Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,949 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #48

Dec 012014

Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased vehicle Nov 2014, shortly after I noticed it would shift irregularly and the vehicle tended to cruise on its own when off the gas. What made me take to the dealer was I noticed that when coming to a stop, the rpms of the engine will increase and cause the car to start going faster while applying the brakes. So I took to the dealer. Dealer did not investigate the issue. They preformed software updates. None fixed the issue. Time passed, the Jeep started to develop more noises in the transmission, it started to put gears harshly so I took it to the dealer again after it continued to do the same issues. Dealer claimed there was an issue with the transmission and it was replaced along with updates. New transmission and same issues. Jeep tries to cruise when off the gas, tries to accelerate when slowing or braking, rpms go up when slowing, noises coming from the transmission, irregular shifting, does not feel like a new car. Took to the dealer about 3-4 more times since transmission swap for software updates and nothing got better. The Jeep is actually getting worse. Now it has starting slamming in gears when coming to a stop, has some sort of wobble when accelerating, noises from the front (sounds like clutches slipping or something) and dealer has no fix. I had a ride along with dealer rep and they claim its normal for the vehicle, that its software and I must wait for updates. It is now Oct 20, 2016 and I have lost countless time and money trying to get this Jeep correct. I have tried to get the dealer to give me my money back and they do not. I opened a case with fca when transmission was swapped and they have not helped to get out of the car. Why should I be stuck with a faulty and dangerous vehicle? fca and dealer should be held responsible for the sale of a faulty vehicle and refund me in full. The vehicle should be considered a lemon from day one

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #47

Sep 222016

Cherokee

  • 51,000 miles
I was driving home from work 9/20/2016. My service transmission light came on and I lost power in my gas pedal. Would not go. I pulled over and put it in park. Put it back in drive and it was fine for a few more miles then did it again. I drove it straight to the mechanic. The computer said it was the throttle control module. He reset it and updated it. I got it back last night. I was driving to work today nad it was fine until I got on the interstate and it did it again, light came on and my car immediately slowed down. This is not safe at all. I have read many many complaints about this issue and I believe Jeep should be responsible for this. I will be trading this vehicle as soon as possible

- Pine Grove, WV, USA

problem #46

Aug 102016

Cherokee

  • 22,600 miles
My Jeep Cherokee latitude 2015 accelerate it self. It's under warranty and the dealer can't solve the problem. When the RPM come back to 1000 you can feel how the trans jump and the car accelerate it self.

- Hialeah, FL, USA

problem #45

Aug 262016

Cherokee

  • 11,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Traveling on highway at approximately 65 mph about 1 hour into trip, vehicle started emitting transmission warnings and parking brake malfunction and saying to place the car in park. Vehicle lost ability to accelerate even though the vehicle was in drive. Vehicle only has 11,000 miles on it. Driver was able to coast to the side of the highway. Placed car in park and restarted - errors still emitting and shifting in to drive caused the car to jolt. Tow truck was called.

- Scarsdale, NY, USA

problem #44

Dec 242015

Cherokee

  • 2,666 miles
We purchased our 2015 Jeep Cherokee new and within a few months of driving the Jeep we started to notice what I would call horrible lag issues. The car would drive jerky and when the car was at a stop and you applied the gas to go, it would seem like it wasn't getting the gas and will have a hard time accelerating. We took the car in and they detected the problem and said they did a computer update. Shortly after, the Jeep started a very scary self acceleration where the car would accelerate on its own and take off without applying gas or having foot on gas pedal. The Jeep would lunge so violently and it was hard to make it stop and tried to lunge thru the braking. I have taken the car back it several times as both of these issues happen and makes it very dangerous to drive. My daughter was almost in a horrible collision with a large truck and rear ended because the car was lagging so bad making a right hand turn from a red light. Thankfully the truck was able to swerve around us and we didn't get hit. We initiated the lemon law on this Jeep as it is too dangerous to drive. The Jeep has been in for servicing many times and the problem has still not been resolved. I have googled this online and found other Jeep owners with exact frightening concerns. Very upsetting and dangerous. I have the documentation for all the times the car has been to service for this and they understand the problem and said they have other Jeep with same concerns.

