Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 6
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,417 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

Apr 102015

Cherokee

  • 4,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 5 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle would not accelerate. The vehicle was restarted and the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer on four occasions where the failure was unable to be determined. In a most recent occasion, the vehicle was taken to a dealer where the module and the wiring harness were replaced and reprogrammed, but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The failure mileage was 4,500.

- Navarre, FL, USA

problem #24

Sep 022015

Cherokee

  • 5,780 miles
The rear hatch won't stay closed, can't be locked. No way to keep hatch closed! maybe I could tape outside of hatch? not to secure!

- Lock Haven, PA, USA

problem #23

Apr 152015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving at various speeds and approaching a stop, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle also failed to accelerate up a hill at 60 mph. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure was unable to be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 5,000. Updated 11/09/15 the consumer stated at 5,000, the accelerator pedal did not respond. Also, the vehicle stalled at intersections. Updated 12/24/15.

- St. Roberts, MO, USA

problem #22

Jan 152015

Cherokee

  • 7,190 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While the vehicle was parked, it rolled backwards. The contact also stated that, while driving at approximately 55 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate over 50 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure was unable to be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 7,190.

- Bellefontaine, OH, USA

problem #21

Apr 132015

Cherokee

  • 1,100 miles
My husband and I bought a brand new 2015 Jeep Cherokee trailhawk. 2 weeks after owning our brand new car that we purchased because we were expecting a baby and wanted to have a safe reliable vehicle we started having shifting problems and electrical issues. We brought in the vehicle multiple times (4 times) and although we were told that it might be transmission related issues but then as soon as Chrysler got involved we were told our vehicle is perfectly fine. Nothing was ever fixed until my husband and I went to a different dealership. The new dealership fixed the electrical problems but said everything with the transmission is normal. The car makes shudder motions, sometimes it does not accelerate as I'm trying to get onto the freeway and it shifts very jerky. We have owned a Jeep before which did not do that. We are so disappointment how Chrysler is responding to known transmission problems and not doing any recalls on transmission related issues. We bought this vehicle because we wanted a safe vehicle for the family. However, after the latest tcm update the shifting has gotten worse and it doesn't feel safe to drive the vehicle yet Chrysler won't do anything as we are being told this is normal.

- Buckeye, AZ, USA

problem #20

Jan 022015

Cherokee

  • 1,890 miles
I have owned this 2015 Jeep Cherokee since December 2014. The transmission had to be replaced @ 1890 miles, car stopped dead trying to pass a truck on steep grade, overheated transmission. The power brake master booster had to be replaced twice, @ 2490 miles and 4920 miles, no brakes just crash into nearest curb or car, part and system failure. The transmission mounts had to be replaced @ 2560 miles, car howling like a banchee, parts failure. The software had to be changed 3 times, "trying to solve factory problem". warning lights for check engine and battery came on and car shuttered and came to abrupt stop, in the middle of a dangerous curve, with all system shut down completely @ 4970 miles, currently investigating cause. The car has been with the dealer, in total, more than 45 days, currently at dealer again. This car has left me in life threatening situations 4 times. It appears that when any preprogramed limits are reached, all systems shut down, brakes, steering, everything. You are left totally defenseless and not able to control the vehicle. The Jeep has no emergency brake! this is the most unreliable and dangerous vehicle I have ever driven. I have been totally stranded away from home twice, and have yet to recover over $1000 in out of pocket expense, transportation, hotel, food, and cabs. The dealer closed at 2pm on a Saturday, 280 miles from home, said good by and told me to contact Chrysler for assistance, " it wasn't his responsibility". all 2014 and 2015 Jeep Cherokee should be recalled and taken off the road. This poorly conceived and engineered vehicle is dangerous and will kill many people, if it already has not. The Chrysler corporation and its dealers are knowingly selling a faulty and dangerous vehicle to the public.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #19

Jan 012015

Cherokee

  • 500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The Jeep is bad and exactly engine, electrical, fuel propulsion system, and ather things,

