jerks very hard. It also seems to have problems shifting while going up hills and problems down shifting. Took it to the dealer yesterday they did a software update but it didn't seem to help.

- Swift Current, CA, USA

problem #40

Mar 242015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 7,900 miles
Transmission shifts unexpectedly. Front end wobble in low gears, shift into drive and goes into reverse, all around junk.

- Rhinelander, WI, USA

problem #39

Mar 202015

Cherokee

  • 2,450 miles
I had just descended in center city heavily congested traffic from the entrance pass. About a 2000 foot decent. I was entering a traffic circle and slowed for traffic, pushing down on the brake pedal, it kicked back at me with substantial force. The pedal the went to the floor board. I had no brakes, and drove into the curb to stop the car. The Jeep has no emergency brake system only an electronic park brake. I found the same problem 2 months before ( at 1200 miles) when the transmission overheated and shut down all power, and left me with no steering or brakes on a narrow mountain road, and almost go me killed.( diagnosed by repairing dealer as a "defectively manufactured transmission" and replaced it). I had Jeep towed to nearest dealer. He could do nothing for that day. Called, next day, he said the problem was a "defective power brake booster", maybe have the part and repair done in a week. Second time hotel and cab home ( now at $800) on me. Big too bad, nothing we can do from Chrysler. The repairing dealer returned the Jeep on 27th. Selling dealer called to say all was perfect.picked up and drove 50 miles the transmission began to howl like a banchee. Dealer diagnosed problem as a " defective transmission mount". same dealer just replace the transmission 2 months ago. Still waiting for car to be repaired and returned. The 2015 Jeep Cherokee is a dangerous and life threatening engineered vehicle. Chrysler can not have any form of quality control, if 3 major components fail within 2600 miles as "defectively manufactured". the zf 9 speed transmission is a disaster and causing problems everywhere. The Chrysler corporation and dealer network is corrupt, non trustworthy, untruthfully, and noncareing from the top down. I would never recommend or buy anything from Chrysler again and would give most anything to get my money back.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #38

Jan 022015

Cherokee

  • 1,600 miles
200 miles from home, I was ascending an approximately 8 mile, 2 lane,15 degree hill. At about 5 miles up the hill I tried to pass a double semi proceeding up hill at less then 10 mph. I pushed down on the gas, and got half the way around the truck, and the engine shut down, leaving me on the wrong side of the road without power steering or brakes. I had no place to go, and I could now see oncoming traffic coming directly at me. With the gear lever in drive, there is no emergency or parking brake, as it is electronic, and with the car moving, you cannot access the park position. I was standing on the brakes, but getting almost no reaction. Finally, I got behind the truck, I stood on the brakes and got as far right as possible, and got the car to stop. When I looked down at the dash, a warning message informed me that the transmission had overheated. This apparently is what triggered the engine to shut down. Incredibly dangerous and stupid engineering. Kill the occupants, save the transmission. I was blocking the right lane but had to sit there for 30 minutes until the transmission came back to operating temp. Started the car and proceeded up hill. No possible place to turn around. Within 5 minutes, the transmission temp. Was getting critically hot, found a pull off and called roadside assistance. At dealer 5 hours later. They said they could fix car by recalibrating the computer control to transmission. They did the work the next day. The transmission overheated again within 5 miles of a test ride. The dealer ship closed at 2 pm and left me standing there. Cost over $600 for hotel and taxi ride home. The selling dealer trucked the Jeep back to the dealership for repair. Diagnosed the problem, as a defectively manufactured transmission and agreed to replace the transmission. A month later, I got the car back. This is a very dangerous car.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?