- Redondo Beach, CA, USA

problem #43

Jun 082016

Cherokee

  • 28,500 miles
I purchased my Jeep at garden city Jeep on 06/06/16 & the vehicle test drove fine (for the 10 minutes I got to drive the vehicle). Upon owning it for a few days I noticed that there was a wobble in the front end when traveling between 0-20mph specifically when the vehicle shifted between 1st & 2nd gear when going both straight or making a right turn. I also noticed very poor transmission shifting primarily at low speeds, in stop & go traffic, in parking lot (traveling slow), when reversing, & even when traveling at moderate speeds (30-60mph) when the vehicle would shift up & down between 4th, 5th, & 6th. The trans would jerk, tug, & clunk into gear sometimes more noticeable then others. I took the car to the dealer & the wobble was fixed. In addition the dealer flashed the software on my trans & for the first day it felt considerably better however after driving it for 2 weeks the trans felt very sluggish again. The car now jerks between 1st, 2nd, & 3rd gear again primarily at low speeds or during gentle accleration...it also seems to feel very sluggish in 4th & 5th gear when the car is coasting around 30-55mph...any acceleration after letting the car coast causes the trans to jerk into gear. Almost 100% of the time now when I am waiting at a red light, or am stopped on the road for any reason, & then need to accelerate unless I accelerate very aggressively the car feels as if it is shifting 3 to 5 times however the car is only in 2nd or 3rd gear. It almost seems as if it is shifting up, up, down, up all over the course of 1-2 seconds. Sometimes this can be violent enough to jerk my head forward & back. Separately, upon deceleration the rpms will spike 500-1000 rpms when letting it coast & downshift on its own & the car will actually speed up on its own. Separately, when accelerating after coasting the trans lags and I receive no power until 1-2 seconds either.

- Copiague, NY, USA

problem #42

Jun 162016

Cherokee

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall, having issues with the computer stating that the vehicle four wheel drive is disabled and off, then was sitting at traffic light on 6/16/16 and its like the vehicle cut off ( to save energy) and then when it cut back on it had accelerated car to making me hit someone in the rear end. Unsure as to what is going on but dealer ship last did oil change at 17,000 miles and it came out with check engine on and they said nothing to worry about and cleared the code out. Then the four wheel drive message keeps coming up ( even when not in four wheel drive haven't even hit the button to switch it over) illuminates on message center. Seems like car has issues with something computer or electrical but most of all how safe is this vehicle if can rev up and accelerate without touching gas pedal. Have moderate damage to front end of car, tow hook was pushed back into the front of it and cant open hood having adjuster look at today and take to garage unsure as to what happened or why but doesn't seem very safe and it hit pretty hard but airbag on driver side didn't deploy makes it scary to think what if it decides to deploy while driving now...

- Richmond, KY, USA

problem #41

May 252016

Cherokee

  • 15,087 miles
Most recent incident: 5/25/16, en route home from work, northern state parkway. Vehicle accelerated, while moving with traffic with three car lengths between myself and car in front of me from 35mph to 60mph. I almost rear-ended the vehicle in front of me. Approximately 20 minutes later, the vehicle decelerated from 40mph to an almost stop without my hitting the brakes and I was almost hit from behind. I came to a full stop upon exiting the parkway, when I attempted to accelerate to move forward and merge into traffic on South oyster bay road, my vehicle did not move more than rolling ahead. I 'floored it' in an attempt to move into traffic, as there was now a car approaching quickly, and my vehicle did not accelerate as it should have; it continued to roll along. My vehicle is currently at the westbury Jeep Chrysler Dodge service center 111 bond St. Westbury, NY 11590 1(516)333-2666 my most recent Chrysler case #: 29373159 case manager: Crystal; 1(800)763-8422 ext. 40505 I have had ongoing issues with my vehicle since signing a lease in December 2014. The seats incessantly squeak, with no remedy. The car has been pulling, jerking, accelerating, and decelerating on its own. This problem has escalated to an unsafe status and I am unable to safely drive my vehicle. Chrysler corporation has deemed there is nothing wrong with my vehicle, yet it continues to accelerate and decelerate without my initiation of such actions. The vehicle has an unsafe delay in acceleration when I do attempt to merge onto a highway, for example. This vehicle is not functioning at a safe standard and the company is claiming nothing wrong and safe to drive. I have had far too many near-wrecks because of delayed acceleration, and the vehicle accelerating and decelerating on its own. Please help me.

- Bethpage, NY, USA

problem #40

Jan 022015

Cherokee

  • 600 miles
When driving the car between 22-25 mph highway or street there is always a lunging/RPM spike/hard shift that accelerates the car when slowing down. This also happens at 8, 30,35,40,45,50,55mph. It is not nearly as bad as the major issue between 22-25mph.

- Elmwood Park, IL, USA

problem #39

Jan 082015

Cherokee

  • 200 miles
Have had several transmission issues and I feel unsafe in my vehicle. Transmission shakes when accelerating from a low gear; transmission sticks when trying to accelerating (leaving me in dangerous traffic situations); transmission shift hard when driving in the city.

- Englewood, CO, USA

problem #38

Apr 222016

Cherokee

  • 6,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was traveling on a main highway at 62 mph. Suddenly the car lurched and the RPM's shot up to 4000. The car was immediately going 70 mph. I had to slam on the brakes so I didn't Ram the car ahead of me.

