Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 6
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,417 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

Nov 202015

Cherokee

  • 1,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled intermittently without warning. After several attempts, the vehicle was able to restart. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 1,100. Updated 05/04/16

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #44

Dec 122015

Cherokee

  • 1 miles
Vehicle trembles on occasions while in operation as if it it's going to turn off. Additionally, the motor feels very forced on occasions and it has stopped while in operation in the middle of the road. The back seat door handles fall off and the dashboard keeps making a rattling noise while the vehicle is turned on.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #43

Feb 152016

Cherokee

  • 2,002 miles
The vehicle just froze up yesterday 15 Feb 2016. It would not start, the brakes were completely locked up on it. Tried and tried to get it to start and it would not. Took it in this morning on a flat bed hauler and took it to the dealership at I 77 Jeep in ripley wv. They first stated it was the emergency brake, then said it was the battery, but I guess it was me it her of those. So it's still there and no word what cause it. If it had locked up while my wife was driving it it would be a very bad results. The vehicle was stationedare and was in the garage.

- Cottageville, WV, USA

problem #42

Sep 202015

Cherokee

  • 200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2015 Jeep Cherokee latitude shut off on me while I was driving not even a full week of owning it. The vehicle gauges go to zero and I loose power steering and when I apply the gas pedal nothing happens. All I am able to do is press the brake pedal and hopefully not have anyone behind me so that I can try and pull over with no power steering. I have taken it into the dealer on several occasions showing them both video and photo documentation of what is happening and they have been unable to duplicate this issue and have not provided me with an alternative as to getting another vehicle or my money back. The vehicle first shut off on me 18sep2015 and has continued to do so on the highway and on city streets with the most recent time being 14feb2016. I have all of my documentation of every time its been in the shop for the same problem with no resolution being provided.

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #41

May 102015

Cherokee

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving, the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact also stated while driving, she blacked out and crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries to her sternum, head and legs. Medical attention was required at the scene of the crash. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 4,000.

- Thomasville, GA, USA

problem #40

Nov 252015

Cherokee

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 35 mph, the check engine warning indicator and the start stop warning indicator illuminated. In addition, the engine misfired and the vehicle violently shook. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that a faulty spool valve failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was approximately 2,000.

- Hobart, IN, USA

problem #39

Jun 292015

Cherokee

  • 13,631 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased Jeep and have had safety issues with inconsistent shifting since day one. I have returned to the dealer 19 times for shifting issues and other complaints. At the present time I continue to have a "service shifter" light come on in the vehicle. The light comes on while the vehicle is in motion. You can try to reset the shifter to let the computer try to recognize the error, but it doesn't work. Technicians have told me not to drive with the light on as the car may shift in a different gear or even reverse. Chrylser star technicians keep resetting the software, however the light continues to come back on randomly. I have expressed my concerns and fears with the shifting, however they do not know what is causing the problem nor how to fix the issue so they continue to reset the computer. I do not feel safe driving the vehicle as I never know when the light will come on nor what it will do. Found error codes U146500 and P1C861D. Performed flash updates. Dates of issues: 6/29/15, 07/17/15, 09/06/15, 12/01/15. I also have problems with inconsistent shifting and take of. You can try to accelerate and the car will not go but the RPM's will rise. The car will suddenly take off after a 4-5 second delay. This has caused me great fear as sometimes you will go to turn and the car pauses before taking off. By the time it does take off you have turned in front of an oncoming car. Again Chrysler star technicians have told me I am "over sensitive" and the car functions as any 9 speed transmission is designed to do.

- Saint Henry, OH, USA

problem #38

Jun 022015

Cherokee

  • 7,718 miles
Problem started while moving. Now it's as soon as it startsmy problem started June 2015, whole dash lights up tire pressure, service air bag,4WD unavailable, brake failure, and when comes to stop disengages transmission.same thing started again August 3rd 2015 same list again. Received back again Sept 2nd 2015 drove for 2 days. Back to dealer again. Still there currently have not received back cannot figure problem out Chrysler is involved but they are rediculas case number available if needed

- Springbrook, PA, USA

problem #37

Nov 082015

Cherokee

  • 3,750 miles
The vehicle service engine light keeps coming on, service transmission light comes on. Vehicle shifts in and out of gear on its own. Parking brake activates on its own. The start/stop malfunction light comes on. It has been towed in to dealership 3 times. These problems have occurred while vehicle was in motion.

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

problem #36

Oct 022015

Cherokee

  • 2,500 miles
My car has had transmission issues from very early on. I can step on the gas, the engine revs up but does not register on the tachometer, then all of a sudden it catches and goes. I have been in 4 or 5 situations where I started pulling out into traffic and the car simply hesitated for several seconds before going. I actually had a very close call with a tractor trailer because of this hesitation. Also, you can step on the gas to accelerate and once at the desired speed then let off the accelerator and the engine stays at the accelerated RPM's for several seconds then shifts back out to normal RPM's. also, the car has had 4 separate electrical issues in 4 months as well. The check engine light comes on, then the engine cooling fan runs fast for about 30 minutes then shuts back down. I have had my vehicle at he dealership for problems 5 times in 4 months and they can't seem to find what the issue is or what to do to correct it.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #35

Oct 262015

Cherokee

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while the vehicle was in motion, smoke appeared inside and outside the vehicle. The contact merged to the side of the road and large flames appeared under the hood. A fire technician extinguished the fire. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to an impound lot. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 12,000.

