Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 9
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,544 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #86

Apr 222015

Cherokee

  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Shortly after buying my 2015 Jeep Cherokee sport with the 2.4 engine and 9 speed automatic, it began shifting erratically. In town it would hesitate when leaving a stop light or jerk violently while changing gears. On the highway, it would not downshift on inclines or to pass and merge with traffic. I had several close calls where I had to accelerate but nothing happened when putting the pedal to the floor. This has been in the shop four times just for this problem alone and as of this writing, is still not any better. It has also had other problems with the thermostat and interior. I work in the automotive industry and know from resources that this is a simple fix. Fca is giving thousands of people the runaround and angering dealerships by not being honest. The 4 cylinder engine will no longer meet the reported mpg it was claimed to after the shift profiles change and this puts fca in a position that Volkswagen recently dealt with. My safety and the safety of thousands is not worth 3 mpg. Fca is also treating customers as if each case is individually unique and it belittles them as well as the mechanics that know repairs are futile. I have a case number now and another appointment but it would be best to avoid this vehicle at all costs and arbitrate. There should be a federal investigation before someone dies if they haven't already. The thermostat failure is also widespread and is only being addresses one at a time in field claims. This too could lead to serious damage and even fire which has also happened to a few of these vehicles. Please help us be a voice and stop this serious disregard for safety and consumer rights.

- Morristown, TN, USA

problem #85

May 292016

Cherokee

  • 11,000 miles
The contact owned a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The vehicle caught on fire while parked. The fire department extinguished the fire, but did not file a report. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to an independent facility. The contact was informed that the air conditioner suction/discharge hose fractured, came into contact with the exhaust manifold, and caused the fire. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V676000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 11,000.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #84

May 132016

Cherokee

  • miles
The 2015 vehicle was parked in closed garage and key fobs was left in car cup holder. Car started itself and did not turn off ran in a closed garage for over and hour. This is a real severe issue that the car should have alarmed or shut itself off after 10 minutes my family could have been dead and not be able to talk about it. Luckily this was caught before harm was done. This is not a mistake that can be undone. The car also had an issue with the throttle it would rev to 3-4,000 rpms when in park after we pulled it out of the garage. Couldn't be driven as it would havelost.control with the throttle sticking. Car dealer says it's fixed throttle replaced and all is well. But it is not I cannot park that car in my garage and that is not acceptable for me. Car dealers don't work with people, they just want to fix the recalls and for you to go away. Something has to be done! people need to be taken seriously especially when. It comes to carbon monoxide levels.

- Newport, NY, USA

problem #83

May 032016

Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The shifting on this car is terrible and I'm surprised it hasn't caused me to be in an accident. It jerks and either takes forever to shift or shifts way to hard and too fast. Even just coasting in a residential neighborhood it's a hard shift between gears and I cannot believe I purchased this car. Every drive is an issue and whenever I have passengers they all comment that something must be wrong with how the car shifts.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #82

Apr 222016

Cherokee

  • 6,500 miles
I was traveling on a main highway at 62 mph. Suddenly the car lurched and the RPM's shot up to 4000. The car was immediately going 70 mph. I had to slam on the brakes so I didn't Ram the car ahead of me.

- Remsen, NY, USA

problem #81

Apr 012016

Cherokee

  • 6,500 miles
On April 1, my family and I were headed 2 hours away for a weekend getaway. My 16 year old new driver was driving the vehicle and it bogged down and then jumped ahead while he was accelerating from 45 to 55. He was scared to death! it has happened to me numerous times, especially when accelerating from a stop light/sign. It is inevitable that I will have an accident, either rear-ending someone, or being rear ended.

- Remsen, NY, USA

problem #80

Mar 282016

Cherokee

  • 8,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While the vehicle was parked, the contact heard a loud bang and noticed that it was on fire. The fire department extinguished the fire. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was towed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 8,000. VIN was not available. Updated 05/03/16

- Frankford, DE, USA

problem #79

Mar 252016

Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that the engine and fuel pump failed. The vehicle stalled in the middle of the road. The vehicle was diagnosed, but the mechanic was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 9,000. Updated 08/02/16 the consumer stated he was able to get the vehicle started in time, to avoid an accident. Updated 08/09/16.

- El Cajon, CA, USA

problem #78

Mar 172016

Cherokee

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 45 mph, the contact was alerted that smoke was emerging from the engine compartment. The contact pulled the vehicle over to the side of the road. The vehicle became engulfed in flames. The police and fire department were present and a police report was filed. There were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to an impound lot. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 8,000.

- Lawton, MI, USA

problem #77

Mar 142016

Cherokee

  • 185,000 miles
Check engine light has been illuminating intermittently for the past 7 months. Finally the dealer was able to identify the error code. Implausable data from the transmission control module error code U0402. The dealership is stating the is safe to drive however I question what kind of damage it is doing to my transmission.

- Haverhill, MA, USA

problem #76

Mar 092016

Cherokee

  • 1,070 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine shuts down stalls out while driving no warning on roadways freeways no power steering or brakes serious injury or death could be a result.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #75

Sep 202015

Cherokee

  • 200 miles
My 2015 Jeep Cherokee latitude shut off on me while I was driving not even a full week of owning it. The vehicle gauges go to zero and I loose power steering and when I apply the gas pedal nothing happens. All I am able to do is press the brake pedal and hopefully not have anyone behind me so that I can try and pull over with no power steering. I have taken it into the dealer on several occasions showing them both video and photo documentation of what is happening and they have been unable to duplicate this issue and have not provided me with an alternative as to getting another vehicle or my money back. The vehicle first shut off on me 18sep2015 and has continued to do so on the highway and on city streets with the most recent time being 14feb2016. I have all of my documentation of every time its been in the shop for the same problem with no resolution being provided.

