Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 9
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,727 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 5 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Mar 132015

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 3,800 miles


I was turning into my driveway and slowed down before hitting the slope, when I pressed the gas pedal to go up the driveway the engine revved up but the car didn't accelerate. After about a second the car jerked and sped up faster than normal to where I had to slam on my breaks to avoid hitting the garage door.

- Whittier, CA, USA

problem #19

Mar 232015


  • 3,400 miles
While decelerating in drive with the foot off the gas, or under light gradual braking, when the automatic transmission downshifts as the car slows between 25 and 20 mph, engine speed increases in the lower gear and the car accelerates slightly.this acceleration, with the foot off the gas and when one expects the car to be slowing down, though relatively mild, is nonetheless disconcerting and perhaps potentially dangerous. An appointment was made with the dealer for March 30 2015. Coincidentally, between the time the appointment was made and before the appointment, the customer received a mailed recall notice from Jeep regarding an upgrade to software for the nine-speed automatic transmission. On March 30 the dealer attempted the software upgrade and reported that when they test drove it, the transmission then would not function properly, and the car would only operate in "limp" mode. The customer was given a rental car. The next day, on March 31, 2015 the dealer notified the customer that consultation with Jeep and further diagnostics indicated two locking rings had broken or malfunctioned inside the transmission, and they were installing a new transmission. The customer also received a recorded message telephone call from Jeep on March 31, asking the customer to bring the car in for a transmission software upgrade. The new transmission is being installed.

- Rensselaer, NY, USA

problem #18

Mar 242015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
My 2015, brand new Jeep has been acting sluggish, with a delay in shifting, poor highway pickup for a few weeks. My 17 year old daughter drove it a long distance and complained of similar issues. While driving to meet a friend the car began to loose power on the highway, there was no response when I stepped on the gas. I managed to coast to an exit ramp where I was unable to drive the car. The engine was running but would not move. I had the car towed to the nearest dealer and it has been 3 days and they still cannot diagnosis the problem other than saying it is transmission related. They ran the software update but still experience the same problem. This is an extremely dangerous and I was fortunate to be in a safe area, during the day when this occurred.

- West Hartford, CT, USA

problem #17

Mar 202015

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 2,100 miles


2015 Jeep Cherokee purchased 2-24-15 with 8 miles on it. Two days later the check engine light came on and I was told to check transmission. Car needed brand new transmission after 2 days. Two weeks ago, the tire pressure light came on. Back driver's side tire keeps losing pressure. On 3-20-15 computer went out. I had no camera, no radio, no heat controls, no ipod player.

- Dyer, IN, USA

problem #16

Mar 182015

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 10,443 miles
The vehicle was in park and started. All of the vehicle warning displays turned on including the check engine. This vehicle is practically brand new and this should not happen. I also had similar problems with a 2011 model. Vehicle sensors are also giving erroneous readings.

- Carolina, PR, USA

problem #15

Mar 132015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
When I turned the car on the engine light came on and I brought it the dealer immediately. They told me the car needs a new transmission.

- Bardonia, NY, USA

problem #14

Oct 272014

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 360 miles


I purchased a 2015 Cherokee sport in October 2014. Since then I have noted several reoccurring problems. Having never owned a brand new I thought perhaps there was some early mile growing pains but these problems persist. The screen malfunctions at will; sometime the rear camera is engaged when driving forward, the screen locks on the disclosure/acceptance page. Voice recognition/command has never worked. Unintended acceleration when at a complete stop (reminds me of an unruly dog on a leash trying to leap forward). Delayed acceleration when the gas pedal is depressed causing it to suddenly leap into motion risking hitting a car in front of you in city traffic (I live in los angeles ? this is particularly concerning) or a wall behind you (I back into my parking space). When parallel parking or in a 3 point scenario (D-R-D) the car, although clearly placed in the reverse the car will roll forward before reversing. Often putting the car in reverse, waiting several seconds (4 to 5) before releasing the break will do the trick but just as often, it makes no difference. Gear transitions are sloppy. This car does not shift it lunges. I"M surprised the damn thing doesn"T bite although it tries. I thought these were my pet peeves but it appears I am not alone. I wish I had read these earlier complaints. I would have returned it to post haste. I hate this car but am not in the financial position to buy another. Purchased from a dealer 50 miles away (best price) has made it difficult to take into the dealership. I have finally scheduled 2-days off from work to take it in. I wish I was in the position to not just drop it off but leave it there. If I had the money I would not hesitate.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #13