- El Mirage, AZ, USA

problem #18

Jun 292015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 400 miles
I leased the vehicle on 6/17/15. Within a week the service park brake light came on briefly. Dealership said it was a fluke. A few days later. Back sensor beep would not turn off while driving. Dealership said it was a fluke. A day later power lift gate wouldn't work for a day. Dealership said it was a fluke. When I called the dealership the first time they proceeded to tell me car was sold to me with a reprogramming airbag recall so I took in to get fix & have other items looked at. They never looked at other issues. A week later service brake light came back on I took in immediately. After 3 days sitting in the shop they said 25 codes came up & not sure how to fix. After a week of them having the car they said it was fixed. After 10 hrs of having back the transmission light came on. I took back to service & the mgr said car is unsafe and would request a new vehicle for me that would take 6 wks to get. He also told me the dealership they got my vehicle from had issues w/car and never said anything. In the week I haven't had the vehicle I've been given 6 loaner cars. 1 of which broke down with service park brake & transmission lights on and could not shift. I have demanded Chrysler to cancel my lease and return my funds owed...updated 09/22/15 the consumer stated the ncds arbitrator and Chrysler agreed to release the consumer from the lease. The consumer would also be reimbursed. Updated 12/9/2015 updated 12/21/15

- Parma Heights, OH, USA

problem #17

Jun 192015

Cherokee

  • 725 miles
6/19/2015: Transmission/electrical issue when attempting to shift the vehicle into reverse it would shift into neutral instead. Had to shift to park and then back to reverse before the vehicle went into gear. This was the fourth occurrence of this issue since purchase date. Airbag warning message and indicator light turned on when shifting from park to reverse and to drive. Electronic stability control indicator came on repeatedly while driving. 6/22/2015: Transmission/electrical issue vehicle would not shift from park to reverse. After several minutes was able to put vehicle into park, and eventually powered vehicle off and on and was then able to shift from park to reverse and then drive. Airbag warning message and indicator light turned on and electronic stability control indicator came on. 6/23/2015: Transmission/electrical failure odometer at 800 miles. While driving, the vehicle suddenly went out of gear. Climbing a parking garage ramp the vehicle stalled, the parking brake turned on, the airbag service message and indicator turned on, the service engine light came on, the windshield wipers came on, the media console and bluetooth connection failed. After several minutes of attempting to shift gears (could not get the vehicle into park, drive, or reverse, and parking brake kept engaging), was finally able to power the vehicle off. Once the vehicle was powered back on, was able to shift to drive, and drove directly to the dealership. Check engine light remained on and electronic stability control indicator came on repeatedly while driving. Delivered vehicle to dealership for inspection and repair, and am awaiting resolution as of 7/20/2015.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #16

Apr 102015

Cherokee

  • 1,000 miles
Transmission failed at 1,000 miles. Dealer replaced with a redesigned version. I started to get a wobble in the front end while I was accelerating. I brought it back and they said that it was a known issue and they were redesigning the front axles but the fix wasn't out yet. A few weeks later the metal frame in my sunroof broke and the weather stripping fell out and I couldn't close the shade. They informed me that the entire sunroof assembly had to be replaced because the frame was defective. The wobble continued to get worse and the car was shifting rougher than ever. I kept telling the dealership that there was something wrong, and they said "that's how the new 9 speed trans behave". when I brought the car in for the sunroof replacement I asked them to look at the wobble and trans again, and they informed me that the front axle was indeed bad. They put in the redesigned axles, and replaced the entire sunroof. I continue to have serious transmission issues and they put in a new valve body and updated the software. It's worse than ever. I kept complaining to Jeep and all they said was "the dealership can't replicate your problem." I actually had the service manager in the car with me and he verified that the car does not drive properly- and when Jeep called me, they told me that I had to go to another dealership. This car is not safe. It hesitates when you step on the gas, then it jerks very hard into second gear, it will accelerate on it's own because it can't find a gear to downshift, and the engine will spontaneously rev on it's own if I am descending a hill and its trying to downshift. The car will leap forward and accelerate until I press the brake hard enough to slow it down and it will finally shift. The rpms will go up for several seconds after I've applied the brake. The vehicle also rolls several inches after I put it in park now.