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #74

Jan 052016

Cherokee

  • 4,400 miles
New 2015 Jeep Cherokee latitude with 4K miles on it suddenly turned itself off while driving down the road. No warning other than a message on the dash to put the car in park to change gears. Very dangerous, lost control of power steering, gas and brakes. Was able to put car in park on side of road, restart it and get home. It happened again the next morning and was towed to dealership. Service dept. Ran all updates and the car shut off on them while testing it too. Has been in the shop for 2 weeks and they say it was due to excessive oil consumption and ar replacing the engine. I don't believe this to the cause; never got a warning light at all and car does restart and run after it shuts itself off. Scared to drive it once I get it back again, it is really like a death trap when it shuts off. You are the mercy of all the drivers around you to get out of your way. Someone is going to get hurt or get killed if they don't figure this out soon.

- Clover, SC, USA

problem #73

Jun 262015

Cherokee

  • 980 miles
I was backing up my daughters driveway. Her driveway is a little steep and when I went to give the Jeep more gas the rpms dropped from 1500 to idle and then back to 1500 rpms really quick, it did this a couple times. The dog ended up on the floor of the car, friends standing outside the car though I didn't know how to drive. I finally had to turn the Jeep around and go up her driveway in the forward direction. We went out to eat later and when I came back I tried backing up her driveway again and it did the same thing. I took the Jeep into the dealer on 6/29/15 with 990 miles on it. The dealer updated the PCM and tcm and retested it but could not get it to fail. It failed again about 3 months later on labor day weekend, 2015. Again backing up my daughters driveway. I contacted the Jeep service manager and he said they probably can't fix it if it doesn't set a code. (great) the Jeep hasn't failed backing up again but it did fail on the highway at 65 miles per hour completely shutting down and not restarting. (see complaint #10819212) like other Jeep owners I've noticed the Jeep stays in third gear to long at low speed, especially if you have to make a left turn in front of on coming traffic. I've resorted to down shifting the transmission myself so I can have some power to make the turn without getting hit. ( note to Chrysler, I'm a first time Jeep buyer, keep doing nothing about the engine and transmission problems and you can find your Jeep at a Ford or Chevy dealership.......real soon).

- Ulster Park, NY, USA

problem #72

Jan 132016

Cherokee

  • miles
My transmission has been slipping since I purchased the vehicle a year ago, (12-28-15) appx, they said they fixed the problem, but it has recently became worse that it was originally. When I'm stopped and then begin to start going again the car hesitates for about 3-5 seconds then it jerks and goes. It also seems to downshift on its own or not at all.

- East Liverpool, OH, USA

problem #71

Jan 092016

Cherokee

  • 3,800 miles
I was traveling on a major highway at 65 mph when the engine shut off. I put the Jeep's transmission in neutral and it would not start. I was able to pull to the right side of the road safely since it was very light traffic. I tried starting the Jeep with the transmission shifter in park and nothing happened. I removed the key fob from the start/run switch and tried locking & unlocking the car doors, and nothing happened. I tried the remote start button, and again, nothing happened. My wife gave me her key fob and the Jeep started right up and ran okay. There were no lights on the dash showing any problems. When I got to my destination after another 10 minutes of travel I tried my key fob again and the Jeep started okay. I used my key fob on the return trip of 67 miles with no problems. There is an unknown cause of the incident. Could it be the key fob or the electronics that control engine running mode?

- Ulster Park, NY, USA

problem #70

Nov 062015

Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V676000 (engine and engine cooling); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Hollis, NY, USA

problem #69

Dec 042015

Cherokee

  • miles
Had three months with my car, started showing the check engine light periodically, I didn´T take much importance, then I receive a recall from the dealer, they fix the unknown problem, then five months later I park on the pending street and trying to drive back, the shifter wasn´T moving at all, after a few minutes strangling with the shifter the car finally work, after that the check engine light was on for a day, this happened again continuously. This check engine light on, happens a lot. Today 12-04-2015, a tragedy happened to me, when I park my car on a climb street, I put the shifter on park, turn off the car, took my key, I get out of the car, close the door, when I was about to set up the alarm I notice by reflection that something was moving, and that was my car, passing by next to me and crashing into a concrete wall, almost run me down, ¿again the car was off and I had the key in my hand¿. how is this possible"?" if my car has an automatic transmission. I don¿T feel safe anymore, owing this car, putting my life and others in risk, I don¿T this is fair, when you´re investing your money for security, I need a response or solution for this problem a.S.a.P. thanks. Alan cuevas hernandez.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #68

Nov 252015

Cherokee

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 35 mph, the check engine warning indicator and the start stop warning indicator illuminated. In addition, the engine misfired and the vehicle violently shook. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that a faulty spool valve failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was approximately 2,000.

- Hobart, IN, USA

problem #67

Oct 252015

Cherokee

  • 3,500 miles
I started leasing this brand new car July 2015. Initially there were a few minor shifting changes that felt unsteady. Coming home from work one day in October 2015 I noticed the car was not accelerating, would shift poorly into different gears and was jolting. At the same time the "service engine light" turned on as well as a message stating "service transmission". I waited seven hours for Jeep to tow the car, it took them one week to diagnose, and they estimated another week to repair. So far they've had the car for two weeks and the estimate pickup day would mark 17 days without the car if its even ready on time. They are replacing the entire transmission.

- Hoboken, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?