Feb 202015


  • miles
For the past week my 2015 Jeep Cherokee has been at the dealership; continuous screen/radio malfunctioning/ unintended car acceleration/ computer system malfunction, etc. I was told by the service manager that they have no clue why my vehicle is not functioning correctly or accepting their several attempts to 'update' my vehicles system to correct the various problems. The manager went on to tell me how my car is "rejecting" the new part they tried to install. I did not know vehicles had the ability to 'reject' mechanical parts. He said they had to contact Chrysler to find out how to fix my vehicle; I truly thought the "Chrysler" dealership was Chrysler and mechanics there were trained to fix all of Chrysler vehicles, shame on me. At this point I am truly afraid to drive the truck, especially with the Chrysler dealership not knowing how to repair the various problems with a 2015 model. I also noticed the Jeep starting with 1C4pj seems to have all the problems. With Chrysler noticing it as well, why not just replace the Jeep sold in that batch?

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #12

Feb 062015


  • 4,215 miles
I noticed my motor was surging(refine up) when I would break and then eventually break when I continued to break. So I took to stetler Dodge york pa and the said they weren't sure but there were flash updates that needed done in regards to the transmission so they needed to keep the Jeep. They kept the Jeep called and said the transmission module needed replaced so they replaced. I pick up the car drive it less than 5 miles and the auto shut down alarm started going off and the check engine alar, went off. The car then begins to rev and will not shift its at 40 mph and at 5 Ram. The auto start no longer works ect... this is a brand new car I am paying for and when I take it for these issues they now tell me the transmission needs replaced. This is ridiculous. This car is turning into a lemon quick. Twice in the shop and own it less than 3 months.

- York, PA, USA

problem #11

Feb 232015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 189 miles
2015 Jeep Cherokee 2.4L. Jeep has less than 200 miles. Car was brought in for service due to sudden acceleration while decelerating at approximately 25 mph. Car would slightly accelerate and the RPM's would jump from around 1400 to 2000 without my foot on the gas pedal. Dealer service department had the car for 1.5 days and said that I had the most recent "flash" after driving off the lot the issue still exists. Car will lunge/accelerate and RPM's jump while decelerating and foot is off the gas pedal.

- Fraser, MI, USA

problem #10

Feb 202015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 130 miles


2015 Jeep Cherokee latitude. Fwd 2.4L engine. Car shifted extremely hard at low speeds/gears. Car would lunge and accelerate while car was decelerating. Acceleration and lunging/shifting was occurring while foot was off the gas pedal.

- Fraser, MI, USA

problem #9

Feb 192015


  • 2,200 miles
After sitting at the dealership for the most part of my day, I left with the same problem as I came to get fixed. However, in addition to my radio not functioning; which was supposed to be fixed after this my second upgrade in 2 weeks, there was the additional matter of my engine light coming on as I left the dealership from having my radio 'fixed'. so I find myself back at the dealership today for my radio that was not fixed the yesterday and my engine light that came on after leaving them the day before. When I spoke to the service manager, he said the radio is getting another update; apparently the update yesterday and last week wasn't enough. Also, now I need this detrimental engine part that mysteriously went bad over night. He said they don't have the part and I will have to drive my car with the engine light on until the part comes in. I informed him how uncomfortable I am with that suggestion since my first visit was for the radio and the car accelerating by itself out of nowhere. Currently, I am in prayer hoping the humanity sets in and they don't send me on my way in a vehicle that is not safe to drive. Pray for me.

