CarComplaints.com Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,701 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 19)

problem #377

Jan 072017

Cherokee

  • 36,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle shut off when driving. After calling a Jeep dealer and asking if they where having any trouble like this. I also informed the dealer that the Cherokee had 36500 miles 500 over covered warranty. I was informed the the work would not be covered so I took it to a local garage. Was told it needs a thermostat. Had to call a dealer after several attempts to locate the part. All the dealer said the part is on national back order. If the part is that popular to replace that you cant keep it in stock than there most be an issue. This vehicle is not safe if this part is causing the motor to shut off when driving down the road at highway speed. Their seems to be a lot of trouble with this vehicle. I hope Chrysler will not just let the issue go hoping that people just deal with it there self. Been to the garage 3 times and still have 5 years to pay for it. It is enough of a problem that I thought I would take this step.called Chrysler customer service first time was disconnected before I could type my massage. Second time was told they could put a rush on my part gee thanks.how about just make a vehicle that will not get someone killed by shutting of on the highway. Thank you edward mastowski.

- Mill Run, PA, USA

problem #376

Jan 132017

Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #375

Jan 132017

Cherokee

  • 23,220 miles
While braking the car abruptly downshifts and causes the vehicle to accelerate. I have noticed the longer I drive the vehicle, it will happen while I am slowing down at higher speeds at well. Also, a slow response to acceleration at times. I have taken the Jeep to the dealership and they have flashed and updated my transmission but they said it was fixed but it was not. It is incredibly dangerous to drive this car especially when trying to brake because it will speed up by itself and merging into hwy or fast moving traffic.

- Jacksonville Beach, FL, USA

problem #374

Jan 032017

Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission has been making a whining noise took it in they said they couldn't find anything. Today 12/4/17 two weeks later it"S doing same thing whining in tranny /driveshaft area

- Hasting, MN, USA

problem #373

Nov 082016

Cherokee

  • 15,192 miles
Transmission shifts hard. Vehicle will lurch forward when shifting gears. Happens when stopped at a light and press the accelerator or when going slow (coming to speed bumps) and accelerating - vehicle will lurch. Purchased the vehicle (brand new) in October of 2015 and 3 days after purchase, the vehicle shut down at a stop light and transmission light came on. I restarted vehicle and had to "limp" it to my office where it was towed (30 miles) to the dealership. The rpms will race when shifting to another gear. One year after purchase, the transmission light came on again, the transmission was shifting hard, was able to limp it to the dealership. Dealer has completed flashes to the computer of the transmission. It's been 2 months since the last time I took it in for transmission and it's starting to shift hard and lurch again. This vehicle is unsafe and should be recalled by the manufacturer.

- Chicago, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #372

Nov 232016

Cherokee

  • 16,957 miles
Car had run fine then we had parked outside a store, when we got back into the car it started fine but would not engage into gear, display stated service transmission and parking brake. Display then stated put car into drive when at 0 mph which we were. Could not drive car and had to be towed to nearest dealership. Day before whilst driving we had noticed a stumble in acceleration which felt like the vehicle was going to stall, that cleared up the next day until it broke down. Dealership stated it was the valve body failure and had to be replaced.

