Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,888 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 17 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #9

Oct 202014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 900 miles


Loud noise from the engine/transmission then the car completely shuts down and comes to a complete stop in the road. The car will then restart all systems with check engine light on. Has happened and been taken to the dealership for repairs on 10/20/2014, 12/1/2014, 12/3/2014,12/12/2014,12/22/2014. Dealership nor Chrysler know what is causing the issue and will not do anything except try to repair. I have concerns that if this issue happens at higher speeds on interstate what would happen.

- Kingsport, TN, USA

problem #8

Dec 202014


  • 2,022 miles
While braking at 24 miles per hour the car abruptly downshifts and causes the vehicle to accelerate. I have noticed the longer I drive the vehicle, it will happen while I am slowing down at higher speeds at well. I have taken the Jeep to the dealership and they have flashed and updated my transmission but they said it was fixed but it was not. It is acting up more than it was before. It is incredibly dangerous to drive this car especially when trying to brake around a curve because it will speed up by itself.

- Smiths Station, AL, USA

problem #7

Nov 232014

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 1,375 miles
Have had two times the vehicle transmission warning came on to "service transmission" with no response from depressing the accelerator. At these two times the vehicle was at a full stop and the dash was full of warning lights for different things. When the transmission was shifted from drive to park, there was a loud and violent jerking by the transmission. This transmission has had it's software updated many times, which has not helped. Dealer tech was able to observe this condition and replaced the transmission valve body. After replacing the valve body and after driving about 50 miles on a interstate highway, the service transmission warning came on. Took the next exit and stopped at a traffic stoplight, the car would lunge and jerk violently trying to go. Shut the engine off and let the car reset itself. Will not drive the vehicle again and will ask Chrysler to supply a rental vehicle at their expense until they have replaced my vehicle. This makes three times the vehicle has been in the shop for transmission problems. This transmission issue as far I am concerned is a major safety issue.

- Appling, GA, USA

problem #6

Dec 162014


  • 2,000 miles


When downshifting there is and abrupt shift in the 18-22 mph range. With icy roads this could cause the driver to lose control of the vehicle and cause serious personal injury.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #5

Nov 092014


  • 930 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving at a low speed, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to accelerate. The malfunction light and service transmission light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on two separate occasions. The technician diagnosed that the transmission computer needed to be re-reprogrammed. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken to a dealer a third time where it was diagnosed that the valve body needed to be replaced, but it was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 930.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #4

Nov 292014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 6,750 miles
Vehicle was traveling on interstate highway when service transmission light came on in the stored messages, then the malfunction indicator light and service engine light came on. Within minutes, driveability issues became apparent with no acceleration and slipping gears/unable to shift into gears. Once the car slowed/stopped, the vehicle was unable to shift into lower gears to move. The vehicle had received the P56 recall to update the computer software to the transmission control module one month prior to this incident.

- Janesville, WI, USA

problem #3

Dec 062014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 6,813 miles


Vehicle had driveability issues with transmission slipping in lower gears. Car has received three software updates to transmission control module prior to this incident.

- Janesville, WI, USA

problem #2

Dec 012014


  • 450 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee latitude. The contact stated that the traction control system would erroneously activate each time the driver's foot was taken off the accelerator pedal, followed by a warning chime. When the failure would occur, the transmission could not be used in reverse. The contact also indicated that while stopped at a red light on a slight incline and secured in drive, the vehicle would roll in reverse. The failure recurred also on a flat road surface and while the vehicle was stationary. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but no information regarding the cause of the failure was made available to the contact. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 450. Mailed out 01/13/15

- Castleton, NY, USA

problem #1

Nov 072014


  • 225 miles
I am filing this complaint about my 2015 Cherokee latitude because the vehicle was repeatedly shifting itself out of drive into neutral while the SUV was in motion. I had the vehicle for 12 days before this happened. I was compelled to file this complaint for two reasons. First, in doing minor internet research about this problem, I discovered this was an ongoing issue with the new 9 speed automatic transmission that Chrysler was aware of way back in October 2013 and was "supposed? to fix with the 2014 model & subsequent models after that. I have a brand new 2015 model and this issue has not been properly addressed & fixed at all. It"S obvious that the proper amount of qa was not done if this is still happening. Secondly, the main reason I wanted to file this complaint it because this issue of shifting out of gear while driving is a critical one. I am extremely lucky that I was not involved in a collision with a vehicle driving behind me when my SUV suddenly & repeatedly stopped moving. My concern is that other drivers with these new 9 speed transmissions may not be so lucky. This issue could easily result in injuries or death if not properly addressed.

- Ferndale, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?