- Killeen , TX, USA

problem #8

Feb 142015


  • 5,200 miles
While my wife was driving today she noticed when trying to find a parking spot, the engine speed increased without foot on gas pedal, she had to hard brake to get vehicle to stop. I took it out tonight and as I was in city traffic the Jeep would race up to 2000 rpms when foot was on the brake. I had to press on brake harder than normal to get the vehicle to not hit the car in front of me. Called dealership to report problem. At this point I am scared for anyone in my family to drive the vehicle. The same thing happened at least 4 times on the way home.

- Cedar Falls, IA, USA

problem #7

Feb 052015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 4,100 miles
2015 Cherokee latitude 4 cyl. Have had vehicle for 2 months, during this time the transmission has had a mind of its own. Accelerating during braking, which in and of itself is extremely dangerous as it has happened while slowing to make a turn, if you need to turn at 10 mph and the car accelerates past 25 you are looking at an accident waiting to happen. Lag in downshift while trying to accelerate, loud un explained clunk while placing into park, numerous engine warning light activations. Called local dealer and was informed that I needed to wait a few days to see if warning light resets itself before bringing in. The transmission never seems to actually shift into 9th gear, which inturn hampers the fwy mileage claims associated with this vehicle. Ive noticed the transmission temperature exceed 240 degrees on numerous times, this cannot be good. I will be taking vehicle to dealer, hopefully in an effort to get this resolved. With all of the reviews and problem, will it take an unfortunate fatality for Chrysler to actually resolve this, as in the case of the Toyota acceleration problems?

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #6

Jan 262015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 3,300 miles
Car lunges forward when decelerating. Need to press hard on brake to control speed.

- Beachwood, OH, USA

problem #5

Jan 132015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 352 miles
When driving the vehicle, dash lights would flash and check engine light would come on. Messages would state the there was a failure with the start/stop or 4X4 or transmission. Vehicle would not engage any gears, D (drive) indicate would be flashing, and I could only rev the engine. Vehicle would not advance and would not engage any gears. Had to shut off engine and turn it back on several times to get the transmission to engage. Check engine light is still on. Taken in for service four times now, update firmware, replace PCM, and now they are going to replace the wiring harness. Vehicle purchased on 12/31 and has been in for service with major failures with the transmission since 1/13/2015.

- Livermore, CA, USA

problem #4

Jan 042015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 100 miles
New Jeep Cherokee 2015 vehicle was purchased evening Jan 2, 2015 from. Perry Chrysler/Jeep, national city, ca. Driven total less than 100 miles. On Jan 4 driver noticed oily smell when driving. Immediately after being parked at home white smoke came out of hood. Within seconds the entire car was engulfed in fire, flames 20 feet high. Burning oil or fuel ran down the street over 50 yards. Two local san diego tv stations have videos of fire, including our own video on facebook. Available upon request.

- La Jolla, CA, USA

problem #3

Jan 042015


  • 45 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 60 mph, the contact noticed smoke under the hood. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45. Updated 3/13/15

- Anaheim , CA, USA

problem #2

Oct 202014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 900 miles
Loud noise from the engine/transmission then the car completely shuts down and comes to a complete stop in the road. The car will then restart all systems with check engine light on. Has happened and been taken to the dealership for repairs on 10/20/2014, 12/1/2014, 12/3/2014,12/12/2014,12/22/2014. Dealership nor Chrysler know what is causing the issue and will not do anything except try to repair. I have concerns that if this issue happens at higher speeds on interstate what would happen.

- Kingsport, TN, USA

problem #1

Sep 122014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 800 miles
After using the automatic remote starter I get in the vehicle and put the key in the ignition and turn it to the "on" setting. I then drive the vehicle. A some point in the trip when I come to a complete stop the engine turns off and the emergency brake is automatically engaged. In order to drive again I have to turn the key to the off position, put it in park, turn the ignition back on, turn the emergency brake off, and then put it in drive.

- Eatontown, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?