- Rockport, TX, USA

problem #34

Oct 052015

Cherokee

  • 5,500 miles
July 31, 2015: Vehicle transmission overheated warning light came on while driving (8-10 miles) in morning and again in afternoon. In pm turned of vehicle and restarted, various warning lights including transmission requires service warnings appeared and transmission was stuck in one gear. July 31-augusts1 Jeep was at dealer for complete transmission replacement (approximately 5500 miles). October 5-October 7 vehicle left with dealer due to continued transmission issues while driving. Vehicle periodically clunks and jerks forward when shifting into low gear when coming to a stop. Becomes confused when slowing to a rolling stop, and hesitates to take off when accelerating from a stop. Currently when driving in daylight the auto headlights periodically flicker on and off when I drive through a shadow and make viewing displays in daylight problematic. Jeep customer care says that they could find no error codes and without "replicating the problem" or having error codes they can't do anything.

- Temple Hills, MD, USA

problem #33

Oct 162015

Cherokee

  • 120 miles
I bought a 2015 Jeep Cherokee trailhawk V6 on 10/14/15. On 10/16/15 while driving down a street at 45mph, the vehicle died. I managed to get off to the side of the road and after a couple of attempts it started again. The check engine light was now on and I had no acceleration. I managed to drive 5 miles to the dealership in "limp mode" and drop it off for repairs. The last I heard on 10/17/15 was that they were going to replace the tcm and PCM and see if that helps, it is now 10/21/15 and I do not have an update.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #32

Aug 012015

Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V393000 (electrical system) was received in August of 2015. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Zionsville, PA, USA

problem #31

Oct 112015

Cherokee

  • 5,000 miles
Vehicle was parked in driveway and alarm went off around 14:00 on 10/11/2015. I turned off the alarm and saw smoke in the vehicle. I moved the vehicle away from any structures and call 911. The fire department came and extinguished the fire and told me that it was an electrical fire that started in the rear of the vehicle.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #30

Aug 152015

Cherokee

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that both key fobs would fail to start the vehicle and rear brake light failed the vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer replaced the brake light and noticed that the failure persisted. Several days later, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer again where it was diagnosed that the entire transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact stated that the vehicle independently accelerated without the accelerator being depressed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 13,000.

- Lorton, VA, USA

problem #29

Jan 302015

Cherokee

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle made a jerking motion, failed to accelerate, and two unknown warning indicators illuminated. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The mechanic repaired four computer modules and replaced the transmission. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 4,000.

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #28

Jul 072015

Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles
I leased for 39 months a brand new Jeep Cherokee latitude 2015 at 10/25/2015 on champion Chrysler Jeep Dodge dealer. It will complete 9 months that I have this car. On 3/16/215 there was the 1st recall about an issue on airbags that could open accidentally. On 6/5/2015 there was the 2nd recall (I am not sure what was the issue). On 6/15/2015 I had an issue about transmission system and I couldn't move the car in indy downtown. I couldn't turn the car on. My car was on dealer for service for 5 days. They changed the entire transmission system. On 7/5/2015 I was in NY and I almost had an accident because I heard an alarm and it was popping up an icon on the Jeep panel, and then I realized that the steering wheel was really hard when I tried to turn 90 degrees on a crossroad. I almost hit the curb and the car behind me almost hit me. I needed to turn off and turn on the car several times to move the car. I intended to leave NY on Sunday to work on Monday but I did not feel safe to travel almost 12 hours. I waited until Monday to go to a dealer in NY and check what was wrong about the car. On Monday I went to a Jeep dealer on warwick - NY and they said that they didn't have the spare part to change on my car and that I need to wait at least one more day so they could order and fix. But he also said that I could drive, but the wheel would be hard sometimes. I just need to pay attention on 90 degrees turns and U turns. I came back home listening the alarm all the trip. I left the car on champion dealer at 7/7/2015 and after one day they fixed the issue. At NY dealer they said that need to change some part and on champion they just fixed and didn't change nothing. My car is just 9 months old and I had several and important issues. I bought a new car. I just want to put gas and drive. I already lost several hours of work and I do not feel safe about this car.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #27

Sep 102015

Cherokee

  • 600 miles
Was traveling to work and there was a car ahead of me. This person had out of state plates and was not paying attention, speeding up and then slowing down several time. The person behind me and passed both of us. In fact he was the one the I ran into. Then when I approached the next town to get on the 4 lane, there is a turn off that everyone uses to get to the school. I don't remember what happened to the green out of state car, I think he did a quick left turn in front of me, and then I hit the guy that passed both of us. He was stopped waiting for the car ahead of him to turn. Needless to say, I was charged with failing to stop in an assured clear distance. The sun was bright and I seen no brake or turn signals. The front end of my 10 day old vehicle sustained over 8600 dollars in damage so far. My concern is why did the air bags not go off at 50 mph when I hit the back of his 2012 Buick? I was taken by ambulance to be checked out as the seat belt hurt my chest and possible broken finger. Later that night I returned to the hospital for a head ct and chest xray for dizziness and headaches. I still have head aches when I bend over and will most likely consult my doctor for possible whip lash. The other driver was not hurt, but was told his vehicle was going to be total loss. We just bought this and now I am concerned about safety! both the adjustor and I were concerned why they didn't deploy. The whole front end of my vehicle is destroyed. From bumper back to radiator, which was destroyed.

- Manchester, IA, USA

problem #26

Sep 102015

Cherokee

  • 9,400 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While the brake pedal was depressed, the transmission and the check engine warning lights illuminated. Additionally, there was abnormal sound coming from under the vehicle, and the vehicle stalled. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was towed to a dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 9,400.

- Chicago, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?