- San Tan Valley, AZ, USA

problem #371

Jun 102016

Cherokee

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On June 10, 2016 at approx. 5:15pm, service shifter displayed on the driver information display (did) for approx. 5 seconds as I was driving on I-95 in West palm beach, fl. At approximately 8:00pm, service shifter displayed again and remained displayed on the did. After approximately 5 minutes, I pressed the controls for the electronic vehicle information center (evic) attempting to remove the service shifter display and display the speedometer. Pressing the evic did not change the service shifter display. The did/evic crashed. I did not know my driving speed or could access any other vehicle information. I then noticed the center console and the P (park), R (reverse), N (neutral), and D (drive) indicator lights all illuminated simultaneously. I got off I-95 at the next exit, port St. Lucie, fl and stopped at a shell gas station. I took pictures of the displays with my cell phone before turning off the engine, mileage 36,474. I turned the engine off and called Chrysler roadside assistance. The agent said he could not tell me how long the wait would be for service or tow. I started the engine and waited to see the did, evic, and P R N D displays. The displays were the same as before I turned off the engine. I could see a hotel from the gas station. I googled the hotel address and the address of the nearest Jeep dealership, arrigo Dodge Chrysler Jeep, ft. Pierce, fl. The distance was 8 miles. I drove to the hotel, 0.4 miles from gas station. The next morning, June 11th, I called arrigo and talked with a service advisor and asked if I could bring my Jeep immediately. I drove to arrigo at 5851 S. us highway 1, ft. Pierce, fl. Attached is repair order 136810 - 6/11/16 flash software. Same occurrence driving on I-95, service shifter and prnd 46,302 miles and 46, 623 miles in 09/16. Replaced shifter 9/21/16 at my expense. 5 files attached. I have more.

- Dothan, AL, USA

problem #370

Nov 282016

Cherokee

  • 7,500 miles
I have had the engine light come on several times and the dealer had my car for 8 hours and said it was repaired and I drove it 2 miles down the road from the shop and the engine light came back on so after 2 weeks wait it went back in and noe the dealer is saying I need a new transmission and Chrysler is only willing to replace my transmission with 7500 mile on it with a remanifactured transmission which is bs.

- Meridian, ID, USA

problem #369

Dec 192016

Cherokee

  • 27,000 miles
2015 Jeep trail hawk approximately 1st 10,000 miles electronics multiple alarms no 4 wheel drive, parking break error, check transmission light on while driving. Loss of some steering, heavy... car is shifting chaotically. Check engine no visible issues. Took to dealer ship the next day they re-flashed software kept it for the night no other issues until 12/11/2016 when a duplicate of the first event occurred. Took to dealership same thing as reported before, plus oil leak (no oil in my garage upper oil leak) and the dealership completed a transmission re-call repair to fix transmission errors on the 9 speed. All repairs under warranty to date only cost to me is rental cars and lost time at work. 12/19 duplicate again of two events only difference is the car was having a hard time starting on two occasions today but drove fine. On one occasion the motor starter would not stop engaging the engine and it would not start. My foot was not on the brake, and I was not pressing the start button, it was just stuck in start. I pumped the breaks and hit the engine button and it stopped maybe 20 seconds later. The car always returns to normal after it sits for a few hours all the alarms go away and the check engine light is on but it tests drives fine. Last recall noted the same issue and my recall repair on 12/12 was to fix the issue, at this point feel I am pretty lucky to be on side street a few miles from home when errors occur not sure what would happen on the highway. Just checked the engine and fluids all ok will take to dealership tomorrow. Took pictures of the top of the engine and below the car no leaks no fluid issues seems to be a software or programming issue. The dealership has been great don't think they have much control over the problem.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #368

Oct 162016

Cherokee

  • 28,000 miles
When attempting to pass another car the transmission suddenly went into neutral. Vehicle lurches sometimes and transmission is not predictable. Wife is scared to drive it after it went into neutral while trying to pass with it. Dealer said they can find nothing wrong!

- Marinette, WI, USA

problem #367

Dec 162016

Cherokee

  • 6,350 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Even though Chrysler recalled these vehicles to repair faulty nine speed automatic transmission systems (NHTSA campaign #16V529000), the problems are still recurring again and again following the repairs. The transmission wire harness is not being replaced, in my case the transmission was replaced but the problems continued. The auto is returned to the owner without proper road testing and with the same life/safety faulty conditions, that makes the moving auto to unexpectedly shift to neutral or engine turn-off. Also, sometimes the problem occurs when turning while in motion, with a strong steering pulling that forces the auto to the side with stability control or power steering systems not in operation (control light comes on). In order to continue moving, the auto has to be stopped in the middle of the road, placed in park and re-started while other autos are on the road near me, obviously very dangerous! these autos should not be on the road, until the problem is proven to be finally resolved by Chrysler. If the manufacturer is allowed to continue with the "trial & error" solutions, then all applicable warranties will eventually expire and the auto owners will end up with a defective auto, that is not operable, is unsafe and will ultimately has no value.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #366