- Remsen, NY, USA

problem #37

Feb 102016

Cherokee

  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 25-35 mph, the electronic throttle control light illuminated and the vehicle failed to accelerate when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The failure was persistent. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the cause of the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was diagnosed on several occasions. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 11,000. Updated 05/18/16

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #36

Sep 202015

Cherokee

  • 200 miles
My 2015 Jeep Cherokee latitude shut off on me while I was driving not even a full week of owning it. The vehicle gauges go to zero and I loose power steering and when I apply the gas pedal nothing happens. All I am able to do is press the brake pedal and hopefully not have anyone behind me so that I can try and pull over with no power steering. I have taken it into the dealer on several occasions showing them both video and photo documentation of what is happening and they have been unable to duplicate this issue and have not provided me with an alternative as to getting another vehicle or my money back. The vehicle first shut off on me 18sep2015 and has continued to do so on the highway and on city streets with the most recent time being 14feb2016. I have all of my documentation of every time its been in the shop for the same problem with no resolution being provided.

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #35

Nov 212015

Cherokee

  • 24,500 miles
Cruise control failed to regulate speeds on interstate - accelerated at speeds in excess of set speed by 10-14 miles per hour. Very dangerous accelerating to the point possible collision with vehicle ahead on roadway. Set speed of 72 went up to 84-89 miles per hour on slight downhill.

- Eagle, ID, USA

problem #34

Jun 292015

Cherokee

  • 13,631 miles
Purchased Jeep and have had safety issues with inconsistent shifting since day one. I have returned to the dealer 19 times for shifting issues and other complaints. At the present time I continue to have a "service shifter" light come on in the vehicle. The light comes on while the vehicle is in motion. You can try to reset the shifter to let the computer try to recognize the error, but it doesn't work. Technicians have told me not to drive with the light on as the car may shift in a different gear or even reverse. Chrylser star technicians keep resetting the software, however the light continues to come back on randomly. I have expressed my concerns and fears with the shifting, however they do not know what is causing the problem nor how to fix the issue so they continue to reset the computer. I do not feel safe driving the vehicle as I never know when the light will come on nor what it will do. Found error codes U146500 and P1C861D. Performed flash updates. Dates of issues: 6/29/15, 07/17/15, 09/06/15, 12/01/15. I also have problems with inconsistent shifting and take of. You can try to accelerate and the car will not go but the RPM's will rise. The car will suddenly take off after a 4-5 second delay. This has caused me great fear as sometimes you will go to turn and the car pauses before taking off. By the time it does take off you have turned in front of an oncoming car. Again Chrysler star technicians have told me I am "over sensitive" and the car functions as any 9 speed transmission is designed to do.

- Saint Henry, OH, USA

problem #33

Nov 082015

Cherokee

  • 3,750 miles
The vehicle service engine light keeps coming on, service transmission light comes on. Vehicle shifts in and out of gear on its own. Parking brake activates on its own. The start/stop malfunction light comes on. It has been towed in to dealership 3 times. These problems have occurred while vehicle was in motion.

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

problem #32

Nov 092015

Cherokee

  • 18,000 miles
When pusking the gas pedal from a complete stop, the car hesitates before engaging and then when it does engage, it accelerates at a high rate of speed and when slowing down it does not stop as quickly because the transmission is still engaged at a higher gear thus making rear impacts likely. Trying to make a turn either left or right in a high traffic congested area, it is almost impossible to to merge with the traffic quickly because of this hesitation. I feel like I am taking my life in my hands every time I drive this vehicle. This is a safety concern and should be treated as such.

- Hazel Green, WI, USA

problem #31

May 182015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at 55 mph, the vehicle down shifts erratically. The contact also stated that while attempting to stop the vehicle, it began to increase in speed surging forward without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was informed that the vehicle was functioning as designed. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 1,000.......updated 12/17/15 the consumer stated Chrysler agreed to purchase the vehicle back him. Updated 12/21/15..........updated 01/06/16 the consumer stated the problem was with the 9 speed transmission. If shifter erratically in all driving conditions, sometimes down shifting to a low gear at highway speeds and surged forward on its own when slowing down for a red light or stop sign. Three upgrades were performed. However, the upgrades did not correct the problem. The consumer went to another dealer, because the check engine light kept illuminating, which was due to the transmission. The dealer stated there was an internal problem with the transmissions. The dealer recommended replacing the transmission. However, chrsyler offered to purchase the vehicle back from the consumer, in which he accepted. Updated 01/11/16.

- Concord, CA, USA

problem #30

Aug 152015

Cherokee

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that both key fobs would fail to start the vehicle and rear brake light failed the vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer replaced the brake light and noticed that the failure persisted. Several days later, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer again where it was diagnosed that the entire transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact stated that the vehicle independently accelerated without the accelerator being depressed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 13,000.

- Lorton, VA, USA

problem #29

Sep 302015

Cherokee

  • 4,000 miles
-revving up on its own when in park. Sometimes I have to wait up to a minute for it to settle down so I can put in into drive (original issue that only seems to have been exacerbated from the software update). -rpms spike when downshifting causing a slight acceleration -speeds up without my foot on the gas pedal -lurches forward 90% of the time when I take my foot off the brake, this is unsafe in traffic conditions -lurches forward when I put it into drive. -sticks in park, drive or reverse. The consumer reported multiple occurrences (25 in total) of the above conditions that occurred at various dates and mileages. 10/7/15

- New Orleans, LA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?