- East Stroudsburg, PA, USA

problem #15

Oct 042014

Cherokee

  • 506 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle stop/start feature activates on the highway when in traffic congestion when I come to a complete stop, at a stop sign, or at a red light; periodically, the emergency brake is also activated and does not allow me to turn it off and proceed unless I remove the ignition key, insert it, and then restart the car. Only then, will it allow me to turn off the electric emergency brake and move into traffic. My family and I have been in danger from other vehicles on the highway, at red lights and stop signs, because of my car stalling, in this manner. The stop/start feature places me and my occupants in danger of collision from other motorist. I have reported it to whitten brothers, local Jeep dealer, several times, however, they discredit the complaint and I believe they do not document it.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #14

May 282015

Cherokee

  • 3,744 miles
I went out to start my car at around 8:40am on May 28. When I pushed the button to start it, I heard a pop followed by smoke. I thought maybe something was under the car so I backed up the car approximately 2 feet and then turned it off. I went inside to get my husband, he came out and opened the hood and I tried to start it again. It started right up but there immediately was smoke and fire coming from the front of the car on the passenger side. I turned the car right off after maybe 5 or 6 seconds. I had a meeting to get to so I left in my husband's car. When I got to work, a retired fire fighter suggested that I call the norwich township fire department. Brian beach came to inspect the car. Because of all of the plastic coverings, it was very hard to see anything that was wrong other than melted plastic fittings. I had the car towed (at my expense) to byers on hamilton road. Today, I spoke with the service manager, ron brown, who said that he didn't think that the car caught on fire. He feels that the tensioner belt broke and that is why I smelled burned rubber and there was so much smoke. Either way, this is a brand new car and shouldn't be having any issues.

- Hilliard, OH, USA

problem #13

Apr 162015

Cherokee

  • 1,100 miles
Multiple incidents of when applying brakes, the tachometer would increase as the Jeep down shifted and the Jeep would leap forward. Increase in speed. Delays in the ignition switch when starting. When applying the gas, the Jeep would have a 5 - 10 second delay in response and slow down instead of increasing the speed. As days past, the incidents with the Jeep leaping forward when applying the brake got worse and it got to be dangerous to drive. Almost rear ended a few people. Had to have Jeep towed to a dealership because it was unsafe to drive. The computer upgrade that came out in February of this year was not applied to this Jeep before it was sold to me.

- Rockport, ME, USA

problem #12

Apr 012015

Cherokee

  • 6,401 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving at an unknown speed and approaching a stop, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 6,401.

- Fairmont, WV, USA

problem #11

May 032015

Cherokee

  • 500 miles
I purchased a Jeep Cherokee 2015 on May 1st and started having trouble with the start/stop system on the 3rd. A passenger and I were coming to a stop and the vehicle completely shut off and stopped running. The control system, within the driver's panel, flashed start/stop system is unavailable, service start/stop system. I had to restart the car in the middle of the highway. It did this three times before we got home. The engine light also came on at this point. I did not drive it again until the next morning and hoped to make it to work and then take it to the dealer that afternoon. Well I shouldn't have done that... on the way to work, on the interstate, I started slowing down and the system did the same thing. As I sped up the gears starting sticking, the car was stalling and I finally had to pull over and restart the car. On the interstate!!! the car did this another four or five times before I made it to work and another three times before I got to the dealership. When I first arrived, they could not figure out the issue and no reprogramming fixed the problem. They did state that the car has a flash update (aka recall), which was not communicated to me when I purchased the vehicle. So finally today, Thursday, May 7th, (3 days later) Chrysler decided the car needed a brand new transmission. Wasn't the transmission brand new anyway"???" this purchase has been very disappointing and I am really concerned about the safety of these vehicles. I really hope this new transmission fixes the problem. I also hope a serious recall is communicated to the public before anyone gets hurt!