Dec 082016

Cherokee

  • 22,500 miles
While driving my vehicle across an intersection on a city street my transmission went, in the middle of the intersection. My vehicle came to a crawl and I was unable to give it gas, all the while traffic was coming at me in both directions. My passenger had to get out of the car and push it back out of the intersection. Then my car would not go into park, again almost rolling back into traffic.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #365

Dec 122016

Cherokee

  • 18,189 miles
A wobble is felt when vehicle is accelerated from a dead stop or rolling start. It usually occurs between 10 and 20 mph.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #364

Dec 132016

Cherokee

  • 18,281 miles
2015 Jeep Cherokee trailhawk 18281 miles - V6. 1:45pm 12/13/16 I was stopped in an intersection making a left hand turn. Came time to go, hit the gas and heard a loud "crack" from the front/passenger side of the Jeep then a "rattle", then nothing. The engine revved up but no power to the wheels. Rolled through the intersection, pulled over, put the car in park and turned off the motor. Got out, looked around, nothing broken, no fluid on the ground. Popped the hood, again, nothing noticeable. Re-started the vehicle and the engine light was on. Put the vehicle in drive, but would only go about 10 mph... the motor would rev up, but again no power to the wheels. Limped along the highway with the flashers on and pulled onto a safe side street and called triple-a. as I was sitting, engine off, I began to roll... the vehicle was in park but was still rolling forward! cranked the wheels into the curb and set the E-parking brake. Got a tow to the local dealership and explained the situation to the service tech. Thought I'd post as well so others could see. So far, the dealership has been really helpful. I'll be following up and updating as we go.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #363

Nov 282016

Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle stalled. The manufacturer referred the contact to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the oil needed to be changed and the throttle body replaced. The transmission was previously replaced at 26,000 miles. The dealer was informed by the manufacturer to complete the recall repair per NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train). The manufacturer was aware of the failures. The failure mileage was not available.

- East Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #362

Nov 022016

Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #361

Sep 122016

Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train). The part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Sharon, OK, USA

problem #360

Sep 192016

Cherokee

  • 13,500 miles
Purchased vehicle used 9/17/2016. On Monday 9/19/16 I pulled out of a parking spot at work, put the car into drive and found that it wouldn┐T move. All of the shift panel lights went on, the dash flashed a series of errors, and the car was in what appeared to be neutral. This would happen 10 more times between 9/17 and 11/19 to both me and the service advisor at the Dodge dealership. At one point it went into this immobile state as I backed out of my driveway at 6:30 a.M., leaving me in the street with a car coming from behind. This problem remains un-resolved as of 12/7/16. Dealer can't find cause. Problem occurs most when cold and shifting from reverse to drive.

- Gurnee, IL, USA

problem #359

May 232015

Cherokee

  • 21,000 miles
After driving the car for almost a year kept noticing transmission would not shift smoothly. It would jerk and lurch making me think I was not applying the accelerator correctly. After several (3) complaints and taking it to the dealer to have it looked at I decided to look for another vehicle. It was then I found out from a Honda dealer employee that there is a class action law suit against Jeep. The Jeep in question was released without all the problems with the nine speed transmission worked out. It is very frustrating to be driving a new vehicle that doesn't run like one

- Clymer, PA, USA

problem #358

Nov 162016

Cherokee

  • miles
My malfunction indicator light came on and I noticed that the car was not shifting properly and that when it shifted it was doing so at about 4 to 5K rpms. I took the car to Jeep to have it repaired. Jeep stated that all has been fixed to date but the car is still not shifting properly. In addition my car gets every service at Jeep and my car only has about 22K on it so to have issues already is very concerning.

- Durham, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?