- Rome, GA, USA

problem #10

Mar 202015

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 2,100 miles
2015 Jeep Cherokee purchased 2-24-15 with 8 miles on it. Two days later the check engine light came on and I was told to check transmission. Car needed brand new transmission after 2 days. Two weeks ago, the tire pressure light came on. Back driver's side tire keeps losing pressure. On 3-20-15 computer went out. I had no camera, no radio, no heat controls, no ipod player.

- Dyer, IN, USA

problem #9

Feb 202015

Cherokee

  • miles
For the past week my 2015 Jeep Cherokee has been at the dealership; continuous screen/radio malfunctioning/ unintended car acceleration/ computer system malfunction, etc. I was told by the service manager that they have no clue why my vehicle is not functioning correctly or accepting their several attempts to 'update' my vehicles system to correct the various problems. The manager went on to tell me how my car is "rejecting" the new part they tried to install. I did not know vehicles had the ability to 'reject' mechanical parts. He said they had to contact Chrysler to find out how to fix my vehicle; I truly thought the "Chrysler" dealership was Chrysler and mechanics there were trained to fix all of Chrysler vehicles, shame on me. At this point I am truly afraid to drive the truck, especially with the Chrysler dealership not knowing how to repair the various problems with a 2015 model. I also noticed the Jeep starting with 1C4pj seems to have all the problems. With Chrysler noticing it as well, why not just replace the Jeep sold in that batch?

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #8

Feb 192015

Cherokee

  • 2,200 miles
After sitting at the dealership for the most part of my day, I left with the same problem as I came to get fixed. However, in addition to my radio not functioning; which was supposed to be fixed after this my second upgrade in 2 weeks, there was the additional matter of my engine light coming on as I left the dealership from having my radio 'fixed'. so I find myself back at the dealership today for my radio that was not fixed the yesterday and my engine light that came on after leaving them the day before. When I spoke to the service manager, he said the radio is getting another update; apparently the update yesterday and last week wasn't enough. Also, now I need this detrimental engine part that mysteriously went bad over night. He said they don't have the part and I will have to drive my car with the engine light on until the part comes in. I informed him how uncomfortable I am with that suggestion since my first visit was for the radio and the car accelerating by itself out of nowhere. Currently, I am in prayer hoping the humanity sets in and they don't send me on my way in a vehicle that is not safe to drive. Pray for me.

- Killeen , TX, USA

problem #7

Feb 072015

Cherokee

  • 738 miles
It appears I've gotten the transmission bug that seems to be going around. One month old 2015 trailhawk V6 automatic with 738 miles on it. Started the car(2-7-2015) and notification came on dashboard that read, "service transmission, " "4WD deactivated, " "remote start deactivated, ' "and put car into park then shift to desired gear." I managed to get the Jeep rolling and drove directly to dealership. I talked to the service rep this morning(2-9-2015), and before he could say anything, I told him it was the tcm. He actually laughed because I knew every problem. I guess best case scenario is that the reset works. If not I'm sure there will be a tcm replacement. Worst case scenario is the transmission needs to be replaced, and at that point, they can keep it.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #6

Jan 152015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 2,019 miles
My vehicle instantaneously picked up speed while I was coming to a stop; my foot was not on the gas pedal. A quick jerking motion of the steering wheel happened quickly with the acceleration. This caused me to press much harder on my brakes to stop my vehicle from hitting a car in front of me. This is a dangerous and very scary problem and I am grateful to not have caused harm to anyone. My gas consumption varies because of the required pedal pressure sometimes needed to accelerate since the gears seem not to switch over as they should. Also, my radio has been blacking out, turning off and on, and failing to work at all. Have an appointment with the dealer tomorrow for what was explained to me as a needed "software update." This is a new truck. My Jeep has not yet made it to the required miles for its first oil change. (sigh).

- Killeen, TX, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?